DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-11, 13-17, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2023/0358970 (“MONE”).
Regarding claim 1, MONE teaches an optical module (16; FIG. 3) comprising: an optical connector port (95a, 95b; par. [0065]) arranged to connect to an optical port on a line card and to receive an input optical signal from the line card when the optical connector port is connected to the optical port on the line card (par. [0067]); a plurality of variable optical attenuators (64; pars. [0076], [0077]) arranged to produce a plurality of attenuated optical signals based on the input optical signal; a first polarization controller (275; FIG. 4B; par. [0085]) arranged to produce an output optical signal based on the plurality of attenuated optical signals; and an output port (24; par. [0061]) arranged to output the output optical signal.
Regarding claim 9, MONE teaches a method comprising: connecting, by an optical connector port (95a, 95b; FIG. 3; par. [0065]), an optical module (16) to an optical port on a line card; receiving, at the optical module and through the optical connector port, an input optical signal from the line card when the optical connector port is connected to the optical port on the line card (par. [0067]); producing, by a plurality of variable optical attenuators (64; pars. [0076], [0077]) of the optical module, a plurality of attenuated optical signals based on the input optical signal; producing, by a first polarization controller (275; FIG. 4B; par. [0085]) of the optical module, an output optical signal based on the plurality of attenuated optical signals; and outputting, by an output port (24; par. [0061]) of the optical module, the output optical signal.
Regarding claim 17, MONE teaches an optical module (16; FIG. 3) comprising: an optical connector port (95a, 95b; par. [0065]) arranged to connect to an optical port on a line card and to receive an input optical signal from the line card when the optical connector port is connected to the optical port on the line card (par. [0067]); a wavelength division multiplexing filter (78; pars. 0073], [0075]) arranged to pass a plurality of wavelengths of the input optical signal; a plurality of variable optical attenuators (64; pars. [0076], [0077]) arranged to produce a plurality of attenuated optical signals based on the passed plurality of wavelengths of the input optical signal; a multiplexer (82) arranged to produce an intermediate optical signal based on the plurality of attenuated optical signals (pars. [0062]-[0065]); and a first polarization controller (275; FIG. 4B; par. [0085]) arranged to produce an output optical signal based on the intermediate optical signal.
Regarding claims 2 and 10, MONE teaches a wavelength division multiplexing filter (82) arranged to pass a plurality of wavelengths of the input optical signal, wherein producing the plurality of attenuated optical signals is based on the plurality of wavelengths (pars. [0062]-[0065]).
Regarding claims 3 and 11, MONE teaches a multiplexer (82) arranged to produce an intermediate optical signal based on the plurality of attenuated optical signals, wherein producing the output optical signal is based on the intermediate optical signal (pars. [0062]-[0065]).
Regarding claims 5, 13, and 19, MONE teaches a plurality of photodiodes (276; FIG. 4B) arranged to produce a plurality of electrical signals based on the plurality of attenuated optical signals (pars. [0085], [0086]).
Regarding claims 6, 14, and 20, MONE teaches a photodiode (276; FIG. 4B) arranged to produce an electrical signal based on the output optical signal (pars. [0085], [0086]).
Regarding claims 7 and 15, MONE teaches that the optical connector port comprises a fiber array unit (94) arranged to receive the input optical signal when the optical connector port is connected to the optical port on the line card (par. [0065]).
Regarding claims 8 and 16, MONE teaches that the output port is arranged to connect to a receiver circuit (277; FIG. 4B) that tests the output optical signal (pars. [0085]-[0087]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 12, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MONE in view of US 7,136,588 (“ISLAM”).
MONE teaches the limitations of the respective base claims. MONE does not explicitly teach a second polarization controller arranged to adjust a polarization of the input optical signal to produce an adjusted input optical signal, wherein producing the plurality of attenuated optical signals is based on the adjusted input optical signal. ISLAM teaches a polarization controller arranged to adjust a polarization of an input optical signal to produce an adjusted input optical signal, wherein producing a plurality of attenuated optical signals is based on the adjusted input optical signal (col. 23, lines 24-40). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date to modify the optical module of MONE with second polarization controller such as taught by ISLAM. The motivation would have been to generate a control signal (col. 23, lines 24-40).
Conclusion
/JERRY M BLEVINS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874