DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is a non-final, first office action in response to the Applicant's Request for Continued Prosecution filed 2 December 2025.
Claims 1, 3, 7, 9, 11-15 have been amended.
Claim 2 has been cancelled.
Claims 1, 3-9, and 11-19 are currently pending and have been examined.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 15 with regards to low level components that are configured to be called by high-level methods, and that the low-level components are private and not directly called by the user mobile application have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 9, and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu (US 2020/0250614 A1) (hereinafter Zhu), in view of Wahba et al. (US 11790309 B1) (hereinafter Wahba), and further in view of Hilliar (US 2016/0219055 A1) (hereinafter Hilliar).
With respect to claim 1, Zhu teaches:
An electronic locker bank comprising a controller system configured to manage a compartment equipped with an electronically controlled door for securing a temporary storage of said item communicating with a first mobile device via a short-distance communication network (See at least paragraphs 25, 27, 111, 114, 127, 128, 134, 145-150, 155, and 165 which describe a locker bank used for receiving items for delivery and pickup, wherein the locker bank is controlled by a local and remote system, and wherein the remote system is able to lock/unlock and open/close doors of the locker; and wherein a user mobile device is able to communicate with the locker using short range communication).
A locker banks server communicating with said first mobile device via a long-distance communication network, said first mobile device comprising a user mobile application integrating a locker bank toolbox packaging all required components to allow said electronic locker bank to interact with and be operated by said first mobile device (See at least paragraphs 25, 27, 111, 114, 127, 128, 134, 145-150, 155, and 165 which describe a locker bank used for receiving items for delivery and pickup, wherein the locker bank is controlled by a local and remote system, and wherein the remote system is able to lock/unlock and open/close doors of the locker and wherein a user mobile device is able to communicate with the remote system using long range communication).
Zhu discloses all of the limitations of claim 1 as stated above. Zhu does not explicitly disclose the following, however Wahba teaches:
Wherein said locker bank toolbox comprises a high-level methods pack configured to be called by said user mobile application, wherein said locker bank toolbox can be integrated into or removed from said user mobile application without impacting said user mobile application other than for interacting with said electronic locker bank, the high-level methods pack being a functional block for the interaction between a user of the electronic locker bank and the electronic locker bank (See at least column 2 lines 16-31 and column 8 line 63 through column 10 line 9 which describe downloading an app onto user devices which is used to perform actions, such as communicating with other devices and services, wherein the application can communicate with a delivery locker, and wherein the application can comprise high-level methods programming and low-level methods programming, and wherein the app is generated via a software development kit, and can be download from an app store. The Examiner notes that an app downloaded from an app store can be integrated into or removed from said a mobile application without impacting said user mobile application).
A locker development kit comprising low-level components configured to be called by said high-level methods for allowing interaction with said electronic locker bank (See at least column 2 lines 16-31 and column 8 line 63 through column 10 line 9 which describe downloading an app onto user devices which is used to perform actions, such as communicating with other devices and services, wherein the application can communicate with a delivery locker, and wherein the application can comprise high-level methods programming and low-level methods programming, and wherein the app is generated via a software development kit, and can be download from an app store, and wherein the low level components can be called by the high level components in order to communicate).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the claimed invention to combine the system and method of using an app on user devices to communicate with a locker bank and a locker management server, wherein the device communicates using short range communication with the locker and long range communication with the server, and wherein the locker is used for delivering items of Zhu, with the system and method of downloading an app onto user devices which is used to perform actions, such as communicating with other devices and services, wherein the application can communicate with a delivery locker, and wherein the application can comprise high-level methods programming and low-level methods programming, and wherein the app is generated via a software development kit, and can be download from an app store of Wahba. By installing an app on a user device, wherein the app can include high level and low level components, and a service will predictably be able to generate the locker delivery app using known and conventional programming techniques, such as high level components and low level components, and which would predictably be able to provided to a range of parties using a conventional app store.
The combination of Zhu and Wahba discloses all of the limitations of claim 1 as stated above. Zhu and Wahba do not explicitly disclose the following, however Hilliar teaches:
A development kit comprising low-level components configured to be called by said high-level methods for allowing interaction, said low-level components being private and not directly called by the user mobile application (See at least paragraph 37 which describes a mobile application that comprises multiple software layers, wherein a high level layer is implemented by an SDK, and a low level layer is private, and wherein the low level is called by the high level to invoke functions implemented by the low level).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the claimed invention to combine the system and method of using an app on user devices to communicate with a locker bank and a locker management server, wherein the device communicates using short range communication with the locker and long range communication with the server, and wherein the locker is used for delivering items of Zhu, with the system and method of downloading an app onto user devices which is used to perform actions, such as communicating with other devices and services, wherein the application can communicate with a delivery locker, and wherein the application can comprise high-level methods programming and low-level methods programming, and wherein the app is generated via a software development kit, and can be download from an app store of Wahba, with the system and method of a mobile application that comprises multiple software layers, wherein a high level layer is implemented by an SDK, and a low level layer is private, and wherein the low level is called by the high level to invoke functions implemented by the low level of Hilliar. By utilizing known software development techniques, an app developer will predictably be able to ensure that software is developed that is able to perform its designated functions, while protecting low level and system components from intrusion.
