,DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
An information disclosure was filed on 01/26/2024.
A Preliminary amendment was filed on 02/09/2024.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1, 12-19, and 21-28 in the reply filed on 04/10/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim 20 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 04/10/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 12, and 15 – 19, 21-26, and 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by WO2018/209155 A1 (Yang et al).
Yang et al disclose intraocular implants comprising TKI inhibitors listed at page 44, second paragraph ; claim 1. Specific TKIs are listed at claim 27. Both page 44 , second paragraph and claim 27 list axitinib as a possible TKI inhibitor. Drug loading occurs at 10-40% ( page 44 , line 30). Administration includes intravitreal at claim 4. The method of administration is set out at page 10 , lines 23-25. An embodiment including both PLA and PLGA is found at page 48, lines 15-22, and claim 14. Different ratios of the polymers re set out in claim 7-11. Administration can occur over 6 months as set out in claim 5.Regarding the burst effect and zero order or near zero order drug release, since Yang et al teaches the same polymers, in overlapping ratios, and releasing the same drug (axitinib) for the same therapeutic purposes, those of ordinary skill would expect similar burst effect and drug release characteristics. Inherent viscosity can be looked up by polymer .Those of ordinary skill would expect similar therapeutic effects from the composition and method of administration as taught by Yang et al. The claims would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing given the teachings of Yang et al.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 19, 21, 24-26, and 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 2018/0256497 (Johns Hopkins University).
Regarding claim 1, Johns Hopkins University discloses an implant , and pharmaceutical composition of particles for ophthalmic application (see [0078] and [0367]. This comprises a tyrosine kinase inhibitor such as axitinib ([0006] and [0383]) . A biodegradable polyester polymer blend is disclosed at [0119]. The tyrosine kinase inhibitor is present in a range between 5 and about 80 % ([0142}).
With regard to claim 19 , 24-26 , Johns Hopkins University discloses a method of introducing a tyrosine kinase inhibitor into the eye of a subject ([0004]). The compositions comprise a plurality of particles which comprise a receptor kinase inhibitors which are injected as implants into the vitreous humor and posterior segment of the eye ([0083], [0367], [0372]). The method may deliver axitinib ([0383]) particles comprising a bioerodible polyester blend ([0119]). The first polymer is PLA ([0217]) . The tyrosine kinase inhibitor is present at a concentration in an amount of between about 5 and about 80% ([0142]).
Regarding claim 21, Johns Hopkins discloses a TKI concentration in the range of about 40 and about 80%(w/w) ([0142]). Inherent viscosity of the polymer is an inherent property.
With regard to claim 28, the ratio of PLA to PLGA is selected from a range of between 10;1 to about 1:10 ([0128]). These ratios can be any suitable ratio less than or equal to about 50:50.
Claims 1 and 19-28 are anticipated by Johns Hopkins University .
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 12, 15-19, and 21-28 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 11,883,525 (US’525). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because US’525 claims a tyrosine kinase inhibitor , a bioerodible polyester polymer blend , wherein the tyrosine kinase inhibitor (TKI) is presented in an amount selected from a range of between about 5 and about 80 % (w/w) (claim 1). The TKI is present in an amount selected from a range of between about 40 to about 80% (claim 2) . The TKI maybe selected from a group of agents which includes axitinib (claims 3 and 4). The bioerodible polyester blend comprises an acid or ester end group PLA and an acid or ester end group PLGA , and wherein at least one of the polymers comprises an ester end group (claim 6). Inherent viscosity of PLA is set out in claim 7. PLGA has a lactide to glycolide ratio from between about 50;50 to about 85:15 in claim 8, which further teaches the inherent viscosity of PLGA. These ratios are further refined in claims 9-11. He release rate of TKI is in the range of between 10 ng/day to about 10 mg/day in claim 12. Release of the TKI in the vitreous humor is at least 6 months or a year in claims 13 and 14 , respectively. The burst effect and release rate are set out in claims 15-18. Claim 19 sets out the method of introducing the TKI to the eye. As such, the ordinary practitioner would expected similar therapeutic results from the implant and method of administering TKI to the eye as taught by US’525. The instantl claims would have been obvious to the ordinary practitioner at the time of filing given the claims of US’525.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Correspondence
/CARLOS A AZPURU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1617 caz