DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a, 1) as being anticipated by Chen (U. S. Patent 9,312,650).
Regarding claim 1, Chen, see figures 1-9 discloses a board connector, comprising: an insulating body 20 including a plurality of female-terminal slots 204; and a plurality of female terminals 22, wherein at least one of the female terminals 22 includes at least two sheet structures 221, the at least two sheet structures 221 of the at least one of the female terminals 22 are disposed in one of the female-terminal slots 204, and each of the at least two sheet structures 221 has at least one elastic arm located in the female-terminal slot 204.
Regarding claim 2, Chen, see figures 1-9, discloses a part of each of the at least two sheet structures 221 is bent and defined as a transverse section 220 and a longitudinal section (above 222), the transverse section 220 is fixedly disposed in the female-terminal slot 204, one end of the transverse section 220 has the least one elastic arm 221, and one end of the longitudinal section (above 222) is electrically coupled to a circuit board 3.
Regarding claim 4, Chen, see figures 1-9, discloses a quantity of the at least one elastic arm 221 in each of the at least two sheet structures 221 are two, and an insertion gap is defined between inner surfaces of the two elastic arms 221 that are configured to face each other and be spaced apart from each other.
Regarding claim 5, Chen, see figures 1-9, discloses an outer edge distance between the two elastic arms 221 of each of the at least two sheet structures 221 is less than a height of the female-terminal slot 204, and an avoidance gap is defined between an inner side of the female-terminal slot 204 and an outer side of each of the at least two sheet structures 221 disposed in the female-terminal slot 204.
Regarding claim 8, Chen, see figures 1-9, discloses a board connector, comprising: an insulating body 20; a plurality of tubular structures 202 extending from an end surface of the insulating body 20, wherein each of the tubular structures 202 has one or more female-terminal slots 204; and a plurality of female terminals 22, wherein at least one of the female terminals 22 includes at least two terminal components 221, and wherein each of the female terminals 22 is disposed in one of the female-terminal slots 204.
Regarding claim 9, Chen, see figures 1-9, discloses each of the at least two terminal components 221 has a transverse section 220, a longitudinal section (above 222), and at least one elastic arm, the transverse section 220 is connected between the longitudinal section (above 222) and the at least one elastic arm, and wherein multiple ones of the longitudinal section (above 222) of the at least two terminal components 221 disposed in one of the female-terminal slots 204 are attached to each other.
Regarding claim 10, Chen, see figures 1-9, discloses the tubular structures 204 are arranged side by side to form a rectangular array that is divided into a plurality of rows in a perpendicular direction, and a length of the female- terminal slot 204 located above is greater than a length of the female-terminal slot 204 located below.
Regarding claims 7, 11, Chen, see figures 1-9, discloses further comprising: a plate structure 26 extending from one side of an end surface of the insulating body 20, wherein the plate structure 26 has a plurality of signal slots 266; and at least one signal terminal 24, wherein a part of the at least one signal terminal 24 is located in one of the signal slots 266.
Regarding claim 12, Chen, see figures 1-9, discloses the tubular structures 204 are arranged side by side to form a rectangular array, and the plate structure 26 is located on one side of the rectangular array.
Regarding claim 13, Chen, see figures 1-9, discloses the at least one signal terminal 22 has a transverse section 220, a longitudinal section (above 222), and at least one elastic arm, each of the at least two terminal components 221 have a transverse section 220, a longitudinal section (above 222), and at least one elastic arm 221, the transverse section 220, the transverse section 220 of the at least one signal terminal 22 fixed in the signal slot is perpendicular to the transverse section of the terminal component fixed in the female-terminal slot 204.
Regarding claim 14, Chen, see figures 1-9, discloses board-to-board connection assembly (see figures 9) , comprising: a male connector 1 fixed on a first circuit board 4, wherein the male connector 1 includes: a first insulating body 10 including a plurality of first terminal-male slots 102 ; and a plurality of male terminals 12, wherein one of two ends of each of the male terminals 12 is located in one of the first terminal-male slots 102, and another one of the two ends of each of the male terminals 12 is electrically coupled to the first circuit board 4; and a female connector 2 fixed on a second circuit board 3, wherein the female connector 2 includes: a second insulating body 20 including a plurality of tubular structures 204, wherein, when the male connector 1 is docked with the female connector 2, the tubular structures 204 are inserted into the first terminal-male slots 102 (see figure 9); and a plurality of female terminals 22 , wherein one of two ends of each of the female terminals 22 is located in one of the tubular structures 204, and another one of the two ends of each of the female terminals 22 is electrically coupled to the second circuit board 3.
Regarding claim 17, Chen, see figures 1-9, discloses at least one of the female terminals 22 includes a plurality of sheet structures 221, and each of the sheet structures 221 has a transverse section, 220 a longitudinal section, (near to the leadline 222) and two elastic arms, wherein the transverse section 220 is connected between the two elastic arms and the longitudinal section (near to the leadline 222), and wherein multiple ones of the longitudinal section of the sheet structures of one of the female terminals 22 are attached to each other.
Regarding claim 18, Chen, see figures 1-9, discloses a thickness of each of the sheet structures 221 is less than a width of each of the male terminals 12.
Regarding claim 19, Chen, see figures 1-9, discloses the male connector 1 further includes a first signal slot 103 and at least one first signal terminal 14, and one end of the at least one first signal terminal 14 is located in the first signal slot 103, wherein the female connector 2 further includes a plate structure 26 and at least one second signal terminal 24, and one end of the at least one second signal terminal 24 is located in the plate structure 26, and wherein, when the male connector 1 is docked with the female connector 2, the plate structure 26 is inserted into the first signal slot 103, so that the at least one first signal terminal 14 is electrically coupled to the at least one second signal terminal 24 (see figure 9).
