DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the arguments and amendments filed on 1/2/2026.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the capacitor coupled between the output and the first input of the amplifier of claim 8 and the multiphase converter having control inputs coupled to a power output of claim 12, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Regarding claim 12, the limitations “a control circuit having control outputs coupled to the control inputs of the multiphase converter, an input coupled to the power output, and configurable to, responsive to a voltage at the power output dropping below a threshold, provide control signals to the multiphase converter, in which the multiphase converter is configurable to cause the voltage at the power output to reduce with time responsive to the control signals, is not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, and is therefore considered new matter. Dependent claims 13-23 inherits the deficiencies of independent claim 12 and are therefore also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112 (a).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Regarding claim 8, it’s not clear as to how the capacitor is coupled to the first input of the amplifier, because the first input of the amplifier is coupled to a second reference terminal. It appears that the capacitor is coupled to the second input of the amplifier.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanji (US 2025/0309765) in view of Nomiyama et al. (US Patent 9768695). Regarding claim 1, Tanji discloses an apparatus comprising: an amplifier (11) having first and second inputs (inputs of 11) and an output (output of 11), the first input of the amplifier coupled to a second reference terminal (input connection to terminal of reference 21), the second input of the amplifier coupled to the terminal of a variable resistance circuit (input of 11 connectied to VR1/VR2); and a control signal generation circuit (12/10) having an input (input of 12) and an output (output from 10), the input coupled to the output of the amplifier (input of 12 connected to output from 11). Tanji does not disclose a comparator having first and second inputs and an output, wherein the first input of the comparator is coupled to a first reference terminal, and the second input of the comparator is coupled to a power output; a variable resistance circuit having a control input coupled to the output of the comparator and a terminal. Nomiyama et al. discloses (see fig. 9) a comparator (240) having first and second inputs (inputs of 240) and an output (output from 240), wherein the first input of the comparator is coupled to a first reference terminal (input of 240 connected to Vref), and the second input of the comparator is coupled to a power output (input of 240 connected to Vfb); a variable resistance circuit (250) having a control input coupled to the output of the comparator (control input of 250 connected to output from 240) and a terminal (terminal of 250). Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the apparatus of Tanji to include the features of Nomiyama et al. because it provides for a transient control means to prevent unwanted fluctuations in operation, thus increasing operational efficiencies.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanji (US 2025/0309765) in view of Nomiyama et al. (US Patent 9768695) and Arakawa (US Patent 11502680). Regarding claim 6, Tanji does not disclose that the variable resistance circuit includes a digital-to-analog converter (DAC). Arakawa discloses (see fig. 7) that a variable resistance circuit includes a digital-to-analog converter (182 is a DAC which is a variable resistance circuit. See column 6 lines 9-11). Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the apparatus of Tanji to include the features of Arakawa because it allows for a specific design choice, which can provide a specific/desired type of operation, thus reducing operational variances and increasing operational efficiencies.
Claim(s) 24-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanji (US 2025/0309765) in view of Nomiyama et al. (US Patent 9768695) and You et al. (US Patent 12176813). Regarding claim 24, Tanji does not disclose that a trans-inductor voltage regulator coupled to the control signal generation circuit. You et al. discloses (see fig. 2 and 10) that a trans-inductor voltage regulator coupled to control signal generation circuit (see connection to control signal generation circuit 140). Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the apparatus of Tanji to include the features of You et al. because it provides for a transient control means to prevent unwanted fluctuations in operation, thus increasing operational efficiencies. Regarding claim 25, Tanji does not disclose a processor coupled to the trans- inductor voltage regulator. You et al. discloses (see fig. 2 and 10) a processor (1000) coupled to the trans- inductor voltage regulator (1000 connection to 100-1). Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the apparatus of Tanji to include the features of You et al. because it provides for a transient control means to prevent unwanted fluctuations in operation, thus increasing operational efficiencies.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-5, 7 and 9-11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JEFFREY A GBLENDE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838