DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Challen U.S. Pub. No. 2007/0038939 in view of Stauffer U.S. Pub. No. 2007/0097133, Nicholas et al. WO 01/98925 A2 and Boyd et al. U.S. Pub. No. 2003/0234791.
Re: claim 1 and 9 (which are rejected under the same rationale), Challen teaches
1. A method for rendering images comprising: A) executing, on a server digital data processor, a render server; (“Display server 10 may include a processor... configured to execute server program 20... In the system of Fig. 1A, server program 20 is configured to receive drawing requests from client program 40.”; Challen, [0068], [0071], Fig. 1A)
The display server includes a processor (server digital processor) that executes a server program (render server), which receives drawing requests.
(“Graphics controller G10 may be implemented as an expansion card configured to plug into a bus of display server D100... Graphics controller G10 includes a processing unit 310 configured to execute rendering commands S20a,b and to output corresponding rendered pixel values.”; Challen, [0113], [0114], Fig. 11)
The graphics controller of the display server includes a processing unit that executes rendering commands and outputs corresponding rendered pixel data.
B) issuing from the server one or more interleaved commands in response to one or more render requests from one or more client digital data processors; (“Server program 20 may be configured to receive drawing requests that define graphics primitives at a high level and to output corresponding pixel-level or bitmap descriptions in the form of data and/or commands that are executable by graphics hardware G30.”; Challen, [0073])
In response to receiving drawing requests from clients (client digital data processors), the server program of the display server outputs (issues) bitmap descriptions in the form of commands (commands in response to one or more render requests from one or more client digital data processors) that are executable by graphics hardware. Challen is silent regarding interleaved commands, however, Stauffer teaches this limitation.
(“... the kernel driver 101 uses graphics semaphores that cause the graphics hardware to suspend processing of one buffer and switch to processing another buffer, thus interleaving the processing of the command buffers from different clients, and creating multiple inter-dependent linear timelines as illustrated in Fig. 3C.”; Stauffer, [0031]-[0033], Fig. 3C)
The kernel driver, uses graphics semaphores to interleave the processing of command buffers from different clients (one or more interleaved commands).
C) rendering an image with the server digital data processor from a first client digital data processor of the one or more client digital data processors on one or more graphics processing units in response to one or more interleaved commands, (“Display server 10 includes graphics hardware 30 that is configured to receive the graphics information and to output a corresponding video signal to display device 60...”; Challen, [0069])
The display server outputs a video signal (renders an image) in response to graphics information, such as a drawing request (one or more commands), received from a client (from a first client digital data processor of the one or more digital data processors on one or more graphics processing units). Stauffer is combined with Challen such that the interleaved commands of Stauffer are drawing requests of Challen.
(“... the kernel driver 101 uses graphics semaphores that cause the graphics hardware to suspend processing of one buffer and switch to processing another buffer, thus interleaving the processing of the command buffers from different clients, and creating multiple inter-dependent linear timelines as illustrated in Fig. 3C.”; Stauffer, [0031]-[0033], Fig. 3C)
The kernel driver, uses graphics semaphores to interleave the processing of command buffers from different clients (one or more interleaved commands). Stauffer is combined with Challen such that the interleaved commands of Stauffer are stored in the command buffers of Challen. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date, to modify the method of Challen by adding the feature of B) issuing from the server one or more interleaved commands in response to one or more render requests from one or more client digital data processors; C) rendering an image with the server digital data processor from a first client digital data processor of the one or more client digital data processors on one or more graphics processing units in response to one or more interleaved commands, in order to allow the graphics hardware and the CPU to operate asynchronously, keeping both busy even though they typically operate at different speeds, as taught by Stauffer, ([0029]).
Challen and Stauffer are silent regarding where the image is broken down into two or more sub-images, however, Nicholas teaches
where the image is broken down into two or more sub-images, (“Referring again to Fig. 7, at step 745, the assigned primary back end content server 136 and, if necessary, auxiliary back end content server(s) 139 processes the job. The results are aggregated, re-projected to a common projection, and mosaiced together. The results are not only sent to content generate 148 that made the request, it is also partitioned into image tiles and stored into image tile cache 127 for subsequent requests.”; Nicholas, p. 33, lines 3-8, Fig. 7)
The image is partitioned into image tiles (the image is broken down into two or more sub-images). Nichols is combined with Challen and Stauffer such that the images of Challen are partitioned using the method of Nicholas. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date, to modify the method of Challen by adding the feature of where the image is broken down into two or more sub-images, in order to enable the user to quickly and easily visualize any area of the image, as taught by Nicholas (p. 3, lines 11-13).
