DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This is in response to an amendment/response/communication filed 4/22/2025.
No claims have been cancelled.
Claims(s) 2-20 has/have been added.
Claims(s) 1-20 is/are currently pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS(s)) submitted on 4/15/2024 and 4/22/2025 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the Examiner.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 1/29/2024. These drawings are accepted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5, 6, 7, 10, 11, 12, 13, 16, 17 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Telecommunications Tech Res Inst CN-110913505-A (Foreign Patent Documents citation #B1, listed on IDS dated 2025-04-22, citations are from English translation, hereinafter “Tele”). in view of Ronneke et al. US 20220174775.
As to claim 1:
Tele discloses:
A wireless communication method comprising:
receiving, by a wireless communication node from a user plane function, downlink data …during an unreachable time of the wireless communication terminal; and
(“S302, the UPF entity sends the downlink data to the RAN through a user plane tunnel, e.g., N3 tunnel. When the UE enters RRC inactive
state, a user plane tunnel, e.g., N3tunnel, between the UPF entity and the RAN still exists, so the UPF entity can send downlink data to the
RAN through the N3 tunnel.
S202, when determining that the terminal is in an unreachable state, the RAN sends a first request message to the UPF entity, where the
first request message is used to request the UPF entity to cache downlink data.”; Tele; p.13, middle of page)
(“The second mode is as follows: referring to fig. 4, in S403, the RAN sends a first request message to the UPF entity through the AMF entity
and the SMF entity to instruct the UPF entity to cache the downlink data. The second method is the same as the first method before step
S403 is performed, and steps S301 and S302 are performed first, which is not described herein again. In a possible embodiment, the RAN
requests the AMF entity to cache the downlink data through the N2 message, the AMF entity requests the SMF entity to cache the downlink
data through the N11 message, and the SMF entity requests the UPF entity to cache the downlink data through the N4 message. The
caching information may include caching requests, caching times, and the like.”; Tele; p.3, middle of page)
(“the RAN determines that the terminal is in an unreachable state according to an extended discontinuous reception (eDRX) parameter used
by the terminal;
and the RAN determines the buffering time of the downlink data according to the eDRX parameter.
In the embodiment of the invention, when the RAN determines that the terminal is in an unreachable state, the RAN determines the caching
time of the downlink data according to the eDRX parameter so as to indicate the time for the UPF entity to cache the downlink data.”; Tele; p.6, top of page)
(“The terminal device according to the embodiments of the present invention may be a device providing voice and/or data connectivity to a
user, a handheld device having a wireless connection function, or another processing device connected to a wireless modem. Wireless user
equipment, which may be mobile terminals such as mobile telephones (or "cellular" telephones) and computers having mobile terminals, for
example, portable, pocket, hand-held, computer-included, or vehicle-mounted mobile devices, may communicate with one or more core
networks via a Radio Access Network (RAN).”; Tele; p.12, bottom of page)
(where
“the UPF entity sends the downlink data to the RAN” maps to “receiving, by a wireless communication node from a user plane function, downlink data”, where “sends” maps to “receiving”, “RAN” maps to “wireless communication node”, “UPF” maps to “user plane function”, “downlink data” maps to “downlink data”
(where
“when determining that the terminal is in an unreachable state”/” determines that the terminal is in an unreachable state according to an extended discontinuous reception (eDRX) parameter used by the terminal; and the RAN determines the buffering time“/”terminal…via a…RAN”FIG. 2/FIG. 3 maps to “during an unreachable time of the wireless communication terminal”, where “is in” maps to “during”, “unreachable state”/”unreachable state…time” maps to “unreachable time”, where “terminal…via a…RAN” maps to “wireless communication terminal”
transmitting, by the wireless communication node to an access and mobility management function, a suspend request comprising a first indication to enable the downlink data to be buffered in the user plane function….
(where
“the RAN sends a first request message to the UPF entity through the AMF entity and the SMF entity to instruct the UPF entity to cache the downlink data” maps to “transmitting, by the wireless communication node to an access and mobility management function, a suspend request comprising a first indication to enable the downlink data to be buffered in the user plane function….”, where “sends” maps to “transmitting”, “RAN” maps to “wireless communication node”, “through the AMF” maps to “to an access and mobility management function:, “first request message”/”to cache” maps to “suspend request”, “instruct the UPF entity to cache the downlink data” maps to “a first indication to enable the downlink data to be buffered in the user plane function”, where “instruct” is considered as having an “indication”, in order to perform “instruct”, to cache the downlink data” maps to “to enable the downlink data to be buffered”, “the UPF entity to cache” maps to “to be buffered in the user plane function”
Tele teaches a RAN receiving downlink data from a UPF, the RAN determining the terminal is unreachable during a time period, sending a request to the AMF for the UPF to cache the downlink data.
