Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baranowske, et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2006/0279016) in view of Plourde et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2023/0346083).
Regarding claims 1 & 8: Baranowske discloses a zipper assembly and method for a resealable enclosure, the zipper assembly comprising:
an elongated flange having a panel side and an opposite interlocking side (Fig. 1; via flanges 20/24), the panel side configured to be coupled with a panel of the resealable enclosure (“configured to” be coupled with 12 and/or 16/18);
interlocking elements protruding from the interlocking side of the flange (via 12 and 16/18), the interlocking elements shaped to mate with each other to close the enclosure and shaped to be pulled apart to open the enclosure; and
an alignment body coupled with the panel side of the flange (via 6 and/or 8), the alignment body of first segments of the flange configured to stick with one or more of the panel sides of second segments of the flange or the alignment body on the second segments of the flange while the flange is wound onto a spool, see for example (Fig. 3; via the alignment bodies 6/8 are “configured to” stick with the flanges 20/24).
Baranowske does not disclose the amended claims referring to an alignment body of the zipper assembly to be in different material than the elongated flange. However, Plourde discloses similar zipper assembly with a use of alignment body to be made of different material than the flange and remaining of the zipper assembly, see for example (Fig. 4; via portion 420 & paragraph 0047; “portions 420 may include stiffer materials (e.g., stiffer or more resilient to bending) than the materials from which other portions of the zipper assembly 704 and/or enclosure 100 is formed.”), inherently “stiffer materials” being “resilient to bending” is capable of and could be used for stability and aligning purposes (intended use limitations).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention, to have modified Baranowske’s zipper assembly, by having a different body by the flange made with different stiffing and unbending material to serve as an alignment portion, as suggested by Plourde, in order to improve the locking and zipper members (paragraph 0007-0008).
Regarding claim 2: Baranowske discloses that the alignment body is configured to stick with the flange to prevent the flange from laterally moving relative to itself while on the spool (via alignment bodies 6/8 “configured to” stick with flanges 20/24).
Regarding claim 3: Baranowske discloses the alignment body is formed from a polymer material, see for example (paragraph 0033; “preferred thermoplastic materials are polyethylene…polymer rubber resin blend”).
Regarding claim 4: Baranowske discloses that the alignment body is formed from a first material that differs from a second material from which the flange is formed (paragraphs 0013 & 0017; “extruded plastic fastener tapes having different structures”).
Regarding claim 5: Baranowske discloses the alignment body has greater tackiness when engaging the flange than the flange has when engaging itself, see for example (Fig. 1; via the shown tackiness of 6/8 vs the one for 20/24).
Regarding claim 6: Baranowske discloses that the alignment body is configured to stick to the flange and require a lesser force to separate the first segments of the flange from the second segments of the flange than separating the interlocking elements from each other, see for example (Figs. 1-3; via alignment bodies 6/8 sticking to flanges 20/24).
Regarding claim 7: Baranowske discloses the alignment body and the interlocking elements are disposed opposite each other on opposite sides of the flange, see for example (Fig. 1; via the location of the alignment bodies 6/8 in respect to flanges 20/24).
Regarding claim 9: Baranowske discloses that the alignment body is formed to stick with the flange to prevent the flange from laterally moving relative to itself while on the spool, (via alignment bodies 6/8 “configured to” stick with flanges 20/24).
Regarding claim 10: Baranowske discloses that the alignment body is formed from a polymer material, see for example (paragraph 0033; “preferred thermoplastic materials are polyethylene…polymer rubber resin blend”).
Regarding claim 11: Baranowske discloses the alignment body is formed from a first material that differs from a second material that the flange is formed, (paragraphs 0013 & 0017; “extruded plastic fastener tapes having different structures”).
Regarding claim 12: Baranowske discloses the alignment body is formed to have greater tackiness when engaging the flange than the flange has when engaging itself, see for example (Fig. 1; via the shown tackiness of 6/8 vs the one for 20/24).
Regarding claim 13: Baranowske discloses that the alignment body is formed to stick to the flange and require a lesser force to separate the first segments of the flange from the second segments of the flange than separating the interlocking elements from each other, see for example (Figs. 1-3; via alignment bodies 6/8 sticking to flanges 20/24).
Regarding claim 14: Baranowske discloses the flange is formed as a first elongated body that extends from a first end to an opposite, second end, and the alignment body is formed as a second elongated body that extends along the flange in a direction that extends from the first end of the flange toward the second end of the flange, see for example (Fig. 1; via the location of the alignment bodies 6/8 in respect to flanges 20/24).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-14 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
In respect to applicant’s arguments that the applied art of record of Baranowske ‘016 does not disclose the claimed alignment body made of different material than the elongated flange and configured to stick with one or more panel sides of second segments of the flange nor the alignment body on the second segments of the flange while the flange is wound onto a spool.
The Office as set forth above and in the prior communication, believes that 016 shows the claimed zipper assembly with flange wound onto a spool (Fig. 3), while portion of the zipper could be considered as an alignment body (Fig. 1; via 6/8).
Being that explained, the Office further provided a secondary applied art of Plourde ‘083 showing similar zipper assembly with the use of portion on the zipper made of different stiffing and un-bendable material, see for example (Fig. 4; via portion 420 & paragraph 0047; “portions 420 may include stiffer materials (e.g., stiffer or more resilient to bending) than the materials from which other portions of the zipper assembly 704 and/or enclosure 100 is formed.”). It is noted that ‘083’s “stiffer materials” 420, while being “resilient to bending” inherently capable of and could be used for stability and aligning purposes (intended use arguments and/or limitations of the actual “alignment body”).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SAMEH TAWFIK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3731