Challen, Stauffer, and Nicholas are silent regarding where at least one of the two or more sub-images are rendered using a break-down approach for each of the n pixels by m pixels in the at least one of the two or more sub-images are blended over each other in order from a back picture to a front picture, using a formula, where the formula is given by (1 - afront) * cback + afront * cfront, where, afront denotes an opacity of the front picture and cfront denotes a first color of the front picture, and cback denotes a second color of the back picture, where the two or more sub-images are rendered, however Boyd teaches
where at least one of the two or more sub-images are rendered using a break-down approach for each of the n pixels by m pixels in the at least one of the two or more sub-images are blended over each other in order from a back picture to a front picture, using a formula, where the formula is given by (1 - afront) * cback + afront * cfront, where, afront denotes an opacity of the front picture and cfront denotes a first color of the front picture, and cback denotes a second color of the back picture, where the two or more sub-images are rendered; (“Unlike opaque objects, transparent objects must generally be depth sorted in back-to-front order to ensure that the underlying colors that are blended with the transparent objects are available when the blending operation is performed. There are several formulae that get used to calculate an object’s translucency, but a common formula is: c0 =αcs+(1-α)*cd”; Boyd, [0034]), wherein c0=final color of pixel, α=alpha value (between 0 and 1), cs=color of the transparent pixel (called the source) and cd=color of the occluded pixel (called the destination).”; Boyd, [0034-[0039])
Transparent objects must be depth sorted in back-to-front order to ensure that underlying colors that are blended with the transparent objects are available when the blending operation is performed (where at least one of two or more sub-images are rendered using a break-down approach for each of the n pixels by m pixels in the at least one of the two or more sub-images are blended over each other from a back picture to a front picture). A formula, such as c0 =αcs+(1-α)*cd, is used to calculate the objects translucency, where α = alpha value (afront denotes an opacity of the front picture), cs = color of the transparent pixel (cfront denotes a first color of the front picture), cd = color of the occluded pixel (cback denotes a second color of the back picture, where the two or more sub-images are rendered). Boyd is combined with Challen, Stauffer and Bo and Nicholas such that the image tiles of Nicholas are blended using the equation of Boyd. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date, to modify the method of Challen by adding the feature of where at least one of the two or more sub-images are rendered using a break-down approach for each of the n pixels by m pixels in the at least one of the two or more sub-images are blended over each other in order from a back picture to a front picture, using a formula, where the formula is given by (1 - afront) * cback + afront * cfront, where, afront denotes an opacity of the front picture and cfront denotes a first color of the front picture, and cback denotes a second color of the back picture, where the two or more sub-images are rendered, in order to ensure that the underlying colors that are blended with the transparent objects are available when the blending operation is performed, as taught by Boyd ([0034]).
Challen, Stauffer and Boyd are silent regarding D) combining at the server digital data processor the rendered two or more sub-images to generate the image; and E) sending from the server digital data processor the image to the first client digital data processor, however Nicholas teaches
D) combining at the server digital data processor the rendered two or more sub-images to generate the image; and E) sending from the server digital data processor the image to the first client digital data processor. (“Referring again to Fig. 7, at step 745, the assigned primary back end content server 136 and, if necessary, auxiliary back end content server(s) 139 processes the job. The results are aggregated, re-projected to a common projection, and mosaiced together. The results are not only sent to content generator 148 that made the request, it is also partitioned into image tiles and stored into image tile cache 127 for subsequent requests... primary and auxiliary back end content servers 136 and 139 transcode the wavelet images into 24 bit JPEG images for delivery to the user”; Nicholas, p. 33, lines 3-10, Fig. 7)
The sub-images are mosaiced together (combining at the server digital data processor the rendered two or more sub-images to generate the image) and sent to the content generator that made the request and converted to JPEG for delivery to the user (sending from the server digital data processor the image to the first client digital data processor). Nichols is combined with Challen and Stauffer such that the images of Challen are the partitioned images of Nicholas, which are combined and sent using the method of Nicholas. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date, to modify the method of Challen by adding the feature of D) combining at the server digital data processor the rendered two or more sub-images to generate the image; and E) sending from the server digital data processor the image to the first client digital data processor, in order to enable the user to quickly and easily visualize any area of the image, as taught by Nicholas (p. 3, lines 11-13).
