DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is a FINAL office action in response to the Applicant’s response filed 23 June 2026.
Claims 1 and 15 have been amended.
Claim 8 has been cancelled.
Claims 1, 3-7, 9, and 11-19 are currently pending and have been examined.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 23 June 2026 with regards to Wahba failing to disclose the claimed architecture have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to claim 1, the Applicant argues on page 9 of their response, “Applicant disagrees that Wahba remedies the deficiencies of Zhu and stands by its previous explanation of why Wahba does not cure the deficiencies of Zhu (e.g., Wahba does not teach or suggest the claimed architecture wherein a user mobile application integrates a distinct toolbox, and where that toolbox itself contains a private ‘locker development kit’ whose low-level components are inaccessible to the user mobile application as required by the claimed limitation ‘a locker development kit comprising low-level components configured to be called by said high-level methods for allowing interaction with said electronic locker bank, said low- level components being private and not directly called by the user mobile application.’). Applicant's previous argument is not addressed in the current Office Action.” The Examiner respectfully disagrees with the Applicant’s interpretation of the previous rejection. In this case, the Examiner notes that the previous Non-Final Rejection did address this argument, and stated in paragraph 7 of the Action, “Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 15 with regards to low level components that are configured to be called by high-level methods, and that the low-level components are private and not directly called by the user mobile application have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.” Further, with respect to the Applicant’s amendments and argument, it is noted that the new reference Hilliar was cited as teaching this element, specifically paragraph 15 of the Office Action stated, “A development kit comprising low-level components configured to be called by said high-level methods for allowing interaction, said low-level components being private and not directly called by the user mobile application (See at least paragraph 37 which describes a mobile application that comprises multiple software layers, wherein a high level layer is implemented by an SDK, and a low level layer is private, and wherein the low level is called by the high level to invoke functions implemented by the low level).” As the Applicant has not argued this portion of the rejection, which addressed their previous amendments and arguments, the Examiner is not persuaded of error. Therefore, the Examiner maintains that this rejection is proper.
Applicant's arguments filed 23 June 2026 with regards to the argument verification component have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to claim 1, the Applicant argues on page 10 of their response, “Respectfully, this interpretation of Chiu is incorrect. Chiu describes a sequence of processes (the delivery person cannot proceed to the next step until the current delivery is confirmed). In contrast, embodiments of the present application describes a data validation (the method call is stopped if the parameters of the call (i.e., the values of arguments) are inconsistent (i.e., verify a coherence of values of arguments) with the current state of the system, even before the operation is attempted), which is a fundamentally different technical concept from the process sequence. Such is recite as ‘an argument verification component configured to verify a coherence of values of arguments associated with said high-level methods pack and provided by said user mobile application compared to a locker mapping stored in a toolbox memory.’” The Examiner respectfully disagrees with the Applicant’s interpretation of the cited prior art of record, and the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claimed invention. First, the Examiner notes that the Applicant has amended the claim to state, “an electronic locker bank comprising a controller system configured to manage a compartment equipped with an electronically controlled door for securing a temporary storage of said item communicating with a first mobile device via a short-distance communication network; a locker banks server communicating with said first mobile device via a long-distance communication network, said first mobile device comprising a user mobile application integrating a locker bank toolbox packaging all required components to allow said electronic locker bank to interact with and be operated by said first mobile device; wherein said locker bank toolbox comprises a high-level methods pack configured to be called by said user mobile application, and wherein said locker bank toolbox can be integrated into or removed from said user mobile application without impacting said user mobile application other than for interacting with said electronic locker bank; the high-level methods pack being a functional block for the interaction between a user of the electronic locker bank and the electronic locker bank; wherein said locker bank toolbox includes an argument verification component configured to verify a coherence of values of arguments associated with said high-level methods pack and provided by said user mobile application compared to a locker mapping stored in a toolbox memory; a locker development kit comprising low-level components configured to be called by said high-level methods for allowing interaction with said electronic locker bank, said low-level components being private and not directly called by the user mobile application.” (Emphasis added). As shown and emphasized here, the Applicant’s claim recites that the mobile device has a mobile application that integrates a locker bank toolbox that packages all required components to allow an electronic locker bank to interact with and be operated by the mobile device, wherein said locker bank toolbox comprises a high-level methods pack, which is a functional block for the interaction between a user of the electronic locker bank and the electronic locker bank, and the locker bank toolbox includes an argument verification component configured to verify a coherence of values of arguments associated with said high-level methods pack and provided by said user mobile application compared to a locker mapping stored in a toolbox memory. Second, with regards to this argument verification component, it is noted that the claims do not set forth or define the values of arguments, or what the arguments actually encompass or reflect, merely that they are “associated with said high-level methods pack and provided by said user mobile application compared to a locker mapping stored in a toolbox memory.” With regards to the Applicant’s specification, paragraph 51 states, “The request to the user for activating the communication channels must be performed by the user mobile application, which handles the MMI. A firth check component 350 regards the arguments associated with a high-level method and provided by the user mobile application when it is called by the user mobile application. The firth check component is configured for verifying, before the high-level method is performed, the format of the arguments, which are required to be provided by the user mobile application for the high-level method to be performed. For example, for the Load high-level method, the following arguments are required from the user mobile application: a number of the shipment or of the article, a scanned barcode value of the shipment or of the article and a size of a compartment that needs to be used, and the firth check component is configured for verifying the format of these arguments. The firth check component is also configured for verifying the coherence of the values of the arguments depending on the configuration and environment of the electronic locker bank. A locker mapping 352 is stored in the toolbox memory and the Locker Bank Toolbox is configured to update the locker mapping with information received from the electronic locker bank or from the locker bank server. The locker mapping provides a dynamic image of the electronic locker bank status and includes information regarding the parcels in the compartments of the electronic locker bank, the accessibility of the compartments, the sizes of the compartments, as well as the formats and the format rules of the arguments associated with each high-level method.” (Emphasis added). As shown here, the Applicant’s specification generally describes verifying the coherence of the values of the arguments depending on the configuration and environment of the electronic locker bank, and the locker mapping providing locker bank statuses. Further, paragraph 54 of the Applicant’s specification states, “This check of act 450 may not be performed for some high-level methods, which do not need the communication channels to be active. In act 460, coherence is checked for values of arguments associated and provided with the high-level method called by the user mobile application. The values of the arguments are checked regarding their format by comparing the format of each of the values of the arguments with formats or format rules stored in the locker mapping 352 and corresponding to each argument. In particular, the value of an argument cannot be null. The coherence of the values of the arguments is also verified depending on the configuration and environment of the electronic locker bank and based on local data such as compartment availability, which can be provided by the electronic locker bank. For example, for the Load high-level method, the size of the compartment, which can be obtained during the user process, and which is provided by the user mobile application to the Locker bank toolbox, is compared with the compartment sizes, which are available for the electronic locker bank according to a locker mapping. If no compartment with the required size is available, an incoherence is identified, and an error message is returned to the user mobile application requesting an appropriate compartment size. Each of the values of the arguments can also be checked whether it is comprised within a pre-defined range stored in the configuration package or in the locker mapping.” (Emphasis added). As shown here, the Applicant’s specification generally describes checking coherence of values for arguments associated and provided with the high-level method called by the user mobile application. Further, the specification has described verifying the coherence of the values of the arguments depending on the configuration and environment of the electronic locker bank and based on local data such as compartment availability. Thus, the Applicant’s specification has failed to specifically and uniquely define the arguments, the values of the arguments, or what it means to have coherence between values of arguments associated with a high-level methods pack and compared to a locker mapping stored in memory. Thus, the broadest reasonable