Tele as described above does not explicitly teach:
directed to a wireless communication terminal
in the core network
However, Ronneke et al. further teaches a wireless device/core capability which includes:
directed to a wireless communication terminal
in the core network
(“Embodiment 18: A method performed by a base station for initiating a connection resume, the method comprising at least one of: receiving (FIG. 6, step 1a or 1c) either downlink data for a wireless device from a user plane function in a core network for transmission to a wireless device”; Ronneke et al.; 0145)
(where
“downlink data for a wireless device” maps to “directed to a wireless communication terminal”,
“device from a user plane function in a core network” maps to “in the core network”
Ronneke et al. teaches a RAN receiving downlink data from a UPF for a UE and teaches a UPF included in a core network.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the wireless device/core capability of Ronneke et al. into Tele. By modifying the processing/communications of Tele. to include the wireless device/core capability as taught by the processing/communications of Ronneke et al., the benefits of improved caching (Tele; Abstract) with improved performance (Ronneke et al.; 0120) are achieved.
As to claim 3:
Tele as described above does not explicitly teach:
buffering, by the wireless communication node, the downlink data in the wireless communication node.
However, Ronneke et al. further teaches a RAN/buffer capability which includes:
buffering, by the wireless communication node, the downlink data in the wireless communication node.
(“Section 6.7.4.2.2 describes a procedure for MT transmission with Radio Access Network (RAN) buffering at RRC Inactive.”; Ronneke et al.; 0005)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the RAN/buffer capability of Ronneke et al. into Tele. By modifying the processing/communications of Tele. to include the RAN/buffer capability as taught by the processing/communications of Ronneke et al., the benefits of improved caching (Tele; Abstract) with improved performance (Ronneke et al.; 0120) are achieved.
As to claim 5:
Tele as described above does not explicitly teach:
transmitting, by the wireless communication node to the wireless communication terminal, the buffered downlink data from the user plane function in response to the wireless communication terminal resuming from the eDRX idle state.
However, Ronneke et al. further teaches a DRX/buffer/downlink data capability which includes:
transmitting, by the wireless communication node to the wireless communication terminal, the buffered downlink data from the user plane function in response to the wireless communication terminal resuming from the eDRX idle state.
(“The steps or actions in the network triggered connection resume procedure of FIG. 6 are: [0093] 1. The NG-RAN receives downlink data from the UPF for a PDU Session or receives a Downlink NAS transport message from the AMF for a UE in RRC inactive state. [0094] 2. The NG-RAN checks if the UE is unreachable due to a power saving state, e.g. extended Discontinuous Reception (DRX) (see TS 23.501, clause 5.31.7). [0095] 3. If the UE is unreachable due to a power saving state, the NG-RAN may decide to buffer the data (e.g., based on RRC Inactive Assistance Information and/or CN Assisted UE Behavior Information) and to deliver the data to the UE when it becomes reachable (e.g., in step 6a). [0096] 3a. In case of a Downlink NAS message, the NG-RAN sends a NAS Non-Delivery Indication to the AMF with estimated duration time until next UE reachability and sets a Reachability Notification flag. If the Downlink NAS message is triggered by other NFs, the AMF shall indicate the failure to other NFs through Namf_Communication_N1N2TransferFailureNotification as specified in TS 23.502, clause 4.2.3.3 Network Triggered Service Request. [0097] 3b. In case of downlink data and if the NG-RAN has decided to buffer data, it sends a buffer status notification to the AMF and may include estimated duration time until next UE reachability. The AMF forwards to the SMF. [0098] 3c. When the UE is reachable and if the NG-RAN has decided to buffer data, the NG-RAN initiates the RAN paging procedure as specified in TS 38.331. [0099] 4. The UE triggers the Connection Resume procedure, as specified in TS 23.502, clause 4.8.2.2. [0100] 5. [Conditional] If the Reachability Notification flag is set and there was no NG-RAN node change in step 4, the NG-RAN notifies the AMF that the UE is reachable. [0101] 6. The NG-RAN delivers the downlink data or the downlink NAS message (if there is any) to the UE.”; Ronneke et al.; 0092)
(also see Table after para. 0005)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the DRX/buffer/downlink capability of Ronneke et al. into Tele. By modifying the processing/communications of Tele. to include the DRX/buffer/downlink capability as taught by the processing/communications of Ronneke et al., the benefits of improved caching (Tele; Abstract) with improved performance (Ronneke et al.; 0120) are achieved.
As to claim 6:
Tele discloses:
transmitting, by the wireless communication node to the access and mobility management function, a resume request comprising a second indication to enable a transferring of the downlink data over an interface between the user plane function and the wireless communication node.
(“Of course, S304, if the RAN determines that the UE is in the reachable state, may send a second request message to the UPF entity to request the UPF entity to send downlink data to the RAN.”; Tele; p.14; top of page)
(also see FIG. 3 and FIG. 4)
As to claim 7:
Tele discloses:
A wireless communication method comprising:
receiving, by an access and mobility management function from a wireless communication node, a suspend request comprising a first indication to enable downlink data …to be buffered in the user plane
function….
(“S302, the UPF entity sends the downlink data to the RAN through a user plane tunnel, e.g., N3 tunnel. When the UE enters RRC inactive
state, a user plane tunnel, e.g., N3tunnel, between the UPF entity and the RAN still exists, so the UPF entity can send downlink data to the
RAN through the N3 tunnel.