Re: claim 2, Challen, Stauffer, Nicholas and Boyd teach
2. The method of claim 1, where in step C) the image is loaded from a host memory. (“In this example, a graphics bus B10 carries communications between the memory hub and the graphics controller G10.”; Challen, [0113], Fig. 11)
Fig. 11 illustrates that the memory hub carries communications between the system memory (host memory), storing image data to be rendered, and the graphics controller (the image is loaded from a host memory).
Re: claim 3, Challen, Stauffer, Nicholas and Boyd teach
3. The method of claim 2, where in step C) the at least one of the two or more sub-images is stored in a graphics memory. (“For example, processing unit 310 may be configured to store the rendered pixel values to display buffers in local or system memory.”; Challen, [0114], Figs. 11-12)
Fig. 12A illustrates that rendered pixel values are stored to local memory 330 (at least one of the two or more sub-images is stored in a graphics memory).
Re: claim 4, Challen, Stauffer, Nicholas and Boyd teach
4. The method of claim 3, where in step C) the one or more graphics processing units processing the two or more sub-images do not swap data out of the graphics memory into the host memory. (“For example, processing unit 310 may be configured to store the rendered pixel values to display buffers in local or system memory”; Challen, [0114], Figs. 11-12)
The processing unit, in the graphics controller, stores rendered pixel values to display buffers (the one or more graphics processing units processing the two or more sub-images) in local memory.
(“Fig. 12A shows a block diagram of implementation G20 of graphics controller G10 that includes a local memory 330... In the example of Fig. 12A, processing unit 310 is configured to retrieve rendering commands from local memory 330 and/or to store values of rendered pixels to local memory 330. Information stored in and/or retrieved from local memory 330 may also indicate display configuration parameters such as bit depth and screen size in pixels.”; Challen, [0115])
Fig. 12A illustrates that the graphics controller (graphics processing unit) includes a processing unit that retrieves rendering commands from local memory and stores rendered pixel values to local memory. This information, which includes display configuration parameters, is retrieved for display (do not swap data out of the graphics memory into host memory).
Re: claim 5, Challen, Stauffer, Nicholas and Boyd teach
5. The method of claim 1, further comprising maintaining the one or more render requests received from the one or more client digital data processors in one or more queues associated with the server digital data processor. (“The device independent (DIX) layer handles communications with clients (via the X protocol) and manages one or more queues of events such as incoming drawing requests and outgoing input events.”; Challen, [0131])
Incoming drawing requests (render requests), from clients, are stored in queues are managed (maintain the one or more render requests received from the one or more client digital data processors in one or more queues associated with the server digital data processor).
Re: claim 6, Challen, Stauffer, Nicholas and Boyd teach
6. The method of claim 1, further comprising removing a request of the one or more render requests once completed. (“For example, a server program 200 may store rendering commands to a command buffer in system memory, with contents of the buffer being copied periodically... to a command buffer in local memory 330. One or both of these buffers may be implemented as a circular queue...”; Challen, [0149])
Rendering commands are stored to a command buffer, such as a circular queue, which operates as a first-in first-out buffer.
(“Graphics controller G10 may be configured to execute rendering commands directly upon reading them or to store the rendering commands to a command buffer in local memory 330.”; Challen, [0151])
The graphics controller executes the rendering commands directly upon reading them (removing a request of the one or more render requests once completed).
Re: claim 7, Challen, Stauffer, Nicholas and Boyd teach
7. The method of claim 1, further comprising prioritizing the one or more render requests. (“For example, a server program 200 may store rendering commands toa command buffer in system memory, with contents of the buffer being copied periodically... to a command buffer in local memory 330. One or both of these buffers may be implemented as a circular queue...”; Challen, [0149])
The circular queue is first-in, first out and prioritizes rendering requests based on the order they are received.
(“Delivery of rendering commands 520a,b to graphics controller G10 for execution may occur by any path or procedure suitable for the particular implementation of display server D100... For example, a server program 200 may store rendering commands to a command buffer in system memory, with contents of the buffer being copied periodically... to a command buffer in local memory 330. One or both of these buffers may be implemented as a circular queue.”; Challen, [0149])
The rendering commands are then delivered from the circular queue to the graphics controller based on the order in which they are received (prioritizing the one or more render requests).
