Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Objections
Claims 3, 4, and 6 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 3 states: The ion gradient power-generation stretching strain sensor, as recited in claim 1, wherein one of the first hygroscopic is a carbon nanotubes or carbon black. From the claim language, it is unclear what is being referred to as “hygroscopic,” and “one of” seems to be redundant language. For purposes of examination, the examiner interprets this as: “The ion gradient power-generation stretching strain sensor, as recited in claim 1, wherein the first hygroscopic sensitive material is a carbon nanotube or carbon black.”
Claim 4 states: The ion gradient power-generation stretching strain sensor, as recited in claim 1, wherein the second hygroscopic is one member selected from lithium chloride, sodium algina or polycatic liquid. From the claim language, it is unclear what is being referred to as hygroscopic. For purposes of examination, the examiner interprets this as: The ion gradient power-generation stretching strain sensor, as recited in claim 1, wherein the second hygroscopic sensitive material is one member selected from lithium chloride, sodium algina or polycatic liquid.”
Claim 6 states: The ion gradient power-generation stretching strain sensor, as recited in claim 1, wherein the electrodes are made of one identical material selected from a group consisting of copper tape, aluminum tape, polyester electrical tape, zinc tape, magnesium tape, and magnesium tape. This claim repeats “magnesium tape” twice. For purposes of examination, the examiner will interpret this as “… copper tape, aluminum tape, polyester electrical tape, zinc tape, magnesium tape.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gou (CN 114087975 A) in view of Tan ("Self-sustained electricity generator driven by the compatible integration of ambient moisture adsorption and evaporation"). Note that citation page and paragraph numbers of Gou refer to the English translation provided in the OC set.
Regarding Claim 1, Gou teaches:
An ion gradient power-generation stretching strain sensor (Fig 1; Page 4 paragraph 2), comprising:
latex pipes (Fig 1 2; Page 4 paragraph 2),
an elastic line (Fig 1 1; Page 4 paragraph 2)
However, Gou does not teach
An elastic line covered with a first hygroscopic sensitive material,
two electrodes, and filter paper covered with a second hygroscopic sensitive material;
wherein at both ends of the pipe, the filter paper is fixed inside and the corresponding electrodes of the elastic line at one end; the moisture absorption performance of the second hygroscopic sensitive material is better than the first hygroscopic sensitive material.
In a similar field of endeavor, Tan teaches:
a first hygroscopic sensitive material (Fig 1A “evaporative layer”; Page 7 Col 2 “Preparation of the evaporative layer. The carbon-black slurry was obtained by dispersing 1 g toluene carbon black…” where carbon black is treated as the first hygroscopic sensitive material),
two electrodes (Fig 1A, positive and negative terminals, described as electrodes in the description of the figure),
and filter paper covered with a second hygroscopic sensitive material wherein at both ends of the pipe, the filter paper is fixed inside and the corresponding electrodes of the elastic line at one end
(Fig 1A “hygroscopic layer”; Page 7 Col 2 “Preparation of the hygroscopic layer… One side of the obtained cellulon paper slice loaded with LiCl…”);
the moisture absorption performance of the second hygroscopic sensitive material is better than the first hygroscopic sensitive material (The second hygroscopic layer—LiCl—is more hygroscopic when compared to the first layer—carbon black—as evidenced by this paper calling LiCl the “hygroscopic layer” and carbon black the “evaporative layer.” The present application also holds this assertion).
Therefore, it would be obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the latex pipe strain sensor structure as described in Gou with the hygroscopic layer electricity generation technology as disclosed in Tan. This allows the strain sensor to generate a self-sustaining voltage (Page 2, Results section).
Regarding Claim 2, Gou and Tan teach the embodiment of claim 1, but as previously described do not teach wherein the two electrodes are set between the elastic line and the latex tube.
Furthermore, Tan teaches two electrodes between the two hygroscopic layers (Fig 1A, where one electrode is at the “hygroscopic layer” and the other is at the “evaporative layer”).
Therefore, it would be obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the elastic line and latex tube structure as described in Gou to include two electrodes as described in Tan. This would facilitate the flow of ions through the hygroscopic layers (as shown in Fig 1A).
Regarding Claim 3, Gou and Tan teach the embodiment of claim 1, but as previously described do not teach wherein one of the first hygroscopic is a carbon nanotubes or carbon black.
Furthermore, Tan teaches wherein one of the first hygroscopic is a carbon nanotubes or carbon black (Fig 1A “evaporative layer”; Page 7 Col 2 “Preparation of the evaporative layer. The carbon-black slurry was obtained by dispersing 1g toluene carbon black…”).
Therefore, it would be obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to make the first hygroscopic sensitive material carbon nanotubes or carbon black. This would provide an adequate evaporative layer for the embodiment so that vapor can flow out of it (Fig 1B).
Regarding Claim 4, Gou and Tan teach the embodiment of claim 1, but as previously described do not teach wherein the second hygroscopic is one member selected from lithium chloride, sodium algina or polycatic liquid.
Furthermore, Tan teaches wherein the second hygroscopic is one member selected from lithium chloride, sodium algina or polycatic liquid (Fig 1A “hygroscopic layer”; Page 7 Col 2 “Preparation of the hygroscopic layer… One side of the obtained cellulon paper slice loaded with LiCl…”).
