DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to Applicant’s amendment filed 08/15/2025. Claims 1-2, 5-6, 11, and 20 are currently pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5-6, 11, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Butler et al. (U.S. 2012/0206243 A1) in view of Pletcher et al. (U.S. 2015/0188607 A1).
Claim 1, Butler teaches:
A wireless power-supply communication system (Butler, Fig. 1) comprising:
an information output device (Butler, Fig. 1: 102), which is a beacon device (Butler, Fig. 1: 102, The tag 102 is functionally equivalent to a beacon device.) having a power reception circuit (Butler, Fig. 1: 104) that receives power by wireless power transfer (Butler, Paragraph [0403], The incoming signal is received by the antenna 108 and fed to the power management 130 block of the RF network node 104.) and a power storage means (Butler, Fig. 1: 130) chargeable via the power reception circuit (Butler, Paragraphs [0403-0404], The power management 130 block harvests power from the carrier wave of the signal from the reader 140.) and configured to transmit information by a predetermined power-saving near field communication (Butler, Paragraph [0598], Bluetooth is an example of a power-saving near field communication (see Applicant’s specification, Paragraph [0084]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, for the system to utilize a “short range” wireless protocol, for communicating between the tags 102 and reader(s) 140, because various modulation techniques, power requirements, and ranges are operable for the tags and the readers (see Butler, Paragraph [0670-0671]), and utilizing Bluetooth, for example, would therefore yield predictable results.) in every lapse of a preset standby period (Butler, Paragraph [0406], An example of output information includes a voltage too low signal, which occurs after the tag is interrogated, i.e. after a lapse of a preset standby period.); and
a power-transmission reception side device (Butler, Fig. 17: 1714) incorporated into or communicably connected to a host terminal (Butler, Figs. 1 and 17: 140) and configured to wirelessly transfer power to the information output device and receive the information transmitted from the information output device by the power-saving near field communication (Butler, Paragraphs [0598] and [0658-0659], The transmitter and receiver 1714 facilitates transmitting signals to and receiving signals from the tags 102. Bluetooth is an example of a power-saving near field communication (see Applicant’s specification, Paragraph [0084]).),
wherein the host terminal or the power-transmission reception side device has a power-transmission reception side controller (Butler, Fig. 17: 1704, 1712, Paragraph [0664], The firmware 1710 stored in the reader 140 contains operability routines and data for both the processor 1704 and control 1712.) that causes the wireless power transfer to the information output device (Butler, Paragraphs [0413-0414], The reader 140 may increase its transmitted power in order to provide sufficient power for the RFID tag 102 to perform operations, e.g. read/write.), and
the information output device has a power-reception transmission side controller (Butler, Fig. 1: 132, Paragraph [0399], Command response and/or data return messages are sent from the data processing and controller 132.) that determines increasing in the wireless power transfer, opens a reception window for the power-saving near field communication according to a determination result of the increasing (Butler, Paragraph [0414], An example of an open reception window is during a read cycle, i.e. transmission from the reader 140 and a response from the RFID tag 102.), and controls the information output device to perform a predetermined operation according to a command received from the power-transmission reception side device by the power-saving near field communication, while the reception window is opened (Butler, Paragraph [0413-0414], Based on received power meter data, the RFID tag 102 can determine how much power it will receive and how much power it requires to perform specific tasks in order to determine whether or not to request an increase in transmitted power. For example, as the reader 140 increases its transmitted power, the power meter will provide the respective power data, and the RFID tag 102 can determine if the received power will be enough to perform its tasks, and if not, request additional transmitted power from the reader 140. An example of a command includes a data write command.).
Butler does not explicitly teach:
The power-transmission reception side controller causes the wireless power transfer to fluctuate in a predetermined fluctuation pattern; and
the power-reception transmission side controller determines a fluctuation in the wireless power transfer.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, for the combination of processor 1704 and control 1712, who are responsible for controlling the reader 140 and transmitter and receiver 1714, respectively, to utilize the stored firmware 1710 in order to perform the controlling functions. Such a modification would not render the invention inoperable for its intended purpose and would yield predictable results.
Pletcher teaches:
Increasing or decreasing RF power when transmitting (Pletcher, Paragraph [0090], The increasing and decreasing of RF power is functionally equivalent to a fluctuation pattern.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify the system in Butler by integrating the teaching of a reader as taught by Pletcher.
The motivation would be to conserve power of the reader (see Pletcher, Paragraph [0090]).
Claim 2, Butler in view of Pletcher further teaches:
The wireless power-supply communication system according to claim 1, wherein the power-transmission reception side controller intermittently performs the wireless power transfer from the power-transmission reception side device to the information output device in the predetermined fluctuation pattern (Pletcher, Paragraph [0090], The increase or decrease of power is based on a received voltage requirement, which is predetermined relative to the transmission by the reader.).
Claim 5, Butler in view of Pletcher further teaches:
The wireless power-supply communication system according to claim 1, wherein
the information output device has an IoT sensor (Butler, Fig. 1: 138, Paragraph [0521], The sensors 138 include temperature, humidity, motion, CO, moisture, smoke, pressure, light, vibration, and the like, which is consistent with Applicant’s specification, Paragraph [0016].).
Claim 6, Butler in view of Pletcher further teaches:
The wireless power-supply communication system according to claim 1, wherein
the information output device outputs the information with output data in an advertising communication packet (Butler, Paragraph [0424], The RFID tag 102 encrypts its data into a packet of information. Example RFID tag data includes an RFID tag identifier (see Butler, Paragraph [0312]) and sensor data (see Butler, Paragraph [0521]). Thus, the transmitted packets having a tag identifier and sensor data is functionally equivalent to Applicant’s advertising packet (see Applicant’s specification, Paragraph [0035]).) in the power-saving near field communication (Butler, Paragraph [0598], Bluetooth is an example of a power-saving near field communication (see Applicant’s specification, Paragraph [0084]).).
