DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Claims 9-17 in the reply filed on 11/17/25 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 1-8 and 18-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected product, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 11/17/25.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rodriguez USPA_20230136940_A1.
1. Regarding Claim 9, Rodriguez discloses a composite comprising a substrate formable for wrapping around an empty web spool, a length of the substrate sufficient to wrap the substrate around an empty web spool multiple times; a first zone coated region comprising a spool face adhesive on a first side of the substrate; a second zone coated region comprising a release coating of the first side of the substrate, the second zone coated region occupying a majority of the first side of the substrate that is not included in the first zone coated region; and a paper web adhesive coating on a second side of the substrate, the paper web adhesive coating comprising an adhesive comprising sufficient binding strength to burst a paper web being spooled on a full web spool (claim 9), and multiple tear away perforations that can be construed as strips that extend across the substrate (elements 111-113 of Fig. 1A; paragraph 0051).
2. Regarding Claim 16, Rodriguez discloses a method of preparing a turn-up composite, the method comprising cutting a substrate to a width target comprising a width of a spool face reduced by a margin distance for one or both ends, and a length based on a number of desired wraps of substrate around the spool face multiplied by a circumference of a paper spool; applying a spool face adhesive to a length of a first side of the substrate equal to or less than a circumference of the spool face; applying a release formulation to an uncoated portion of the first side of the substrate; and applying a paper web adhesive to a second side of the substrate (Claim 16).
3. Regarding Claim 10, Rodriguez discloses having a number of perforations (paragraph 0051).
4. Regarding Claim 11, Rodriguez discloses a spacing between multiple perforations is not equal to a circumference of the empty paper web spool (paragraph 0018).
5. Regarding Claims 12 and 13, Rodriguez discloses an angular cut-out at an end of the paperband composite may be placed upon the empty web spool to start a winding of the paperband composite onto the empty web spool and align angular cut-out in the paperband composite with a position to start a winding of the paperband composite onto the empty web spool in a spiral pattern (paragraph 0018).
6. Regarding Claim 14, Rodriguez discloses a spool face adhesive may have a tensile strength sufficient to hold a paperband composite in place on an empty web spool but not be sufficient to cause damage to a spool face when the paperband composite is removed (paragraph 0019).
7. Regarding Claim 15, Rodriguez discloses a paper web adhesive coating may form a bond having a tensile strength sufficient to adhere to a paper web during a turn-up operation and adhere the wrapped paperband composite to the empty web spool when the paperband composite is torn along a perforation in the paperband composite (paragraph 0020).
8. Regarding Claim 17, Rodriguez discloses cutting an edge of the substrate at an angle to a side edge to form a start of the turn-up paperband composite that may be applied to the spool face (Claim 17).
Conclusion
/TAHSEEN KHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1781 January 10, 2026