Re: claim 8, Challen, Stauffer, Nicholas and Boyd teach
8. The method of claim 7, where a prioritizing step includes a prioritization function that takes into account an order in which a request of the one or more render requests was received, resources currently allocated on the one or more graphics processing units, whether the request is an interactive rendering, and the first client digital data processor. (“The device independent (DIX) layer handles communications with clients... and manages one or more queues of events such as incoming drawing requests and outgoing input events.”; Challen, [0131])
Queues storing incoming drawing requests (an order in which a request of the one or more render requests was received) are managed.
(“For example, a server program 200 may store rendering commands toa command buffer in system memory, with contents of the buffer being copied periodically... to a command buffer in local memory 330. One or both of these buffers may be implemented as a circular queue...”; Challen, [0149])
The circular queue is first-in, first out and prioritizes rendering requests based on the order they are received.
(“For example, different areas of local memory 330 may be reserved as command buffers, with each buffer holding a queue or rendering commands from a different server program 200... It may be desirable for a command buffer to occupy a contiguous portion of memory, which may simplify implementation of a circular queue...”; Challen, [0154], Fig. 13)
Different areas of the local memory are reserved as command buffers (resources currently allocated on the one or more graphics processing units), with each buffer holding a queue or rendering commands, from different server programs, which receive rendering requests from different clients (the first client digital data processor).
(“Fig. 3B shows an example of a system including a dual-head implementation 12D of display server 12 that has an integrated display device 62. The Isona display station is one example of a superior display server that supports connection to a low-resolution display device for dual-head display.”; Challen, [0079], Fig. 3B)
Fig. 3B illustrates a dual-head display server that has an integrated display device. The system determines whether the image is low resolution and whether it is to be displayed on the low-resolution integrated display (whether the request is an interactive rendering).
Re: claim 10, Challen, Stauffer, Nicholas and Boyd teach
10. The system of claim 9, where the server digital data processor further comprises one or more central processing units, in communications coupling with the render server, the one or more central processing units processing image data in response to plural interleaved commands from the render server. (“As shown in Fig. 11, this implementation includes a central processing unit (CPU) configured to execute the server programs 200a,b...The CPU as shown in Fig. 11 is configured to communicate with a memory hub over a high-speed front side bus (FSB)... In this example, a graphics bus B10 carries communications between the memory hub and the graphics controller G10.”; Challen, [0110], [0113], Fig. 11)
Fig. 11 illustrates that the display server (render server) includes a CPU (one or more central processing units in communications coupling with the render server). The CPU executes server programs and communicates with the graphics bus via the memory hub to process image data. Challen is silent regarding the one or more central processing units processing image data in response to plural interleaved commands from the render server, however, Stauffer teaches this limitation.
(“... the kernel driver 101 uses graphics semaphores that cause the graphics hardware to suspend processing of one buffer and switch to processing another buffer, thus interleaving the processing of the command buffers from different clients, and creating multiple inter-dependent linear timelines as illustrated in Fig. 3C.”; Stauffer, [0031]-[0033], Fig. 3C)
The kernel driver, which executes on the CPU, uses graphics semaphores to interleave the processing of command buffers from different clients (plural interleaved commands form the render server). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date, to modify the method of Challen by adding the feature of the central processing units processing image data in response to plural interleaved commands from the render server, in order to allow the graphics hardware and the CPU to operate asynchronously, keeping both busy even though they typically operate at different speeds, as taught by Stauffer, ([0029]).
Re: claim 11, Challen, Stauffer, Nicholas and Boyd teach
11. The system of claim 9, where the server digital data processor comprises a host memory, in communications coupling with the render server, where the host memory is adapted to store to be rendered one or more data sets. (“For example, processing unit 310 may be configured to store the rendered pixel values to display buffers in local or system memory.”; Challen, [0114], Fig. 11)
Fig. 11 illustrates that the display server (render server) includes a system memory (host memory, in communications coupling with the render server), where the system memory stores rendered pixel values (the host memory is adapted to store to be rendered one or more data sets).
