Claims 1-20 are pending and presented for examination.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 8-14,17-18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kellerman et al. (hereinafter Kellerman, US 2013/0091214 A1).
As per claim 1, Kellerman discloses a computer-implemented method for encoding video content for one or more devices associated with a group-based communication platform [Fig. 1, Fig. 13], the computer- implemented method comprising:
receiving, by a server device, a request associated with a video content, the request including information associated with one or more user accounts of the group-based communication platform [fig. 13: 1303, fig. 1: SNET processing system receives the request], the group-based communication platform including a plurality of virtual spaces that are authorized to be accessed by different sets of users of the group-based communication platform [[0018-0019]: social network sites are web-based and typically organized around user profiles and/or collections of content accessible by members of the network. Membership comprises groupings of individuals, individuals, permitted to interact as determined by social network service, [0076, 0178, 0150]: SNET infrastructure can include one or more SNET circle/groups, i.e. different virtual spaces to be accessed by different groups of users];
determining, by the server device and based at least in part on the request and the information, device information of one or more receiver devices associated with the one or more user accounts [[0079], [0173-0174]: For the requested content from the device, various characteristics and capabilities of the device is determined by the SNET processing system including user membership];
determining, by the server device and based at least in part on the device information, one or more video transcoding settings associated with the video content [[0079], [0173-0174]];
identifying a device to transcode the video content based at least in part on the one or more video transcoding settings [[0079, 0093], fig. 13]
generating one or more encoded video contents based at least in part on the device encoding the video content using the one or more video transcoding settings [0079, 0092, 0130, fig. 13]: and
sending the one or more encoded video contents to the one or more receiver devices [0079, 0092, 10130]].
As per claim 2, Kellerman discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the device information comprises one or more of: one or more device resolutions associated with the one or more receiver devices, or one or more pixel densities associated with the one or more receiver devices, and wherein the one or more video transcoding settings are determined based at least in part on one or more of: the one or more device resolutions or the one or more pixel densities [0079-0080, 0092, 0173].
As per claim 3, Kellerman discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising: determining, based at least in part on the request, a scheduled time associated with the request to share the video content [[0170-0171]: request is request to receive the content instantly or currently]; and determining, based at least in part on the scheduled time, the device for transcoding the video content [0095, 130-131, 0176]: if the requested content to be transcoded based on request, one or more transcoders to transcode the content are identified and selected from local or non-local, based on availability].
As per claim 4, Kellerman discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 3, wherein the scheduled time comprises a current time, wherein the computer-implemented method further comprises: determining, based at least in part on the current time, the server device for transcoding the video content; receiving, by the server device and from a sender device, the video content; and transcoding, by the server device and based at least in part on the one or more video transcoding settings, the video content to the one or more encoded video contents [[130-131, 170-176]: request is request to receive the content instantly or currently and transcoder is selected from local or remote based on its availability].
As per claim 6, Kellerman discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising: determining, based at least in part on the request, a connection type associated with the request; and determining, based at least in part on the connection type, the device for transcoding the video content [0079, 0093, 0130-0131, 0170-0176]: based on communication pathway capabilities, transcoder is selected].
As per claim 8, Kellerman discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein receiving the request associated with the video content comprises: receiving, by the server device and from a sender device, the request for sharing the video content to the one or more receiver devices [[0126], [0149], fig. 13].
As per claim 9, Kellerman discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving, by the server device and from a sender device, the video content [[fig. 1: SNET processing system can retrieve content from content source, fig. 2: SNET processing system can received SNET content/media from external social content/media source], wherein receiving the request associated with the video content comprises: receiving, by the server device and from the one or more receiver devices, the request for retrieving the video content [fig. 13: receiving a request]].
As per claims 10-14, 17-18 and 20, they do not teach or further define over the limitations in claims 1-4, 6 and 8-9. Therefore, claims 10-14,17-18 and 20 are rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claims 1-4, 6 and 8-9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kellerman et al. (hereinafter Kellerman, US 2013/0091214 A1) in view of LIU et al. (hereinafter LIU, US 2014/0115050 A1).
As per claim 5, Kellerman discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 3, as set forth above. Kellerman further discloses receiving, by the server device and from the sender device, the video content; and receiving, by the server device and from the sender device, the one or more encoded video contents transcoded by the sender device [[0130-0131], 0170-0176], [fig. 2-3, fig. 13, [0130-0131], [0079]].
However, Kellerman does not disclose wherein the scheduled time comprises a future time, wherein the computer-implemented method further comprises: determining, based at least in part on the future time, a sender device for transcoding the video content.
LIU discloses determining based in part on the request, a scheduled time associated with the request, wherein the scheduled time comprises a future time, wherein the computer-implemented method further comprises: determining, based at least in part on the future time, a sender device for transcoding the video content [[0041]: based on the request and url in the request, transcoding server is scheduled by the transcoding scheduling server, url for the file is received, and transcoding server transcodes at the scheduled time the content, and sends the transcoded content back, [0051-0055]].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kellerman in view of LIU in order to determine available transcoder device based on future time.