With respect to claim 3, Zhu/Wahba/Hilliar discloses all of the limitations of claim 1 as stated above. In addition, Zhu teaches:
Wherein said locker development kit comprises a short-distance communication module for said first mobile device to communicate wirelessly with said electronic locker bank via said short-distance communication network and said locker development kit comprises a long-distance communication module for said first mobile device to communicate with said locker banks server via said long-distance communication network allowing for download of a configuration package from said locker banks server to said first mobile device 114, 127, 145-154, and 168-173 which describe a user device using an app to communicate with a locker and a server, wherein communication with the locker is done using short range communication, such as barcode or visual information, and with the server using long range communication, such as using the Internet).
With respect to claim 9, Zhu/Wahba/Hilliar discloses all of the limitations of claim 1 as stated above. In addition, Wahba teaches:
Wherein said locker bank toolbox and said locker development kit are developed in a native software language (See at least column 2 lines 16-31 and column 8 line 63 through column 10 line 9 which describe the application being developed using any computer language and written using an SDK, wherein the languages include object-oriented programming languages or procedural programming languages).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the claimed invention to combine the system and method of using an app on user devices to communicate with a locker bank and a locker management server, wherein the device communicates using short range communication with the locker and long range communication with the server, and wherein the locker is used for delivering items of Zhu, with the system and method of downloading an app onto user devices which is used to perform actions, such as communicating with other devices and services, wherein the application can communicate with a delivery locker, and wherein the application can comprise high-level methods programming and low-level methods programming, and wherein the app is generated via a software development kit and written in any programming language, and can be download from an app store of Wahba, with the system and method of a mobile application that comprises multiple software layers, wherein a high level layer is implemented by an SDK, and a low level layer is private, and wherein the low level is called by the high level to invoke functions implemented by the low level of Hilliar. By installing an app on a user device, wherein the app can include high level and low level components, and a service will predictably be able to generate the locker delivery app using known and conventional programming techniques, such as high level components and low level components, and which would predictably be able to provided to a range of parties using a conventional app store.
With respect to claim 11, Zhu/Wahba/Hilliar discloses all of the limitations of claim 1 as stated above. In addition, Zhu teaches:
Wherein said locker bank toolbox and said locker development kit are provided as a pre-compiled binary file for future compilation with a user mobile application (See at least paragraphs 25, 27, 111, 114, 127, 128, 134, 145-150, 155, and 165 which describe a locker bank used for receiving items for delivery and pickup, wherein the locker bank is controlled by a local and remote system, and wherein the remote system is able to lock/unlock and open/close doors of the locker; and wherein a user mobile device is able to communicate with the locker using short range communication).
With respect to claim 12, Zhu/Wahba/Hilliar discloses all of the limitations of claim 1 as stated above. In addition, Zhu teaches:
Wherein a second mobile device comprises a locker bank application integrating said locker development kit, wherein said low-level components are configured to be called by said locker bank application (See at least paragraphs 25, 111, 118, 151-154, and 168-173 which describe multiple users participating in a lower service, wherein the locker app can be used by a plurality of recipients, couriers, senders, and locker banks).
With respect to claim 13, Zhu/Wahba/Hilliar discloses all of the limitations of claim 1 as stated above. In addition, Zhu teaches:
Wherein said controller system includes a short-distance communication interface for communicating with said first mobile device and a second mobile device (See at least paragraphs 25, 27, 111, 114, 127, 128, 134, 145-150, 155, and 165 which describe a locker bank used for receiving items for delivery and pickup, wherein the locker bank is controlled by a local and remote system, and wherein the remote system is able to lock/unlock and open/close doors of the locker; and wherein a user mobile device is able to communicate with the locker using short range communication).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu, Wahba, and Hilliar as applied to claims 1 and 3 as stated above, and further in view of Maharajh et al. (US 2011/0225417 A1) (hereinafter Maharajh)
With respect to claim 4, Zhu/Wahba/Hilliar discloses all of the limitations of claims 1 and 3 as stated above. Zhu, Wahba, and Hilliar do not explicitly disclose the following, however Maharajh teaches:
Wherein said locker bank toolbox includes a package verification component configured to stop an execution of said high-level methods pack based on a package validity parameter stored in said configuration package and based on a package date stored in a toolbox memory associated with said locker bank toolbox (See at least paragraphs 361-365 and 730 which describe loading content/applications to a user device, wherein the content version is verified as up to date before allowing the content to be used, and wherein rights are verified before it can be used).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the claimed invention to combine the system and method of using an app on user devices to communicate with a locker bank and a locker management server, wherein the device communicates using short range communication with the locker and long range communication with the server, and wherein the locker is used for delivering items of Zhu, with the system and method of downloading an app onto user devices which is used to perform actions, such as communicating with other devices and services, wherein the application can communicate with a delivery locker, and wherein the application can comprise high-level methods programming and low-level methods programming, and wherein the app is generated via a software development kit, and can be download from an app store of Wahba, with the system and method of a mobile application that comprises multiple software layers, wherein a high level layer is implemented by an SDK, and a low level layer is private, and wherein the low level is called by the high level to invoke functions implemented by the low level of Hilliar, with the system and method of loading content/applications to a user device, wherein the content version is verified as up to date before allowing the content to be used, and wherein rights are verified before it can be used of Maharajh. By verifying versions of content files and media rights before allowing the content to be used, a locker system will predictably be able to ensure that users have secure apps, and that they are still apps that they have the rights to, thus ensuring the equipment can operate and communicate as expected.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu, Wahba, and Hilliar as applied to claims 1 and 3 as stated above, and further in view of Mic (US 2023/0266995 A1) (hereinafter Mic).
