DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 15-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhang et al (US20180077661).
Regarding claim 1, the cited reference Zhang discloses an uplink signal synchronization method (¶0008 discloses establishing uplink synchronization of the user equipment with a first cell controlled by a first base station), comprising: obtaining, by a first communication apparatus, first indication information, wherein the first indication information indicates a first duration, the first duration is a validity duration of synchronization information, and the synchronization information is used for uplink signal synchronization
(¶0014 discloses receiving, by the user equipment, the instruction information sent by the second base station where ¶0019 discloses that the instruction information includes at least one of the following information: uplink synchronization interval configuration information); obtaining, by the first communication apparatus, second indication information (¶0029 discloses sending, by the first base station, the TA or TA offset to the user equipment), where the TA or TA offset is used to enable the user equipment to establish and/or maintain uplink synchronization of the user equipment with the first cell); performing, by the first communication apparatus, based on the second indication information, the uplink signal synchronization within the first duration beginning after the obtaining of the second indication information, wherein the uplink signal synchronization comprises at least one of time domain offset compensation or frequency domain offset compensation, and the second indication information indicates the synchronization information (¶0029 discloses sending, by the first base station, the TA or TA offset to the user equipment, where the TA or TA offset is used to enable the user equipment to establish uplink synchronization of the user equipment with the first cell).
Regarding claim 2, the cited reference Zhang discloses all limitations of claim 1. Zhang further discloses wherein the synchronization information comprises one or more of the following information: time domain offset compensation information between a serving satellite of the first communication apparatus and a reference point, change information of the time domain offset compensation information, ephemeris information of the serving satellite of the first communication apparatus, positioning information, frequency domain offset compensation information, location information of the reference point, or location information or timing information of a network device (¶0176 discloses that the user equipment receives the TA or TA offset sent by the first base station or sent by the first base station by using the second base station, and establishes and/or maintains uplink synchronization of the user equipment with the first cell according to the TA or TA offset).
Regarding claim 17, the claim is drawn to a method performing substantially the same features of the method of claim 1. Therefore, the claim is subject to the same rejection as claim 1.
Regarding claim 18, the claim is drawn to the method performing substantially the same features of the method of claim 2. Therefore, the claim is subject to the same rejection as claim 2.
Regarding claim 19, the cited reference Zhang discloses a communication apparatus, comprising at least one processor coupled to a memory, wherein the memory is configured to store a program or instructions (Fig. 16 discloses structural diagram of a user equipment which includes a processor and ¶0337 discloses a storage medium includes: any medium that can store program code, such as a USB flash drive, a removable hard disk, a read-only memory (ROM), a random access memory (RAM) that store software); and the at least one processor is configured to execute the program or the instructions, so that the apparatus is enabled to perform substantially the same features of the method of claim 1. Therefore, the claim is subject to the same rejection as claim 1.
Regarding claim 20, the claim is drawn to the communication apparatus performing
substantially the same features of the method of claim 2. Therefore, the claim is subject to the same rejection as claim 2.
Claims 1-2 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sun (US20190182787).
Regarding claim 1, the cited reference Sun discloses an uplink signal synchronization method (¶0016 discloses a method for implementing synchronization between a user equipment and a base station), comprising: obtaining, by a first communication apparatus, first indication information, wherein the first indication information indicates a first duration, the first duration is a validity duration of synchronization information, and the synchronization information is used for uplink signal synchronization (¶0100 discloses a notifying the user equipment of configuration parameters … used for the synchronization… the configuration parameters may include parameters such as … the cycle, and the subframe offset… establish the synchronization … according to currently notified parameters); obtaining, by the first communication apparatus, second indication information (¶0111 discloses send the second synchronization information to the user equipment); performing, by the first communication apparatus, based on the second indication information, the uplink signal synchronization within the first duration beginning after the obtaining of the second indication information, wherein the uplink signal synchronization comprises at least one of time domain offset compensation or frequency domain offset compensation, and the second indication information indicates the synchronization information (¶0111 discloses send the second synchronization information to the user equipment, so that the user equipment is capable of determining, according to the second synchronization information, a transmission moment for sending the uplink signals. ¶0112 the user equipment needs to determine, according to timing of the synchronization, a reference value for adjusting the uplink transmission moment. For example, when the user equipment learns that the second synchronization is the synchronization that has been established by the certain user equipment, it may determine, according to the synchronization and an uplink TA, an uplink transmission moment for sending uplink information. ¶0113 further discloses that user equipment first determines a timing compensation offset, then adjusts a TA to a TA′ according to the timing offset compensation, and then determines an uplink transmission moment according to the TA′ and the second synchronization notified by the base station).