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a, 1) as being anticipated by Tai (U. S. Patent 8,961,199).
Regarding claim 1, Tai discloses a board connector, comprising: an insulating body 1 including a plurality of female-terminal slots 1210; and a plurality of female terminals, wherein at least one of the female terminals 21 includes at least two sheet structures 222, 220, the at least two sheet structures 222, 220 of the at least one of the female terminals 21 are disposed in one of the female-terminal slots 1210, and each of the at least two sheet structures 220, 222 has at least one elastic arm located in the female-terminal slot 1210.
Regarding claim 2, Tai discloses a part of each of the at least two sheet structures 220, 222 is bent and defined as a transverse section (near to the leadline 225) and a longitudinal section 225, the transverse section is fixedly disposed in the female-terminal slot 1210, one end of the transverse section has the least one elastic arm 222, 220, and one end of the longitudinal section 225 is electrically coupled to a circuit board 200.
Regarding claim 4, Tai discloses a quantity of the at least one elastic arm 222 in each of the at least two sheet structures 222, 220 are two, and an insertion gap is defined between inner surfaces of the two elastic arms 222, 220 that are configured to face each other and be spaced apart from each other.
Regarding claim 5, Tai discloses an outer edge distance between the two elastic arms 220, 222 of each of the at least two sheet structures 222, 220 is less than a height of the female-terminal slot 1210, and an avoidance gap is defined between an inner side of the female-terminal slot 1210 and an outer side of each of the at least two sheet structures 220, 222 disposed in the female-terminal slot 1210.
Regarding claim 8, Tai discloses a board connector, comprising: an insulating body 1; a plurality of tubular structures 122, 121, 111 extending from an end surface of the insulating body 1, wherein each of the tubular structures 121 has one or more female-terminal slots 1210; and a plurality of female terminals 21, wherein at least one of the female terminals 21 includes at least two terminal components 222, 220, and wherein each of the female terminals 22 is disposed in one of the female-terminal slots 1210.
Regarding claim 9, Tai discloses each of the at least two terminal components 220, 222 has a transverse section (near to the leadline 225), a longitudinal section 225, and at least one elastic arm, the transverse section (near to the leadline 225) is connected between the longitudinal section 225 and the at least one elastic arm, and wherein multiple ones of the longitudinal section 225 of the at least two terminal components 220, 225 disposed in one of the female-terminal slots 1210 are attached to each other.
Regarding claim 10, Tai discloses the tubular structures 122, 121, 111 are arranged side by side to form a rectangular array that is divided into a plurality of rows in a perpendicular direction, and a length of the female- terminal slot 1210 located above is greater than a length of the female-terminal slot 1210 located below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a, 1) as being anticipated by Chen (U. S. Patent 9,312,650) in view of Peterson (U. S. Patent 5,342,221).
Regarding claim 15, Chen discloses the claimed invention except for further comprising a snap structure located on the first insulating body or the second insulating body, wherein the snap structure includes an operating portion, an engaging portion, and two elastic structures, and wherein the operating portion and the engaging portion are connected to each other, and the operating portion and the engaging portion are connected to the first insulating body or the second insulating body through the two elastic structures. Peterson discloses the latch 30 and snap 32. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Chen to provide such features as taught by Peterson so as to provide for better engagement.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a, 1) as being anticipated by Chen (U. S. Patent 9,312,650) in view of McHugh (U. S. Patent 5,836,773)
Regarding claim 16, Chen discloses at least one of the female terminals 22 includes a plurality of terminal components 221, and each of the terminal components 221 has a contact segment (at 221), and a pin segment (at longitudinal section near to the leadline 222), and wherein multiple ones of the contact segment 221 of the terminal components of one of the female terminals 22are located in one of the tubular structures 204, multiple ones of the pin segment (near to the leadline 222) are electrically coupled to the second circuit board 3, and the pin segment near to the leadline 222) and fixed in the second insulating body 20. Chen discloses the claimed invention except for a fixing segment, and the fixing segment is connected between the contact segment and the pin segment. McHugh discloses fixing segment see figure 3A. It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Chen to provide such features as taught by McHugh so as to provide for better engagement.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tai in view of Huang (U. S. Patent 6,471,544).
Regarding claim 3, Tai discloses the claimed invention except for the insulating body further includes at least two auxiliary fixing structures, the board connector further includes two auxiliary fixing components, a part of each of the two auxiliary fixing components is configured to be fixed to one of the at least two auxiliary fixing structures, and another part of each of the two auxiliary fixing components is configured to be fixed on a circuit board. Huang discloses an auxiliary fixing components at 2 and auxiliary fixing structure at 13. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Tai to provide such features as taught by Huang so as to provide for better engagement.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of McHugh (U. S. Patent 5,836,773).
Regarding claim 6, Chen discloses the claimed invention except for each of the at least two sheet structures further has a plurality of engaging portions, a width of a portion of each of the at least two sheet structures having the engaging portion is greater than a height of the female-terminal slot, and each of the at least two sheet structures is fixed in the female-terminal slot through the engaging portions. McHugh discloses engaging portion see figure 3A. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Chen to provide such features as taught by McHugh so as to provide for better engagement.
/PHUONG K DINH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831