With respect to claim 5, Zhu/Wahba/Hilliar discloses all of the limitations of claims 1 and 3 as stated above. Zhu, Wahba, and Hilliar do not explicitly disclose the following, however Mic teaches:
Wherein said locker bank toolbox includes a flood protection component configured to stop an execution of said high-level methods pack based on a call delay stored in the configuration package and based on a list of call times stored in a toolbox memory (See at least paragraphs 13-15 and 119 which describes tracking the process requests by apps running on user devices, wherein the app includes flood protection components that stop the processing of the request based on the number of call requests made and if they except a rate limit).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the claimed invention to combine the system and method of using an app on user devices to communicate with a locker bank and a locker management server, wherein the device communicates using short range communication with the locker and long range communication with the server, and wherein the locker is used for delivering items of Zhu, with the system and method of downloading an app onto user devices which is used to perform actions, such as communicating with other devices and services, wherein the application can communicate with a delivery locker, and wherein the application can comprise high-level methods programming and low-level methods programming, and wherein the app is generated via a software development kit, and can be download from an app store of Wahba, with the system and method of a mobile application that comprises multiple software layers, wherein a high level layer is implemented by an SDK, and a low level layer is private, and wherein the low level is called by the high level to invoke functions implemented by the low level of Hilliar, with the system and method of tracking the process requests by apps running on user devices, wherein the app includes flood protection components that stop the processing of the request based on the number of call requests made and if they except a rate limit of Mic. By preventing execution of actions in an app and by a device, in accordance the number of calls exceeding the call limit, wherein the app does this using flood protection, an app developer would predictably prevent a system from being flooded with API calls, thus ensuring system stability.
Claims 6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu, Wahba, and Hilliar as applied to claims 1 and 3 as stated above, and further in view of Chiu (US 2021/0133672 A1) (hereinafter Chiu).
With respect to claim 6, Zhu/Wahba/Hilliar discloses all of the limitations of claims 1 and 3 as stated above. Zhu, Wahba, and Hilliar do not explicitly disclose the following, however Chiu teaches:
Wherein said locker bank toolbox includes a process component configured to stop an execution of said high-level methods pack based a process status stored in a toolbox memory and configured to update said process status when said high-level method is completed (See at least paragraphs 20 and 63 which describe tracking deliveries to a locker using an app and a server, wherein the status of deliveries are tracked in the app of a courier, and wherein upon determining a delivery is completed, triggering the stopping of the app and issuing commands to deliver to the next location).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the claimed invention to combine the system and method of using an app on user devices to communicate with a locker bank and a locker management server, wherein the device communicates using short range communication with the locker and long range communication with the server, and wherein the locker is used for delivering items of Zhu, with the system and method of downloading an app onto user devices which is used to perform actions, such as communicating with other devices and services, wherein the application can communicate with a delivery locker, and wherein the application can comprise high-level methods programming and low-level methods programming, and wherein the app is generated via a software development kit, and can be download from an app store of Wahba, with the system and method of a mobile application that comprises multiple software layers, wherein a high level layer is implemented by an SDK, and a low level layer is private, and wherein the low level is called by the high level to invoke functions implemented by the low level of Hilliar, with the system and method of tracking deliveries to a locker using an app and a server, wherein the status of deliveries are tracked in the app of a courier, and wherein upon determining a delivery is completed, triggering the stopping of the app and issuing commands to deliver to the next location of Chiu. By tracking delivery statuses and stopping the delivery process in an app when deliveries are completed at a location, a delivery service will predictably ensure that deliveries are delivered to the right location, and that items are not misdelivered.