S202, when determining that the terminal is in an unreachable state, the RAN sends a first request message to the UPF entity, where the
first request message is used to request the UPF entity to cache downlink data.”; Tele; p.13, middle of page)
(“The second mode is as follows: referring to fig. 4, in S403, the RAN sends a first request message to the UPF entity through the AMF entity
and the SMF entity to instruct the UPF entity to cache the downlink data. The second method is the same as the first method before step
S403 is performed, and steps S301 and S302 are performed first, which is not described herein again. In a possible embodiment, the RAN
requests the AMF entity to cache the downlink data through the N2 message, the AMF entity requests the SMF entity to cache the downlink
data through the N11 message, and the SMF entity requests the UPF entity to cache the downlink data through the N4 message. The
caching information may include caching requests, caching times, and the like.”; Tele; p.3, middle of page)
(“the RAN determines that the terminal is in an unreachable state according to an extended discontinuous reception (eDRX) parameter used
by the terminal;
and the RAN determines the buffering time of the downlink data according to the eDRX parameter.
In the embodiment of the invention, when the RAN determines that the terminal is in an unreachable state, the RAN determines the caching
time of the downlink data according to the eDRX parameter so as to indicate the time for the UPF entity to cache the downlink data.”; Tele; p.6, top of page)
(“The terminal device according to the embodiments of the present invention may be a device providing voice and/or data connectivity to a
user, a handheld device having a wireless connection function, or another processing device connected to a wireless modem. Wireless user
equipment, which may be mobile terminals such as mobile telephones (or "cellular" telephones) and computers having mobile terminals, for
example, portable, pocket, hand-held, computer-included, or vehicle-mounted mobile devices, may communicate with one or more core
networks via a Radio Access Network (RAN).”; Tele; p.12, bottom of page)
Tele teaches a RAN receiving downlink data from a UPF, the RAN determining the terminal is unreachable during a time period, sending a request to the AMF for the UPF to cache the downlink data.
Tele as described above does not explicitly teach:
transmitted to a wireless communication terminal
in the core network
However, Ronneke et al. further teaches a wireless device/core capability which includes:
transmitted to a wireless communication terminal
in the core network
(“Embodiment 18: A method performed by a base station for initiating a connection resume, the method comprising at least one of: receiving (FIG. 6, step 1a or 1c) either downlink data for a wireless device from a user plane function in a core network for transmission to a wireless device”; Ronneke et al.; 0145)
(where
“downlink data for a wireless device” maps to “directed to a wireless communication terminal”,
“device from a user plane function in a core network” maps to “in the core network”
Ronneke et al. teaches a RAN receiving downlink data from a UPF for a UE and teaches a UPF included in a core network.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the wireless device/core capability of Ronneke et al. into Tele. By modifying the processing/communications of Tele. to include the wireless device/core capability as taught by the processing/communications of Ronneke et al., the benefits of improved caching (Tele; Abstract) with improved performance (Ronneke et al.; 0120) are achieved.
As to claim 10:
Tele discloses:
transmitting, by the access and mobility management function to a session management function, a request for enabling the downlink data to be buffered in the user plane function …in response to the first indication.
(“The second mode is as follows: referring to fig. 4, in S403, the RAN sends a first request message to the UPF entity through the AMF entity and the SMF entity to instruct the UPF entity to cache the downlink data. The second method is the same as the first method before step S403 is performed, and steps S301 and S302 are performed first, which is not described herein again. In a possible embodiment, the RAN requests the AMF entity to cache the downlink data through the N2 message, the AMF entity requests the SMF entity to cache the downlink data through the N11 message, and the SMF entity requests the UPF entity to cache the downlink data through the N4 message. The caching information may include caching requests, caching times, and the like.”; Tele; p.3, middle of page)
Tele as described above does not explicitly teach:
in the core network
However, Ronneke et al. further teaches core capability which includes:
in the core network
(“Embodiment 18: A method performed by a base station for initiating a connection resume, the method comprising at least one of: receiving (FIG. 6, step 1a or 1c) either downlink data for a wireless device from a user plane function in a core network for transmission to a wireless device”; Ronneke et al.; 0145)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the core capability of Ronneke et al. into Tele. By modifying the processing/communications of Tele. to include the core capability as taught by the processing/communications of Ronneke et al., the benefits of improved caching (Tele; Abstract) with improved performance (Ronneke et al.; 0120) are achieved.
As to claim 11:
Tele discloses:
receiving, by the access and mobility management function from the wireless communication node, a resume request comprising a second indication to enable a transferring of the downlink data over an interface between the user plane function and the wireless communication node.
(“Of course, S304, if the RAN determines that the UE is in the reachable state, may send a second request message to the UPF entity to request the UPF entity to send downlink data to the RAN.”; Tele; p.14; top of page)
(also see FIG. 3 and FIG. 4)
As to claim 12:
Tele discloses:
transmitting, by the access and mobility management function to a session management function, a request for enabling the transferring of the downlink data in response to the second indication.
(“Of course, S304, if the RAN determines that the UE is in the reachable state, may send a second request message to the UPF entity to request the UPF entity to send downlink data to the RAN.”; Tele; p.14; top of page)
(also see FIG. 3 and FIG. 4)
As to claim 13:
Tele discloses:
A wireless communication node, comprising:
a communication unit; and
a processor configured to:
receive, via the communication unit from a user plane function in the core network, downlink data … during an unreachable time of the wireless communication terminal; and
(“S302, the UPF entity sends the downlink data to the RAN through a user plane tunnel, e.g., N3 tunnel. When the UE enters RRC inactive
state, a user plane tunnel, e.g., N3tunnel, between the UPF entity and the RAN still exists, so the UPF entity can send downlink data to the
RAN through the N3 tunnel.
