DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection as necessitated by Applicant’s amendment.
Response to Amendment
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 16, and 19 are objected to because of the following informalities: the claims recite the acronym “STP” which needs to be defined (spelled out) in the claims., Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 16, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kenghe (US20060098581), in view of Khan et al (US20070159988).
Regarding claim 1, the cited reference Kenghe discloses a device, comprising: a processor; a memory communicatively coupled to the processor; and a sustainable port management logic (Fig. 2 and ¶0016-¶0017 discloses a system 100 including a VoIP telephone 210…
The VoIP telephone 210 includes a switch 211 …a controller 212 having a processor and associated memory for controlling the operation of the device), configured to: monitor a network including a plurality of network devices and a plurality of links (Fig.2 and discloses that the VoIP telephone 210 includes a switch 211 including three ports labeled 1, 2, and 3. In a typical implementation, port 1 is coupled to the enterprise switch 230, port 2 is coupled to a PC 240, and port 3 is utilized internally as part of the voice functionality 213 of the phone)
therebetween to determine one or more dynamic changes in the network (¶0026 discloses that the controller may be configured to detect state changes); determine a change in a state of one or more links of the plurality of links based on the one or more dynamic changes in the network (¶0023 discloses that the controller can detect a link state by detecting an interrupt generated in response to a link state change, or by polling the state of various links); identify one or more ports of a network device of the plurality of network devices connected to the one or more links; and generate a switching signal associated with the one or more ports of the network device (¶0022 discloses that when the controller detects that the link corresponding to one port has changed, the controller will change the links corresponding to other ports. In one embodiment, the controller of the host device may simply change the port state of ports hosted by the device. By so changing the state of the port, the link state change will be reflected in any device connected to that port). However, Kenghe does not explicitly teach receiving a switching signal and de-energize one or more identified ports based on the switching signal, wherein the de-energized ports do not consume energy, thereby reducing the energy consumption of the network device; and transmitting another switching signal to the network device to energize the de-energized ports after a STP logic reconverges or resets.
In an analogous art Khan teaches receiving a switching signal and de-energize one or more identified ports based on the switching signal, wherein the de-energized ports do not consume energy, thereby reducing the energy consumption of the network device; and transmitting another switching signal to the network device to energize the de-energized ports after a STP logic reconverges or resets (¶0054 discloses that a restarting port state change from blocking to forwarding that occurred during restart. ¶0032 discloses that the STP software/hardware for controlling such ports is temporarily unavailable during the restart. ¶0067 further discloses that based on the restarting port's query to the neighbor, it is then determined whether a topology change has been detected by the peer ... If no topology change has been detected, the STP state that was saved in the persistent storage is then recovered ... A stateful restart of STP is then performed ... During stateful restart STP process is started on the supervisor. STP control software's run-time data structures are created and initialized based on the recovered persistent state. For example, the port role and port state of a port is initialized based on what value is recovered from the persistent storage. Each port state of each port becomes what it was before restart).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the method of Khan where STP is designed to improve the algorithm stability and ensure minimal disruption and prevents the formation of loops in the network.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Kenghe and Khan discloses all limitations of claim 1. Kenghe further discloses the change in the state of the one or more links includes switching the one or more links from a forwarding state to a non-forwarding state (¶0015 discloses that a link has been found to have changed, such as when a link has failed).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Kenghe and Khan discloses all limitations of claim 2. Kenghe further discloses the switching signal is indicative of de-energizing the one or more ports of the network device (¶0022 discloses that when the controller detects that the link corresponding to one port has changed, the controller will change the links corresponding to other ports. In one embodiment, the controller of the host device may simply change the port state of ports hosted by the device. By so changing the state of the port, the link state change will be reflected in any device connected to that port).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Kenghe and Khan discloses all limitations of claim 3. Kenghe further discloses the sustainable port management logic is further configured to transmit the switching signal to the network device (¶0014 discloses that functionality on device attached to a switch from being broken because a link on another port of a switch has changed state. For example, the teachings of this disclosure prevents services on PCs from being broken because a link on the switch, through which the PC is connected, has gone down and the PC is unaware of the link failure. If an associated link on the switch is detected to have failed, the PC's link is made aware
of the failure and the PC's link state may be changed).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Kenghe and Khan discloses all limitations of claim 4. Kenghe further discloses the network device de-energizes the one or more ports indicated by the switching signal (¶0014 discloses that functionality on device attached to a switch from being broken because a link on another port of a switch has changed state. For example, the teachings of this disclosure prevents services on PCs from being broken because a link on the switch, through which the PC is connected, has gone down and the PC is unaware of the link failure. If an associated link on the switch is detected to have failed, the PC's link is made aware of the failure and the PC's link state may be changed).
