DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Pub. 2020/0408604 (“Ohta”).
Claim 1
Ohta discloses an electromagnetic wave detection element comprising: an electromagnetic wave detection portion (membrane 8); a conductive layer that is electrically connected to the electromagnetic wave detection portion (conductive layer 6); a conductive pillar having an end surface that is electrically connected to the conductive layer (conductive pillar 5), wherein the end surface includes an inner region that is in contact with the conductive layer (inner region 10b) and an outer region that is positioned outside the inner region (outer region 10a); and a dielectric layer that is positioned between at least a part of the outer region and the conductive layer (dielectric layer 13).
Claim 2
Ohta discloses the electromagnetic wave detection element according to claim 1, wherein the inner region of the end surface has a concave portion that is recessed from at least a part of the outer region, and the conductive layer is provided along the concave portion (Fig. 10, paragraph [0088]).
Claim 3
Ohta discloses the electromagnetic wave detection element according to claim 1, wherein the conductive layer has a linear portion that has a first end that is connected to the electromagnetic wave detection portion and that linearly extends from the first end, wherein as seen in a direction that is parallel to a long axis of the conductive pillar, the dielectric layer is positioned between the inner region and the first end in a path along the linear portion (Fig. 10, paragraph [0088]).
Claim 4
Ohta discloses the electromagnetic wave detection element according to claim 3, wherein the dielectric layer is provided between a portion of the outer region that is positioned around an entire circumference of the outer region and the conductive layer (Fig. 10).
Claim 5
Ohta discloses the electromagnetic wave detection element according to claim 3, wherein the conductive layer has a second end that is positioned opposite to the first end, and the second end is in contact with the outer region (Fig. 10).
Claim 6
Ohta discloses the electromagnetic wave detection element according to claim 1, wherein in a projection image onto a projection plane that includes the outer region, the projection image being obtained by projecting the conductive layer in a direction parallel to a long axis of the conductive pillar, the conductive layer has a peripheral region that is in contact with an outer circumference of the outer region around an entire circumference of the outer region (paragraph [0059]).
Claim 7
Ohta discloses the electromagnetic wave detection element according to claim 1, wherein the electromagnetic wave detection portion includes a temperature detection element and an electromagnetic wave absorbing body that covers at least a part of the temperature detection element (infrared sensor 1).
Claim 8
Ohta discloses the electromagnetic wave detection element according to claim 1, further comprising a side dielectric layer that faces a side of the conductive pillar and that is integrated with the dielectric layer (Fig. 10, pillar 13 extends down with a side face).
Claim 9
Ohta discloses an electromagnetic wave sensor comprising the electromagnetic wave detection element according to claim 1 (paragraph [0058]).
Claim 10
Ohta discloses an electromagnetic wave sensor comprising more than one of the electromagnetic wave detection element according to claim 1, wherein the electromagnetic wave detection elements are arranged in an array (Figs. 2 and 3, arrayed).
Conclusion
/ERICA S LIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853