S202, when determining that the terminal is in an unreachable state, the RAN sends a first request message to the UPF entity, where the
first request message is used to request the UPF entity to cache downlink data.”; Tele; p.13, middle of page)
(“The second mode is as follows: referring to fig. 4, in S403, the RAN sends a first request message to the UPF entity through the AMF entity
and the SMF entity to instruct the UPF entity to cache the downlink data. The second method is the same as the first method before step
S403 is performed, and steps S301 and S302 are performed first, which is not described herein again. In a possible embodiment, the RAN
requests the AMF entity to cache the downlink data through the N2 message, the AMF entity requests the SMF entity to cache the downlink
data through the N11 message, and the SMF entity requests the UPF entity to cache the downlink data through the N4 message. The
caching information may include caching requests, caching times, and the like.”; Tele; p.3, middle of page)
(“the RAN determines that the terminal is in an unreachable state according to an extended discontinuous reception (eDRX) parameter used
by the terminal;
and the RAN determines the buffering time of the downlink data according to the eDRX parameter.
In the embodiment of the invention, when the RAN determines that the terminal is in an unreachable state, the RAN determines the caching
time of the downlink data according to the eDRX parameter so as to indicate the time for the UPF entity to cache the downlink data.”; Tele; p.6, top of page)
(“The terminal device according to the embodiments of the present invention may be a device providing voice and/or data connectivity to a
user, a handheld device having a wireless connection function, or another processing device connected to a wireless modem. Wireless user
equipment, which may be mobile terminals such as mobile telephones (or "cellular" telephones) and computers having mobile terminals, for
example, portable, pocket, hand-held, computer-included, or vehicle-mounted mobile devices, may communicate with one or more core
networks via a Radio Access Network (RAN).”; Tele; p.12, bottom of page)
(where
“the UPF entity sends the downlink data to the RAN” maps to “receiving, by a wireless communication node from a user plane function, downlink data”, where “sends” maps to “receiving”, “RAN” maps to “wireless communication node”, “UPF” maps to “user plane function”, “downlink data” maps to “downlink data”
(where
“when determining that the terminal is in an unreachable state”/” determines that the terminal is in an unreachable state according to an extended discontinuous reception (eDRX) parameter used by the terminal; and the RAN determines the buffering time“/”terminal…via a…RAN”FIG. 2/FIG. 3 maps to “during an unreachable time of the wireless communication terminal”, where “is in” maps to “during”, “unreachable state”/”unreachable state…time” maps to “unreachable time”, where “terminal…via a…RAN” maps to “wireless communication terminal”
transmit, via the communication unit to an access and mobility management function, a suspend request comprising a first indication to enable the downlink data to be buffered in the user plane function….
(where
“the RAN sends a first request message to the UPF entity through the AMF entity and the SMF entity to instruct the UPF entity to cache the downlink data” maps to “transmitting, by the wireless communication node to an access and mobility management function, a suspend request comprising a first indication to enable the downlink data to be buffered in the user plane function….”, where “sends” maps to “transmitting”, “RAN” maps to “wireless communication node”, “through the AMF” maps to “to an access and mobility management function:, “first request message”/”to cache” maps to “suspend request”, “instruct the UPF entity to cache the downlink data” maps to “a first indication to enable the downlink data to be buffered in the user plane function”, where “instruct” is considered as having an “indication”, in order to perform “instruct”, to cache the downlink data” maps to “to enable the downlink data to be buffered”, “the UPF entity to cache” maps to “to be buffered in the user plane function”
Tele teaches a RAN receiving downlink data from a UPF, the RAN determining the terminal is unreachable during a time period, sending a request to the AMF for the UPF to cache the downlink data.
Tele as described above does not explicitly teach:
directed to a wireless communication terminal
in the core network
However, Ronneke et al. further teaches a wireless device/core capability which includes:
directed to a wireless communication terminal
in the core network
(“Embodiment 18: A method performed by a base station for initiating a connection resume, the method comprising at least one of: receiving (FIG. 6, step 1a or 1c) either downlink data for a wireless device from a user plane function in a core network for transmission to a wireless device”; Ronneke et al.; 0145)
(where
“downlink data for a wireless device” maps to “directed to a wireless communication terminal”,
“device from a user plane function in a core network” maps to “in the core network”
Ronneke et al. teaches a RAN receiving downlink data from a UPF for a UE and teaches a UPF included in a core network.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the wireless device/core capability of Ronneke et al. into Tele. By modifying the processing/communications of Tele. to include the wireless device/core capability as taught by the processing/communications of Ronneke et al., the benefits of improved caching (Tele; Abstract) with improved performance (Ronneke et al.; 0120) are achieved.
As to claim 16:
Tele discloses:
transmitting, by the wireless communication node to the access and mobility management function, a resume request comprising a second indication to enable a transferring of the downlink data over an interface between the user plane function and the wireless communication node.
