DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 10 September 2024 and 09 May 2025 have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2016/0104879 to Kim et al. (“Kim”) in view of US 2019/0336963 to Hong et al. (“Hong”).
With regard to Claim 1, Kim teaches a method of preparing core-shell cathode active material precursors via a Couette-Taylor reactor wherein an aqueous multi-element metal solution precipitates core particles, and an aqueous transition metal solution forms a shell thereon (see Abstract; FIGs. 1-2; ¶¶ [0008], [0043]-[0044]). Kim does not expressly teach separation of the core-shell materials or series arrangement of Couette-Taylor reactors as claimed. Hong is similarly directed to core-shell materials via Couette-Taylor reactors, and teaches known arrangements thereof feature separation of core-shell particles produced thereby (see Abstract; ¶¶ [0006]-[0007]). Hong further teaches series arrangement of multiple Couette-Taylor reactors for sequential production of core and shell features, with the advantage of temperature control at each stage (see FIG. 1; ¶ [0009]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have employed multiple Couette-Taylor reactors in series and to have included routine separation operations in order to control process temperatures.
With regard to Claims 2-3, Kim teaches multi-element metal solutions and aqueous solutions comprising transition metals featuring the claimed materials (see ¶¶ [0044]-[0045]).
With regard to Claims 4-9, Kim teaches provision of chelating and precipitating agents and control of process parameters including solution flow rate, reactor rotation speed, and reaction residence time (see ¶¶ [0038], [0046], [0052]-[0053], [0056], [0058]). Hong teaches temperature control (see ¶ [0009]). Kim further teaches optimization of process conditions to influence process yield and core-shell characteristics (see ¶ [0010]). To the extent the references do not expressly disclose the claimed process parameters, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have employed the claimed process parameters throughout the course of routine experimentation and optimization in pursuit of desired yield and core-shell features.
2. Claim10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Hong as applied to Claim 1, and further in view of US 2008/0193841 to Sun et al. (“Sun”).
With regard to Claim 10, Kim teaches influencing core size and shell thickness via adjustment of process parameters (see ¶¶ [0004], [0053]); however the reference does not expressly teach the claimed size and shell thickness. Sun is similarly directed to core-shell cathode active materials, and teaches producing core sizes and shell thicknesses within the claimed range (see Abstract; ¶ [0023]-[0024]). It would have thus been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have produced core-shell particles featuring a core size and shell thickness within the claimed range in the method of Kim since Sun teaches the suitability of thus featured core-shell particles for usage as cathode active material.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 2023/0278002 to Hong et al. is noted as teaching series arrangements of Couette-Taylor reactors (see Abstract; FIGs. 1-2).
/Michael P. Rodriguez/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1715