Regarding claim 2, the cited reference Sun discloses all limitations of claim 1. Sun further discloses wherein the synchronization information comprises one or more of the following information: time domain offset compensation information between a serving satellite of the first communication apparatus and a reference point, change information of the time domain offset compensation information, ephemeris information of the serving satellite of the first communication apparatus, positioning information, frequency domain offset compensation information, location information of the reference point, or location information or timing information of a network device (¶0114 discloses that the user equipment adjusts a TA according to a changed timing offset of the second synchronization).
Regarding claim 17, the claim is drawn to a method performing substantially the same features of the method of claim 1. Therefore, the claim is subject to the same rejection as claim 1.
Regarding claim 18, the claim is drawn to the method performing substantially the same features of the method of claim 2. Therefore, the claim is subject to the same rejection as claim 2.
Regarding claim 19, the cited reference Sun discloses a communication apparatus, comprising at least one processor coupled to a memory, wherein the memory is configured to store a program or instructions (Claim 7 discloses communication apparatus, comprising a processor and a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium including computer-executable instructions executed by the processor); and the at least one processor is configured to execute the program or the instructions, so that the apparatus is enabled to perform substantially the same features of the method of claim 1. Therefore, the claim is subject to the same rejection as claim 1.
Regarding claim 20, the claim is drawn to the communication apparatus performing substantially the same features of the method of claim 2. Therefore, the claim is subject to the same rejection as claim 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 17-20 and are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wu (US20240031960).
Regarding claim 1, the cited reference Wu discloses an uplink signal synchronization method (¶0002 discloses time-frequency synchronization needs to be achieved between the terminal device and the network device), comprising: obtaining, by a first communication apparatus, first indication information, wherein the first indication information indicates a first duration, the first duration is a validity duration of synchronization information, and the synchronization information is used for uplink signal synchronization (¶0114 discloses a terminal device determines a first time interval. The first time interval is configured to be used by the terminal device to acquire synchronization information); obtaining, by the first communication apparatus, second indication information (¶0115 discloses the terminal device acquires the synchronization information); performing, by the first communication apparatus, based on the second indication information, the uplink signal synchronization within the first duration beginning after the obtaining of the second indication information, wherein the uplink signal synchronization comprises at least one of time domain offset compensation or frequency domain offset compensation, and the second indication information indicates the synchronization information (¶0114-¶0115 discloses the first time interval is configured to be used by the terminal device to acquire synchronization information… the terminal device acquires the synchronization information based on the first time interval. The synchronization information is used to transmit a first physical channel or signal. ¶0133 discloses that the first time interval includes at least one of a first offset value).
Regarding claim 2, the cited reference Wu discloses all limitations of claim 1. Wu further discloses wherein the synchronization information comprises one or more of the following information: time domain offset compensation information between a serving satellite of the first communication apparatus and a reference point, change information of the time domain offset compensation information, ephemeris information of the serving satellite of the first communication apparatus, positioning information, frequency domain offset compensation information, location information of the reference point, or location information or timing information of a network device (¶0175 discloses that the synchronization information is acquired based on first information, and the first information including at least one of the following: timing information, timing change information, frequency offset information, frequency offset change information, location information, or ephemeris information).
