DETAILED ACTION
Status of Case
This communication is in response to the filing of Application 18/425,021 by KOIZUMI et al. for “WIRELESS COMMUNICATION DEVICE, WIRELESS COMMUNICATION SYSTEMS, AND COMMUNICATION CONTROL METHOD”, filed on 01/29/2024.
Claims 1-11 are now pending. The independent claims are 1, 10 and 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 5-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by GUO et al. (US202301036205A1), hereinafter GUO.
Regarding claim 1, GUO teaches A wireless communication device comprising: a wireless communicator configured to perform wireless communication with a plurality of transmission terminals; and processor circuitry is further configured to: (GUO, Fig. 6, paragraph 130, teach wireless device 605 comprising communications manager 615 configured to communicate with a plurality of transmission terminals and processor circuitry.)
determine whether a conflict occurs in wireless resources reserved by the transmission terminals to be used for data transmission, (GUO, Fig. 15, step 1515, paragraph 196, teach determining whether a half-duplex conflict occurs in resources reserved for sidelink resources.)
and determine, when it is determined that a conflict of the wireless resources occurs, for transmitting information that indicates the conflict of the wireless resources. (GUO, Fig. 15, step 1520, paragraph 197, teach when a conflict occurs, transmitting a request to reconfigure a grant for the sidelink transmission (i.e. transmitting information that indicates a conflict of a wireless device).)
Regarding claim 5, GUO teaches the wireless communication device according to claim 1, wherein the processor circuitry is further determine, out of the transmission terminals, to have a transmission terminal that is determined according to a prescribed rule for transmitting the information that indicates the conflict of the wireless resources. (GUO, Fig. 15, step 1515, paragraph 196, teach determining a terminal that is determined according a rule for transmitting.)
Regarding claim 6, GUO teaches the wireless communication device according to claim 1, wherein the processor circuitry is further configured to cause a transmission terminal in the plurality of transmission terminals to reselect the wireless resource according to a rule based on a priority of the data transmitted by using the reserved wireless resource, reception timing of control information that notifies the reserved wireless resource, an occupied area of the reserved wireless resource, or transmission period of the data transmitted by using the reserved wireless resource, or any combination thereof. (GUO, Fig. 15, step 1515, paragraph 196, teach determining a terminal that is determined according a rule for transmitting.)
Regarding claim 7, GUO teaches the wireless communication device according to claim 1, wherein the processor circuitry is further configured to determine a transmission terminal which the wireless communicator transmits the information that indicates the conflict of the wireless resources according to a rule based on a priority of the data transmitted by using the reserved wireless resource, reception timing of control information that notifies the reserved wireless resource, and the reserved wireless resource. (GUO, Fig. 15, step 1515, paragraph 196, teach determining a terminal that is determined according a rule for transmitting.)
Regarding claim 8, GUO teaches the wireless communication device according to claim 1, wherein the wireless communicator is further configured to transmit the information that indicates the conflict of the wireless resources by using a feedback channel that is for transmitting feedback information. (GUO, paragraph 97 teaches transmitting feedback on the conflict.)
Regarding claim 9, GUO teaches the wireless communication device according to claim 1, wherein the information that indicates the conflict of the wireless resources is information that cause a transmission terminal received the information that indicates the conflict of the wireless resources to reselect a wireless resource. (GUO, Fig. 15, step 1525, paragraph 198, teach reconfiguring the grant scheduling.)
Regarding claim 10, GUO teaches A transmission terminal in a plurality of transmission terminals communicating with wireless communication device, the transmission terminal comprising: a transmitter configured to transmit, to the wireless communication device, (GUO, Fig. 6, paragraph 130, teach wireless device 605 comprising communications manager 615 configured to communicate with a plurality of transmission terminals and transmitter and receiver configured to perform the overall functions claimed.)
information indicating a first wireless resource to reserve for use in data transmission; a receiver configured to receive, from the wireless communication device, information that indicates the conflict of the first wireless resource; (GUO, Fig. 15, step 1515, paragraph 196, teach determining whether a half-duplex conflict occurs in first and second wireless resources.)
and processor circuitry configured to select a second wireless resource different from the first wireless resource according the reception of the information that indicates the conflict of the first wireless resource. (GUO, Fig. 15, step 1520, paragraph 197, teach when a conflict occurs, transmitting a request to reconfigure a grant for the sidelink transmission (i.e. transmitting information that indicates a conflict of a wireless device).)