(“Of course, S304, if the RAN determines that the UE is in the reachable state, may send a second request message to the UPF entity to request the UPF entity to send downlink data to the RAN.”; Tele; p.14; top of page)
(also see FIG. 3 and FIG. 4)
Tele as described above does not explicitly teach:
transmitting, by the wireless communication node to the wireless communication terminal, the buffered downlink data from the user plane function in response to the wireless communication terminal resuming from the eDRX idle state.
However, Ronneke et al. further teaches a DRX/buffer/downlink data capability which includes:
transmitting, by the wireless communication node to the wireless communication terminal, the buffered downlink data from the user plane function in response to the wireless communication terminal resuming from the eDRX idle state.
(“The steps or actions in the network triggered connection resume procedure of FIG. 6 are: [0093] 1. The NG-RAN receives downlink data from the UPF for a PDU Session or receives a Downlink NAS transport message from the AMF for a UE in RRC inactive state. [0094] 2. The NG-RAN checks if the UE is unreachable due to a power saving state, e.g. extended Discontinuous Reception (DRX) (see TS 23.501, clause 5.31.7). [0095] 3. If the UE is unreachable due to a power saving state, the NG-RAN may decide to buffer the data (e.g., based on RRC Inactive Assistance Information and/or CN Assisted UE Behavior Information) and to deliver the data to the UE when it becomes reachable (e.g., in step 6a). [0096] 3a. In case of a Downlink NAS message, the NG-RAN sends a NAS Non-Delivery Indication to the AMF with estimated duration time until next UE reachability and sets a Reachability Notification flag. If the Downlink NAS message is triggered by other NFs, the AMF shall indicate the failure to other NFs through Namf_Communication_N1N2TransferFailureNotification as specified in TS 23.502, clause 4.2.3.3 Network Triggered Service Request. [0097] 3b. In case of downlink data and if the NG-RAN has decided to buffer data, it sends a buffer status notification to the AMF and may include estimated duration time until next UE reachability. The AMF forwards to the SMF. [0098] 3c. When the UE is reachable and if the NG-RAN has decided to buffer data, the NG-RAN initiates the RAN paging procedure as specified in TS 38.331. [0099] 4. The UE triggers the Connection Resume procedure, as specified in TS 23.502, clause 4.8.2.2. [0100] 5. [Conditional] If the Reachability Notification flag is set and there was no NG-RAN node change in step 4, the NG-RAN notifies the AMF that the UE is reachable. [0101] 6. The NG-RAN delivers the downlink data or the downlink NAS message (if there is any) to the UE.”; Ronneke et al.; 0092)
(also see Table after para. 0005)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the DRX/buffer/downlink capability of Ronneke et al. into Tele. By modifying the processing/communications of Tele. to include the DRX/buffer/downlink capability as taught by the processing/communications of Ronneke et al., the benefits of improved caching (Tele; Abstract) with improved performance (Ronneke et al.; 0120) are achieved.
As to claim 17:
Tele discloses:
A wireless communication method comprising:
receiving, by an access and mobility management function from a wireless communication node, a suspend request comprising a first indication to enable downlink data …to be buffered in the user plane
function….
(“S302, the UPF entity sends the downlink data to the RAN through a user plane tunnel, e.g., N3 tunnel. When the UE enters RRC inactive
state, a user plane tunnel, e.g., N3tunnel, between the UPF entity and the RAN still exists, so the UPF entity can send downlink data to the
RAN through the N3 tunnel.
S202, when determining that the terminal is in an unreachable state, the RAN sends a first request message to the UPF entity, where the
first request message is used to request the UPF entity to cache downlink data.”; Tele; p.13, middle of page)
(“The second mode is as follows: referring to fig. 4, in S403, the RAN sends a first request message to the UPF entity through the AMF entity
and the SMF entity to instruct the UPF entity to cache the downlink data. The second method is the same as the first method before step
S403 is performed, and steps S301 and S302 are performed first, which is not described herein again. In a possible embodiment, the RAN
requests the AMF entity to cache the downlink data through the N2 message, the AMF entity requests the SMF entity to cache the downlink
data through the N11 message, and the SMF entity requests the UPF entity to cache the downlink data through the N4 message. The
caching information may include caching requests, caching times, and the like.”; Tele; p.3, middle of page)
(“the RAN determines that the terminal is in an unreachable state according to an extended discontinuous reception (eDRX) parameter used
by the terminal;
and the RAN determines the buffering time of the downlink data according to the eDRX parameter.
In the embodiment of the invention, when the RAN determines that the terminal is in an unreachable state, the RAN determines the caching
time of the downlink data according to the eDRX parameter so as to indicate the time for the UPF entity to cache the downlink data.”; Tele; p.6, top of page)
(“The terminal device according to the embodiments of the present invention may be a device providing voice and/or data connectivity to a
user, a handheld device having a wireless connection function, or another processing device connected to a wireless modem. Wireless user
equipment, which may be mobile terminals such as mobile telephones (or "cellular" telephones) and computers having mobile terminals, for
example, portable, pocket, hand-held, computer-included, or vehicle-mounted mobile devices, may communicate with one or more core
networks via a Radio Access Network (RAN).”; Tele; p.12, bottom of page)
Tele teaches a RAN receiving downlink data from a UPF, the RAN determining the terminal is unreachable during a time period, sending a request to the AMF for the UPF to cache the downlink data.