Regarding claim 16, the claim is drawn to a method performing substantially the same features of the method of claim 1. Therefore, the claim is subject to the same rejection as claim 1.
Regarding claim 19, the claim is drawn to a device performing substantially the same features of the method of claim 1. Therefore, the claim is subject to the same rejection as claim 1.
Claims 1-2, 6, 16, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bhatt et al (US20120110206), in view of Khan et al (US20070159988).
Regarding claim 1, the cited reference Bhatt discloses a device, comprising: a processor; a memory communicatively coupled to the processor; and a sustainable port management logic (¶0032 discloses a controller 440 may include one or more processors, microprocessors … Controller 440 may also include a static memory… Controller 440 may communicate with other devices 210, of virtual device 200, to exchange information regarding the topology of virtual device 200… controller 440 may create a routing table based on the topology of virtual device 200, create a forwarding table based on the routing table, and making forwarding decisions based on the forwarding table), configured to: monitor a network including a plurality of network devices and a plurality of links therebetween to determine one or more dynamic changes in the network; determine a change in a state of one or more links of the plurality of links based on the one or more dynamic changes in the network (Fig. 8 and ¶0052 discloses periodically sending ping messages on the device links (block 810). For example, virtual device daemon 610 may periodically (e.g., at some designated frequency) transmit ping messages (e.g., hello and/or keep alive packets) on all of the device links to which its device ports 520 connect. The purpose of the ping messages is to monitor the state of the device links. Device links can be generally in one of two states: a link up state or a link down state. The link up state may reflect that the device link is operable and the components, on a neighboring device 210 connected to that device link, are operable and capable of communicating on the device link. ¶0053 further discloses that the state of the device links may be determined and a change in the state of the device links may be identified); identify one or more ports of a network device of the plurality of network devices connected to the one or more links; and generate a switching signal associated with the one or more ports of the network device (¶0055 discloses that when there is a change in the link state of a device link, virtual device daemon 610 may also update connection table 640…As a result of updating … virtual device daemon 610 may know which neighboring devices 210
that the particular device 210 connects to and via which device ports 520). However, Bhatt does not explicitly teach receiving a switching signal and de-energize one or more identified ports based on the switching signal, wherein the de-energized ports do not consume energy, thereby reducing the energy consumption of the network device; and transmitting another switching signal to the network device to energize the de-energized ports after a STP logic reconverges or resets.
In an analogous art Khan teaches receiving a switching signal and de-energize one or more identified ports based on the switching signal, wherein the de-energized ports do not consume energy, thereby reducing the energy consumption of the network device; and transmitting another switching signal to the network device to energize the de-energized ports after a STP logic reconverges or resets (¶0054 discloses that a restarting port state change from blocking to forwarding that occurred during restart. ¶0032 discloses that the STP software/hardware for controlling such ports is temporarily unavailable during the restart. ¶0067 further discloses that based on the restarting port's query to the neighbor, it is then determined whether a topology change has been detected by the peer ... If no topology change has been detected, the STP state that was saved in the persistent storage is then recovered ... A stateful restart of STP is then performed ... During stateful restart STP process is started on the supervisor. STP control software's run-time data structures are created and initialized based on the recovered persistent state. For example, the port role and port state of a port is initialized based on what value is recovered from the persistent storage. Each port state of each port becomes what it was before restart).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the method of Khan where STP is designed to improve the algorithm stability and ensure minimal disruption and prevents the formation of loops in the network.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Bhatt and Khan discloses all limitations of claim 1.
