DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the gain is inversely proportional to the amplitude of the analog input signal recited in the claims 2 and 8 and 14, an amplitude of the analog output signal is increased relative to the amplitude of the analog input signal when the amplitude of the analog input signal is below a predetermined level recited in the claims 3 and 9 and 15, the amplitude of the analog output signal is decreased relative to the amplitude of the analog input signal when the amplitude of the analog input signal is above the predetermined level recited in the claims 4 and 10 and 16, the amplitude of the analog output signal is equal to the amplitude of the analog input signal when the amplitude of the analog input signal is equal to the predetermined level recited in the claims 5 and 11 and 17, and the analog input signal is the only variable in formulating the gain control signal recited in the claims 6 and 12 and 18 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by [Jo et al (Fig. 1); 8,093,947].
Regarding claims 1, 7 and 13, Jo et al discloses an amplifier circuit comprising an amplifier (110) configured to receive the analog input signal (Pin) and to output an analog output signal (Pout) responsive to the analog input signal (Pin) and a gain control signal (output signals of 124), and a gain control signal generator (120) configured to receive the analog input signal (Pin) and to generate the gain control signal (output signals of 124) responsive to the analog input signal (Pin).
Regarding claims 2, 8 and 14, wherein a gain (gain of 110) of the amplifier (110) is established in response to the gain control signal (output signals of 124) and the gain is inversely proportional to the amplitude of the analog input signal (Pin).
Regarding claims 3, 9 and 15, wherein an amplitude of the analog output signal (Pout) is increased relative to the amplitude of the analog input signal (Pin) when the amplitude of the analog input signal (Pin) is below a predetermined level.
Regarding claims 4, 10 and 16, wherein the amplitude of the analog output signal (Pout) is decreased relative to the amplitude of the analog input signal (Pin) when the amplitude of the analog input signal (Pin) is above the predetermined level.
Regarding claims 5, 11 and 17, wherein the amplitude of the analog output signal (Pout) is equal to the amplitude of the analog input signal (Pin) when the amplitude of the analog input signal (Pin) is equal to the predetermined level.
Regarding claims 6, 12 and 18, wherein the analog input signal (Pin) is the only variable in formulating the gain control signal (output signals of 124).
Claim(s) 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by [Drogi et al (Fig. 3); 8,018,277].
Regarding claims 1, 7 and 13, Drogi et al discloses an amplifier circuit comprising an amplifier (104) configured to receive the analog input signal (IN) and to output an analog output signal (OUT) responsive to the analog input signal (IN) and a gain control signal (308), and a gain control signal generator (202, 208, 300, 310) configured to receive the analog input signal (IN) and to generate the gain control signal (308) responsive to the analog input signal (IN).
Regarding claims 2, 8 and 14, wherein a gain (gain of 104) of the amplifier (104) is established in response to the gain control signal (308) and the gain is inversely proportional to the amplitude of the analog input signal (IN).
Regarding claims 3, 9 and 15, wherein an amplitude of the analog output signal (OUT) is increased relative to the amplitude of the analog input signal (IN) when the amplitude of the analog input signal (IN) is below a predetermined level.
Regarding claims 4, 10 and 16, wherein the amplitude of the analog output signal (OUT) is decreased relative to the amplitude of the analog input signal (IN) when the amplitude of the analog input signal (IN) is above the predetermined level.
Regarding claims 5, 11 and 17, wherein the amplitude of the analog output signal (OUT) is equal to the amplitude of the analog input signal (IN) when the amplitude of the analog input signal (IN) is equal to the predetermined level.
Regarding claims 6, 12 and 18, wherein the analog input signal (IN) is the only variable in formulating the gain control signal (308).
Claim(s) 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by [Gard (Fig. 1); 5,220,589].
Regarding claims 1, 7 and 13, Gard discloses an amplifier circuit comprising an amplifier (48) configured to receive the analog input signal (46) and to output an analog output signal (33) responsive to the analog input signal (46) and a gain control signal (N), and a gain control signal generator (50) configured to receive the analog input signal (46) and to generate the gain control signal (N) responsive to the analog input signal (46).
Regarding claims 2, 8 and 14, wherein a gain (gain of 48) of the amplifier (48) is established in response to the gain control signal (N) and the gain is inversely proportional to the amplitude of the analog input signal (46).
Regarding claims 3, 9 and 15, wherein an amplitude of the analog output signal (33) is increased relative to the amplitude of the analog input signal (46) when the amplitude of the analog input signal (46) is below a predetermined level.
Regarding claims 4, 10 and 16, wherein the amplitude of the analog output signal (33) is decreased relative to the amplitude of the analog input signal (46) when the amplitude of the analog input signal (46) is above the predetermined level.
Regarding claims 5, 11 and 17, wherein the amplitude of the analog output signal (33) is equal to the amplitude of the analog input signal (46) when the amplitude of the analog input signal (46) is equal to the predetermined level.
Regarding claims 6, 12 and 18, wherein the analog input signal (46) is the only variable in formulating the gain control signal (N).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
9,319,015 teaches an amplifier circuit with the gain control signal generator network.
9,337,795 teaches an amplifier circuit with the gain control signal generator network.
7,474,237 teaches an amplifier circuit with the gain control signal generator network.
/HENRY CHOE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2843
#2973