Tele as described above does not explicitly teach:
transmitted to a wireless communication terminal
in the core network
However, Ronneke et al. further teaches a wireless device/core capability which includes:
transmitted to a wireless communication terminal
in the core network
(“Embodiment 18: A method performed by a base station for initiating a connection resume, the method comprising at least one of: receiving (FIG. 6, step 1a or 1c) either downlink data for a wireless device from a user plane function in a core network for transmission to a wireless device”; Ronneke et al.; 0145)
(where
“downlink data for a wireless device” maps to “directed to a wireless communication terminal”,
“device from a user plane function in a core network” maps to “in the core network”
Ronneke et al. teaches a RAN receiving downlink data from a UPF for a UE and teaches a UPF included in a core network.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the wireless device/core capability of Ronneke et al. into Tele. By modifying the processing/communications of Tele. to include the wireless device/core capability as taught by the processing/communications of Ronneke et al., the benefits of improved caching (Tele; Abstract) with improved performance (Ronneke et al.; 0120) are achieved.
As to claim 20:
Tele discloses:
receiving, by the access and mobility management function from the wireless communication node, a resume request comprising a second indication to enable a transferring of the downlink data over an interface between the user plane function and the wireless communication node.
transmitting, by the access and mobility management function to a session management function, a request for enabling the transferring of the downlink data in response to the second indication.
(“Of course, S304, if the RAN determines that the UE is in the reachable state, may send a second request message to the UPF entity to request the UPF entity to send downlink data to the RAN.”; Tele; p.14; top of page)
(also see FIG. 3 and FIG. 4)
Claim(s) 2, 8, 14 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Telecommunications Tech Res Inst CN-110913505-A (Foreign Patent Documents citation #B1, listed on IDS dated 2025-04-22, citations are from English translation, hereinafter “Tele”). in view of Ronneke et al. US 20220174775 and in further view of Hoglund et al. US 20240179792.
As to claim 2:
Tele as described above does not explicitly teach:
receiving, by the wireless communication node, an extended discontinuous reception (eDRX) cycle value in a radio resource control (RRC) inactive state from the access and mobility management function; and
setting, by the wireless communication node, the unreachable time of the wireless communication terminal according to the eDRX cycle value in the RRC inactive state.
However, Ronneke et al. further teaches a RAN/remaining eDRX interval/RRC Inactive state capability which includes:
setting, by the wireless communication node, the unreachable time of the wireless communication terminal according to the eDRX cycle value in the RRC inactive state.
(“3. RAN moves the UE to RRC Inactive state after a user inactivity timeout or based on Release Assistance Information if available in Expected UE Behavior. 6”… RAN: Send buffering info with remaining eDRX interval to AMF. “; Ronneke et al.; Table after paragraph 0005)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the interval/RRC Inactive state capability of Ronneke et al. into Tele. By modifying the processing/communications of Tele. to include the interval/RRC Inactive state capability as taught by the processing/communications of Ronneke et al., the benefits of improved caching (Tele; Abstract) with improved performance (Ronneke et al.; 0120) are achieved.
However, Hoglund et al. further teaches a eDRX cycle length/RRC Inactive/configuration capability which includes:
receiving, by the wireless communication node, an extended discontinuous reception (eDRX) cycle value in a radio resource control (RRC) inactive state from the access and mobility management function; and
(“In another embodiment, an RRC Inactive Transition Report Request containing parameter values used for CN eDRX configuration (cycle length, PTW, etc.) is signaled from AMF to gNB. In a secondary embodiment, the RRC Inactive Transition Report Request may become a Sequence of AMF code where the section 9.3.1.91 of [8] may adopt the new IE format as shown below, but not limited to that shown in Table 9:”; Hoglund et al.; 0117)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the eDRX cycle length/RRC Inactive/configuration capability of Hoglund et al. into Tele. By modifying the processing/communications of Tele. to include the eDRX cycle length/RRC Inactive/configuration capability as taught by the processing/communications of Hoglund et al., the benefits of improved caching (Tele; Abstract) with improved measurement (Hoglund; 0301) are achieved.
As to claim 8:
Tele as described above does not explicitly teach:
receiving, by the wireless communication node, an extended discontinuous reception (eDRX) cycle value in a radio resource control (RRC) inactive state from the access and mobility management function; and
setting, by the wireless communication node, the unreachable time of the wireless communication terminal according to the eDRX cycle value in the RRC inactive state.
However, Ronneke et al. further teaches a RAN/remaining eDRX interval/RRC Inactive state capability which includes:
setting, by the wireless communication node, the unreachable time of the wireless communication terminal according to the eDRX cycle value in the RRC inactive state.
(“3. RAN moves the UE to RRC Inactive state after a user inactivity timeout or based on Release Assistance Information if available in Expected UE Behavior. 6”… RAN: Send buffering info with remaining eDRX interval to AMF. “; Ronneke et al.; Table after paragraph 0005)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the interval/RRC Inactive state capability of Ronneke et al. into Tele. By modifying the processing/communications of Tele. to include the interval/RRC Inactive state capability as taught by the processing/communications of Ronneke et al., the benefits of improved caching (Tele; Abstract) with improved performance (Ronneke et al.; 0120) are achieved.