Bhatt further discloses the change in the state of the one or more links includes switching the one or more links from a forwarding state to a non-forwarding state (¶0053 discloses that a change in the state of the device links may be identified... For example, virtual device daemon 610 may determine whether responses were received on the device links in response to the ping messages…. virtual device daemon 610 may identify that a device link is in the down state when a single response has not been received on that device link).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Bhatt and Khan discloses all limitations of claim 2. Bhatt further discloses the sustainable port management logic is further configured to determine one or more costs of the one or more links based on at least one of: one or more speeds of the one or more links, one or more types of physical mediums of the one or more links, one or more types of transceivers connected to the one or more links, one or more types of ports connected to the one or more links, or one or more types of network devices connected to the one or more links (¶0037 discloses that the cost of traversing a device link may be a function of the bandwidth available on that device link).
Regarding claim 16, the claim is drawn to a method performing substantially the same features of the method of claim 1. Therefore, the claim is subject to the same rejection as claim 1.
Regarding claim 19, the claim is drawn to a device performing substantially the same features of the method of claim 1. Therefore, the claim is subject to the same rejection as claim 1.
Claims 1-2 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Long et al (US20130286818), in view of Khan et al (US20070159988).
Regarding claim 1, the cited reference Long discloses a device, comprising: a processor; a memory communicatively coupled to the processor; and a sustainable port management logic (Fig. 7 discloses a structural diagram of a network device such as determining unit 52, an operating unit 53, and a memory 71), configured to: monitor a network including a plurality of network devices and a plurality of links (¶0054 discloses that the link A[Wingdings font/0xDF][Wingdings font/0xE0]B that has been detected in combination with bandwidth information of other links) therebetween to determine one or more dynamic changes in the network (¶0053 discloses that the node A has detected that bandwidth of the link A[Wingdings font/0xDF][Wingdings font/0xE0]B decreases to 300 Mbps); determine a change in a state of one or more links of the plurality of links based on the one or more dynamic changes in the network (¶0029 discloses that a node obtains bandwidth information of a first link on an Ethernet ring where the nodeis located, and determines that bandwidth of the first link changes where ¶0031 discloses that the bandwidth information of the first link may be bandwidth information corresponding to a physical link, and may also be bandwidth information corresponding to a logical link); identify one or more ports of a network device of the plurality of network devices connected to the one or more links; and generate a switching signal associated with the one or more ports of the network device (¶0033-¶0034 discloses that the node determines ports of the node, where the at least one ERP instance passes through the ports… The node queries pre-configured correspondence between bandwidth information and switching information of each link on the Ethernet ring, and executes, through the ports of the node, a switching operation corresponding to the bandwidth information of the first link).
However, Long does not explicitly teach receiving a switching signal and de-energize one or more identified ports based on the switching signal, wherein the de-energized ports do not consume energy, thereby reducing the energy consumption of the network device; and transmitting another switching signal to the network device to energize the de-energized ports after a STP logic reconverges or resets.
In an analogous art Khan teaches receiving a switching signal and de-energize one or more identified ports based on the switching signal, wherein the de-energized ports do not consume energy, thereby reducing the energy consumption of the network device; and transmitting another switching signal to the network device to energize the de-energized ports after a STP logic reconverges or resets (¶0054 discloses that a restarting port state change from blocking to forwarding that occurred during restart. ¶0032 discloses that the STP software/hardware for controlling such ports is temporarily unavailable during the restart. ¶0067 further discloses that based on the restarting port's query to the neighbor, it is then determined whether a topology change has been detected by the peer ... If no topology change has been detected, the STP state that was saved in the persistent storage is then recovered ... A stateful restart of STP is then performed ... During stateful restart STP process is started on the supervisor. STP control software's run-time data structures are created and initialized based on the recovered persistent state. For example, the port role and port state of a port is initialized based on what value is recovered from the persistent storage. Each port state of each port becomes what it was before restart).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the method of Khan where STP is designed to improve the algorithm stability and ensure minimal disruption and prevents the formation of loops in the network.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Long and Khan discloses all limitations of claim 1. Long further discloses the change in the state of the one or more links includes switching the one or more links from a forwarding state to a non-forwarding state (See Figs.3/4 and tables 1/2).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Long and Khan discloses all limitations of claim 2. Long further discloses wherein the sustainable port management logic is further configured to: monitor data traffic on the plurality of links; identify the one or more links with no or low data traffic; and switch the one or more links with the no or low data traffic from the forwarding state to the non-forwarding state (See Figs.3/4 and tables 1/2).