interpretation would encompass verifying the coherence of the values of data associated with the methods pack and provided by the application compared to the locker mapping. Third, with respect to Chiu, the Examiner notes that Chiu states in paragraph 20, “Preferably, the vehicle includes a first electronic device signally connected to the server. When the vehicle stops by a stationary storage facility, the container control unit controls the carrier mechanism to place the unlocked logistic container in the stationary storage facility according to a container-delivery data in or from the server and sends a completion signal to the server through the communication unit after the unlocked logistic container is placed in the stationary storage facility and the server sends a completion notification to the first electronic device.” (Emphasis added). Chiu continues in paragraph 63, “When the logistic containers corresponding to the container-release data and the container-delivery data are put into new locations, the container control unit sends a completion signal to the communication unit in step S712 and the communication unit sends the completion signal to the server in step S713. As shown in step S714, the server generates and sends a completion notification to the first electronic device after receiving the completion signal, so as to notify the delivery person that the work at the current stop is complete and the delivery person can move forward to the next stop.” (Emphasis added). As shown and emphasized here, Chiu has disclosed tracking deliveries to a locker using an app and a server, wherein the status of deliveries are tracked in the app of a courier, and wherein upon determining a delivery is completed, triggering the stopping of the app and issuing commands to deliver to the next location. That is, Chiu has disclosed verifying the coherence of values representing deliveries being completed and packages stored in a locker, before indicating that the worker should proceed to the next stop. As such, the Examiner maintains that the cited art discloses the claimed invention as filed. Fourth, with respect to the Applicant’s argument that, “embodiments of the present application describes a data validation (the method call is stopped if the parameters of the call (i.e., the values of arguments) are inconsistent (i.e., verify a coherence of values of arguments) with the current state of the system, even before the operation is attempted), which is a fundamentally different technical concept from the process sequence,” the Examiner is not persuaded. In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., the method call is stopped if the parameters of the call are inconsistent with the current state of the system, even before the operation is attempted) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Specifically, it is noted that nothing in the claims refer to method calls, or stopping method calls if parameters are inconsistent with the current state of the system. The Examiner further notes that were the Applicant to specifically identify or define the arguments, or the value of arguments, this rejection would be overcome. Therefore, the Examiner maintains that this rejection is proper.
Applicant's arguments filed 23 June 2026 with respect to the combination have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to the claims, the Applicant argues on page 11 of their response, “A person of ordinary skill in the art, starting with the locker system of Zhu, would not have been motivated to look to the generic software architecture of Hilliar to solve any problem in Zhu. The combination proposed by the Examiner is a classic example of impermissible hindsight, using Applicant's own disclosure as a blueprint to piece together disparate elements from unrelated arts.” The Examiner respectfully disagrees with the Applicant’s interpretation of the cited prior art of record, and the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claimed invention. In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, the Examiner relied on the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in order to combine the references, specifically as the combination would yield predictable results. In particular, as shown in the rejection, “It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the claimed invention to combine the system and method of using an app on user devices to communicate with a locker bank and a locker management server, wherein the device communicates using short range communication with the locker and long range communication with the server, and wherein the locker is used for delivering items of Zhu, with the system and method of downloading an app onto user devices which is used to perform actions, such as communicating with other devices and services, wherein the application can communicate with a delivery locker, and wherein the application can comprise high-level methods programming and low-level methods programming, and wherein the app is generated via a software development kit, and can be download from an app store of Wahba. By installing an app on a user device, wherein the app can include high level and low level components, and a service will predictably be able to generate the locker delivery app using known and conventional programming techniques, such as high level components and low level components, and which would predictably be able to provided to a range of parties using a conventional app store.” (Emphasis added). Further, as shown in the rejection, it would have been obvious to combine the teachings of Hilliar, specifically, “the system and method of a mobile application that comprises multiple software layers, wherein a high level layer is implemented by an SDK, and a low level layer is private, and wherein the low level is called by the high level to invoke functions implemented by the low level,” because, “By utilizing known software development techniques, an app developer will predictably be able to ensure that software is developed that is able to perform its designated functions, while protecting low level and system components from intrusion.” (Emphasis added). Thus, the Examiner has specifically identified the reasoning as to why one of ordinary skill would combine the refences, and shown the predictable results of the combination. Therefore, the Examiner maintains that this rejection is proper.
The Applicant continues on page 12 of their response, “Because the prior art combination fails to recognize the problem solved by the Applicant, it cannot render the Applicant's solution obvious. The claimed architecture, particularly the enforced privacy of the low-level components within the toolbox, is a specific solution to a specific technical problem not contemplated by the prior art.” The Examiner respectfully disagrees with the Applicant’s interpretation of the cited prior art of record, and the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claimed invention. With respect to the Applicant’s argued technical solution, the Examiner notes that the Applicant’s argument refers to paragraphs 5 and 35 of their specification. Paragraph 5 states:
“As the service provider can integrate the locker bank toolbox into his user mobile application, there is no handling of two separate application packages (for the user mobile application and the locker bank application) and only one application installation is required. For the user, interacting with the electronic locker bank is a seamless experience as the locker bank toolbox is fully integrated in the user mobile application and the user has to login only in the user mobile application. Additionally, providing a set of high-level methods allows the service provider to adapt and optimize the interaction with the electronic locker bank according to his own processes and allows him to develop his specific eco-system.” (Emphasis added).
Further paragraph 35 states:
“The locker bank toolbox of the invention provides multiple benefits. As the service provider can integrate the locker bank toolbox into his user mobile application, there is no handling of two separate application packages (for the user mobile application and the locker bank application) and only one application installation is required. For the user, interacting with the electronic locker bank is a seamless experience as the locker bank toolbox is fully integrated in the user mobile application and the user has to login only in the user mobile application. Additionally, providing a set of high-level methods allows the service provider to adapt and optimize the interaction with the electronic locker bank according to his own processes and allows him to develop his specific eco-system. The high-level methods call low-level components for operating the electronic locker bank included in a Locker development kit 238 comprising low-level operation functions and components 240 such as functions for opening compartment doors or for managing data regarding shipments/articles or compartments status or components for reading door status or lock status. The high-level methods are public and can be directly called by the user mobile application. The low-level components of the Locker development kit are private and cannot be directly called by the user mobile application. The Locker development kit also comprises a short-distance communication module 242 for the first mobile device to communicate wirelessly with the electronic locker bank via the short-distance communication network 206. In a preferred embodiment, requests from the Locker development kit to the electronic locker bank are encrypted for local security by a security module 243 and decrypted by the security module 226 of the electronic locker bank, and responses from the electronic locker bank to the Locker development kit also are encrypted by the security module 226 and then decrypted by the security module 243. Additionally, the Locker development kit comprises a long-distance communication module 244 for the first mobile device to communicate with a remote Locker banks server 250 via the long-distance communication network 252. The locker bank toolbox is generally developed and provided by a locker banks provider with a network of electronic locker banks and the remote Locker banks server. The locker bank toolbox constitutes a complete package grouping all required components for allowing for the first mobile device to interact with the electronic locker bank via the high-level methods, which connect with the low-level components of the Locker development kit. The locker bank toolbox can easily be integrated into the user mobile application without impacting the user mobile application operation other than adding the capability for interacting with the electronic locker bank. Also, the locker bank toolbox can easily be removed from the user mobile application without impacting the user mobile application operation other than removing the capability for interacting with the electronic locker bank. The locker bank toolbox is designed for integration in the user mobile application of any carrier or of any retailer.” (Emphasis added).
