DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Drawings
The drawings were received on 02/18/2026. These drawings are unacceptable. Newly submitted Fig.8 contains new matter. Deletion of reference symbols a and b are necessary to obtain entry upon resubmission.
The drawings are objected to because directional indicator(s) "LONGITUDINAL DIRECTION" and "WIDTHWISE DIRECTION" have both been used to designate a same direction.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following r directional indicator(s) not mentioned in the description: "LONGITUDINAL DIRECTION".
Claim Objections
A series of singular dependent claims is permissible in which a dependent claim refers to a preceding claim which, in turn, refers to another preceding claim.
A claim which depends from a dependent claim should not be separated by any claim which does not also depend from said dependent claim. It should be kept in mind that a dependent claim may refer to any preceding independent claim. In general, applicant's sequence will not be changed. See MPEP § 608.01(n).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The originally-filed specification offers no description for “wherein an angle formed by the outer side surface and the predetermined direction is smaller than an angle formed by the inner side surface and the predetermined direction”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-10, and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 6,668,154 to Dickhoff in view of US 6,032,018 to Matsumoto et al.
Regarding claim 1, Dickhoff teaches a static elimination apparatus (Fig.2) comprising: a conveyance unit configured to convey a sheet (7) along a conveyance path; a non-contact type static elimination unit (2,3) configured to perform static elimination on the sheet being conveyed by the conveyance unit without being in contact with the sheet;
a first guide (1, lower) including a plurality of ribs (11,12,13), the plurality of ribs including a first rib and a second rib adjacent to the first rib in a sheet widthwise direction perpendicular to a sheet conveyance direction and configured to guide the sheet while contacting the sheet
a second guide (1, upper) disposed to face the first guide and configured to form the part of the conveyance path together with the first guide,
an inclined portion (16) upstream in the sheet conveyance direction (Fig.3), wherein the inclined portion is inclined so that a distance to the second guide member decreases downstream in the sheet conveyance direction (see angle b2 in Fig.4), and wherein the inclined portion extends in the sheet conveyance direction away from a conveyance center downstream in the sheet conveyance direction (Figs.2, 4, 5).
Regarding claim 2, Dickhoff teaches the static elimination apparatus wherein the plurality of ribs obliquely extends in the sheet conveyance direction away from a conveyance center downstream in the sheet conveyance direction (Fig.5).
Regarding claim 3, Dickhoff teaches the static elimination apparatus wherein each of the plurality of ribs include a downstream contact portion continuously formed from the inclined portion and extended downstream in the sheet conveyance direction, and a side inclined portion (11') continuously formed from the inclined portion and the downstream contact portion and inclined to get farther away from the second guide as a distance from the conveyance center increases (Fig.4).
Regarding claim 4, Dickhoff teaches the static elimination apparatus wherein the plurality of ribs includes the first rib, the second rib adjacent to the first rib, a third rib (11) disposed more outwardly than the first and the second ribs in the sheet widthwise direction, and a fourth rib adjacent to the third rib, wherein the a plurality of openings includes the first opening formed between the first and the second ribs, and a second opening formed between the third and the fourth ribs, and wherein a width of the first opening is larger than a width of the second opening in the sheet widthwise direction (Fig.3).
Regarding claim 10, Dickhoff teaches the static elimination apparatus wherein the first guide includes a plurality of openings formed between adjacent ribs of the plurality of ribs (Fig.3).
Examiner assumes arguendo that Dickhoff fails to teach the first rib including the inclined portion.
Matsumoto discloses a conveyance unit configured to convey a sheet (7) along a conveyance path; discharge wires (35a,35b) configured to perform static elimination on the sheet being conveyed by the conveyance unit without being in contact with the sheet; a guiding member (70) including a plurality of ribs (72) adjacent to each other in a sheet widthwise direction perpendicular to a sheet conveyance direction and configured to guide the sheet while contacting the sheet
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Dickhoff and Matsumoto such that the first rib includes an inclined portion upstream in the sheet conveyance direction, wherein the inclined portion is inclined so that a distance to the second guide decreases downstream in the sheet conveyance direction, and wherein the inclined portion extends in the sheet conveyance direction away from a conveyance center downstream in the sheet conveyance direction, for at least the purpose of integrating functional sheet guiding capabilities into the first rib.
The combination above further renders obvious:
(claim 6) The static elimination apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of ribs includes the inclined portion, and a downstream contact portion downstream of the inclined portion in the sheet conveyance direction, and wherein the first opening is disposed at a position overlapping the downstream contact portion in the sheet conveyance direction.
(claim 9) The static elimination apparatus according to claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of ribs includes a downstream contact portion continuously formed from the inclined portion and extended downstream in the sheet conveyance direction, and wherein the downstream contact portion extends in parallel with the sheet conveyance direction (Matsumoto: Figs. 2 & 3).
