DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed June 25, 2026, have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Specifically, previously cited US 7,136,588 (“ISLAM”) teaches a polarization controller arranged to adjust a polarization of a plurality of attenuated optical signals to produce an output optical signal (col. 23, lines 24-40).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
US 2023/0358970 (“MONE”) in view of ISLAM.
Regarding claims 1 and 4, MONE teaches an optical module (16; FIG. 3) comprising: an optical connector port (95a, 95b; par. [0065]) arranged to connect to an optical port on a line card and to receive an input optical signal from the line card when the optical connector port is connected to the optical port on the line card (par. [0067]); a plurality of variable optical attenuators (64; pars. [0076], [0077]) arranged to produce a plurality of attenuated optical signals based on the input optical signal; a first polarization controller (275; FIG. 4B; par. [0085]) arranged to produce an output optical signal based on the plurality of attenuated optical signals; and an output port (24; par. [0061]) arranged to output the output optical signal.
MONE does not explicitly teach a first polarization controller arranged to adjust a polarization of the plurality of attenuated optical signals; and a second polarization controller arranged to adjust a polarization of the input optical signal to produce an adjusted input optical signal, wherein producing the plurality of attenuated optical signals is based on the adjusted input optical signal. ISLAM teaches a polarization controllers arranged to adjust a polarization of an input optical signal to produce an adjusted input optical signal, wherein producing a plurality of attenuated optical signals is based on the adjusted input optical signal (col. 23, lines 24-40). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date to modify the optical module of MONE with the first and second polarization controllers as taught by ISLAM. The motivation would have been to generate a control signal (col. 23, lines 24-40).
Regarding claims 9 and 12, MONE teaches a method comprising: connecting, by an optical connector port (95a, 95b; FIG. 3; par. [0065]), an optical module (16) to an optical port on a line card; receiving, at the optical module and through the optical connector port, an input optical signal from the line card when the optical connector port is connected to the optical port on the line card (par. [0067]); producing, by a plurality of variable optical attenuators (64; pars. [0076], [0077]) of the optical module, a plurality of attenuated optical signals based on the input optical signal; producing, by a first polarization controller (275; FIG. 4B; par. [0085]) of the optical module, an output optical signal based on the plurality of attenuated optical signals; and outputting, by an output port (24; par. [0061]) of the optical module, the output optical signal.
MONE does not explicitly teach a first polarization controller arranged to adjust a polarization of the plurality of attenuated optical signals; and a second polarization controller arranged to adjust a polarization of the input optical signal to produce an adjusted input optical signal, wherein producing the plurality of attenuated optical signals is based on the adjusted input optical signal. ISLAM teaches a polarization controllers arranged to adjust a polarization of an input optical signal to produce an adjusted input optical signal, wherein producing a plurality of attenuated optical signals is based on the adjusted input optical signal (col. 23, lines 24-40). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date to modify the optical module of MONE with the first and second polarization controllers as taught by ISLAM. The motivation would have been to generate a control signal (col. 23, lines 24-40).
Regarding claims 17 and 18, MONE teaches an optical module (16; FIG. 3) comprising: an optical connector port (95a, 95b; par. [0065]) arranged to connect to an optical port on a line card and to receive an input optical signal from the line card when the optical connector port is connected to the optical port on the line card (par. [0067]); a wavelength division multiplexing filter (78; pars. 0073], [0075]) arranged to pass a plurality of wavelengths of the input optical signal; a plurality of variable optical attenuators (64; pars. [0076], [0077]) arranged to produce a plurality of attenuated optical signals based on the passed plurality of wavelengths of the input optical signal; a multiplexer (82) arranged to produce an intermediate optical signal based on the plurality of attenuated optical signals (pars. [0062]-[0065]); and a first polarization controller (275; FIG. 4B; par. [0085]) arranged to produce an output optical signal based on the intermediate optical signal.
MONE does not explicitly teach a first polarization controller arranged to adjust a polarization of the plurality of attenuated optical signals; and a second polarization controller arranged to adjust a polarization of the input optical signal to produce an adjusted input optical signal, wherein producing the plurality of attenuated optical signals is based on the adjusted input optical signal. ISLAM teaches a polarization controllers arranged to adjust a polarization of an input optical signal to produce an adjusted input optical signal, wherein producing a plurality of attenuated optical signals is based on the adjusted input optical signal (col. 23, lines 24-40). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date to modify the optical module of MONE with the first and second polarization controllers as taught by ISLAM. The motivation would have been to generate a control signal (col. 23, lines 24-40).
Regarding claims 2 and 10, MONE teaches a wavelength division multiplexing filter (82) arranged to pass a plurality of wavelengths of the input optical signal, wherein producing the plurality of attenuated optical signals is based on the plurality of wavelengths (pars. [0062]-[0065]).
Regarding claims 3 and 11, MONE teaches a multiplexer (82) arranged to produce an intermediate optical signal based on the plurality of attenuated optical signals, wherein producing the output optical signal is based on the intermediate optical signal (pars. [0062]-[0065]).
Regarding claims 5, 13, and 19, MONE teaches a plurality of photodiodes (276; FIG. 4B) arranged to produce a plurality of electrical signals based on the plurality of attenuated optical signals (pars. [0085], [0086]).
Regarding claims 6, 14, and 20, MONE teaches a photodiode (276; FIG. 4B) arranged to produce an electrical signal based on the output optical signal (pars. [0085], [0086]).
Regarding claims 7 and 15, MONE teaches that the optical connector port comprises a fiber array unit (94) arranged to receive the input optical signal when the optical connector port is connected to the optical port on the line card (par. [0065]).
Regarding claims 8 and 16, MONE teaches that the output port is arranged to connect to a receiver circuit (277; FIG. 4B) that tests the output optical signal (pars. [0085]-[0087]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JERRY M BLEVINS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874