As shown and emphasized here, the Applicant’s specification has set forth various benefits of their asserted invention described in the specification; however, this description does not describe the claim elements themselves, nor has the Applicant provided reasoning as to why the cited prior art does not disclose the claimed invention. Thus, were the Applicant to specifically identify what elements in their claims were directed towards solving problems with “providing a secure and simple integration path for third-party ecosystems,” and explained why the cited art does not disclose such an element, the Examiner would reconsider the cited rejection. Further, in response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971). Thus, the Examiner is not persuaded of error, and maintains that this rejection is proper.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 6, 9, and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu (US 2020/0250614 A1) (hereinafter Zhu), in view of Wahba et al. (US 11790309 B1) (hereinafter Wahba), in view of Hilliar (US 2016/0219055 A1) (hereinafter Hilliar), and further in view of Chiu (US 2021/0133672 A1) (hereinafter Chiu).
With respect to claim 1, Zhu teaches:
An electronic locker bank comprising a controller system configured to manage a compartment equipped with an electronically controlled door for securing a temporary storage of said item communicating with a first mobile device via a short-distance communication network (See at least paragraphs 25, 27, 111, 114, 127, 128, 134, 145-150, 155, and 165 which describe a locker bank used for receiving items for delivery and pickup, wherein the locker bank is controlled by a local and remote system, and wherein the remote system is able to lock/unlock and open/close doors of the locker; and wherein a user mobile device is able to communicate with the locker using short range communication).
A locker banks server communicating with said first mobile device via a long-distance communication network, said first mobile device comprising a user mobile application integrating a locker bank toolbox packaging all required components to allow said electronic locker bank to interact with and be operated by said first mobile device (See at least paragraphs 25, 27, 111, 114, 127, 128, 134, 145-150, 155, and 165 which describe a locker bank used for receiving items for delivery and pickup, wherein the locker bank is controlled by a local and remote system, and wherein the remote system is able to lock/unlock and open/close doors of the locker and wherein a user mobile device is able to communicate with the remote system using long range communication).
Zhu discloses all of the limitations of claim 1 as stated above. Zhu does not explicitly disclose the following, however Wahba teaches:
Wherein said locker bank toolbox comprises a high-level methods pack configured to be called by said user mobile application, wherein said locker bank toolbox can be integrated into or removed from said user mobile application without impacting said user mobile application other than for interacting with said electronic locker bank, the high-level methods pack being a functional block for the interaction between a user of the electronic locker bank and the electronic locker bank (See at least column 2 lines 16-31 and column 8 line 63 through column 10 line 9 which describe downloading an app onto user devices which is used to perform actions, such as communicating with other devices and services, wherein the application can communicate with a delivery locker, and wherein the application can comprise high-level methods programming and low-level methods programming, and wherein the app is generated via a software development kit, and can be download from an app store. The Examiner notes that an app downloaded from an app store can be integrated into or removed from said a mobile application without impacting said user mobile application).
A locker development kit comprising low-level components configured to be called by said high-level methods for allowing interaction with said electronic locker bank (See at least column 2 lines 16-31 and column 8 line 63 through column 10 line 9 which describe downloading an app onto user devices which is used to perform actions, such as communicating with other devices and services, wherein the application can communicate with a delivery locker, and wherein the application can comprise high-level methods programming and low-level methods programming, and wherein the app is generated via a software development kit, and can be download from an app store, and wherein the low level components can be called by the high level components in order to communicate).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the claimed invention to combine the system and method of using an app on user devices to communicate with a locker bank and a locker management server, wherein the device communicates using short range communication with the locker and long range communication with the server, and wherein the locker is used for delivering items of Zhu, with the system and method of downloading an app onto user devices which is used to perform actions, such as communicating with other devices and services, wherein the application can communicate with a delivery locker, and wherein the application can comprise high-level methods programming and low-level methods programming, and wherein the app is generated via a software development kit, and can be download from an app store of Wahba. By installing an app on a user device, wherein the app can include high level and low level components, and a service will predictably be able to generate the locker delivery app using known and conventional programming techniques, such as high level components and low level components, and which would predictably be able to provided to a range of parties using a conventional app store.
The combination of Zhu and Wahba discloses all of the limitations of claim 1 as stated above. Zhu and Wahba do not explicitly disclose the following, however Hilliar teaches:
A development kit comprising low-level components configured to be called by said high-level methods for allowing interaction, said low-level components being private and not directly called by the user mobile application (See at least paragraph 37 which describes a mobile application that comprises multiple software layers, wherein a high level layer is implemented by an SDK, and a low level layer is private, and wherein the low level is called by the high level to invoke functions implemented by the low level).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the claimed invention to combine the system and method of using an app on user devices to communicate with a locker bank and a locker management server, wherein the device communicates using short range communication with the locker and long range communication with the server, and wherein the locker is used for delivering items of Zhu, with the system and method of downloading an app onto user devices which is used to perform actions, such as communicating with other devices and services, wherein the application can communicate with a delivery locker, and wherein the application can comprise high-level methods programming and low-level methods programming, and wherein the app is generated via a software development kit, and can be download from an app store of Wahba, with the system and method of a mobile application that comprises multiple software layers, wherein a high level layer is implemented by an SDK, and a low level layer is private, and wherein the low level is called by the high level to invoke functions implemented by the low level of Hilliar. By utilizing known software development techniques, an app developer will predictably be able to ensure that software is developed that is able to perform its designated functions, while protecting low level and system components from intrusion.
The combination of Zhu, Wahba, and Hilliar discloses all of the limitations of claim 1 as stated above. Zhu, Wahba, and Hilliar do not explicitly disclose the following, however Chiu teaches:
Wherein said locker bank toolbox includes an argument verification component configured to verify a coherence of values of arguments associated with said high-level methods pack and provided by said user mobile application compared to a locker mapping stored in a toolbox memory (See at least paragraphs 20 and 63 which describe tracking deliveries to a locker using an app and a server, wherein the status of deliveries are tracked in the app of a courier, and wherein upon determining a delivery is completed, triggering the stopping of the app and issuing commands to deliver to the next location).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the claimed invention to combine the system and method of using an app on user devices to communicate with a locker bank and a locker management server, wherein the device communicates using short range communication with the locker and long range communication with the server, and wherein the locker is used for delivering items of Zhu, with the system and method of downloading an app onto user devices which is used to perform actions, such as communicating with other devices and services, wherein the application can communicate with a delivery locker, and wherein the application can comprise high-level methods programming and low-level methods programming, and wherein the app is generated via a software development kit, and can be download from an app store of Wahba, with the system and method of a mobile application that comprises multiple software layers, wherein a high level layer is implemented by an SDK, and a low level layer is private, and wherein the low level is called by the high level to invoke functions implemented by the low level of Hilliar, with the system and method of tracking deliveries to a locker using an app and a server, wherein the status of deliveries are tracked in the app of a courier, and wherein upon determining a delivery is completed, triggering the stopping of the app and issuing commands to deliver to the next location of Chiu. By tracking delivery statuses and stopping the delivery process in an app when deliveries are completed at a location, a delivery service will predictably ensure that deliveries are delivered to the right location, and that items are not misdelivered.