With respect to claim 8, Zhu/Wahba/Hilliar discloses all of the limitations of claims 1 and 3 as stated above. Zhu, Wahba, and Hilliar do not explicitly disclose the following, however Chiu teaches:
Wherein said locker bank toolbox includes an argument verification component configured to verify a coherence of values of arguments associated with said high-level methods pack and provided by said user mobile application compared to a locker mapping stored in a toolbox memory (See at least paragraphs 20 and 63 which describe tracking deliveries to a locker using an app and a server, wherein the status of deliveries are tracked in the app of a courier, and wherein upon determining a delivery is completed, triggering the stopping of the app and issuing commands to deliver to the next location).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the claimed invention to combine the system and method of using an app on user devices to communicate with a locker bank and a locker management server, wherein the device communicates using short range communication with the locker and long range communication with the server, and wherein the locker is used for delivering items of Zhu, with the system and method of downloading an app onto user devices which is used to perform actions, such as communicating with other devices and services, wherein the application can communicate with a delivery locker, and wherein the application can comprise high-level methods programming and low-level methods programming, and wherein the app is generated via a software development kit, and can be download from an app store of Wahba, with the system and method of a mobile application that comprises multiple software layers, wherein a high level layer is implemented by an SDK, and a low level layer is private, and wherein the low level is called by the high level to invoke functions implemented by the low level of Hilliar, with the system and method of tracking deliveries to a locker using an app and a server, wherein the status of deliveries are tracked in the app of a courier, and wherein upon determining a delivery is completed, triggering the stopping of the app and issuing commands to deliver to the next location of Chiu. By tracking delivery statuses and stopping the delivery process in an app when deliveries are completed at a location, a delivery service will predictably ensure that deliveries are delivered to the right location, and that items are not misdelivered.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu, Wahba, and Hilliar as applied to claim 1 as stated above, and further in view of Yoon (KR 2007-0164994 A) (hereinafter Yoon)
With respect to claim 7, Zhu/Wahba/Hilliar discloses all of the limitations of claim 1 as stated above. Zhu, Wahba, and Hilliar do not explicitly disclose the following, however Yoon teaches:
Wherein said locker bank toolbox includes a communication channels component configured to verify whether a short-distance communication module and a long-distance communication module are operational and configured to stop an execution of said high-level method if said high-level methods pack requires using said short-distance communication network or said long-distance communication network (See at least paragraphs 31, 32, 34, 38, 40, and 41 which describe a mobile device that uses applications to operate, wherein the device self-diagnoses communication modules to determine if operational, and wherein if they aren’t, then the app does not operate).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the claimed invention to combine the system and method of using an app on user devices to communicate with a locker bank and a locker management server, wherein the device communicates using short range communication with the locker and long range communication with the server, and wherein the locker is used for delivering items of Zhu, with the system and method of downloading an app onto user devices which is used to perform actions, such as communicating with other devices and services, wherein the application can communicate with a delivery locker, and wherein the application can comprise high-level methods programming and low-level methods programming, and wherein the app is generated via a software development kit, and can be download from an app store of Wahba, with the system and method of a mobile application that comprises multiple software layers, wherein a high level layer is implemented by an SDK, and a low level layer is private, and wherein the low level is called by the high level to invoke functions implemented by the low level of Hilliar, with the system and method of a mobile device that uses applications to operate, wherein the device self-diagnoses communication modules to determine if operational, and wherein if they aren’t, then the app does not operate of Yoon. By confirming that communication modules of a mobile device are operational before allowing an app to function, a system will predictably prevent users from attempting to use an app when it will not work, thus reducing customer frustration with apps that do not work.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu ,Wahba, and Hilliar as applied to claim 1 as stated above, and further in view of Low et al. (US 2022/0335760 A1) (hereinafter Low).
With respect to claim 14, Zhu/Wahba/Hilliar discloses all of the limitations of claim 1 as stated above. Zhu, Wahba, and Hilliar do not explicitly disclose the following, however Low teaches:
Wherein each of said locker development kit and said electronic locker bank comprises a security module for encrypting and decrypting messages, and said security module of said locker development kit is configured for encrypting requests from said locker development kit to said electronic locker bank, and said security module of said electronic locker bank is configured for encrypting responses from said electronic locker bank to said locker development kit (See at least paragraphs 12, 17, 31-37, and 63 which describe using an app on a mobile device to use a locker for deliveries, wherein the device and the locker communicate using short range communication, and wherein all communication is encrypted between parties and the devices can decrypt messages received).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the claimed invention to combine the system and method of using an app on user devices to communicate with a locker bank and a locker management server, wherein the device communicates using short range communication with the locker and long range communication with the server, and wherein the locker is used for delivering items of Zhu, with the system and method of downloading an app onto user devices which is used to perform actions, such as communicating with other devices and services, wherein the application can communicate with a delivery locker, and wherein the application can comprise high-level methods programming and low-level methods programming, and wherein the app is generated via a software development kit, and can be download from an app store of Wahba, with the system and method of a mobile application that comprises multiple software layers, wherein a high level layer is implemented by an SDK, and a low level layer is private, and wherein the low level is called by the high level to invoke functions implemented by the low level of Hilliar, with the system and method of using an app on a mobile device to use a locker for deliveries, wherein the device and the locker communicate using short range communication, and wherein all communication is encrypted between parties and the devices can decrypt messages received of Low. By encrypting all messages between a user device running a locker delivery application and a locker system, a locker management company would predictably be able to ensure that messages are secure, and that unintended parties cannot intercept messages or commit fraud.
Claims 15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zuh, in view of Wahba, in view of HIlliar, in view of Maharajh, in view of Mic, and further in view of Chiu.
With respect to claim 15, Zuh teaches:
An electronic locker bank comprising a controller system configured to manage a compartment equipped with an electronically controlled door for securing a temporary storage of said item, the controller system communicatively coupled with a first mobile device via a short-distance communication network (See at least paragraphs 25, 27, 111, 114, 127, 128, 134, 145-150, 155, and 165 which describe a locker bank used for receiving items for delivery and pickup, wherein the locker bank is controlled by a local and remote system, and wherein the remote system is able to lock/unlock and open/close doors of the locker; and wherein a user mobile device is able to communicate with the locker using short range communication).