Regarding claim 3, the cited reference Wu discloses all limitations of claim 1. Wu further discloses wherein the method further comprises: sending, by the first communication apparatus, third indication information, wherein the third indication information indicates one or more of the following information: (¶0114 discloses that the first time interval is configured to be used by the terminal device to acquire synchronization information. ¶0131 discloses a second offset value … the second offset value is used to determine a distance between the end position of the first time interval and the first physical channel or signal)
Regarding claim 3, the cited reference Wu discloses all limitations of claim 1. Wu further discloses wherein the method further comprises: sending, by the first communication apparatus, third indication information, wherein the third indication information indicates one or more of the following information: movement speed information of the first communication apparatus, ephemeris derivation capability information of the first communication apparatus, comprises at least one of maximum duration of ephemeris derivation or an ephemeris derivation model, the ephemeris derivation model is used to determine the maximum duration of the ephemeris derivation performed by the first communication apparatus, (¶0104 discloses send to the terminal device synchronization assistance information (e.g., ephemeris information. ¶0184 discloses that the terminal device can calculate a timing and frequency offset based on information acquired by the GNSS and the synchronization assistance information (e.g., the ephemeris information of the service satellite) indicated by the network device, and applies timing advance compensation or frequency offset adjustment in an idle state or an inactive state or a connected stat. ¶0186 discloses that the terminal device estimates a UE-specific TA based on the location of the terminal device acquired by the GNSS and the ephemeris information of the service satellite indicated by the network device. ¶0222 discloses that the terminal device uses the positioning module to perform the search on the first time domain resource in the first time interval, so as to acquire at least one of the following information of the first information: the location information of the terminal device or the ephemeris information of the non-service satellite. The terminal device uses the communication module to receive at least one of the system message or the downlink reference signal on the second time domain resource in the first time interval, and acquires, from at least one of the system message or the downlink reference signal, at least one of the following: the common timing information, the common timing change information, the common frequency offset information, the common frequency offset change information, the location information of the network device, or the ephemeris information of the service satellite. ¶0251 discloses that the ephemeris information includes at least one of satellite location information or satellite velocity information).
Regarding claim 17, the claim is drawn to a method performing substantially the same features of the method of claim 1. Therefore, the claim is subject to the same rejection as claim 1.
Regarding claim 18, the claim is drawn to the method performing substantially the same features of the method of claim 2. Therefore, the claim is subject to the same rejection as claim 2.
Regarding claim 19, the cited reference Wu discloses a communication apparatus, comprising at least one processor coupled to a memory, wherein the memory is configured to store a program or instructions (Fig. 18 and ¶0339-¶340 discloses a processor 1810 and a memory 1820… The processor 1810 is configured to invoke and run a computer program from the memory 1820); and the at least one processor is configured to execute the program or the instructions, so that the apparatus is enabled to perform substantially the same features of the method of claim 1. Therefore, the claim is subject to the same rejection as claim 1.
Regarding claim 20, the claim is drawn to the communication apparatus performing substantially the same features of the method of claim 2. Therefore, the claim is subject to the same rejection as claim 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu (US20240031960), in view of Fu (US20220377691).
Regarding claim 4, the cited reference Wu discloses all limitations of claim 3. However, Wu does not explicitly teach wherein the third indication information is carried in a message 3 of a random access procedure.
In an analogous art Fu teaches wherein the third indication information is carried in a message 3 of a random access procedure (¶0096 discloses that the network device can transmit Msg3 carrying the first information to the terminal device).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the method of Fu where when the UE is in an idle state or an inactive state, timing synchronization between the UE and a network side is not maintained, and thus the UE needs to obtain TA information in an initial access procedure through a random access (RA) procedure, to perform synchronization alignment.
Claim 5-6, 9, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu (US20240031960), in view of Yan (US20240340074).
Regarding claim 5, the cited reference Wu discloses all limitations of claim 1. However, Wu does not explicitly teach wherein the method further comprises: after the first duration elapses after the reception of the second indication information, receiving, by the first communication apparatus, fourth indication information on a first resource, wherein the fourth indication information is used to update the synchronization information, and the first resource carries the fourth indication information.
In an analogous art Yan teaches wherein the method further comprises: after the first duration elapses after the reception of the second indication information, receiving, by the first communication apparatus, fourth indication information on a first resource, wherein the fourth indication information is used to update the synchronization information, and the first resource carries the fourth indication information (¶0089 discloses that the UE receives the SIBx at time t, the start of the BCCH modification period (n) is time t0, and the offset ΔT1, which is t−t0, is applied, the length of the synchronization validity timer is N−ΔT1=N−1+t0. The synchronization validity timer is started at time t, and ends or expires at t+(N−ΔT1)=t+N−t+t0=N+t0. The synchronization validity duration for the UE is from t to N+t0. That is, the UE starts or restarts the synchronizationvalidity timer upon receiving the SIBx, and the synchronization validity timer expires at time N+t0).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the method of Yan to ensures information consistency, accuracy, and accessibility across communication system.
Regarding claim 6, the cited reference Wu discloses all limitations of claim 1. However, Wu does not explicitly teach wherein the first communication apparatus is in a network-connected state, and the method further comprises: entering an idle state when the first duration elapses after the reception of the second information and no fourth indication information is received on a first resource, wherein the fourth indication information is used to update the synchronization information; and receiving, by the first communication apparatus, a system message, wherein the system message comprises the synchronization information.
