Inventorship
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9, 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kraus et al (7,252,078).
Kraus et al teaches a spark plug connector 2, comprising a connector body, having a first end portion configured to insert an end of a high-tension lead 5 or to directly contact an ignition coil 1 and a second end portion configured to receive an end of a spark plug 4, wherein an electrical wiring section configured to transmit a sparking voltage from the high-tension lead 5 or the ignition coil 1 to the spark plug 4 is arranged between the first end portion and the second end portion, wherein the electrical wiring section has, adjacent to the first end portion, at least one inductor 3b as an electromagnetic interference suppression element (see figures 1-4, col. 2 line 26 through col. 3 line 14, col. 4 line 26-34).
For claim 2 see figure 1.
For claim 3 see figures 2-4.
For claim 4 see figures 1-2, 4.
For claim 5 see figure 4.
For claim 6 see col. 3 line 15-34.
For claim 7 see col. 3 line 35-43.
For claim 8 see figure 4, col. 4 line 34-39.
For claim 9 see figure 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kraus et al (7,252,078) in view of Valencia et al (9,169,798).
Kraus et al teaches the claimed invention as rejected in claim 1 above except for a plate. Valencia et al teaches a plate 202 (see figures 2-7). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to employ the plate on the ignition device of Kraus et al as taught by Valencia et al in order to provide support and prevent leakage.
Claims 15 and 17 are obvious matter of design choice/intended use.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Anderson et al 10,648,445 teaches a shielded spark plug connector.
Yamada et al 10,250,016 teaches an ignition system that uses a technique capable of restraining radiation of noise caused by discharge of a spark plug in the ignition system.
Tada et al 9,551,314 teaches a protector for a spark plug connector.
Katoh et al 7,387,115 teaches an ignition system has an electromagnetic noise reduction circuit.
Jefferson 7,055,482 teaches a cover for spark plug.
Hamer et al 6,437,674 teaches an ignition apparatus having built-in noise suppression.
/HAI H HUYNH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3747