Re: claim 12, Challen, Stauffer, Nicholas and Boyd teach
12. The system of claim 9, where the server digital data processor comprises one or more queues in communications coupling with the render server and with the one or more graphics processing units, and the render server maintaining render requests in the one or more queues. (“The device independent (DIX) layer handles communications with clients (via the X protocol) and manages one or more queues of events such as incoming drawing requests and outgoing input events... For example, a server program 200 may store rendering commands toa command buffer in a system memory, with contents of the buffer being copied periodically... to a command buffer in local memory 330. One or both of these buffers may be implemented as a circular queue...”; Challen, [0131], [0149])
The display server (render server) receives incoming drawing requests (render requests), from clients, which are stored in queues (one or more queues in, for example the system memory or local memory (in communication coupling with the render server) and which are managed (maintaining render requests in one or more queues).
Re: claim 13, Challen, Stauffer, Nicholas and Boyd teach
13. The system of claim 12, where the render server prioritizes one or more render requests in the one or more queues. (“For example, a server program 200 may store rendering commands toa command buffer in system memory, with contents of the buffer being copied periodically... to a command buffer in local memory 330. One or both of these buffers may be implemented as a circular queue...”; Challen, [0149])
The circular queue is first-in, first out and prioritizes rendering requests based on the order they are received.
(“Delivery of rendering commands 520a,b to graphics controller G10 for execution may occur by any path or procedure suitable for the particular implementation of display server D100... For example, a server program 200 may store rendering commands to a command buffer in system memory, with contents of the buffer being copied periodically... to a command buffer in local memory 330. One or both of these buffers may be implemented as a circular queue.”; Challen, [0149])
The rendering commands are then delivered from the circular queue to the graphics controller based on the order in which they are received (prioritizing the one or more render requests in the one or more queues).
Re: claim 14, Challen, Stauffer, Nicholas and Boyd teach
14. The system of claim 13, where the render server prioritizes one or more render requests based on at least one of a rendering mode associated with a render request, a client digital data processor associated with a render request, an order of receipt of a render request, and available resources. (“For example, a server program 200 may store rendering commands toa command buffer in system memory, with contents of the buffer being copied periodically... to a command buffer in local memory 330. One or both of these buffers may be implemented as a circular queue...”; Challen, [0149])
The circular queue is first-in, first out and prioritizes rendering requests based on the order they are received (an order of receipt of a render request).
(“Delivery of rendering commands 520a,b to graphics controller G10 for execution may occur by any path or procedure suitable for the particular implementation of display server D100... For example, a server program 200 may store rendering commands to a command buffer in system memory, with contents of the buffer being copied periodically... to a command buffer in local memory 330. One or both of these buffers may be implemented as a circular queue.”; Challen, [0149])
The rendering commands are then delivered from the circular queue to the graphics controller based on the order in which they are received ((an order of receipt of a render request).
Re: claim 15, Challen, Stauffer, Nicholas and Boyd teach
15. The system of claim 9, where the one or more graphics processing unit renders the image at a rendering resolution determined by one or more parameters, including, at least one of a user interaction type, a network speed, and available processing resources. (“A server program 200 may be configured to render more than one image at once (possibly having different resolutions or color depth)... display server D100 is configured to switch its display context from a state corresponding to one of the server programs 200 to a state corresponding to another of the server programs 200 according to a display context switch command. The display context switch command may be issued by a client 40, by an operator of the display server (e.g., via an input device) or by another process such as a faut detection process (e.g., a resource manager...).”; Challen, [0187], [0188])
The server program of the GPU renders more than one image at different resolutions. The display sever switches its display context based on, for example, a command issued by a client (user interaction type), an operator of the display server using an input device (user interaction type) or a fault detection process resource manager (available processing resources).
Re: claim 16, Challen, Stauffer, Nicholas and Boyd teach
16. The system of claim 15, where the render server monitors at least one of user interaction type, the network speed, and available processing resources, and generates the one or more parameters in response thereto. (“A server program 200 may be configured to render more than one image at once (possibly having different resolutions or color depth)... display server D100 is configured to switch its display context from a state corresponding to one of the server programs 200 to a state corresponding to another of the server programs 200 according to a display context switch command. The display context switch command may be issued by a client 40, by an operator of the display server (e.g., via an input device) or by another process such as a faut detection process (e.g., a resource manager...).”; Challen, [0187], [0188])
The server program of the GPU renders more than one image at different resolutions. The display sever monitors the system and switches its display context based on, for example, a command issued by a client (user interaction type), an operator of the display server using an input device (user interaction type) or a fault detection process resource manager (available processing resources).