Regarding claim 16, the claim is drawn to a method performing substantially the same features of the method of claim 1. Therefore, the claim is subject to the same rejection as claim 1.
Regarding claim 17, the claim is drawn to a method performing substantially the same features of the method of claim 2. Therefore, the claim is subject to the same rejection as claim 2.
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Long and Khan discloses all limitations of claim 17. Long further discloses transmitting the switching signal to the network device, wherein the network device de-energizes the one or more ports indicated by the switching signal (¶0047 discloses that the switching information includes port blocking).
Regarding claim 19, the claim is drawn to a device performing substantially the same features of the method of claim 1. Therefore, the claim is subject to the same rejection as claim 1.
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Long and Khan discloses all limitations of claim 19. Long further discloses the network device de-energizes the one or more ports indicated by the switching signal (¶0047 discloses that the switching information includes port blocking).
Claims 7-9 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bhatt et al (US20120110206), in view of Khan et al (US20070159988), in further view of Amemiya et al (US20050213971).
Regarding claims 7-9, the combination of Bhatt and Khan discloses all limitations of claim 1. However, the combination does not explicitly teach wherein the sustainable port management logic is further configured to:
identify the one or more links having higher costs (Claim 7).
to switch the one or more links having higher costs from the forwarding state to the non-forwarding state (Claim 8).
to switch one or more logical links including the one or more links in the non-forwarding state from an active state to a blocked state (Claim 9).
In an analogous art Amemiya teaches wherein the sustainable port management logic is further configured to:
identify the one or more links having higher costs (Claim 7) (¶0004 discloses that a root path cost against the root bridge is calculated… routes having greater root path costs).
to switch the one or more links having higher costs from the forwarding state to the non-forwarding state (Claim 8) (¶0004 discloses that a route having the minimum root path cost is set to a forwarding state (a state transmitting data frames), and other routes having greater root path costs than the above is set to a blocking state (a state suspending transmission of data frames)).
to switch one or more logical links including the one or more links in the non-forwarding state from an active state to a blocked state (Claim 9) (¶0004 discloses that a route having the minimum root path cost is set to a forwarding state (a state transmitting data frames), and other routes having greater root path costs than the above is set to a blocking state (a state suspending transmission of data frames)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the method of Amemiya to avoid network stoppage caused by a packet loop.
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Bhatt, Khan, and Amemiya discloses all limitations of claim 9. Bhatt and Amemiya Further disclose wherein the sustainable port management logic is further configured to switch the one or more logical links from the blocked state to the active state (Bhatt discloses in ¶0054 that a device link that was previously in the down state changes to the up state. Amemiya discloses in ¶0004 that a port in each switch is shifted from a blocking state, through a listening state and a learning state, to a forwarding state).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Bhatt, Khan, and Amemiya discloses all limitations of claim 12. Bhatt and Amemiya Further disclose wherein the sustainable port management logic is further configured to switch the one or more links in the one or more logical links from the non-forwarding state to the forwarding state (Bhatt discloses in ¶0054 that a device link that was previously in the down state changes to the up state. Amemiya discloses in ¶0004 that a port in each switch is shifted from a blocking state, through a listening state and a learning state, to a forwarding state).