Regarding claim 11, GUO teaches A wireless communication system comprising: a first terminal device; a second terminal device; and a third terminal device, wherein the first terminal device and the second terminal device include a transmitter configured to transmit control information for specifying a wireless resource reserved to be used for data transmission, the third terminal device includes, a wireless communicator configured to perform wireless communication with the first terminal device and the second terminal device, and processor circuitry configured to: (GUO, Fig. 1, paragraph 62, teach multiple UEs 115 configured to specify wireless resources reserved to be used for data transmission.)
determine whether a conflict occurs in the wireless resources reserved by the first terminal device and the second terminal device, based on the control information received by the wireless communicator, (GUO, Fig. 15, step 1515, paragraph 196, teach determining whether a half-duplex conflict occurs in resources reserved for sidelink resources.)
determine, when it is determined that a conflict of the wireless resources occurs, for transmitting information that indicates the conflict of the wireless resources. (GUO, Fig. 15, step 1520, paragraph 197, teach when a conflict occurs, transmitting a request to reconfigure a grant for the sidelink transmission (i.e. transmitting information that indicates a conflict of a wireless device).)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GUO et al. (US202301036205A1), hereinafter GUO, in view of Ceccarelli et al. (US20160013861A1), hereinafter CECCARELLI.
Regarding claim 2, although GUO teaches all the limitations with respect to claim 1 above, GUO does not describe wherein the processor circuitry is further configured to: calculate an error risk that indicates a possibility of having an error in data, when data is transmitted by using conflicting wireless resources, and when the calculated error risk is equal to or greater than a prescribed threshold, determine for transmitting the information that indicates the conflict of the wireless resources.
CECCARELLI in the same field of endeavor teaches wherein the processor circuitry is further configured to: calculate an error risk that indicates a possibility of having an error in data, when data is transmitted by using conflicting wireless resources, and when the calculated error risk is equal to or greater than a prescribed threshold, determine for transmitting the information that indicates the conflict of the wireless resources. (CECCARELLI, Fig. 2, step 110, paragraph 61, teach calculating whether packet errors exceed a threshold.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of CECCARELLI with the teachings of GUO to calculate an error risk that indicates a possibility of having an error in data, when data is transmitted by using conflicting wireless resources, and when the calculated error risk is equal to or greater than a prescribed threshold, determine for transmitting the information that indicates the conflict of the wireless resources. The motivation would be to reducing the risk of a potential conflict between packet (CECCARELLI, paragraph 61).
Regarding claim 3, GUO in view of CECCARELLI teaches wherein the processor circuitry is further configured to calculate the error risk based on a proportion of an area overlapping with a wireless resource reserved by another transmission terminal occupying an occupied area of a wireless resource reserved by each of the transmission terminals. (CECCARELLI, Fig. 2, step 110, paragraph 61, teach calculating whether packet errors exceed a threshold.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of CECCARELLI with the teachings of GUO to calculate the error risk based on a proportion of an area overlapping with a wireless resource reserved by another transmission terminal occupying an occupied area of a wireless resource reserved by each of the transmission terminals. The motivation would be to reducing the risk of a potential conflict between packet (CECCARELLI, paragraph 61).
Regarding claim 4, GUO in view of CECCARELLI teaches the wireless communication device according to claim 3, wherein the processor circuitry is further configured to calculate the error risk based on Modulation and Coding Scheme (MCS) of the data transmitted by using the wireless resource reserved by each of the transmission terminals. (GUO, paragraph 64 teaches modulation formats.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of CECCARELLI with the teachings of GUO to calculate the error risk based on Modulation and Coding Scheme (MCS) of the data transmitted by using the wireless resource reserved by each of the transmission terminals. The motivation would be to reducing the risk of a potential conflict between packet (CECCARELLI, paragraph 61).
Conclusion
/WALLI Z BUTT/Examiner, Art Unit 2412