In an analogous art Yan teaches wherein the first communication apparatus is in a network-connected state, and the method further comprises: entering an idle state when the first duration elapses after the reception of the second information and no fourth indication information is received on a first resource, wherein the fourth indication information is used to update the synchronization information; and receiving, by the first communication apparatus, a system message, wherein the system message comprises the synchronization information (¶0105 discloses that when the timer for satellite ephemeris validity and/or common TA validity (i.e., the synchronization validity timer) of a UE expire…if the UE is in the RRC connected mode, it switches to the RRC idle mode, and may receive new/updated SIB information where ¶0087 discloses that the synchronization validity timer is determined by two parameters: the first parameter, N, is a configured value which can be indicated in a SIB).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the method of Yan to ensures information consistency, accuracy, and accessibility across communication system.
Regarding claim 9, the cited reference Wu discloses all limitations of claim 1. However, Wu does not explicitly teach wherein the method further comprises: initiating, by the first communication apparatus, a random access procedure when the first duration elapses after the reception of the second information and no fourth indication information on the first resource is received, wherein the fourth information is used to update the synchronization information.
In an analogous art Yan teaches wherein the method further comprises: initiating, by the first communication apparatus, a random access procedure when the first duration elapses after the reception of the second information and no fourth indication information on the first resource is received, wherein the fourth information is used to update the synchronization information (¶0106 discloses that when a timer for GNSS validity (i.e., GNSS validity timer) of a UE expires the if the UE is in the RRC connected mode, it switches to the RRC idle mode, and may perform … initial random access procedure. ¶0089 discloses that the UE receives the SIBx at time t, the start of the BCCH modification period (n) is time t0, and the offset ΔT1, which is t−t0, is applied, the length of the synchronization validity timer is N−ΔT1=N−1+t0. The synchronization validity timer is started at time t, and ends or expires at t+(N−ΔT1)=t+N−t+t0=N+t0. The synchronization validity duration for the UE is from t to N+t0. That is, the UE starts or restarts the synchronization validity timer upon receiving the SIBx, and the synchronization validity timer expires at time N+t0).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the method of Yan to ensures information consistency, accuracy, and accessibility across communication system.
Regarding claim 14, the combination Wu and Yan discloses all limitations of claim 5. Wu further discloses wherein the method further comprises: after receiving the fourth indication information, performing, by the first communication apparatus, the uplink signal synchronization based on the fourth indication information within the first duration that is after the reception of the fourth indication information (¶0114-¶0115 discloses the first time interval is configured to be used by the terminal device to acquire synchronization information… the terminal device acquires the synchronization information based on the first time interval. The synchronization information is used to transmit a first physical channel or signal).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu (US20240031960), in view of Yan (US20240340074), in further view of Beldon (US20140260687).
Regarding claim 7, the combination Wu and Yan discloses all limitations of claim 6. However, the combination does not explicitly teach wherein the entering the idle state comprises: determining that a quantity of unreceived transmissions of the fourth indication information is greater than or equal to a maximum quantity of transmissions, and that the fourth indication information fails to be received; and entering the idle state.
In an analogous art Beldon teaches wherein the entering the idle state comprises: determining that a quantity of unreceived transmissions of the fourth indication information isgreater than or equal to a maximum quantity of transmissions, and that the fourth indication information fails to be received; and entering the idle state (¶0048 discloses that the sensor board continues to retry sending the sensor data … until it exceeds a pre-determined number of failed transmission attempts. If the pre-determined number of failed transmission attempts is exceeded, the sensor board leaves the network and enters the sleep state).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the method of Beldon to minimizes power consumption and not occupy valuable radio resources.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu (US20240031960), in view of Yan (US20240340074), in further view of Nagaraja et al (US20190036590).
Regarding claim 8, the combination Wu and Yan discloses all limitations of claim 6. However, the combination does not explicitly teach wherein the entering the idle state comprises: determining that an uplink signal is out-of-synchronization or a wireless link failure occurs; and entering the idle state.
In an analogous art Nagaraja teaches wherein the entering the idle state comprises: determining that an uplink signal is out-of-synchronization or a wireless link failure occurs; and entering the idle state (¶0003 discloses that when a radio link failure is declared, for example, the UE may either enter an idle mode).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the method of Nagaraja to save power.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu (US20240031960), in view of Yan (US20240340074), in further view of Hui et al (US20180324865).