However, Hoglund et al. further teaches a eDRX cycle length/RRC Inactive/configuration capability which includes:
receiving, by the wireless communication node, an extended discontinuous reception (eDRX) cycle value in a radio resource control (RRC) inactive state from the access and mobility management function; and
(“In another embodiment, an RRC Inactive Transition Report Request containing parameter values used for CN eDRX configuration (cycle length, PTW, etc.) is signaled from AMF to gNB. In a secondary embodiment, the RRC Inactive Transition Report Request may become a Sequence of AMF code where the section 9.3.1.91 of [8] may adopt the new IE format as shown below, but not limited to that shown in Table 9:”; Hoglund et al.; 0117)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the eDRX cycle length/RRC Inactive/configuration capability of Hoglund et al. into Tele. By modifying the processing/communications of Tele. to include the eDRX cycle length/RRC Inactive/configuration capability as taught by the processing/communications of Hoglund et al., the benefits of improved caching (Tele; Abstract) with improved measurement (Hoglund; 0301) are achieved.
As to claim 14:
Tele as described above does not explicitly teach:
receiving, by the wireless communication node, an extended discontinuous reception (eDRX) cycle value in a radio resource control (RRC) inactive state from the access and mobility management function; and
setting, by the wireless communication node, the unreachable time of the wireless communication terminal according to the eDRX cycle value in the RRC inactive state
buffering, by the wireless communication node, the downlink data in the wireless communication node.
However, Ronneke et al. further teaches a RAN/remaining eDRX interval/RRC Inactive state capability which includes:
setting, by the wireless communication node, the unreachable time of the wireless communication terminal according to the eDRX cycle value in the RRC inactive state.
(“3. RAN moves the UE to RRC Inactive state after a user inactivity timeout or based on Release Assistance Information if available in Expected UE Behavior. 6”… RAN: Send buffering info with remaining eDRX interval to AMF. “; Ronneke et al.; Table after paragraph 0005)
buffering, by the wireless communication node, the downlink data in the wireless communication node.
(“Section 6.7.4.2.2 describes a procedure for MT transmission with Radio Access Network (RAN) buffering at RRC Inactive.”; Ronneke et al.; 0005)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the interval/RRC Inactive state capability of Ronneke et al. into Tele. By modifying the processing/communications of Tele. to include the interval/RRC Inactive state capability as taught by the processing/communications of Ronneke et al., the benefits of improved caching (Tele; Abstract) with improved performance (Ronneke et al.; 0120) are achieved.
However, Hoglund et al. further teaches a eDRX cycle length/RRC Inactive/configuration capability which includes:
receiving, by the wireless communication node, an extended discontinuous reception (eDRX) cycle value in a radio resource control (RRC) inactive state from the access and mobility management function; and
(“In another embodiment, an RRC Inactive Transition Report Request containing parameter values used for CN eDRX configuration (cycle length, PTW, etc.) is signaled from AMF to gNB. In a secondary embodiment, the RRC Inactive Transition Report Request may become a Sequence of AMF code where the section 9.3.1.91 of [8] may adopt the new IE format as shown below, but not limited to that shown in Table 9:”; Hoglund et al.; 0117)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the eDRX cycle length/RRC Inactive/configuration capability of Hoglund et al. into Tele. By modifying the processing/communications of Tele. to include the eDRX cycle length/RRC Inactive/configuration capability as taught by the processing/communications of Hoglund et al., the benefits of improved caching (Tele; Abstract) with improved measurement (Hoglund; 0301) are achieved.
As to claim 18:
Tele discloses:
transmitting, by the access and mobility management function to a session management function, a request for enabling the downlink data to be buffered in the user plane function …in response to the first indication.
(“The second mode is as follows: referring to fig. 4, in S403, the RAN sends a first request message to the UPF entity through the AMF entity and the SMF entity to instruct the UPF entity to cache the downlink data. The second method is the same as the first method before step S403 is performed, and steps S301 and S302 are performed first, which is not described herein again. In a possible embodiment, the RAN requests the AMF entity to cache the downlink data through the N2 message, the AMF entity requests the SMF entity to cache the downlink data through the N11 message, and the SMF entity requests the UPF entity to cache the downlink data through the N4 message. The caching information may include caching requests, caching times, and the like.”; Tele; p.3, middle of page)
Tele as described above does not explicitly teach:
receiving, by the wireless communication node, an extended discontinuous reception (eDRX) cycle value in a radio resource control (RRC) inactive state from the access and mobility management function; and
setting, by the wireless communication node, the unreachable time of the wireless communication terminal according to the eDRX cycle value in the RRC inactive state.
in the core network
However, Ronneke et al. further teaches a RAN/remaining eDRX interval/RRC Inactive state capability which includes:
setting, by the wireless communication node, the unreachable time of the wireless communication terminal according to the eDRX cycle value in the RRC inactive state.