With respect to claim 3, Zhu/Wahba/Hilliar/Chiu discloses all of the limitations of claim 1 as stated above. In addition, Zhu teaches:
Wherein said locker development kit comprises a short-distance communication module for said first mobile device to communicate wirelessly with said electronic locker bank via said short-distance communication network and said locker development kit comprises a long-distance communication module for said first mobile device to communicate with said locker banks server via said long-distance communication network allowing for download of a configuration package from said locker banks server to said first mobile device 114, 127, 145-154, and 168-173 which describe a user device using an app to communicate with a locker and a server, wherein communication with the locker is done using short range communication, such as barcode or visual information, and with the server using long range communication, such as using the Internet).
With respect to claim 6, Zhu/Wahba/Hilliar/Chiu discloses all of the limitations of claims 1 and 3 as stated above. In addition, Chiu teaches:
Wherein said locker bank toolbox includes a process component configured to stop an execution of said high-level methods pack based a process status stored in a toolbox memory and configured to update said process status when said high-level method is completed (See at least paragraphs 20 and 63 which describe tracking deliveries to a locker using an app and a server, wherein the status of deliveries are tracked in the app of a courier, and wherein upon determining a delivery is completed, triggering the stopping of the app and issuing commands to deliver to the next location).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the claimed invention to combine the system and method of using an app on user devices to communicate with a locker bank and a locker management server, wherein the device communicates using short range communication with the locker and long range communication with the server, and wherein the locker is used for delivering items of Zhu, with the system and method of downloading an app onto user devices which is used to perform actions, such as communicating with other devices and services, wherein the application can communicate with a delivery locker, and wherein the application can comprise high-level methods programming and low-level methods programming, and wherein the app is generated via a software development kit, and can be download from an app store of Wahba, with the system and method of a mobile application that comprises multiple software layers, wherein a high level layer is implemented by an SDK, and a low level layer is private, and wherein the low level is called by the high level to invoke functions implemented by the low level of Hilliar, with the system and method of tracking deliveries to a locker using an app and a server, wherein the status of deliveries are tracked in the app of a courier, and wherein upon determining a delivery is completed, triggering the stopping of the app and issuing commands to deliver to the next location of Chiu. By tracking delivery statuses and stopping the delivery process in an app when deliveries are completed at a location, a delivery service will predictably ensure that deliveries are delivered to the right location, and that items are not misdelivered.
With respect to claim 9, Zhu/Wahba/Hilliar/Chiu discloses all of the limitations of claim 1 as stated above. In addition, Wahba teaches:
Wherein said locker bank toolbox and said locker development kit are developed in a native software language (See at least column 2 lines 16-31 and column 8 line 63 through column 10 line 9 which describe the application being developed using any computer language and written using an SDK, wherein the languages include object-oriented programming languages or procedural programming languages).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the claimed invention to combine the system and method of using an app on user devices to communicate with a locker bank and a locker management server, wherein the device communicates using short range communication with the locker and long range communication with the server, and wherein the locker is used for delivering items of Zhu, with the system and method of downloading an app onto user devices which is used to perform actions, such as communicating with other devices and services, wherein the application can communicate with a delivery locker, and wherein the application can comprise high-level methods programming and low-level methods programming, and wherein the app is generated via a software development kit and written in any programming language, and can be download from an app store of Wahba, with the system and method of a mobile application that comprises multiple software layers, wherein a high level layer is implemented by an SDK, and a low level layer is private, and wherein the low level is called by the high level to invoke functions implemented by the low level of Hilliar, with the system and method of tracking deliveries to a locker using an app and a server, wherein the status of deliveries are tracked in the app of a courier, and wherein upon determining a delivery is completed, triggering the stopping of the app and issuing commands to deliver to the next location of Chiu. By installing an app on a user device, wherein the app can include high level and low level components, and a service will predictably be able to generate the locker delivery app using known and conventional programming techniques, such as high level components and low level components, and which would predictably be able to provided to a range of parties using a conventional app store.
With respect to claim 11, Zhu/Wahba/Hilliar /Chiudiscloses all of the limitations of claim 1 as stated above. In addition, Zhu teaches:
Wherein said locker bank toolbox and said locker development kit are provided as a pre-compiled binary file for future compilation with a user mobile application (See at least paragraphs 25, 27, 111, 114, 127, 128, 134, 145-150, 155, and 165 which describe a locker bank used for receiving items for delivery and pickup, wherein the locker bank is controlled by a local and remote system, and wherein the remote system is able to lock/unlock and open/close doors of the locker; and wherein a user mobile device is able to communicate with the locker using short range communication).
With respect to claim 12, Zhu/Wahba/Hilliar/Chiu discloses all of the limitations of claim 1 as stated above. In addition, Zhu teaches:
Wherein a second mobile device comprises a locker bank application integrating said locker development kit, wherein said low-level components are configured to be called by said locker bank application (See at least paragraphs 25, 111, 118, 151-154, and 168-173 which describe multiple users participating in a lower service, wherein the locker app can be used by a plurality of recipients, couriers, senders, and locker banks).
With respect to claim 13, Zhu/Wahba/Hilliar/Chiu discloses all of the limitations of claim 1 as stated above. In addition, Zhu teaches:
Wherein said controller system includes a short-distance communication interface for communicating with said first mobile device and a second mobile device (See at least paragraphs 25, 27, 111, 114, 127, 128, 134, 145-150, 155, and 165 which describe a locker bank used for receiving items for delivery and pickup, wherein the locker bank is controlled by a local and remote system, and wherein the remote system is able to lock/unlock and open/close doors of the locker; and wherein a user mobile device is able to communicate with the locker using short range communication).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu, Wahba, Hilliar, and Chiu as applied to claims 1 and 3 as stated above, and further in view of Maharajh et al. (US 2011/0225417 A1) (hereinafter Maharajh)
With respect to claim 4, Zhu/Wahba/Hilliar/Chiu discloses all of the limitations of claims 1 and 3 as stated above. Zhu, Wahba, Hilliar, and Chiu do not explicitly disclose the following, however Maharajh teaches:
Wherein said locker bank toolbox includes a package verification component configured to stop an execution of said high-level methods pack based on a package validity parameter stored in said configuration package and based on a package date stored in a toolbox memory associated with said locker bank toolbox (See at least paragraphs 361-365 and 730 which describe loading content/applications to a user device, wherein the content version is verified as up to date before allowing the content to be used, and wherein rights are verified before it can be used).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the claimed invention to combine the system and method of using an app on user devices to communicate with a locker bank and a locker management server, wherein the device communicates using short range communication with the locker and long range communication with the server, and wherein the locker is used for delivering items of Zhu, with the system and method of downloading an app onto user devices which is used to perform actions, such as communicating with other devices and services, wherein the application can communicate with a delivery locker, and wherein the application can comprise high-level methods programming and low-level methods programming, and wherein the app is generated via a software development kit, and can be download from an app store of Wahba, with the system and method of a mobile application that comprises multiple software layers, wherein a high level layer is implemented by an SDK, and a low level layer is private, and wherein the low level is called by the high level to invoke functions implemented by the low level of Hilliar, with the system and method of tracking deliveries to a locker using an app and a server, wherein the status of deliveries are tracked in the app of a courier, and wherein upon determining a delivery is completed, triggering the stopping of the app and issuing commands to deliver to the next location of Chiu, with the system and method of loading content/applications to a user device, wherein the content version is verified as up to date before allowing the content to be used, and wherein rights are verified before it can be used of Maharajh. By verifying versions of content files and media rights before allowing the content to be used, a locker system will predictably be able to ensure that users have secure apps, and that they are still apps that they have the rights to, thus ensuring the equipment can operate and communicate as expected.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu, Wahba, Hilliar, and Chiu as applied to claims 1 and 3 as stated above, and further in view of Mic (US 2023/0266995 A1) (hereinafter Mic).