Regarding claim 10, the combination Wu and Yan discloses all limitations of claim 9. However, the combination does not explicitly teach wherein the first communication apparatus is in a network-connected state, and the initiating, by the first communication apparatus, the random access procedure comprises: initiating, by the first communication apparatus, a contention-based random access procedure after entering an idle state.
In an analogous art Hui teaches wherein the first communication apparatus is in a network-connected state, and the initiating, by the first communication apparatus, the random access procedure comprises: initiating, by the first communication apparatus, a contention-based random access procedure after entering an idle state (¶0118 discloses that all PRACH use cases can be categorized into two categories based on different criteria… Category 1, a contention-based 4-step RA procedure is used by UEs in idle mode or in inactive mode… category 2, a contention-based 2-step RA procedure is used by the UE in the connected mode).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the method of Hui to provide a method for transmitting and receiving messages for a random access with a base station by user equipment.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu (US20240031960), in view of Yan (US20240340074), in further view of Liu et al (US20230319834).
Regarding claim 11, the combination Wu and Yan discloses all limitations of claim 9. However, the combination does not explicitly teach wherein the initiating, by the first communication apparatus, the random access procedure comprises: receiving, by the first communication apparatus, fifth indication information, wherein the fifth indication information indicates the first communication apparatus to initiate a non-contention-based random access procedure; and initiating, by the first communication apparatus, the non-contention-based random access procedure based on the fifth indication information.
In an analogous art Liu teaches wherein the initiating, by the first communication apparatus, the random access procedure comprises: receiving, by the first communication apparatus, fifth indication information, wherein the fifth indication information indicates the first communication apparatus to initiate a non-contention-based random access procedure; and initiating, by the first communication apparatus, the non-contention-based random access procedure based on the fifth indication information (¶0259 discloses that the non-contention-based random access procedure may be initiated in a case that the terminal apparatus 1 receives information indicating initialization of the random access procedure from the base station apparatus 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the method of Liu where the non-contention-based random access may be used to quickly establish uplink synchronization between the terminal apparatus 1 and the base station apparatus 3 in a case that handover or a transmission timing of the mobile station apparatus is not effective though the base station apparatus 3 and the terminal apparatus 1 are being connected to each other.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu (US20240031960), in view of Yan (US20240340074), in further view of Lei et al (US20210195546).
Regarding claim 12, the combination Wu and Yan discloses all limitations of claim 9. However, the combination does not explicitly teach wherein the initiating, by the first communication apparatus, the random access procedure comprises: initiating, by the first communication apparatus, the random access procedure when a quantity of retransmissions of the fourth indication information is greater than or equal to a maximum quantity of retransmissions.
In an analogous art Lei teaches wherein the initiating, by the first communication apparatus, the random access procedure comprises: initiating, by the first communication apparatus, the random access procedure when a quantity of retransmissions of the fourth indication information is greater than or equal to a maximum quantity of retransmissions (¶0192 discloses that the UE may perform a contention based random access procedure or a contention free random access procedure with the serving base station if the number of retransmission attempts for the random access message is greater than or equal to the threshold value).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the method of Lei where if the number retransmissions is greater than or equal to the threshold value, the UE may reattempt a contention based random access procedure or a contention free random access procedure without applying any timing advance and without sending a request for timing advance.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu (US20240031960), in view of Yan (US20240340074), in further view of Fan et al (US20180324871).
Regarding claim 13, the combination Wu and Yan discloses all limitations of claim 9. However, the combination does not explicitly teach wherein the initiating the random access procedure comprises: determining that an uplink signal is out-of-synchronization or a wireless link failure occurs; and initiating the random access procedure.
In an analogous art Fan teaches wherein the initiating the random access procedure comprises: determining that an uplink signal is out-of-synchronization or a wireless link failure occurs; and initiating the random access procedure (¶0042 discloses that when a UE in an out-of-sync and/or link failure status initiates a random access procedure).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the method of Fan where when link failure occurs, the communication device will be deemed to be unsynchronized in uplink and a random access procedure is needed to reacquire uplink timing.
Conclusion
should be directed to ABDELILLAH ELMEJJARMI whose telephone number is (571)270-1656. The examiner can normally be reached on Mon-Fri: 8AM-5PM EST.
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Yemane Mesfin can be reached on (571)272-3927. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
Respectfully submitted,
/ABDELILLAH ELMEJJARMI/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2462