Therefore, it would be obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to make the second hygroscopic sensitive material lithium chloride, sodium algina or polycatic liquid. This would provide an adequate hygroscopic layer for vapor to flow into (Fig 1B).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gou and Tan in view of Kim (CN 108139283 B). Note that citation page and paragraph numbers of Kim refer to the English translation provided in the OC set.
Gou and Tan teach all the limitations of claim 1, but do not teach wherein the material of the elastic line is polyester or nylon.
In a similar field of endeavor, Kim teaches wherein the material of the elastic line is polyester or nylon (Fig 1 151; Page 7 paragraph 1 “the polymer layer 151 may be a polyester (PET, Polyester) layer”).
Therefore, it would be obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the elastic line as described in Gou and Tan so that it is polyester. This would be ideal for “protecting” the sensor (Page 7, paragraph 1).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gou and Tan in view of Liu. Note that citation page and paragraph numbers of Liu refer to the English translation provided in the OC set.
Gou and Tan teach all the limitations of claim 1, but do not teach wherein the electrodes are made of one identical material selected from a group consisting of copper tape, aluminum tape, polyester electrical tape, zinc tape, magnesium tape, and magnesium tape.
In a similar field of endeavor, Liu teaches wherein the electrodes are made of one identical material selected from a group consisting of copper tape, aluminum tape, polyester electrical tape, zinc tape, magnesium tape, and magnesium tape (Fig 1 6; Page 7 paragraph 1 (started on page 6) “aluminium plating cloth tape, to form electrode”).
Therefore, it would be obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the electrode as described in Tan (which is described as “carbon tape” in page 2, column 1, last paragraph) so that it is aluminum tape. This would allow for a current to be channeled through the sensor.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7 and 8 objected to as being dependent upon claim 1, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding Claim 7, Gou in view of Tan represents the best art on record:
A method for preparing the ion gradient power-generation stretching strain sensor, as recited in claim 1 (Gou and Tan), comprising steps of:
(1) preparing a saturated aquatic solution of a second hygroscopic sensitive material (Tan, Page 7 Col 2 “Preparation of the hygroscopic layer,” “In total, 10 g lithium chloride was added into DI water (100 ml) and stirred for 30 min”);
(2) soaking a clean filter paper in the saturated aqueous solution of the second hygroscopic sensitive material (Tan, Page 7 Col 2 “Preparation of the hygroscopic layer,” “Subsequently, a cellulon paper slice (3 cm×3cm×1mm) was immersed in the above solution for 30min”),
after performing with dryness (Tan, Page 7 Col 2 “Preparation of the hygroscopic layer,” “dried at 100 °C for 1h”),
(3) preparing a water decentralized liquid of the first hygroscopic sensitive material (Tan, Page 7 Col 2 “Preparation of the evaporative layer,” “The carbon-black slurry was obtained by dispersing 1 g toluene carbon black, 2 g ethylcellulose, and 6 g terpilenol in 50 ml ethyl alcohol and then stirring for 3 h”);
(4) soaking a cellulon paper slice in the first hydrating sensitive material water in decentralized liquid (Tan, Page 7 Col 2 “Preparation of the evaporative layer,” “A cellulon paper slice (3 cm × 3 cm × 1mm) was immersed in the carbon-black slurry”),
after performing with ultrasound and drying, the first hygroscopic sensitive material is obtained (Tan, Page 7 Col 2 “Preparation of the evaporative layer,” “A piece of porous cloth was placed between the hot plate and the sample to induce drying and to realize a concentration gradient of carbon black along the thickness of the a cellulon paper”);
(5) wrapping a filter paper with the second hygroscopic sensitive material in one end with the elastic line with the elastic line with the first hygroscopic sensitive material, and the electrode is introduced at the other end of the elastic line outside and the elastic line, so as to obtain the ion gradient power-generation stretching strain sensor.
However, Gou in view of Tan fail to critically teach that:
(2) performing with ultrasound;
placing it in the air to fully absorb the water molecules in the air, and obtaining the filter paper covered with the second hygroscopic sensitive material;
(4) soaking the elastic line in the first hydrating sensitive material water decentralized liquid; performing ultrasound;
specifically obtaining an elastic line with the first hygroscopic sensitive material
(5) wrapping a filter paper with the second hygroscopic sensitive material in one end with the elastic line with the elastic line with the first hygroscopic sensitive material, and the electrode is introduced at the other end of the elastic line outside and the elastic line, so as to obtain the ion gradient power-generation stretching strain sensor.
Regarding Claim 8, Gou in view of Tan teach wherein a concentration of water decentralized liquid of hydrating sensitive materials is at a range of 1-10 WT% (Tan Page 7 Col 2 “Preparation of the hygroscopic layer,” “The PVA-based hygroscopic layer was prepared by adding LiCl solution (5 wt%)”)
However, Gou in view of Tan fail to teach the preparing method, as recited in claim 7.
Hence, the prior art fails to teach the invention as set forth in claims 7 and 8, specifically a method of preparing an ion gradient power-generation stretching strain sensor, nor reasons to combine the elements of these references other than the applicant's own reasoning to fully encompass the current pending claims.
Conclusion
/Colin S Craven/Examiner, Art Unit 2855
/KRISTINA M DEHERRERA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2855 10/19/26