Claim 11, Butler in view of Pletcher further teaches:
The wireless power-supply communication system according to claim 2, wherein
the information output device has an IoT sensor (Butler, Fig. 1: 138, Paragraph [0521], The sensors 138 include temperature, humidity, motion, CO, moisture, smoke, pressure, light, vibration, and the like, which is consistent with Applicant’s specification, Paragraph [0016].).
Claim 20, Butler teaches:
A wireless power-supply communication method (Butler, Fig. 1) including:
storing power in a power storage means (Butler, Paragraphs [0403-0404], The power management 130 block harvests power from the carrier wave of the signal from the reader 140.) via a power reception circuit (Butler, Fig. 1: 104) that receives the power by wireless power transfer (Butler, Paragraphs [0403-0404], The power management 130 block harvests power from the carrier wave of the signal from the reader 140.);
transmitting, with the stored power, information from an information output device on a power reception side, which is a beacon device (Butler, Fig. 1: 102, The tag 102 is functionally equivalent to a beacon device.), by a predetermined power-saving near field communication (Butler, Paragraph [0598], Bluetooth is an example of a power-saving near field communication (see Applicant’s specification, Paragraph [0084]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, for the system to utilize a “short range” wireless protocol, for communicating between the tags 102 and reader(s) 140, because various modulation techniques, power requirements, and ranges are operable for the tags and the readers (see Butler, Paragraph [0670-0671]), and utilizing Bluetooth, for example, would therefore yield predictable results.) in every lapse of a preset standby period (Butler, Paragraph [0406], An example of output information includes a voltage too low signal, which occurs after the tag is interrogated, i.e. after a lapse of a preset standby period.);
wirelessly transferring power to the information output device (Butler, Paragraphs [0658-0659], The transmitter and receiver 1714 facilitates transmitting signals to and receiving signals from the tags 102.) by a power-transmission reception side device (Butler, Fig. 1: 1714) incorporated into or communicably connected to a host terminal (Butler, Fig. 1: 140);
receiving, by the power-transmission reception side device (Butler, Fig. 17: 1714), the information, which is transmitted from the information output device by the power-saving near field communication (Butler, Paragraphs [0598] and [0658-0659], The transmitter and receiver 1714 facilitates transmitting signals to and receiving signals from the tags 102. Bluetooth is an example of a power-saving near field communication (see Applicant’s specification, Paragraph [0084]).);
causing, by the host terminal or the power-transmission reception side device, the wireless power transfer to the information output device to increase (Butler, Paragraphs [0413-0414], The reader 140 may increase its transmitted power in order to provide sufficient power for the RFID tag 102 to perform operations, e.g. read/write.);
determining, by the information output device, increasing in the wireless power transfer (Butler, Paragraph [0414], An example of an open reception window is during a read cycle, i.e. transmission from the reader 140 and a response from the RFID tag 102.);
opening, by the information output device, a reception window for the power-saving near field communication according to a determination result of the increasing (Butler, Paragraph [0414], An example of an open reception window is during a read cycle, i.e. transmission from the reader 140 and a response from the RFID tag 102.) and executing, by the information output device, a predetermined operation related to information output according to a command from the power-transmission reception side device by the power-saving near field communication, while the reception window is opened (Butler, Paragraph [0413-0414], Based on received power meter data, the RFID tag 102 can determine how much power it will receive and how much power it requires to perform specific tasks in order to determine whether or not to request an increase in transmitted power. For example, as the reader 140 increases its transmitted power, the power meter will provide the respective power data, and the RFID tag 102 can determine if the received power will be enough to perform its tasks, and if not, request additional transmitted power from the reader 140. An example of a command includes a data write command.).
Butler does not explicitly teach:
Causing, by the host terminal or the power-transmission reception side device, the wireless power transfer to the information output device to fluctuate in a predetermined fluctuation pattern; and
determining, by the information output device, a fluctuation in the wireless power transfer.
Pletcher teaches:
Increasing or decreasing RF power when transmitting (Pletcher, Paragraph [0090], The increasing and decreasing of RF power is functionally equivalent to a fluctuation pattern.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify the system in Butler by integrating the teaching of a reader as taught by Pletcher.
The motivation would be to conserve power of the reader (see Pletcher, Paragraph [0090]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/15/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to the Applicant’s argument that the Butler reference does not teach a “power-saving near field communication” between the tags 102 and the reader(s) 140, the Examiner respectfully disagrees for the reasons set forth in the rejection above. Additionally, the claims, as currently amended, do not inherently or explicitly define a “power-saving near field communication” away from the interpretation in the rejection above.
In response to the Applicant’s argument regarding the steps of opening a reception window according to a determination result of the fluctuation, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. It appears that the Applicant intends for the output device to be capable of detecting a fluctuation pattern of the wireless power, and in response to the fluctuation pattern, opening a reception window in order to enable communication via the power-saving near field communication. The claims, however, only require the output device to determine a fluctuation in the wireless power transfer, which the broadest reasonable interpretation includes a “change” in power transfer. Thus, in Butler, a power meter provides rate of change information, current power information, or the like, to both the reader and the tag (see Butler, Paragraph [0413-0414]), and the incorporation of Pletcher includes the ability for the power levels to decrease, i.e. fluctuate (see Pletcher, Paragraph [0090]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAMES J YANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2686