With respect to claim 5, Zhu/Wahba/Hilliar/Chiu discloses all of the limitations of claims 1 and 3 as stated above. Zhu, Wahba, Hilliar, and Chiu do not explicitly disclose the following, however Mic teaches:
Wherein said locker bank toolbox includes a flood protection component configured to stop an execution of said high-level methods pack based on a call delay stored in the configuration package and based on a list of call times stored in a toolbox memory (See at least paragraphs 13-15 and 119 which describes tracking the process requests by apps running on user devices, wherein the app includes flood protection components that stop the processing of the request based on the number of call requests made and if they except a rate limit).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the claimed invention to combine the system and method of using an app on user devices to communicate with a locker bank and a locker management server, wherein the device communicates using short range communication with the locker and long range communication with the server, and wherein the locker is used for delivering items of Zhu, with the system and method of downloading an app onto user devices which is used to perform actions, such as communicating with other devices and services, wherein the application can communicate with a delivery locker, and wherein the application can comprise high-level methods programming and low-level methods programming, and wherein the app is generated via a software development kit, and can be download from an app store of Wahba, with the system and method of a mobile application that comprises multiple software layers, wherein a high level layer is implemented by an SDK, and a low level layer is private, and wherein the low level is called by the high level to invoke functions implemented by the low level of Hilliar, with the system and method of tracking deliveries to a locker using an app and a server, wherein the status of deliveries are tracked in the app of a courier, and wherein upon determining a delivery is completed, triggering the stopping of the app and issuing commands to deliver to the next location of Chiu, with the system and method of tracking the process requests by apps running on user devices, wherein the app includes flood protection components that stop the processing of the request based on the number of call requests made and if they except a rate limit of Mic. By preventing execution of actions in an app and by a device, in accordance the number of calls exceeding the call limit, wherein the app does this using flood protection, an app developer would predictably prevent a system from being flooded with API calls, thus ensuring system stability.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu, Wahba, Hilliar, and Chiu as applied to claim 1 as stated above, and further in view of Yoon (KR 2007-0164994 A) (hereinafter Yoon)
With respect to claim 7, Zhu/Wahba/Hilliar/Chiu discloses all of the limitations of claim 1 as stated above. Zhu, Wahba, Hilliar/Chiu do not explicitly disclose the following, however Yoon teaches:
Wherein said locker bank toolbox includes a communication channels component configured to verify whether a short-distance communication module and a long-distance communication module are operational and configured to stop an execution of said high-level method if said high-level methods pack requires using said short-distance communication network or said long-distance communication network (See at least paragraphs 31, 32, 34, 38, 40, and 41 which describe a mobile device that uses applications to operate, wherein the device self-diagnoses communication modules to determine if operational, and wherein if they aren’t, then the app does not operate).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the claimed invention to combine the system and method of using an app on user devices to communicate with a locker bank and a locker management server, wherein the device communicates using short range communication with the locker and long range communication with the server, and wherein the locker is used for delivering items of Zhu, with the system and method of downloading an app onto user devices which is used to perform actions, such as communicating with other devices and services, wherein the application can communicate with a delivery locker, and wherein the application can comprise high-level methods programming and low-level methods programming, and wherein the app is generated via a software development kit, and can be download from an app store of Wahba, with the system and method of a mobile application that comprises multiple software layers, wherein a high level layer is implemented by an SDK, and a low level layer is private, and wherein the low level is called by the high level to invoke functions implemented by the low level of Hilliar, with the system and method of tracking deliveries to a locker using an app and a server, wherein the status of deliveries are tracked in the app of a courier, and wherein upon determining a delivery is completed, triggering the stopping of the app and issuing commands to deliver to the next location of Chiu, with the system and method of a mobile device that uses applications to operate, wherein the device self-diagnoses communication modules to determine if operational, and wherein if they aren’t, then the app does not operate of Yoon. By confirming that communication modules of a mobile device are operational before allowing an app to function, a system will predictably prevent users from attempting to use an app when it will not work, thus reducing customer frustration with apps that do not work.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu ,Wahba, Hilliar, and Chiu as applied to claim 1 as stated above, and further in view of Low et al. (US 2022/0335760 A1) (hereinafter Low).
With respect to claim 14, Zhu/Wahba/Hilliar/Chiu discloses all of the limitations of claim 1 as stated above. Zhu, Wahba, Hilliar, and Chiu do not explicitly disclose the following, however Low teaches:
Wherein each of said locker development kit and said electronic locker bank comprises a security module for encrypting and decrypting messages, and said security module of said locker development kit is configured for encrypting requests from said locker development kit to said electronic locker bank, and said security module of said electronic locker bank is configured for encrypting responses from said electronic locker bank to said locker development kit (See at least paragraphs 12, 17, 31-37, and 63 which describe using an app on a mobile device to use a locker for deliveries, wherein the device and the locker communicate using short range communication, and wherein all communication is encrypted between parties and the devices can decrypt messages received).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the claimed invention to combine the system and method of using an app on user devices to communicate with a locker bank and a locker management server, wherein the device communicates using short range communication with the locker and long range communication with the server, and wherein the locker is used for delivering items of Zhu, with the system and method of downloading an app onto user devices which is used to perform actions, such as communicating with other devices and services, wherein the application can communicate with a delivery locker, and wherein the application can comprise high-level methods programming and low-level methods programming, and wherein the app is generated via a software development kit, and can be download from an app store of Wahba, with the system and method of a mobile application that comprises multiple software layers, wherein a high level layer is implemented by an SDK, and a low level layer is private, and wherein the low level is called by the high level to invoke functions implemented by the low level of Hilliar, with the system and method of tracking deliveries to a locker using an app and a server, wherein the status of deliveries are tracked in the app of a courier, and wherein upon determining a delivery is completed, triggering the stopping of the app and issuing commands to deliver to the next location of Chiu, with the system and method of using an app on a mobile device to use a locker for deliveries, wherein the device and the locker communicate using short range communication, and wherein all communication is encrypted between parties and the devices can decrypt messages received of Low. By encrypting all messages between a user device running a locker delivery application and a locker system, a locker management company would predictably be able to ensure that messages are secure, and that unintended parties cannot intercept messages or commit fraud.