Re: claim 17, Challen, Stauffer, Nicholas and Boyd teach
17. The system of claim 9, where the render server allocates at least a portion of one or more server digital data processor resources in response to one of the render requests. (“Allocating a region of memory may include writing values indicating the desired location and size of the region to one or more registers of graphics controller G10 and/or processing unit 310. Depending on the particular implementation of display sever D100, such values may be written according to one or more commands issued by server program 200, operating system 80, and/or graphics controller G10, and regions may be allocated from local memory 330 and/or from system memory.”; Challen, [0179])
The display server allocates a region of memory based on, for example, commands issued by a server program, which include render requests (allocates at least a portion of one or more server digital data processor resources in response to the render requests).
Re: claim 18, Challen, Stauffer, Nicholas and Boyd teach
18. The system of claim 17, where the one or more server digital data processor resources comprise a graphics memory that is coupled to any of the one or more graphics processing units. (“Fig. 12A shows a block diagram of implementation G20 of graphics controller G10 that includes a local memory 330.”; Challen, [0179], Figs. 11-12A)
Fig. 11 illustrates that the display server includes a graphics controller. Fig. 12A illustrates that the graphics controller includes a local memory (graphics memory) coupled to a processing unit (graphics processing unit).
Re: claim 19, Challen, Stauffer, Nicholas and Boyd teach
19. The system of claim 18, where the render server allocates, as the one or more server digital data processor resource, the graphics memory having a data set specified by a request. (“Allocating a region of memory may include writing values indicating the desired location and size of the region to one or more registers of graphics controller G10 and/or processing unit 310. Depending on the particular implementation of display server D100, such values may be written according to one or more commands issued by server program 200, operating system 80 and/or graphics controller G10 and regions may be allocated from local memory 330 and/or from system memory.”; Challen, [0179], Figs. 11-12A)
Fig. 11 illustrates that the display server includes a graphics controller. The display server allocates a region of memory, such as the local memory (graphics memory) based on commands from the server program, which include rendering requests (having a data set specified by the request).
Re: claim 20, Challen, Stauffer, Nicholas and Boyd teach
20. The system of claim 19, where the render server causes the graphics memory to maintain the data set. (“Allocating a region of memory may include writing values indicating the desired location and size of the region to one or more registers of graphics controller G10 and/or processing unit 310. Depending on the particular implementation of display server D100, such values may be written according to one or more commands issued by server program 200, operating system 80 and/or graphics controller G10 and regions may be allocated from local memory 330 and/or from system memory.”; Challen, [0179], Figs. 11-12A)
The graphics controller writes values to local memory (graphics memory) according to commands issued by the server program, which include rendering requests (cause graphics memory to maintain the data set).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/27/2026 have been fully considered and they are persuasive. Applicant argues:
“The present application claims priority to the provisional application 60/989,881 filed November 23, 2007 which claims priority to utility application 12/275,421 filed November 21, 2008 as (i) outlined in the application specification as filed... Accordingly, Applicant respectfully submits that this application should be examined under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(gz) first to invent rule. The Examiner is respectfully invited to present her rationale for asserting that the application is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . Once that rationale is presented the Applicant will be in a position to review and respond to such rationale. In the absence of the above express rationale, the Examiner is respectfully requested to reconsider and withdraw the classification of the application as being examined under the first to file provisions of the AIA .“
Examiner agrees. This error has been corrected and the application has now been examined under pre-AIA , first to invent. There are no new grounds of rejection. The current rejections are maintained.
Applicant's arguments filed 3/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues:
“Claims 1-20 were rejected under 35 USC § 103 as being unpatentable over Challen (2007/0038939), in view of Stauffer (2007/0097133), Nicholas (01/98925), and Boyd (2003/0234791). The Examiner is respectfully requested to reconsider the 35 USC § 103 as being unpatentable over Challen (2007/0038939), in view of Stauffer (2007/0097133), Nicholas (01/98925), and Boyd (2003/0234791) in view of the absence of a rationale to classify the application as being examined under the first to file provisions of the AIA .
Reconsideration and withdrawal of the rejection is respectfully requested.”
Examiner disagrees. Claims 1-20 have been rejected. Please see the corresponding rejections.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Donna J. Ricks/Examiner, Art Unit 2618
/DEVONA E FAULK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2618