A locker banks server communicating with said first mobile device via a long- distance communication network, wherein said first mobile device comprises a user mobile application integrating a locker bank toolbox packaging all required components for allowing for said electronic locker bank to interact with and be operated by said first mobile device (See at least paragraphs 25, 27, 111, 114, 127, 128, 134, 145-150, 155, and 165 which describe a locker bank used for receiving items for delivery and pickup, wherein the locker bank is controlled by a local and remote system, and wherein the remote system is able to lock/unlock and open/close doors of the locker and wherein a user mobile device is able to communicate with the remote system using long range communication).
Zhu discloses all of the limitations of claim 15 as stated above. Zhu does not explicitly disclose the following, however Wahba teaches:
Wherein said locker bank toolbox comprises a locker development kit comprising a high-level methods pack configured to be called by said user mobile application, and low-level components configured to be called by said high-level methods for allowing interaction with said electronic locker bank, and wherein said locker bank toolbox can be integrated into or removed from said user mobile application without impacting said user mobile application other than for interacting with said electronic locker bank; If any of three previous checkings is unsuccessful, stopping an execution of said high-level methods pack and returning an error message (See at least column 2 lines 16-31 and column 8 line 63 through column 10 line 9 which describe downloading an app onto user devices which is used to perform actions, such as communicating with other devices and services, wherein the application can communicate with a delivery locker, and wherein the application can comprise high-level methods programming and low-level methods programming, and wherein the app is generated via a software development kit, and can be download from an app store. The Examiner notes that an app downloaded from an app store can be integrated into or removed from said a mobile application without impacting said user mobile application).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the claimed invention to combine the system and method of using an app on user devices to communicate with a locker bank and a locker management server, wherein the device communicates using short range communication with the locker and long range communication with the server, and wherein the locker is used for delivering items of Zhu, with the system and method of downloading an app onto user devices which is used to perform actions, such as communicating with other devices and services, wherein the application can communicate with a delivery locker, and wherein the application can comprise high-level methods programming and low-level methods programming, and wherein the app is generated via a software development kit, and can be download from an app store of Wahba. By installing an app on a user device, wherein the app can include high level and low level components, and a service will predictably be able to generate the locker delivery app using known and conventional programming techniques, such as high level components and low level components, and which would predictably be able to provided to a range of parties using a conventional app store.
The combination of Zhu and Wahba discloses all of the limitations of claim 15 as stated above. Zhu and Wahba do not explicitly disclose the following, however Hilliar teaches:
Wherein said application comprises a development kit comprising a high-level methods pack configured to be called by said user mobile application, and low-level components configured to be called by said high-level methods for allowing interaction, said low-level components being private and not directly called by the user mobile application (See at least paragraph 37 which describes a mobile application that comprises multiple software layers, wherein a high level layer is implemented by an SDK, and a low level layer is private, and wherein the low level is called by the high level to invoke functions implemented by the low level).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the claimed invention to combine the system and method of using an app on user devices to communicate with a locker bank and a locker management server, wherein the device communicates using short range communication with the locker and long range communication with the server, and wherein the locker is used for delivering items of Zhu, with the system and method of downloading an app onto user devices which is used to perform actions, such as communicating with other devices and services, wherein the application can communicate with a delivery locker, and wherein the application can comprise high-level methods programming and low-level methods programming, and wherein the app is generated via a software development kit, and can be download from an app store of Wahba, with the system and method of a mobile application that comprises multiple software layers, wherein a high level layer is implemented by an SDK, and a low level layer is private, and wherein the low level is called by the high level to invoke functions implemented by the low level of Hilliar. By utilizing known software development techniques, an app developer will predictably be able to ensure that software is developed that is able to perform its designated functions, while protecting low level and system components from intrusion.
The combination of Zhu, Wahba, and Hilliar discloses all of the limitations of claim 15 as stated above. Zhu, Wahba, and Hilliar do not explicitly disclose the following, however Maharajh teaches:
Checking for validity of a configuration package; If any of three previous checkings is unsuccessful, stopping an execution of said high-level methods pack and returning an error message (See at least paragraphs 361-365 and 730 which describe loading content/applications to a user device, wherein the content version is verified as up to date before allowing the content to be used, and wherein rights are verified before it can be used).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the claimed invention to combine the system and method of using an app on user devices to communicate with a locker bank and a locker management server, wherein the device communicates using short range communication with the locker and long range communication with the server, and wherein the locker is used for delivering items of Zhu, with the system and method of downloading an app onto user devices which is used to perform actions, such as communicating with other devices and services, wherein the application can communicate with a delivery locker, and wherein the application can comprise high-level methods programming and low-level methods programming, and wherein the app is generated via a software development kit, and can be download from an app store of Wahba, with the system and method of a mobile application that comprises multiple software layers, wherein a high level layer is implemented by an SDK, and a low level layer is private, and wherein the low level is called by the high level to invoke functions implemented by the low level of Hilliar, with the system and method of loading content/applications to a user device, wherein the content version is verified as up to date before allowing the content to be used, and wherein rights are verified before it can be used of Maharajh. By verifying versions of content files and media rights before allowing the content to be used, a locker system will predictably be able to ensure that users have secure apps, and that they are still apps that they have the rights to, thus ensuring the equipment can operate and communicate as expected.