Claims 15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zuh, in view of Wahba, in view of HIlliar, in view of Maharajh, in view of Mic, and further in view of Chiu.
With respect to claim 15, Zuh teaches:
An electronic locker bank comprising a controller system configured to manage a compartment equipped with an electronically controlled door for securing a temporary storage of said item, the controller system communicatively coupled with a first mobile device via a short-distance communication network (See at least paragraphs 25, 27, 111, 114, 127, 128, 134, 145-150, 155, and 165 which describe a locker bank used for receiving items for delivery and pickup, wherein the locker bank is controlled by a local and remote system, and wherein the remote system is able to lock/unlock and open/close doors of the locker; and wherein a user mobile device is able to communicate with the locker using short range communication).
A locker banks server communicating with said first mobile device via a long- distance communication network, wherein said first mobile device comprises a user mobile application integrating a locker bank toolbox packaging all required components for allowing for said electronic locker bank to interact with and be operated by said first mobile device (See at least paragraphs 25, 27, 111, 114, 127, 128, 134, 145-150, 155, and 165 which describe a locker bank used for receiving items for delivery and pickup, wherein the locker bank is controlled by a local and remote system, and wherein the remote system is able to lock/unlock and open/close doors of the locker and wherein a user mobile device is able to communicate with the remote system using long range communication).
Zhu discloses all of the limitations of claim 15 as stated above. Zhu does not explicitly disclose the following, however Wahba teaches:
Wherein said locker bank toolbox comprises a locker development kit comprising a high-level methods pack configured to be called by said user mobile application, and low-level components configured to be called by said high-level methods for allowing interaction with said electronic locker bank, and wherein said locker bank toolbox can be integrated into or removed from said user mobile application without impacting said user mobile application other than for interacting with said electronic locker bank; If any of three previous checkings is unsuccessful, stopping an execution of said high-level methods pack and returning an error message (See at least column 2 lines 16-31 and column 8 line 63 through column 10 line 9 which describe downloading an app onto user devices which is used to perform actions, such as communicating with other devices and services, wherein the application can communicate with a delivery locker, and wherein the application can comprise high-level methods programming and low-level methods programming, and wherein the app is generated via a software development kit, and can be download from an app store. The Examiner notes that an app downloaded from an app store can be integrated into or removed from said a mobile application without impacting said user mobile application).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the claimed invention to combine the system and method of using an app on user devices to communicate with a locker bank and a locker management server, wherein the device communicates using short range communication with the locker and long range communication with the server, and wherein the locker is used for delivering items of Zhu, with the system and method of downloading an app onto user devices which is used to perform actions, such as communicating with other devices and services, wherein the application can communicate with a delivery locker, and wherein the application can comprise high-level methods programming and low-level methods programming, and wherein the app is generated via a software development kit, and can be download from an app store of Wahba. By installing an app on a user device, wherein the app can include high level and low level components, and a service will predictably be able to generate the locker delivery app using known and conventional programming techniques, such as high level components and low level components, and which would predictably be able to provided to a range of parties using a conventional app store.
The combination of Zhu and Wahba discloses all of the limitations of claim 15 as stated above. Zhu and Wahba do not explicitly disclose the following, however Hilliar teaches:
Wherein said application comprises a development kit comprising a high-level methods pack configured to be called by said user mobile application, and low-level components configured to be called by said high-level methods for allowing interaction, said low-level components being private and not directly called by the user mobile application (See at least paragraph 37 which describes a mobile application that comprises multiple software layers, wherein a high level layer is implemented by an SDK, and a low level layer is private, and wherein the low level is called by the high level to invoke functions implemented by the low level).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the claimed invention to combine the system and method of using an app on user devices to communicate with a locker bank and a locker management server, wherein the device communicates using short range communication with the locker and long range communication with the server, and wherein the locker is used for delivering items of Zhu, with the system and method of downloading an app onto user devices which is used to perform actions, such as communicating with other devices and services, wherein the application can communicate with a delivery locker, and wherein the application can comprise high-level methods programming and low-level methods programming, and wherein the app is generated via a software development kit, and can be download from an app store of Wahba, with the system and method of a mobile application that comprises multiple software layers, wherein a high level layer is implemented by an SDK, and a low level layer is private, and wherein the low level is called by the high level to invoke functions implemented by the low level of Hilliar. By utilizing known software development techniques, an app developer will predictably be able to ensure that software is developed that is able to perform its designated functions, while protecting low level and system components from intrusion.
The combination of Zhu, Wahba, and Hilliar discloses all of the limitations of claim 15 as stated above. Zhu, Wahba, and Hilliar do not explicitly disclose the following, however Maharajh teaches:
Checking for validity of a configuration package; If any of three previous checkings is unsuccessful, stopping an execution of said high-level methods pack and returning an error message (See at least paragraphs 361-365 and 730 which describe loading content/applications to a user device, wherein the content version is verified as up to date before allowing the content to be used, and wherein rights are verified before it can be used).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the claimed invention to combine the system and method of using an app on user devices to communicate with a locker bank and a locker management server, wherein the device communicates using short range communication with the locker and long range communication with the server, and wherein the locker is used for delivering items of Zhu, with the system and method of downloading an app onto user devices which is used to perform actions, such as communicating with other devices and services, wherein the application can communicate with a delivery locker, and wherein the application can comprise high-level methods programming and low-level methods programming, and wherein the app is generated via a software development kit, and can be download from an app store of Wahba, with the system and method of a mobile application that comprises multiple software layers, wherein a high level layer is implemented by an SDK, and a low level layer is private, and wherein the low level is called by the high level to invoke functions implemented by the low level of Hilliar, with the system and method of loading content/applications to a user device, wherein the content version is verified as up to date before allowing the content to be used, and wherein rights are verified before it can be used of Maharajh. By verifying versions of content files and media rights before allowing the content to be used, a locker system will predictably be able to ensure that users have secure apps, and that they are still apps that they have the rights to, thus ensuring the equipment can operate and communicate as expected.
The combination of Zhu, Wahba, Hilliar, and Maharajh discloses all of the limitations of claim 15 as stated above. Zhu, Wahba, Hilliar, and Maharajh do not explicitly disclose the following, however Mic teaches:
Checking that an elapsed time from a latest time when the high-level methods pack had been called is larger than a pre-stored call delay; If any of three previous checkings is unsuccessful, stopping an execution of said high-level methods pack and returning an error message (See at least paragraphs 13-15 and 119 which describes tracking the process requests by apps running on user devices, wherein the app includes flood protection components that stop the processing of the request based on the number of call requests made and if they except a rate limit).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the claimed invention to combine the system and method of using an app on user devices to communicate with a locker bank and a locker management server, wherein the device communicates using short range communication with the locker and long range communication with the server, and wherein the locker is used for delivering items of Zhu, with the system and method of downloading an app onto user devices which is used to perform actions, such as communicating with other devices and services, wherein the application can communicate with a delivery locker, and wherein the application can comprise high-level methods programming and low-level methods programming, and wherein the app is generated via a software development kit, and can be download from an app store of Wahba, with the system and method of a mobile application that comprises multiple software layers, wherein a high level layer is implemented by an SDK, and a low level layer is private, and wherein the low level is called by the high level to invoke functions implemented by the low level of Hilliar, with the system and method of loading content/applications to a user device, wherein the content version is verified as up to date before allowing the content to be used, and wherein rights are verified before it can be used of Maharajh, with the system and method of tracking the process requests by apps running on user devices, wherein the app includes flood protection components that stop the processing of the request based on the number of call requests made and if they except a rate limit of Mic. By preventing execution of actions in an app and by a device, in accordance the number of calls exceeding the call limit, wherein the app does this using flood protection, an app developer would predictably prevent a system from being flooded with API calls, thus ensuring system stability.