Claims 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bhatt et al (US20120110206), in view of Khan et al (US20070159988), in further view of Amemiya et al (US20050213971), in further view of Clark et al (US20150222491).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Bhatt, Khan, and Amemiya discloses all limitations of claim 9. However, the combination does not explicitly teach identify a critical link of the one or more links; maintain the critical link in the forwarding state; identify a port of the one or more ports of the network device connected to the critical link; and maintain the port in an energized state when the one or more logical links are in the blocked state.
In an analogous art Clark teaches identify a critical link of the one or more links; maintain the critical link in the forwarding state; identify a port of the one or more ports of the network device connected to the critical link; and maintain the port in an energized state when the one or more logical links are in the blocked state (¶0035 discloses that the switch 200 is able to direct the specific traffic to one or more of the blocked links… the controller 100 may access the forwarding plane 220 to setup one or more rules 222 that directs the specific traffic along a blocked port).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the method of Clark has the benefit of using the blocked links is that the specific traffic does not have to contend with other types of traffic, since
the other types of traffic will be traversing the non-blocked links.
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Bhatt, Amemiya, and Clark discloses all limitations of claim 9. Clark further discloses receive control data on the critical link; modify the received control data; and forward the modified control data on the critical link (¶0011 discloses forward the specific traffic through … blocked links… the OpenFlow protocol may allow a controller to setup the paths that traffic shall take based on contents within the traffic flow. The OpenFlow protocol also provides a flexible classification mechanism for identifying traffic, such as by commanding devices to forward traffic based on rules. ¶0012 discloses that the network switches is configured to transmit the specific traffic along the blocked link… parameters may also be modified to manipulate which links become blocked. A benefit of using the blocked links is that the specific traffic does not have to contend with other types of traffic. ¶0025 discloses that the controller 100 is to configure a blocked port of at least one the network switches 112-1 to 112-4 associated with the blocked link, to allow the specific traffic to traverse the blocked link).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bhatt et al (US20120110206), in view of Khan et al (US20070159988), in further view of Amemiya et al (US20050213971), in further view of Ballard et al (US20180254985).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Bhatt, Khan, and Amemiya all limitations of claim 13. However, the combination does not explicitly teach wherein the sustainable port management logic is further configured to energize the one or more ports connected to the one or more links in the forwarding state.
In an analogous art Ballard teaches wherein the sustainable port management logic is further configured to energize the one or more ports connected to the one or more links in the forwarding state (¶0064 discloses that the port state shifts to uplink mode forwarding state 1030 where the port is enabled as an uplink).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the method of Ballard to improve network performance, enhance connectivity, and the ability to manage traffic more effectively.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bhatt et al (US20120110206), in view of Khan et al (US20070159988), in further view of Shen et al (US20150215210).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Bhatt and Khan discloses all limitations of claim 2. However, the combination does not explicitly teach wherein the sustainable port management logic is further configured to: monitor data traffic on the plurality of links; identifythe one or more links with no or low data traffic; and switch the one or more links with the no or low data traffic from the forwarding state to the non-forwarding state.
In an analogous art Shen teaches wherein the sustainable port management logic is further configured to: monitor data traffic on the plurality of links; identify the one or more links with no or low data traffic; and switch the one or more links with the no or low data traffic from the forwarding state to the non-forwarding state (¶0028 discloses that the load balancing component 120 has detected an error condition has been satisfied with respect to the link 305 and accordingly has set the link 305 to a disabled state and ¶0033 discloses that the load balancing component 120 detects a triggering condition has been satisfied by a first link. Generally, the triggering condition represents any condition associated with a state change of the first link. For example, the triggering condition could be a low traffic state for a particular line card and the load balancing component 120 could determine the first link should be set to a low power state as a result… the load balancing component 120 could determine the first link should be disabled).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the method of Shen by dynamically bringing links into and out of a low power mode as needed, to reduce power consumption.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP ~ 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Yemane Mesfin can be reached on (571)272-3927. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
Respectfully submitted,
/ABDELILLAH ELMEJJARMI/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2462