DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species A, Figures 1-3, Claims 1 and 5-20 in the reply filed on 26 January 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 2-4 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 26 January 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5, 6, 15, 17, 18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen et al. (US 11,178,792 B1)
Re. claim 1: Chen discloses a chassis comprising:
a cabinet (10, 20 combined); and (see fig. 2, 3)
a heat exchange component (50) disposed in the cabinet, wherein the heat exchange component divides a space in the cabinet into a first space (20) and a second space (10) for placement of an electronic device (11), and performs heat transfer between the first space and the second space; and (see fig. 2, 3, 5; col. 3-4)
a first air inlet (21) and a first air outlet (22) provided in the first space, wherein an airflow (4) entering from the first air inlet flows through a first surface of the heat exchange component and exits from the first air outlet, and the first surface is located in the first space. (see fig. 5; col. 3)
Re. claim 5: Chen discloses wherein the first air inlet (21) is provided on a first side wall (top left in fig. 5) of the first space, the first air outlet (22) is provided on a second end plate (bottom face in fig. 5) of the first space, and an included angle (90 degree angle in the airflow path) is provided between the first side wall and the second end plate to guide the airflow entering from the first air inlet to exit from the first air outlet. (see fig. 5)
Re. claim 6: Chen discloses wherein a first fan group (60) is disposed in the first space (20), and an airflow (4) entering the first space from the first air inlet (21) flows to the first air outlet (22) under an action of the first fan group. (see fig. 5; col. 4)
Re. claim 15: Chen discloses wherein a heating component (11) is disposed in the second space (10) and configured to increase a temperature of the second space in a low-temperature environment. (see fig. 3; col. 3)
Re. claim 17: Chen discloses wherein a second fan group (30) is disposed in the second space (10), and an airflow (3) in the second space flows under an action of the second fan group. (see fig. 5; col. 5)
Re. claim 18: Chen discloses wherein the heat exchange component comprises a heat exchange plate (40), a first air passage is disposed on a side (left side of 40) of the heat exchange plate facing the first space, and a second air passage is disposed on a side (right side of 40) of the heat exchange plate facing the second space. (see fig. 4, 5; col. 4-5)
Re. claim 20: Chen discloses an edge device comprising:
a chassis (1); and (see fig. 1, 2)
an electronic device (11) disposed in the chassis,
wherein the chassis comprises:
a cabinet (10, 20 combined); and (see fig. 2, 3)
a heat exchange component (50) disposed in the cabinet, wherein the heat exchange component divides a space in the cabinet into a first space (20) and a second space (10) for placement of an electronic device (11), and performs heat transfer between the first space and the second space; and (see fig. 2, 3, 5; col. 3-4)
a first air inlet (21) and a first air outlet (22) provided in the first space, wherein an airflow (4) entering from the first air inlet flows through a first surface of the heat exchange component and exits from the first air outlet, and the first surface is located in the first space. (see fig. 5; col. 3)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-9, 11 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Larsen et al. (US 2015/0003008 A1)
Re. claim 7-8: Chen fails to disclose:
wherein the chassis further comprises an opening and closing component connected to the cabinet, the opening and closing component is configured to control passage of an airflow between the first air inlet and the first air outlet to provide temperature control in the chassis.
wherein the opening and closing component is in a first structure when a temperature in the cabinet is higher than a first temperature, the first structure is configured to pass flow of the airflow between the first air inlet and the first air outlet, and
the opening and closing component is in a second structure when the temperature in the cabinet is lower than a second temperature, the second structure is configured to block flow of the airflow between the first air inlet and the first air outlet.
However, Larsen discloses:
A chassis (600) comprising a cabinet (670) for a heat exchange component; (see fig. 6; para. 0034-0037)
wherein the chassis further comprises an opening and closing component (675) connected to the cabinet, the opening and closing component (205, 305) is configured to control passage of an airflow between a first air inlet and the first air outlet to provide temperature control in the chassis; (see fig. 2, 3, 6; para. 0023, 0026-0027, 0035-0040)
wherein the opening and closing component is in a first structure (first temperature position 300) when a temperature in the cabinet is higher than a first temperature, the first structure is configured to pass flow of the airflow between the first air inlet and the first air outlet, and (see fig. 1, 2; para. 0017-0021, 0023-0025)
the opening and closing component is in a second structure (second temperature position 200) when the temperature in the cabinet is lower than a second temperature, the second structure is configured to block flow of the airflow between the first air inlet and the first air outlet. (see fig. 1, 3; para. 0026-0027)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the opening and closing vent component taught by Larsen to the chassis of Chen. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do this in order to provide venting control without requiring heat sensing or cooling control for the operation. (Larsen para. 0018-0019)
Re. claim 9: Larsen discloses wherein the first temperature equals to the second temperature. (158 Degrees F or 70 Degrees C) (see para. 0017)
Re. claim 11: Chen and Larsen fail to specifically disclose:
wherein the opening and closing component is disposed at the first air outlet, and controls opening and closing of the first air outlet.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the opening and closing component either at the first air inlet or the first air outlet, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this because these two locations would allow for the shutters to be opened and closed with maximum effectiveness and would not have required additional ducting
Re. claim 19: Chen and Larsen fail to specifically disclose:
wherein the heat exchange plate is S-shaped or arch-shaped.
However, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice, absent a statement of criticality, to shape the heat exchange plate in an S-shaped or arch-shaped manner based on design choice through routine experimentation since the applicant has not disclosed that the particular shape of the heat exchange plate solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally well with the straight plate of Chen and Larsen.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10, 12-14, and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Re. claim 10: the limitations of “wherein the first temperature is higher than the second temperature” in combination with the remaining limitations in the claim cannot be found in the prior art. The closest prior art, Larsen, discloses a single activation temperature which would be the temperature that increases and decreases the opening and closing component.
Re. claims 12 and 13: the limitations of “wherein the blade is formed of a memory alloy and the blade expands when a temperature of the blade is higher than a third temperature to open the first air outlet, and shrinks when a temperature of the blade is lower than the third temperature to close the first air outlet” in combination with the remaining limitations in the claim cannot be found in the prior art. The closest prior art discloses a control cable that expands and shrinks but not a blade that expands and shrinks.
Re. claim 16: the limitations of “wherein the heating component comprises a heating film disposed in the second space” in combination with the remaining limitations in the claim cannot be found in the prior art and would not have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. The prior art relates to the release of heat in an electronic enclosure. There would be no need to add a heating film because the electronics already would have created excess heat needing to be released.
Conclusion
June 17, 2026
/ADAM B DRAVININKAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841