(claim 12) The static elimination apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the first opening is disposed at a position overlapping the inclined portion in the sheet conveyance direction (Rfe2: Figs. 2 & 3).
(claim 8) Dickhoff teaches an image forming apparatus (e.g. copier) comprising the static elimination apparatus but appears silent about its configuration. Matsumoto teaches an electrophotographic image forming apparatus comprising a conveyance unit 40, a non-contact static elimination apparatus 35A and an image forming unit including a transfer unit 34 configured to transfer a toner image onto a sheet , and a fixing unit 37 configured to heat and pressurize the sheet with the toner image transferred thereon, to fix the toner image to the sheet, wherein the static elimination apparatus is disposed downstream of the image forming unit and configured to perform the static elimination on the sheet with the image formed thereon by the image forming unit (Fig.1). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a static elimination apparatus according to claim 1 into an image forming apparatus using the electrophotographic method, as the one disclosed by Matsumoto, for at least the purpose of improving sheet conveyance.
Regarding claim 7, Dickhoff teaches a static elimination apparatus (Fig.2) comprising: a conveyance unit configured to convey a sheet (7) along a conveyance path; a first non-contact type static elimination unit (5) disposed above the conveyance path and configured to perform static elimination on the sheet being conveyed by the conveyance unit, without being in contact with the sheet; a second non-contact type static elimination unit (5') disposed below the conveyance path and configured to perform the static elimination on the sheet being conveyed by the conveyance unit, without being in contact with the sheet;
an upper guide (1, upper) including a first plurality of ribs (11-13), the first plurality of ribs including a first rib (13) and a second rib (12) adjacent to the first rib in a sheet widthwise direction perpendicular to a sheet conveyance direction (10) and configured to guide the sheet while contacting an upper surface of the sheet conveyed by the conveyance unit, and a first opening formed between the first rib and the second rib configured to expose the first non-contact type static elimination unit to the conveyance path (Fig.2), wherein the upper guide is configured to form a part (9) of the conveyance path; and
a lower guide (1, lower) including a second plurality of ribs (11-13) including a third rib and a fourth rib adjacent to the first rib in the sheet widthwise direction perpendicular to the sheet conveyance direction and configured to guide the sheet while contacting a lower surface of the sheet conveyed by the conveyance unit, and a second opening formed between the third rib and the fourth rib and configured to expose the second non-contact type static elimination unit to the conveyance path, wherein the lower guide is disposed to face the upper guide and configured to form a part of the conveyance path together with the upper guide,
a first inclined portion (16) upstream in the sheet conveyance direction, wherein the first inclined portion is inclined so that a distance to the lower guide decreases downstream in the sheet conveyance direction, and
a second inclined portion (16) upstream in the sheet conveyance direction, wherein the second inclined portion is inclined so that a distance to the upper guide decreases downstream in the sheet conveyance direction.
Examiner assumes arguendo that Dickhoff fails to teach the first rib including the inclined portion.
Matsumoto discloses a conveyance unit configured to convey a sheet (7) along a conveyance path; discharge wires (35a,35b) configured to perform static elimination on the sheet being conveyed by the conveyance unit without being in contact with the sheet; a guiding member (70) including a plurality of ribs (72) adjacent to each other in a sheet widthwise direction perpendicular to a sheet conveyance direction and configured to guide the sheet while contacting the sheet
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Dickhoff and Matsumoto such that the first rib includes a first inclined portion upstream in the sheet conveyance direction, wherein the first inclined portion is inclined so that a distance to the lower guide decreases downstream in the sheet conveyance direction, and wherein the second rib includes a second inclined portion upstream in the sheet conveyance direction, wherein the second inclined portion is inclined so that a distance to the upper guide decreases downstream in the sheet conveyance direction, for at least the purpose of integrating functional sheet guiding capabilities into the first rib and the second rib.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 6,668,154 to Dickhoff in view of US 6,032,018 to Matsumoto et al., as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 2021/0216027 to Tanaka et al.
Regarding claim 5, Dickhoff teaches a static elimination apparatus according to claim 1, but appears silent about a static elimination roller pair.
Tanaka teaches a static elimination device comprising contact-type static eliminator 101 including static elimination rollers 111 and 112, located upstream of a non-contact-type static eliminator 102 (Fig.4).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify static elimination apparatus according to claim 1, the further comprise a static elimination roller pair configured to perform the static elimination on the sheet with the static elimination roller pair being in contact with the sheet, upstream of the non- contact type static elimination unit, for at least the purpose of providing a wide range of static elimination conditions according to the physical characteristics of the sheet.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/18/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant points to the features of claim 1 that they believe to be allowable and state that the cited art fails to teach these features. The Office respectfully disagrees and the rejection has been presented above.
Conclusion
/Arlene Heredia Ocasio/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852