The combination of Zhu, Wahba, Hilliar, and Maharajh discloses all of the limitations of claim 15 as stated above. Zhu, Wahba, Hilliar, and Maharajh do not explicitly disclose the following, however Mic teaches:
Checking that an elapsed time from a latest time when the high-level methods pack had been called is larger than a pre-stored call delay; If any of three previous checkings is unsuccessful, stopping an execution of said high-level methods pack and returning an error message (See at least paragraphs 13-15 and 119 which describes tracking the process requests by apps running on user devices, wherein the app includes flood protection components that stop the processing of the request based on the number of call requests made and if they except a rate limit).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the claimed invention to combine the system and method of using an app on user devices to communicate with a locker bank and a locker management server, wherein the device communicates using short range communication with the locker and long range communication with the server, and wherein the locker is used for delivering items of Zhu, with the system and method of downloading an app onto user devices which is used to perform actions, such as communicating with other devices and services, wherein the application can communicate with a delivery locker, and wherein the application can comprise high-level methods programming and low-level methods programming, and wherein the app is generated via a software development kit, and can be download from an app store of Wahba, with the system and method of a mobile application that comprises multiple software layers, wherein a high level layer is implemented by an SDK, and a low level layer is private, and wherein the low level is called by the high level to invoke functions implemented by the low level of Hilliar, with the system and method of loading content/applications to a user device, wherein the content version is verified as up to date before allowing the content to be used, and wherein rights are verified before it can be used of Maharajh, with the system and method of tracking the process requests by apps running on user devices, wherein the app includes flood protection components that stop the processing of the request based on the number of call requests made and if they except a rate limit of Mic. By preventing execution of actions in an app and by a device, in accordance the number of calls exceeding the call limit, wherein the app does this using flood protection, an app developer would predictably prevent a system from being flooded with API calls, thus ensuring system stability.
The combination of Zhu, Wahba, Hilliar, Maharajh, and Mic discloses all of the limitations of claim 15 as stated above. Zhu, Wahba, Hilliar, Maharajh, and Mic do not explicitly disclose the following, however Chiu teaches:
Checking for a value of a process status by comparing said value of said process status with a process value associated with said high-level method; If any of three previous checkings is unsuccessful, stopping an execution of said high-level methods pack and returning an error message (See at least paragraphs 20 and 63 which describe tracking deliveries to a locker using an app and a server, wherein the status of deliveries are tracked in the app of a courier, and wherein upon determining a delivery is completed, triggering the stopping of the app and issuing commands to deliver to the next location).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the claimed invention to combine the system and method of using an app on user devices to communicate with a locker bank and a locker management server, wherein the device communicates using short range communication with the locker and long range communication with the server, and wherein the locker is used for delivering items of Zhu, with the system and method of downloading an app onto user devices which is used to perform actions, such as communicating with other devices and services, wherein the application can communicate with a delivery locker, and wherein the application can comprise high-level methods programming and low-level methods programming, and wherein the app is generated via a software development kit, and can be download from an app store of Wahba, with the system and method of a mobile application that comprises multiple software layers, wherein a high level layer is implemented by an SDK, and a low level layer is private, and wherein the low level is called by the high level to invoke functions implemented by the low level of Hilliar, with the system and method of loading content/applications to a user device, wherein the content version is verified as up to date before allowing the content to be used, and wherein rights are verified before it can be used of Maharajh, with the system and method of tracking the process requests by apps running on user devices, wherein the app includes flood protection components that stop the processing of the request based on the number of call requests made and if they except a rate limit of Mic, with the system and method of tracking deliveries to a locker using an app and a server, wherein the status of deliveries are tracked in the app of a courier, and wherein upon determining a delivery is completed, triggering the stopping of the app and issuing commands to deliver to the next location of Chiu. By tracking delivery statuses and stopping the delivery process in an app when deliveries are completed at a location, a delivery service will predictably ensure that deliveries are delivered to the right location, and that items are not misdelivered.