(“3. RAN moves the UE to RRC Inactive state after a user inactivity timeout or based on Release Assistance Information if available in Expected UE Behavior. 6”… RAN: Send buffering info with remaining eDRX interval to AMF. “; Ronneke et al.; Table after paragraph 0005)
in the core network
(“Embodiment 18: A method performed by a base station for initiating a connection resume, the method comprising at least one of: receiving (FIG. 6, step 1a or 1c) either downlink data for a wireless device from a user plane function in a core network for transmission to a wireless device”; Ronneke et al.; 0145)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the interval/RRC Inactive state capability of Ronneke et al. into Tele. By modifying the processing/communications of Tele. to include the interval/RRC Inactive state capability as taught by the processing/communications of Ronneke et al., the benefits of improved caching (Tele; Abstract) with improved performance (Ronneke et al.; 0120) are achieved.
However, Hoglund et al. further teaches a eDRX cycle length/RRC Inactive/configuration capability which includes:
receiving, by the wireless communication node, an extended discontinuous reception (eDRX) cycle value in a radio resource control (RRC) inactive state from the access and mobility management function; and
(“In another embodiment, an RRC Inactive Transition Report Request containing parameter values used for CN eDRX configuration (cycle length, PTW, etc.) is signaled from AMF to gNB. In a secondary embodiment, the RRC Inactive Transition Report Request may become a Sequence of AMF code where the section 9.3.1.91 of [8] may adopt the new IE format as shown below, but not limited to that shown in Table 9:”; Hoglund et al.; 0117)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the eDRX cycle length/RRC Inactive/configuration capability of Hoglund et al. into Tele. By modifying the processing/communications of Tele. to include the eDRX cycle length/RRC Inactive/configuration capability as taught by the processing/communications of Hoglund et al., the benefits of improved caching (Tele; Abstract) with improved measurement (Hoglund; 0301) are achieved.
Claim(s) 4, 9, 15 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Telecommunications Tech Res Inst CN-110913505-A (Foreign Patent Documents citation #B1, listed on IDS dated 2025-04-22, citations are from English translation, hereinafter “Tele”). in view of Ronneke et al. US 20220174775 and in further view of Kavuri et al. US 20210105866.
As to claim 4:
Tele as described above does not explicitly teach:
wherein the suspend request requests the access and mobility management function to keep the wireless communication terminal in a connection management (CM) CONNECTED state.
However, Kavuri et al. further teaches a suspend/CM-CONNECTED capability which includes:
wherein the suspend request requests the access and mobility management function to keep the wireless communication terminal in a connection management (CM) CONNECTED state.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the suspend/CM-CONNECTED capability of Kavuri et al. into Tele. By modifying the processing/communications of Tele. to include the suspend/CM-CONNECTED capability as taught by the processing/communications of Kavuri et al., the benefits of improved caching (Tele; Abstract) with improved performance (Ronneke et al.; 0120) are achieved.
As to claim 9:
Tele as described above does not explicitly teach:
wherein the suspend request requests the access and mobility management function to keep the wireless communication terminal in a connection management (CM) CONNECTED state.
However, Kavuri et al. further teaches a suspend/CM-CONNECTED capability which includes:
wherein the suspend request requests the access and mobility management function to keep the wireless communication terminal in a connection management (CM) CONNECTED state.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the suspend/CM-CONNECTED capability of Kavuri et al. into Tele. By modifying the processing/communications of Tele. to include the suspend/CM-CONNECTED capability as taught by the processing/communications of Kavuri et al., the benefits of improved caching (Tele; Abstract) with improved performance (Ronneke et al.; 0120) are achieved.
As to claim 15:
Tele as described above does not explicitly teach:
wherein the suspend request requests the access and mobility management function to keep the wireless communication terminal in a connection management (CM) CONNECTED state.
However, Kavuri et al. further teaches a suspend/CM-CONNECTED capability which includes:
wherein the suspend request requests the access and mobility management function to keep the wireless communication terminal in a connection management (CM) CONNECTED state.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the suspend/CM-CONNECTED capability of Kavuri et al. into Tele. By modifying the processing/communications of Tele. to include the suspend/CM-CONNECTED capability as taught by the processing/communications of Kavuri et al., the benefits of improved caching (Tele; Abstract) with improved performance (Ronneke et al.; 0120) are achieved.
As to claim 19:
Tele as described above does not explicitly teach:
wherein the suspend request requests the access and mobility management function to keep the wireless communication terminal in a connection management (CM) CONNECTED state.
However, Kavuri et al. further teaches a suspend/CM-CONNECTED capability which includes:
wherein the suspend request requests the access and mobility management function to keep the wireless communication terminal in a connection management (CM) CONNECTED state.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the suspend/CM-CONNECTED capability of Kavuri et al. into Tele. By modifying the processing/communications of Tele. to include the suspend/CM-CONNECTED capability as taught by the processing/communications of Kavuri et al., the benefits of improved caching (Tele; Abstract) with improved performance (Ronneke et al.; 0120) are achieved.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 20210219264 – teaches RAN sending N2 notification to AMF with buffering support information (see para. 0092)
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ricky Ngo can be reached on 571-272-3139. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
MICHAEL K. PHILLIPS
Examiner
Art Unit 2464
/MICHAEL K PHILLIPS/Examiner, Art Unit 2464