DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
A person shall be entitled to a patent unless the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Abotabl (US 2023/0345378 A1)
Regarding Claims 1, 8
Abotabl discloses a method (See [0005-0006]; method of power measurement), comprising:
receiving, by a processor of a communication apparatus (See Fig.1(120x); [037]; [0145]; a UE merely comprise a processor)) , a report configuration (See [0005-0006]; [0075-0076]; UE received information that indicates a plurality of power control offsets associated with a reference signal resource) from a network apparatus (Fig.1(110a); Base Station),
wherein the report configuration (See [0075-0076]; UE configuration with power offset signaling) comprises
a list of sub-configurations which associates with a plurality of power offset values (See Fig.5; [0075-0076]; the transmit power for the reference signals or the communication channels may differ from each other by an offset, such as by a transmit power offset) configured by the network apparatus Fig.1(110a); Base Station); and
transmitting, by the processor (See [0145]; processor of UE), one or more measurement reports generated based on the power offset values (See [0005-0006]; transmitting, to the network node, a measurement that is based at least in part on the reference signal resource and a power control offset of the plurality of power control offsets).
Regarding Claim 2, 9
Abotabl teaches all the features with respect to claim 1, 8 and Abotabl further teaches
determining, by the processor, a channel quality indicator (CQI) according to at least one of the power offset values (See [0089]; The UE 120 may transmit a CQI report for a first measurement corresponding to a first power control offset value, and the UE 120 may transmit a different kind of report for another measurement associated with another power control offset value)).
Regarding Claim 3, 10
Abotabl teaches all the features with respect to claim 1, 8 and Abotabl further teaches
wherein each of the power offset values (See [0005-0006]; power offset values) comprises
a power offset for a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) relative to a channel state information-reference signal (CSI-RS) (See [0076]; The transmit power of the PDSCH 525 may be different from the transmit power of the NZP-CSI-RS, PDCCH, or PDCCH DMRS 520 by a powerControlOffset 550).
Regarding Claim 4, 11
Abotabl teaches all the features with respect to claim 3, 10 and Abotabl further teaches
measuring, by the processor, the CSI-RS to determine one or more CSI parameters based on at least one of the power offset values (See [0076-0077];
the UE 120 may need to perform a power measurement for each of the NZP-CSI-RS resources) and
generating, by the processor, the one or more measurement reports according to the one or more CSI parameters (See [0076-0077]; transmit a CSI report for each of the power measurements associated with the NZP-CSI-RS resources).
Regarding Claim 5, 12
Abotabl teaches all the features with respect to claim 1, 8 and Abotabl further teaches
wherein the report configuration is received from the network apparatus (See [0005-0006]; [0075-0076]; UE received information that indicates a plurality of power control offsets associated with a reference signal resource) through a radio resource control (RRC) signaling (See [0077]; the transmit power may be linked to the NZP-CSI-RS resource power and the RRC configured offsets).
Regarding Claim 6, 13
Abotabl teaches all the features with respect to claim 1, 8 and Abotabl further teaches
receiving, by the processor, an indication to select one or more of the sub-configurations from the network apparatus (See [0087]; UE received one of the many power offsets network configuration from the base station)
a downlink control information (DCI) (See [0087]; the network node 405 may transmit information, such as a MAC control element (MAC-CE) or DCI)
or
a media access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE) values (See [0087]; the network node 405 may transmit information, such as a MAC control element (MAC-CE) or DCI),
Regarding Claim 7, 14
Abotabl teaches all the features with respect to claim 6, 13 and Abotabl further teaches
wherein a trigger state corresponding to said one or more of the sub-configurations (See [0087-0088]; the UE 120 may obtain an indication (based at least in part on the configuration, the power control offset list, the MACCE, or the DCI) that indicates which power control offset values are to be reported) is initiated using a CSI request field in the DCI (See [0087-0088]; In some aspects, the UE 120 may be configured to transmit a report, such as a CSI report, for each of the power control offset values that are to be reported. For example, the UE 120 may obtain an indication (based at least in part on the configuration, the power control offset list, the MACCE, or the DCI) that indicates which power control offset values are to be reported).
Regarding Claim 15,
Abotabl discloses a method (See [0005-0006]; method of power measurement), comprising:
determining, by a processor (Fig.2(240)) of a network apparatus (Fig.2(200)) , at least one power offset value (See [0077]; network apparatus determined and configured the UE 120 with multiple NZP-CSI-RS resources having different
power offsets) for a communication apparatus (Fig.2(120)); and
transmitting, by the processor (Fig.2(240)), a report configuration (See [0005-0006]; [0075-0076]; UE received information that indicates a plurality of power control offsets associated with a reference signal resource) to the communication apparatus (Fig.2(120)),
wherein the report configuration (See [0075-0076]; UE configuration with power offset signaling) comprises at least one sub-configuration associating with the power offset value (See Fig.5; [0075-0076]; the transmit power for the reference signals or the communication channels may differ from each other by an offset, such as by a transmit power offset).
Regarding Claim 16,
Abotabl teaches all the features with respect to claim 15 and Abotabl further teaches
wherein the power offset value (See Fig.5; [0075-0076]; the transmit power for the reference signals or the communication channels may differ from each other by an offset, such as by a transmit power offset). is configured by the processor for a channel quality indicator (CQI) calculation (See [0089]; The UE 120 may transmit a CQI report for a first measurement corresponding to a first power control offset value).
Regarding Claim 17,
Abotabl teaches all the features with respect to claim 15 and Abotabl further teaches
wherein the power offset value (See [0005-0006]; power offset values) comprises a power offset for a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) relative to a channel state information-reference signal (CSI-RS) (See [0076]; The transmit power of the PDSCH 525 may be different from the transmit power of the NZP-CSI-RS, PDCCH, or PDCCH DMRS 520 by a powerControlOffset 550).
Regarding Claim 18,
Abotabl teaches all the features with respect to claim 15 and Abotabl further teaches
wherein the report configuration is transmitted (See [0005-0006]; [0075-0076]; UE received information that indicates a plurality of power control offsets associated with a reference signal resource) through a radio resource control (RRC) signaling (See [0077]; the transmit power may be linked to the NZP-CSI-RS resource power and the RRC configured offsets).
.
Regarding Claim 19,
Abotabl teaches all the features with respect to claim 15 and Abotabl further teaches
transmitting, by the processor, an indication to select the sub-configuration to the communication apparatus (See [0087]; UE received one of the many power offsets network configuration from the base station) via
a downlink control information (DCI) (See [0087]; the network node 405 may transmit information, such as a MAC control element (MAC-CE) or DCI)
or
a media access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE) (See [0087]; the network node 405 may transmit information, such as a MAC control element (MAC-CE) or DCI).
Regarding Claim 20,
Abotabl teaches all the features with respect to claim 19 and Abotabl further teaches
wherein a trigger state corresponding to the sub-configuration (See [0087-0088]; the UE 120 may obtain an indication (based at least in part on the configuration, the power control offset list, the MACCE, or the DCI) that indicates which power control offset values are to be reported) is initiated using a CSI request field in the DCI (See [0087-0088]; In some aspects, the UE 120 may be configured to transmit a report, such as a CSI report, for each of the power control offset values that are to be reported. For example, the UE 120 may obtain an indication (based at least in part on the configuration, the power control offset list, the MACCE, or the DCI) that indicates which power control offset values are to be reported).
Conclusion
/GARY LAFONTANT/Examiner, Art Unit 2646