With respect to claim 17, Zuh/Wahba/Hilliar/Maharajh/Mic/Chiu disclose all of the limitations of claim 15 as stated above. In addition, Maharajh teaches:
Wherein said checking for validity of a configuration package includes: establishing a usage duration of said configuration package by subtracting from today's date a package date stored in a toolbox memory associated with said electronic locker bank, comparing said usage duration with a package validity stored in said configuration package, and establishing that the package is valid if said usage duration is smaller than said package validity (See at least paragraphs 361-365 and 730 which describe loading content/applications to a user device, wherein the content version is verified as up to date before allowing the content to be used, and wherein rights are verified before it can be used).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the claimed invention to combine the system and method of using an app on user devices to communicate with a locker bank and a locker management server, wherein the device communicates using short range communication with the locker and long range communication with the server, and wherein the locker is used for delivering items of Zhu, with the system and method of downloading an app onto user devices which is used to perform actions, such as communicating with other devices and services, wherein the application can communicate with a delivery locker, and wherein the application can comprise high-level methods programming and low-level methods programming, and wherein the app is generated via a software development kit, and can be download from an app store of Wahba, with the system and method of a mobile application that comprises multiple software layers, wherein a high level layer is implemented by an SDK, and a low level layer is private, and wherein the low level is called by the high level to invoke functions implemented by the low level of Hilliar, with the system and method of loading content/applications to a user device, wherein the content version is verified as up to date before allowing the content to be used, and wherein rights are verified before it can be used of Maharajh, with the system and method of tracking the process requests by apps running on user devices, wherein the app includes flood protection components that stop the processing of the request based on the number of call requests made and if they except a rate limit of Mic, with the system and method of tracking deliveries to a locker using an app and a server, wherein the status of deliveries are tracked in the app of a courier, and wherein upon determining a delivery is completed, triggering the stopping of the app and issuing commands to deliver to the next location of Chiu. By verifying versions of content files and media rights before allowing the content to be used, a locker system will predictably be able to ensure that users have secure apps, and that they are still apps that they have the rights to, thus ensuring the equipment can operate and communicate as expected.
Claims 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zuh, Wahba, Hilliar, Maharajh, Mic, and Chiu as applied to claim 15 as stated above, and further in view of Yoon.
With respect to claim 16, Zuh/Wahba/Hilliar/Maharajh/Mic/Chiu disclose all of the limitations of claim 15 as stated above. In addition, Chiu teaches:
Checking for coherence for values of arguments associated and provided with said high-level method, and if any of the two previous checkings is unsuccessful, stopping the execution of said high-level methods pack and returning an error message (See at least paragraphs 20 and 63 which describe tracking deliveries to a locker using an app and a server, wherein the status of deliveries are tracked in the app of a courier, and wherein upon determining a delivery is completed, triggering the stopping of the app and issuing commands to deliver to the next location).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the claimed invention to combine the system and method of using an app on user devices to communicate with a locker bank and a locker management server, wherein the device communicates using short range communication with the locker and long range communication with the server, and wherein the locker is used for delivering items of Zhu, with the system and method of downloading an app onto user devices which is used to perform actions, such as communicating with other devices and services, wherein the application can communicate with a delivery locker, and wherein the application can comprise high-level methods programming and low-level methods programming, and wherein the app is generated via a software development kit, and can be download from an app store of Wahba, with the system and method of a mobile application that comprises multiple software layers, wherein a high level layer is implemented by an SDK, and a low level layer is private, and wherein the low level is called by the high level to invoke functions implemented by the low level of Hilliar, with the system and method of loading content/applications to a user device, wherein the content version is verified as up to date before allowing the content to be used, and wherein rights are verified before it can be used of Maharajh, with the system and method of tracking the process requests by apps running on user devices, wherein the app includes flood protection components that stop the processing of the request based on the number of call requests made and if they except a rate limit of Mic, with the system and method of tracking deliveries to a locker using an app and a server, wherein the status of deliveries are tracked in the app of a courier, and wherein upon determining a delivery is completed, triggering the stopping of the app and issuing commands to deliver to the next location of Chiu. By tracking delivery statuses and stopping the delivery process in an app when deliveries are completed at a location, a delivery service will predictably ensure that deliveries are delivered to the right location, and that items are not misdelivered.
Chiu disclose all of the limitations of claim 16 as stated above Zuh, Wahba, Hilliar, Maharajh, Mic, and Chiu do not explicitly disclose the following, however Yoon teaches:
Checking whether a short-distance communication module for said first mobile device to communicate wirelessly with said electronic locker bank via said short-distance communication network and a long-distance communication module for said first mobile device to communicate with said locker banks server via said long-distance communication network are operational (See at least paragraphs 31, 32, 34, 38, 40, and 41 which describe a mobile device that uses applications to operate, wherein the device self-diagnoses communication modules to determine if operational, and wherein if they aren’t, then the app does not operate).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the claimed invention to combine the system and method of using an app on user devices to communicate with a locker bank and a locker management server, wherein the device communicates using short range communication with the locker and long range communication with the server, and wherein the locker is used for delivering items of Zhu, with the system and method of downloading an app onto user devices which is used to perform actions, such as communicating with other devices and services, wherein the application can communicate with a delivery locker, and wherein the application can comprise high-level methods programming and low-level methods programming, and wherein the app is generated via a software development kit, and can be download from an app store of Wahba, with the system and method of a mobile application that comprises multiple software layers, wherein a high level layer is implemented by an SDK, and a low level layer is private, and wherein the low level is called by the high level to invoke functions implemented by the low level of Hilliar, with the system and method of loading content/applications to a user device, wherein the content version is verified as up to date before allowing the content to be used, and wherein rights are verified before it can be used of Maharajh, with the system and method of tracking the process requests by apps running on user devices, wherein the app includes flood protection components that stop the processing of the request based on the number of call requests made and if they except a rate limit of Mic, with the system and method of tracking deliveries to a locker using an app and a server, wherein the status of deliveries are tracked in the app of a courier, and wherein upon determining a delivery is completed, triggering the stopping of the app and issuing commands to deliver to the next location of Chiu, with the system and method of a mobile device that uses applications to operate, wherein the device self-diagnoses communication modules to determine if operational, and wherein if they aren’t, then the app does not operate of Yoon. By confirming that communication modules of a mobile device are operational before allowing an app to function, a system will predictably prevent users from attempting to use an app when it will not work, thus reducing customer frustration with apps that do not work.