The combination of Zhu, Wahba, Hilliar, Maharajh, and Mic discloses all of the limitations of claim 15 as stated above. Zhu, Wahba, Hilliar, Maharajh, and Mic do not explicitly disclose the following, however Chiu teaches:
Wherein said locker bank toolbox includes an argument verification component configured to verify a coherence of values of arguments associated with said high-level methods pack and provided by said user mobile application compared to a locker mapping stored in a toolbox memory (See at least paragraphs 20 and 63 which describe tracking deliveries to a locker using an app and a server, wherein the status of deliveries are tracked in the app of a courier, and wherein upon determining a delivery is completed, triggering the stopping of the app and issuing commands to deliver to the next location).
Checking for a value of a process status by comparing said value of said process status with a process value associated with said high-level method; If any of three previous checkings is unsuccessful, stopping an execution of said high-level methods pack and returning an error message (See at least paragraphs 20 and 63 which describe tracking deliveries to a locker using an app and a server, wherein the status of deliveries are tracked in the app of a courier, and wherein upon determining a delivery is completed, triggering the stopping of the app and issuing commands to deliver to the next location).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the claimed invention to combine the system and method of using an app on user devices to communicate with a locker bank and a locker management server, wherein the device communicates using short range communication with the locker and long range communication with the server, and wherein the locker is used for delivering items of Zhu, with the system and method of downloading an app onto user devices which is used to perform actions, such as communicating with other devices and services, wherein the application can communicate with a delivery locker, and wherein the application can comprise high-level methods programming and low-level methods programming, and wherein the app is generated via a software development kit, and can be download from an app store of Wahba, with the system and method of a mobile application that comprises multiple software layers, wherein a high level layer is implemented by an SDK, and a low level layer is private, and wherein the low level is called by the high level to invoke functions implemented by the low level of Hilliar, with the system and method of loading content/applications to a user device, wherein the content version is verified as up to date before allowing the content to be used, and wherein rights are verified before it can be used of Maharajh, with the system and method of tracking the process requests by apps running on user devices, wherein the app includes flood protection components that stop the processing of the request based on the number of call requests made and if they except a rate limit of Mic, with the system and method of tracking deliveries to a locker using an app and a server, wherein the status of deliveries are tracked in the app of a courier, and wherein upon determining a delivery is completed, triggering the stopping of the app and issuing commands to deliver to the next location of Chiu. By tracking delivery statuses and stopping the delivery process in an app when deliveries are completed at a location, a delivery service will predictably ensure that deliveries are delivered to the right location, and that items are not misdelivered.
With respect to claim 17, Zuh/Wahba/Hilliar/Maharajh/Mic/Chiu disclose all of the limitations of claim 15 as stated above. In addition, Maharajh teaches:
Wherein said checking for validity of a configuration package includes: establishing a usage duration of said configuration package by subtracting from today's date a package date stored in a toolbox memory associated with said electronic locker bank, comparing said usage duration with a package validity stored in said configuration package, and establishing that the package is valid if said usage duration is smaller than said package validity (See at least paragraphs 361-365 and 730 which describe loading content/applications to a user device, wherein the content version is verified as up to date before allowing the content to be used, and wherein rights are verified before it can be used).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the claimed invention to combine the system and method of using an app on user devices to communicate with a locker bank and a locker management server, wherein the device communicates using short range communication with the locker and long range communication with the server, and wherein the locker is used for delivering items of Zhu, with the system and method of downloading an app onto user devices which is used to perform actions, such as communicating with other devices and services, wherein the application can communicate with a delivery locker, and wherein the application can comprise high-level methods programming and low-level methods programming, and wherein the app is generated via a software development kit, and can be download from an app store of Wahba, with the system and method of a mobile application that comprises multiple software layers, wherein a high level layer is implemented by an SDK, and a low level layer is private, and wherein the low level is called by the high level to invoke functions implemented by the low level of Hilliar, with the system and method of loading content/applications to a user device, wherein the content version is verified as up to date before allowing the content to be used, and wherein rights are verified before it can be used of Maharajh, with the system and method of tracking the process requests by apps running on user devices, wherein the app includes flood protection components that stop the processing of the request based on the number of call requests made and if they except a rate limit of Mic, with the system and method of tracking deliveries to a locker using an app and a server, wherein the status of deliveries are tracked in the app of a courier, and wherein upon determining a delivery is completed, triggering the stopping of the app and issuing commands to deliver to the next location of Chiu. By verifying versions of content files and media rights before allowing the content to be used, a locker system will predictably be able to ensure that users have secure apps, and that they are still apps that they have the rights to, thus ensuring the equipment can operate and communicate as expected.
Claims 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zuh, Wahba, Hilliar, Maharajh, Mic, and Chiu as applied to claim 15 as stated above, and further in view of Yoon.
With respect to claim 16, Zuh/Wahba/Hilliar/Maharajh/Mic/Chiu disclose all of the limitations of claim 15 as stated above. In addition, Chiu teaches:
Checking for coherence for values of arguments associated and provided with said high-level method, and if any of the two previous checkings is unsuccessful, stopping the execution of said high-level methods pack and returning an error message (See at least paragraphs 20 and 63 which describe tracking deliveries to a locker using an app and a server, wherein the status of deliveries are tracked in the app of a courier, and wherein upon determining a delivery is completed, triggering the stopping of the app and issuing commands to deliver to the next location).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the claimed invention to combine the system and method of using an app on user devices to communicate with a locker bank and a locker management server, wherein the device communicates using short range communication with the locker and long range communication with the server, and wherein the locker is used for delivering items of Zhu, with the system and method of downloading an app onto user devices which is used to perform actions, such as communicating with other devices and services, wherein the application can communicate with a delivery locker, and wherein the application can comprise high-level methods programming and low-level methods programming, and wherein the app is generated via a software development kit, and can be download from an app store of Wahba, with the system and method of a mobile application that comprises multiple software layers, wherein a high level layer is implemented by an SDK, and a low level layer is private, and wherein the low level is called by the high level to invoke functions implemented by the low level of Hilliar, with the system and method of loading content/applications to a user device, wherein the content version is verified as up to date before allowing the content to be used, and wherein rights are verified before it can be used of Maharajh, with the system and method of tracking the process requests by apps running on user devices, wherein the app includes flood protection components that stop the processing of the request based on the number of call requests made and if they except a rate limit of Mic, with the system and method of tracking deliveries to a locker using an app and a server, wherein the status of deliveries are tracked in the app of a courier, and wherein upon determining a delivery is completed, triggering the stopping of the app and issuing commands to deliver to the next location of Chiu. By tracking delivery statuses and stopping the delivery process in an app when deliveries are completed at a location, a delivery service will predictably ensure that deliveries are delivered to the right location, and that items are not misdelivered.