One of ordinary skilled in the art would have been motivated because it would have ensured transcoding server was available based on the loads of the transcoding servers [LIU: 0051], ensuring transcoding guarantee.
As per claim 15, it does not teach or further define over the limitations in claim 5. Therefore, claim 15 is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 5.
Claim(s) 7, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kellerman et al. (hereinafter Kellerman, US 2013/0091214 A1) in view of LIU et al. (hereinafter LIU, US 2014/0115050 A1) and further in view of Jung et al. (hereinafter Jung, US 2005/0187959 A1).
As per claim 7, Kellerman-LIU discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 6, as set forth above, further comprising: generating a first message indicating a suggestion to upload the video content at a further time (LIU: [0041, 0058]: task management server informs the client to directly upload the contents of the file to be transcoded); sending from the server device to a sender device, the first message (LIU: [0041]: inform the client); determining, based at least in part on the further time, a sender device for transcoding the video content [LIU: [0041]: based on the request and url in the request, transcoding server is scheduled by the transcoding scheduling server, url for the file is received, and transcoding server transcodes at the scheduled time the content, and sends the transcoded content back, [0051-0055]]; receiving, by the server device and from the sender device, the video content [0041, 0039]: client uploads the video to be transcoded] and receiving by the server device and from the sender device, the one or more encoded video contents (fig. 2, [0052]: transcoding server executes transcoding and provides results; Kellerman: fig. 13]. Same rationale as in claim 5 applies.
However, Kellerman-LIU does not teach generating based at least in part on the metered connection, a first message and receiving by the server device and from the sender device, a second message indicating uploading the video content at the further time.
Jung discloses generating based at least in part on the metered connection, a first message and receiving by the server device and from the sender device, a second message indicating uploading the video content at the further time [fig. 2: client is connected to the server via Internet connection using wifi connection; fig. 4, step #404, 406]: receiving message indicating upload can resume and client sending initiate file transfer message back to server].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kellerman-LIU in view of Jung in order to inform client device to resume uploading at a time and client device initiating the transfer by sending the message to the server.
One of ordinary skilled in the art would have been motivated in order to upload and schedule the transcoding when client device has enough bandwidth to upload the content, thus optimizing the upload functionality.
As per claim 16, it does not teach or further define over the limitations in claim 7. Therefore, claim 16 is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 7.
Claim(s) 10, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kellerman et al. (hereinafter Kellerman, US 2013/0091214 A1) in view of Civanlar et al. (US 2010/0293584 A1).
As per claim 10, Kellerman discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: sending by the server device to the one or more receiver devices, a first encoded video content of the one or more encoded video content [fig. 13].
However, Kellerman does not disclose receiving by the server device and from the one or more receiver devices, a zoom-in request and sending based at least in part on the zoom-in request and to the one or more receiver devices, a second encoded video content of the one or more encoded video contents, wherein the second encoded video content has a higher resolution than the first encoded video content.
Civanlar teaches receiving by the server device and from the one or more receiver devices, a zoom-in request and sending based at least in part on the zoom-in request and to the one or more receiver devices, a second encoded video content of the one or more encoded video contents, wherein the second encoded video content has a higher resolution than the first encoded video content [[0067-0068]: receiver can instantly zoom the low resolution material and request from the video server the higher layers of encoded video of the selected video content to improve the video quality].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kellerman in view of Civanlar in order to utilize zoom-in function to request higher resolution content.
One of ordinary skilled in the art would have been motivated in order to improve the video quality that is being presented to the user [Civanlar: [0067]].
As per claim 19, it does not teach or further define over the limitations in claim 10. Therefore, claim 19 is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 10.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Tso et al., US 6,421,733 B1: System for dynamically transcoding data transmitted between computers.
Denoual, US 2005/0021726 A1: Optimization of quality of service in the distribution of bitstreams.
Hildreth et al., US 2007/0226365: Aspects of digital media content distribution.
Foti, US 2011/0320559 A1: Remote access with media translation.
Atkins et al., US 2011/0083073 A1: Synchronized recording and playback of a plurality of media content.
MEuninck et al., US 2012/0023531 A1: Presentation of media content to a requesting device.
Robbins, US 2014/0038514 A1: Display aware transcoder source selection system.
RAO, US 2011/0130172 A1: Mobile based learning and testing for automated test assignment, automated class registration and customized material delivery [Teaches virtual spaces for different groups and transcoding content based on receiver capabilities].
Lam et al., US 2018/0300305 A1: Shared templates in a collaborative work environment [Virtual spaces for different teams – Fig. 2].
Microsoft Teams and channels: Create a standard, private or shared channel in MS Teams.
Microsoft Teams Tips and Tricks Webinar – March 2017: Describes how to create/join Teams and create and use channels.
KAMAL B. DIVECHA
Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2453
/KAMAL B DIVECHA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2453