With respect to claim 18, Zuh/Wahba/Hilliar/Maharajh/Mic/Chiu/Yoon disclose all of the limitations of claims 15 and 16 as stated above. In addition, Yoon teaches:
Wherein said checking for communication channels includes: accessing an API of an operating system of said mobile device for checking whether said short-distance communication module is active, returning a status of said short-distance communication network, accessing an API of an operating system of said mobile device for checking whether said long-distance communication module is active, and returning a status of said long-distance communication network (See at least paragraphs 31, 32, 34, 38, 40, and 41 which describe a mobile device that uses applications to operate, wherein the device self-diagnoses communication modules to determine if operational, and wherein if they aren’t, then the app does not operate).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the claimed invention to combine the system and method of using an app on user devices to communicate with a locker bank and a locker management server, wherein the device communicates using short range communication with the locker and long range communication with the server, and wherein the locker is used for delivering items of Zhu, with the system and method of downloading an app onto user devices which is used to perform actions, such as communicating with other devices and services, wherein the application can communicate with a delivery locker, and wherein the application can comprise high-level methods programming and low-level methods programming, and wherein the app is generated via a software development kit, and can be download from an app store of Wahba, with the system and method of a mobile application that comprises multiple software layers, wherein a high level layer is implemented by an SDK, and a low level layer is private, and wherein the low level is called by the high level to invoke functions implemented by the low level of Hilliar, with the system and method of loading content/applications to a user device, wherein the content version is verified as up to date before allowing the content to be used, and wherein rights are verified before it can be used of Maharajh, with the system and method of tracking the process requests by apps running on user devices, wherein the app includes flood protection components that stop the processing of the request based on the number of call requests made and if they except a rate limit of Mic, with the system and method of tracking deliveries to a locker using an app and a server, wherein the status of deliveries are tracked in the app of a courier, and wherein upon determining a delivery is completed, triggering the stopping of the app and issuing commands to deliver to the next location of Chiu, with the system and method of a mobile device that uses applications to operate, wherein the device self-diagnoses communication modules to determine if operational, and wherein if they aren’t, then the app does not operate of Yoon. By confirming that communication modules of a mobile device are operational before allowing an app to function, a system will predictably prevent users from attempting to use an app when it will not work, thus reducing customer frustration with apps that do not work.
With respect to claim 19, Zuh/Wahba/Hilliar/Maharajh/Mic/Chiu/Yoon disclose all of the limitations of claims 15 and 16 as stated above. In addition, Maharajh teaches:
Wherein said checking for coherence for values of arguments includes: comparing a format of each of said values of said arguments with pre-stored formats or format rules, or verifying a coherence of said values of said arguments compared to a pre-stored locker mapping, or checking whether each of said values of said arguments is comprised within a pre-defined range (See at least paragraphs 361-365 and 730 which describe loading content/applications to a user device, wherein the content version is verified as up to date before allowing the content to be used, and wherein rights are verified before it can be used).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the claimed invention to combine the system and method of using an app on user devices to communicate with a locker bank and a locker management server, wherein the device communicates using short range communication with the locker and long range communication with the server, and wherein the locker is used for delivering items of Zhu, with the system and method of downloading an app onto user devices which is used to perform actions, such as communicating with other devices and services, wherein the application can communicate with a delivery locker, and wherein the application can comprise high-level methods programming and low-level methods programming, and wherein the app is generated via a software development kit, and can be download from an app store of Wahba, with the system and method of a mobile application that comprises multiple software layers, wherein a high level layer is implemented by an SDK, and a low level layer is private, and wherein the low level is called by the high level to invoke functions implemented by the low level of Hilliar, with the system and method of loading content/applications to a user device, wherein the content version is verified as up to date before allowing the content to be used, and wherein rights are verified before it can be used of Maharajh, with the system and method of tracking the process requests by apps running on user devices, wherein the app includes flood protection components that stop the processing of the request based on the number of call requests made and if they except a rate limit of Mic, with the system and method of tracking deliveries to a locker using an app and a server, wherein the status of deliveries are tracked in the app of a courier, and wherein upon determining a delivery is completed, triggering the stopping of the app and issuing commands to deliver to the next location of Chiu, with the system and method of a mobile device that uses applications to operate, wherein the device self-diagnoses communication modules to determine if operational, and wherein if they aren’t, then the app does not operate of Yoon. By verifying versions of content files and media rights before allowing the content to be used, a locker system will predictably be able to ensure that users have secure apps, and that they are still apps that they have the rights to, thus ensuring the equipment can operate and communicate as expected.
Conclusion
Michael Harrington
Primary Patent Examiner
6 March 2026
Art Unit 3628
/MICHAEL P HARRINGTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3628