DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 8-28-2024 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2), which requires a legible copy of each cited foreign patent document; each non-patent literature publication or that portion which caused it to be listed; and all other information or that portion which caused it to be listed. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered. Also, the information for one of the references fails to disclose at least the year of publication.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in EP on 07-28-2021. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the 21188308.7 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The claim recites the limitation “any other corresponding features”, the examiner was unable to find the scope of the limitation in the specification. Appear that the limitation is directed to improperly claim features that were not in the possession of the inventor at the time of the invention. Please indicate where in the specification support can be found for the scope of the specific features of “any other corresponding features”.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The claim recites the limitation “any other corresponding features”, since the examiner was unable to find the scope of the limitation in the specification, the scope of the limitation is unclear. Please clarify.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9 and 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhou 20250048257.
As to claim 1, Zhou discloses a user device [UE, 106, 156, 210, 1502], comprising: a transceiver [1520] configured for communicating in a wireless communication network [104] being operated by at least one base station [160, 220, 1504] (see figs. 1A, 1B, 2 and 15) wherein the transceiver is configured for transceiving wireless signals in the wireless communications network [the data to be sent to base station 1504 may be provided to a transmission processing system 1520] (see par. 0217), wherein the transceiver is configured to monitor a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) to acquire downlink information (see par. 0257, 0261), and to provide a feature [power saving, sleep, etc.] in the wireless communication network, wherein the transceiver is configured to skip monitoring the PDCCH by performing no monitoring for a duration of a skipping interval, for aligning the feature with the skipping interval in time [The wireless device skips monitoring PDCCH in the next DRX on duration in response to the power saving indication indicating the wireless device shall go to sleep for next DRX on duration] (see par. 0273, 0288), and wherein the skipping interval includes a time where the transceiver enters or leaves PDCCH monitoring, or enables PDCCH skipping, and a time offset is configured to align an interaction between the PDCCH skipping and the feature (see par. 0271, 0273, 0286-0288).
As to claim 2, Zhou discloses the user device of claim 1, wherein the transceiver is configured to acquire aligning information indicating a relationship between the skipping of the monitoring PDCCH and the feature, and to align the feature with the skipping interval based on the aligning information (see par. 0271, 0273, 0286-0288).
As to claim 3, Zhou discloses the user device of claim 1, wherein the transceiver is configured to monitor the PDCCH with a first pattern in time and to perform a plurality of features comprising the feature with a second pattern in time [since no pattern difference is explained in the claims, they can refer to the same pattern; or long and short drx, etc.] (see par. 0271, 0273, 0278, 0280, 0286-0288).
As to claim 4, Zhou discloses the user device of claim 1, wherein the transceiver is configured to operate in a power saving mode, including a sleep mode or a deep sleep mode, during the skipping interval. (see par. 0288).
As to claim 5, Zhou discloses the user device of claim 1, wherein the transceiver is configured to perform the feature on at least a part of the PDCCH. (see par. 0287).
As to claim 6, Zhou discloses the user device of claim 1, wherein the transceiver is configured to apply a time offset to extend an already configured timer for the feature (see par. 0285) based on reference symbol monitoring including configured Channel State Information-Reference Signal (CSI-RS), synchronization blocks, Synchronization Signal Block (SSB) or SSB based Measurement Timing Configuration (SMTC) to align the feature with the skipping interval in time (see par. 0187).
As to claim 7, Zhou discloses the user device of claim 6, wherein the feature comprises at least one of: Measurements for Radio Link Monitoring (RLM)/Radio Link Failure (RLF) feature; Beam failure detection feature; Radio Resource Management (RRM) feature; or any other corresponding features (see par. 0273, 0288).
As to claim 8, Zhou discloses the user device of claim 5, wherein the time offset is configured considering at least one of the following parameters: a reference symbol periodicity, including Channel State Information-Reference Signal (CSI-RS) periodicity (see par. 0173); a synchronization block or Synchronization Signal Block (SSB) periodicity (see par. 0185); an SSB based Measurement Timing Configuration (SMTC) window periodicity; a measurement gap configuration; a relative or absolute velocity of users including the transceiver; a Quality of Service (QoS) profile including packet delay budget; a traffic load of the transceiver including queue length or a number of data flows; a Validity timer set for PDCCH; a Discontinuous Reception (DRX), configuration (see par. 0284, 0286); a transceiver category; a PDCCH skipping time interval (see par. 0286-0287); and a beam configuration.
As to claim 9, Zhou discloses the user device of claim 5, wherein the transceiver is configured to derive the time offset from a Radio Resource Control (RRC), message including a PDCCH-Config field description, or from a Downlink Control Information (DCI), of the wireless communication network (see par. 0288).
As to claim 11, Zhou discloses the user device of claim 1, wherein the transceiver is configured to receive, from the wireless communication network, an indication that the transceiver is allowed to interrupt all or some particular activity during a part or during a complete duration of the skipping interval, and to operate accordingly (see par. 0286-0287).
As to claim 12, Zhou discloses the user device of claim 1, wherein the transceiver is configured to skip the monitoring of the PDCCH based on a Downlink Control Information (DCI), and for evaluating an Downlink (DL), DCI or an Uplink (UL), DCI, for a an information element that signals a PDCCH candidate providing a next opportunity for monitoring the PDCCH (see par. 0286-0287).
As to claim 13, Zhou discloses the user device of claim 12, wherein the PDCCH candidate is a subsequent PDCCH for the transceiver including after having skipped at least one PDCCH; and wherein the information element represents a distance to a next PDCCH, and the transceiver is allowed to enter a sleep period that ends prior to the next PDCCH (see par. 0286-0287).
Regarding claims 14-15, they are the corresponding method and non-transitory digital storage medium of device claim 1. Therefore, claims 14-15 are rejected for the same reasons as shown above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou.
As to claim 10, Zhou discloses the user device of claim 5, configured to evaluate a Radio Resource Control (RRC) message or a Downlink Control Information (DCI), of the wireless communication network for a time offset bit indicating information that toggles a flag that mandates the transceiver to consider or neglect the time offset, based on configured time duration for PDCCH skipping (see par. 0288). Zhou does not explicitly disclose which part is making the evaluation. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to let transceiver do the evaluation, since it has been held that the provision of adjustability, where needed, involves only routine skill in the art. In re Stevens, 101 USPQ 284 (CCPA 1954). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to let transceiver do the evaluation for the simple purpose of a faster evaluation, thereby, improving communication quality.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Babae1 20210307108 discloses an enhanced power saving process by kipping monitoring the control channel or switching a monitoring periodicity or a monitoring periodicity and offset.
MARCOS L. TORRES
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2647
/MARCOS L TORRES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647