DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “tactile feedback member” in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Johnson et al. (US 20150060568. Johnson hereinafter. IDS provided by the Applicant on 6/18/2025).
With respect to claim 1, Johnson discloses a spray gun cup receptacle (60. Fig. 1-10B) comprising an open end (106) for (capable of) receiving a liner within a cavity; a base end (at 104) opposite the open end, the base end being positionable with respect to a work surface with the open end facing upwards such that a base (horizontal) plane passing through the base end is parallel to the work surface; a sidewall (100) surrounding the cavity and connecting the open end to the base end; one or more apertures (the opened top 106, 102 and 70) disposed within the sidewall through which the cavity is visible from outside the spray gun cup receptacle; at least one or more apertures having a perimeter (of 102) defined by a (void cylindrical) portion of the sidewall; and a tactile feedback member comprising a protrusion (110, 108 and the unmarked projection on 100 (See Fig. 6C of Johnson with additional annotations below)) extending radially-outwardly from the sidewall, the tactile feedback member positioned on the sidewall directly adjacent the perimeter of one of the one or more apertures, wherein the tactile feedback member allows a user to know (by touching), without looking at the spray gun cup receptable, that an area adjacent an aperture is being gripped.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shultz et al. (US 9174231. Shultz hereinafter) in view of Johnson et al. (US 20150060568. Johnson hereinafter).
With respect to claim 1, Shultz discloses a spray gun cup receptacle (Fig. 3A) comprising an open end (at 52A) for receiving a liner (42) within a cavity; a base end (at 41) opposite the open end, the base end being positionable with respect to a work surface with the open end facing upwards such that a base (horizontal) plane passing through the base end is parallel to the work surface; a sidewall (from the open end to 41) surrounding the cavity and connecting the open end to the base end; one or more apertures (41 and the top opening) disposed within the sidewall through which the cavity is visible from outside the spray gun cup receptacle; at least one or more apertures having a perimeter (of 41) defined by a (void cylindrical) portion of the sidewall; and a tactile feedback member (peripheral edges of 41. See enlarged Fig. 3 with additional annotations below) positioned on the sidewall directly adjacent the perimeter of one of the one or more apertures, wherein the tactile feedback member allows a user to know (by touching), without looking at the spray gun cup receptable, that an area adjacent an aperture is being gripped.
Shultz fails to disclose wherein the tactile feedback member comprising a protrusion extending radially-outwardly from the sidewall.
However, Johnson teaches a spray gun cup receptacle (60. Fig. 1-10B) comprising an open end (106) for (capable of) receiving a liner (200 and can 12-12E) within a cavity; a base end (at 104) opposite the open end, the base end being positionable with respect to a work surface with the open end facing upwards such that a base (horizontal) plane passing through the base end is parallel to the work surface; a sidewall (100) surrounding the cavity and connecting the open end to the base end; one or more apertures (102) disposed within the sidewall through which the cavity is visible from outside the spray gun cup receptacle; at least one or more apertures having a perimeter (of 102) defined by a (void cylindrical) portion of the sidewall; and a tactile feedback member comprising a protrusion (110 and the unmarked projection on 100 (See enlarged Fig. 6C with additional annotations below)) extending radially-outwardly from the sidewall, the tactile feedback member positioned on the sidewall directly adjacent the perimeter of one of the one or more apertures, wherein the tactile feedback member allows a user to know (by touching), without looking at the spray gun cup receptable, that an area adjacent an aperture is being gripped.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of a tactile feedback member comprising a protrusion, as taught by Johnson, to Shultz’s tactile feedback member, in order to enhance better gripping of the receptacle by the user (Figs. 6A-6C and paragraphs [0047]-[0049]).
With respect to claim 2, Shultz’s spray gun cup receptacle modified by Johnson’s tactile feedback member comprising a protrusion, Shultz further discloses the spray gun cup receptacle of claim 1 wherein two apertures are divided one (41 at sidewall) above (bottom 41) the other by a (vertical and horizontal) brace member (See Fig. 3A with additional annotations below), wherein at least a (vertical) portion of the brace member is disposed at a brace member angle (See Fig. 3A with additional annotations below) a relative to the base plane, the brace member angle a being greater than 0 degrees and less than 90 degrees.
With respect to claim 3, Shultz’s spray gun cup receptacle modified by Johnson’s tactile feedback member comprising a protrusion, Shultz further discloses the spray gun cup receptacle of claim 2 wherein the brace member defines a brace member trajectory about the cavity, the brace member trajectory comprising an ellipse that is not a circle (same configuration as the Applicant’s invention).
With respect to claim 4, Shultz’s spray gun cup receptacle modified by Johnson’s tactile feedback member comprising a protrusion, Shultz further discloses the spray gun cup receptacle of claim 2 wherein the brace member angle α is at least (more than) 2 degrees.
With respect to claim 5, Shultz’s spray gun cup receptacle modified by Johnson’s tactile feedback member comprising a protrusion, Shultz and Johnson discloses the spray gun cup receptacle of claim 4 except for wherein the brace member angle α is less than or equal to 30 degrees.
However, a change in form or shape (making the receptacle with smaller brace member angle) is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art, absent any showing of unexpected results. In re Dailey et al., 149 USPQ 47.
With respect to claim 6, Shultz’s spray gun cup receptacle modified by Johnson’s tactile feedback member comprising a protrusion, Shultz further discloses the spray gun cup receptacle of claim 1 wherein the open end comprises receptacle connection structure (52A) to permit a lid member (44) to be secured to the open end.
With respect to claim 7, Shultz’s spray gun cup receptacle modified by Johnson’s tactile feedback member comprising a protrusion, Shultz further discloses the spray gun cup receptacle of claim 6 wherein the receptacle connection structure permits the lid member to be secured by one of: a threaded connection (threads 52A), helical wedge connection, a snap-fit connection, a push-fit connection, a twist-lock connection, a clip connection, a strap connection, or combinations thereof.
With respect to claim 8, Shultz’s spray gun cup receptacle modified by Johnson’s tactile feedback member comprising a protrusion, Shultz further discloses the spray gun cup receptacle of claim 1 wherein the sidewall comprises one or more generally (two) vertical support members intersecting the brace member (Figs. 3A).
With respect to claim 10, Shultz’s spray gun cup receptacle modified by Johnson’s tactile feedback member comprising a protrusion, Shultz further discloses a spray gun cup (40, 42 and 44) comprising a spray gun cup receptacle according to claim 1; and a liner (42) positioned in the cavity, the liner comprising an open (top) end corresponding to the open end of the spray gun cup receptacle.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shultz in view of Johnson and further in view of Kosmyna et al. (US 20060283861).
With respect to claim 11, Shultz and Johnson discloses the spray gun cup of claim 10 except for volumetric indicia position to be visible through the apertures of the sidewall and indicating a volume of contents of the liner.
However, Kosmyna et al. teach a spray gun (Figs. 1-17) with a liner (55) having volumetric indicia (230) position to be visible through the transparent wall and indicate a volume of contents of the liner.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of volumetric indicia , as taught by Kosmyna et al., to Shultz’s liner, in order to provide measurement ([0062]) and indicate a volume of contents of the liner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-8, 10 and 11 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the reference or combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/CHEE-CHONG LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752 March 4, 2026