DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are not persuasive. Under a reasonably broad construction, the limitation added to claims 1 and 10 does not require that the invisible light sensor be active even when the invisible light ISP is inactivated, as the applicant’s arguments imply.
The manner in which “either” is used renders the limitation ambiguous. For example, the language could mean: the signals are either generated when the ISP is activated, or generated when the ISP is inactivated, but not both. Moreover, because of the lack of a conjunction (such as when) before “either,” the first and second part of the limitation are not causally or temporally linked. In other words, a reader might reasonably interpret the language as:
wherein the step (a) generates the invisible light sensing signals;
either the invisible light ISP is activated or inactivated.
Either interpretation described above results in the limitation reading on Mani, since the language only requires the generation of invisible light sensing signals, without regard to the status of the invisible light ISP. Mani is thus cited below to meet the added limitation.
Also note that Mani is not limited to teaching the invisible light camera being activated by another camera (as highlighted in applicant’s arguments). Rather, “in some embodiments, the cameras are operated on a continuous basis and produce continuous streams of image frames” [Mani, para. 38]. Those embodiments of Mani appear to meet even the narrower construction of the added limitation urged by applicant, since Mani teaches the invisible light sensor being active in all cases, including when the ISP is activated or inactivated.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-7, 9-12, 14-16, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mani et al., US 2020/0110532.
Claims 1 and 10. Mani teaches an image processing system, comprising:
a visible light sensor, configured to generate visible light sensing signals [visible light sensor, Figs. 2, 5, paras. 27, 38];
a visible light ISP (image signal processor), configured to generate visible light images according to the visible light sensing signals [visible light camera is an image processor, Figs. 2, 5, para. 38; also see image processing unit 115, Fig. 5, paras. 35, 81];
an invisible light sensor, configured to generate invisible light sensing signals [night-vision sensor, Figs. 2, 5, paras. 27, 38];
an invisible light ISP, configured to generate invisible light images according to the invisible light sensing signals [night-vision camera (ISP), Figs. 2, 5, para. 38]; and
an event detector, configured to activate or inactivate the invisible light ISP according to if a specific event is detected by the event detector [night-vision camera (ISP) is activated when motion is detected by infrared camera (event detector), Figs. 2, 5, paras. 27, 38]
wherein the step (a) generates the invisible light sensing signals either the invisible light ISP is activated or inactivated [Figs. 2, 5, paras. 27, 38, 81; see Response to Amendment section above].
2 and 11. Mani teaches the image processing system of claim 1, wherein the specific event is that the invisible light sensing signals meet a specific rule [triggering event is infrared camera sensing more than a threshold amount of movement, para. 38].
3 and 12. Mani teaches the image processing system of claim 2, wherein the specific rule is that variation of the invisible light sensing signals is over a variation threshold [i.e. motion occurs (the scene varies) more than a threshold, para. 38].
5 and 14. Mani teaches the image processing system of claim 1, wherein the specific event is a trigger signal for triggering the event detector to activate the invisible light ISP [motion is the event that triggers the infrared camera to trigger the night-vision camera, para. 38].
6 and 15. Mani teaches the image processing system of claim 5, wherein the trigger signal is from a thermal sensor [infrared camera, para. 38] or a smoke detector.
7 and 16. Mani teaches the image processing system of claim 6, wherein the event detector is triggered to allow the invisible light sensing signals to be transmitted to the invisible ISP [night-vision camera only captures image (i.e. receives and processes the signal from the night-vision sensor) when triggered by infrared camera, para. 38].
9 and 18. Mani teaches the image processing system of claim 1, wherein the image processing system has a first power consumption rate when the specific event is not detected and has a second power consumption rate after the specific event is detected, wherein the second consumption rate is higher than the first consumption rate [power consumption is reduced (e.g. from first rate to second rate) when a camera (such as night-vision camera) is not used, i.e. has not been triggered by the infrared camera sensing a motion event, paras. 34, 38, 60].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mani as cited above in view of Trundle et al., US 2011/0102588.
4 and 13 (from 2 and 11). Mani is silent on a pixel value distribution rule. Trundle teaches an image processing system wherein the specific rule is that pixel value distributions of the invisible light sensing signals meet a predetermined distribution [size and shape of object (i.e. pixel distribution) is compared to expected/reference (predetermined) size and shape of a person; if the object has the expected shape the system is triggered to capture/transmit images (step 340); camera sensor captures pixels; Figs. 3 5-7, paras. 16, 77, 81, 82, 84-86, 96].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to combine the references, using Trundle’s technique to avoid triggering any sensors except when necessary. Trundle’s object recognition allows the system to omit some recording based on user preferences and thereby save memory and power.
Claims 8 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mani as cited above in view of Day et al., US 11,748,991.
8 and 17. Mani is silent on image combination. Day teaches an image processing system comprising:
an image combination circuit, configured to combine the visible light images and the invisible light images to generate combination images [IR data is fused with color image data, Fig. 6; col. 2, 10-37; col. 9, 13-39];
wherein the event detector is further configured to activate or inactivate the image combination circuit according to if the specific event is detected [upon a trigger (e.g. ambient light level reading), image combination is activated, Fig. 6, col. 9, 3-39].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to combine the references, combining infrared and visible light images in order to capture the most useful images, including IR data for low-light situations but also showing color information that may be useful in distinguishing objects in the field of view.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TIMOTHY R NEWLIN/Examiner, Art Unit 2424