Chiu disclose all of the limitations of claim 16 as stated above Zuh, Wahba, Hilliar, Maharajh, Mic, and Chiu do not explicitly disclose the following, however Yoon teaches:
Checking whether a short-distance communication module for said first mobile device to communicate wirelessly with said electronic locker bank via said short-distance communication network and a long-distance communication module for said first mobile device to communicate with said locker banks server via said long-distance communication network are operational (See at least paragraphs 31, 32, 34, 38, 40, and 41 which describe a mobile device that uses applications to operate, wherein the device self-diagnoses communication modules to determine if operational, and wherein if they aren’t, then the app does not operate).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the claimed invention to combine the system and method of using an app on user devices to communicate with a locker bank and a locker management server, wherein the device communicates using short range communication with the locker and long range communication with the server, and wherein the locker is used for delivering items of Zhu, with the system and method of downloading an app onto user devices which is used to perform actions, such as communicating with other devices and services, wherein the application can communicate with a delivery locker, and wherein the application can comprise high-level methods programming and low-level methods programming, and wherein the app is generated via a software development kit, and can be download from an app store of Wahba, with the system and method of a mobile application that comprises multiple software layers, wherein a high level layer is implemented by an SDK, and a low level layer is private, and wherein the low level is called by the high level to invoke functions implemented by the low level of Hilliar, with the system and method of loading content/applications to a user device, wherein the content version is verified as up to date before allowing the content to be used, and wherein rights are verified before it can be used of Maharajh, with the system and method of tracking the process requests by apps running on user devices, wherein the app includes flood protection components that stop the processing of the request based on the number of call requests made and if they except a rate limit of Mic, with the system and method of tracking deliveries to a locker using an app and a server, wherein the status of deliveries are tracked in the app of a courier, and wherein upon determining a delivery is completed, triggering the stopping of the app and issuing commands to deliver to the next location of Chiu, with the system and method of a mobile device that uses applications to operate, wherein the device self-diagnoses communication modules to determine if operational, and wherein if they aren’t, then the app does not operate of Yoon. By confirming that communication modules of a mobile device are operational before allowing an app to function, a system will predictably prevent users from attempting to use an app when it will not work, thus reducing customer frustration with apps that do not work.
With respect to claim 18, Zuh/Wahba/Hilliar/Maharajh/Mic/Chiu/Yoon disclose all of the limitations of claims 15 and 16 as stated above. In addition, Yoon teaches:
Wherein said checking for communication channels includes: accessing an API of an operating system of said mobile device for checking whether said short-distance communication module is active, returning a status of said short-distance communication network, accessing an API of an operating system of said mobile device for checking whether said long-distance communication module is active, and returning a status of said long-distance communication network (See at least paragraphs 31, 32, 34, 38, 40, and 41 which describe a mobile device that uses applications to operate, wherein the device self-diagnoses communication modules to determine if operational, and wherein if they aren’t, then the app does not operate).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the claimed invention to combine the system and method of using an app on user devices to communicate with a locker bank and a locker management server, wherein the device communicates using short range communication with the locker and long range communication with the server, and wherein the locker is used for delivering items of Zhu, with the system and method of downloading an app onto user devices which is used to perform actions, such as communicating with other devices and services, wherein the application can communicate with a delivery locker, and wherein the application can comprise high-level methods programming and low-level methods programming, and wherein the app is generated via a software development kit, and can be download from an app store of Wahba, with the system and method of a mobile application that comprises multiple software layers, wherein a high level layer is implemented by an SDK, and a low level layer is private, and wherein the low level is called by the high level to invoke functions implemented by the low level of Hilliar, with the system and method of loading content/applications to a user device, wherein the content version is verified as up to date before allowing the content to be used, and wherein rights are verified before it can be used of Maharajh, with the system and method of tracking the process requests by apps running on user devices, wherein the app includes flood protection components that stop the processing of the request based on the number of call requests made and if they except a rate limit of Mic, with the system and method of tracking deliveries to a locker using an app and a server, wherein the status of deliveries are tracked in the app of a courier, and wherein upon determining a delivery is completed, triggering the stopping of the app and issuing commands to deliver to the next location of Chiu, with the system and method of a mobile device that uses applications to operate, wherein the device self-diagnoses communication modules to determine if operational, and wherein if they aren’t, then the app does not operate of Yoon. By confirming that communication modules of a mobile device are operational before allowing an app to function, a system will predictably prevent users from attempting to use an app when it will not work, thus reducing customer frustration with apps that do not work.
With respect to claim 19, Zuh/Wahba/Hilliar/Maharajh/Mic/Chiu/Yoon disclose all of the limitations of claims 15 and 16 as stated above. In addition, Maharajh teaches:
Wherein said checking for coherence for values of arguments includes: comparing a format of each of said values of said arguments with pre-stored formats or format rules, or verifying a coherence of said values of said arguments compared to a pre-stored locker mapping, or checking whether each of said values of said arguments is comprised within a pre-defined range (See at least paragraphs 361-365 and 730 which describe loading content/applications to a user device, wherein the content version is verified as up to date before allowing the content to be used, and wherein rights are verified before it can be used).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the claimed invention to combine the system and method of using an app on user devices to communicate with a locker bank and a locker management server, wherein the device communicates using short range communication with the locker and long range communication with the server, and wherein the locker is used for delivering items of Zhu, with the system and method of downloading an app onto user devices which is used to perform actions, such as communicating with other devices and services, wherein the application can communicate with a delivery locker, and wherein the application can comprise high-level methods programming and low-level methods programming, and wherein the app is generated via a software development kit, and can be download from an app store of Wahba, with the system and method of a mobile application that comprises multiple software layers, wherein a high level layer is implemented by an SDK, and a low level layer is private, and wherein the low level is called by the high level to invoke functions implemented by the low level of Hilliar, with the system and method of loading content/applications to a user device, wherein the content version is verified as up to date before allowing the content to be used, and wherein rights are verified before it can be used of Maharajh, with the system and method of tracking the process requests by apps running on user devices, wherein the app includes flood protection components that stop the processing of the request based on the number of call requests made and if they except a rate limit of Mic, with the system and method of tracking deliveries to a locker using an app and a server, wherein the status of deliveries are tracked in the app of a courier, and wherein upon determining a delivery is completed, triggering the stopping of the app and issuing commands to deliver to the next location of Chiu, with the system and method of a mobile device that uses applications to operate, wherein the device self-diagnoses communication modules to determine if operational, and wherein if they aren’t, then the app does not operate of Yoon. By verifying versions of content files and media rights before allowing the content to be used, a locker system will predictably be able to ensure that users have secure apps, and that they are still apps that they have the rights to, thus ensuring the equipment can operate and communicate as expected.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Michael Harrington
Primary Patent Examiner
27 August 2026
Art Unit 3628
/MICHAEL P HARRINGTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3628