DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to the original application filed on 01/29/2024. Claims 1, 4, 8-10, 14, 16, 17, and 20 are amended in the preliminary amendments filed on 02/13/2024. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-11 and 13-20 are rejected 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1 (and similarly claims 19 and 20), the term “unstable” renders the claim indefinite. Without further clarification or context, it is unclear as to exactly what constitutes the status of analytics ID or the output thereof as unstable, e.g. simple anomaly detection, probabilistic determination involving threshold likelihood, or observation of frequent changes in value, making the metes and bounds of the claim indefinite. Examiner suggests Applicant to consider further clarifying “unstable” in order to clearly overcome the rejection.
Regarding claims 2-11 and 13-18, which claim dependency from claim 1, they are rejected for the same reasons as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-12 and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Huang et al. (US 2021/0224365 A1, hereinafter “Huang”).
Regarding claim 1 (and similarly claims 19 and 20), Huang discloses:
A method comprising:
obtaining an indication with information to activate a tracing of one or more analytics outputs for at least one of an analytics identifier (ID) and a tracing of the analytics ID (receiving request for configuring tracking rule to track event with unique identifier, Huang: [0032], [0037]); and
providing a notification related to the analytics ID when at least one output for the analytics ID is unstable or when the analytics ID is unstable, wherein the notification comprises one or more of: a first analytics notification for the at least one unstable analytics output for the analytics ID, a second analytics notification for the analytics ID; a first inference notification for the at least one unstable analytics output for the analytics ID; a second inference notification for the analytics ID; a first training notification for the at least one unstable analytics output for the analytics ID; a second training notification for the analytics ID; wherein one or more the first analytics notification and the second analytics notification is provided to a network analytics consumer entity, a network analytics inference entity, or a network analytics training entity; where one or more of the first inference notification and the second inference notification is provided to the network analytics inference entity; where one or more of the first training notification and the second training notification is provided to the network analytics training entity (sending tracking information associated with negative result of tracked event to analytics collection engine, Huang: [0054], [0058]).
Regarding claim 2, Huang teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Huang further discloses:
creating analytics tracing information associated with the analytics ID (preprocessing recorded data associated with tracked event, Huang: [0072], [0073]).
Regarding claim 3, Huang teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 2 above.
Huang further discloses:
where the analytics tracing information associated with the analytics ID comprises an analytics tracing data structure (ATDS) (preprocessing recorded data associated with tracked event based on data preprocessing strategy, Huang: [0072], [0073]).
Regarding claim 4, Huang teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 3 above.
Huang further discloses:
where the ATDS comprise an ATDS of the analytics ID or an ATDS for the analytics ID (preprocessing recorded data associated with tracked event based on data preprocessing strategy, Huang: [0072], [0073]).
Regarding claim 5, Huang teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 3 above.
Huang further discloses:
where the ATDS is associated to a time analytics tracing information record for the analytics ID (preprocessing recorded data including time information of tracked event, Huang: [0072], [0073]).
Regarding claim 6, Huang teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 3 above.
Huang further discloses:
where the ATDS comprises a historical set of ADTS records (determining statistical data based on recorded data associated with tracked event, Huang: [0072], [0073]).
Regarding claim 7, Huang teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 3 above.
Huang further discloses:
where the ATDS comprises an ATDS record indicating a network state at a given point in time when using a given analytics (determining statistical data related to status at specific time point of tracked event, Huang: [0072], [0073]).
Regarding claim 8, Huang teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 3 above.
Huang further discloses:
where the given analytics comprises one or more of: the analytics ID, an analytics type, or one or more analytics outputs (recorded data associated with tracked event with unique identifier, Huang: [0032], [0072], [0073]).
Regarding claim 9, Huang teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Huang further discloses:
where the notification comprises one or more information associated with one or more of: an unstable analytics ID, an unstable analytics output associated with the analytics ID (sending tracking information associated with negative result of tracked event, Huang: [0054], [0058]).
Regarding claim 10, Huang teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 9 above.
Huang further discloses:
where the notification comprises one or more of: an ATDS record with the analytics inference configuration information (AICI) and/or analytics training configuration information (ATCI) for the analytics ID of the ATDS record that has been considered as the unstable analytics ID; a parameter such as tuple with the identification of the analytics ID and/or analytics output and a flag, where this flag denotes that there is a problem (or an error) with one or more of the analytics ID and output(s) (sending tracking information including negative result of tracked event with unique identifier, Huang: [0032], [0054], [0058]).
Regarding claim 11, Huang teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 10 above.
Huang further discloses:
where the flag comprises one or more of: unstable analytics, halt analytics usage, invalid analytics, or temporary invalid analytics (sending tracking information including negative result of tracked event, Huang: [0054], [0058]).
Regarding claim 12, Huang teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 10 above.
Huang further discloses:
where the unstable analytics ID indicates that there is a problem (and/or an error) with the analytics ID and/or analytics outputs (negative result of tracked event, Huang: [0054], [0058]).
Regarding claim 14, Huang teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Huang further discloses:
tracing the one or more analytics outputs for the analytics ID and/or tracing the analytics ID, based on the indication with the information to activate the tracing (receiving request for configuring tracking rule to track event with unique identifier, Huang: [0032], [0037]); and
provide the notification based on one or more of the tracing of the one or more analytics outputs for the analytics ID, and the analytics ID (sending tracking information associated with tracked event, Huang: [0054], [0058]).
Regarding claim 15, Huang teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 14 above.
Huang further discloses:
receiving a status notification, wherein the status notification comprises at least one of a status of the inference action for the network analytics inference entity and a status of the training action for the network analytics training entity (receiving alert associated with abnormal status of tracking information at analytics collection engine, Huang: [0054], [0058]).
Regarding claim 16, Huang teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Huang further discloses:
providing at least one of the following: an analytics status notification indicating at least one of that the one or more analytics outputs for the analytics ID are stable and that the analytics ID is stable; a confirmation that the at least one unstable analytics output for the analytics ID is unstable; an inference tracing activation indication with information to activate a tracing of an inference configuration about one or more of: at least one of the one or more analytics outputs for the analytics ID, and the analytics ID; a training tracing activation indication with information to activate a tracing of a training configuration about one or more of: at least one of the one or more analytics outputs for the analytics ID, and the analytics ID (sending tracking information including positive or negative result of tracked event, Huang: [0054], [0058]).
Regarding claim 17, Huang teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Huang further discloses:
generating analytics tracing information for one or more of: the one or more analytics outputs for the analytics ID, and for the analytics ID and to determine the inference rollback action and/or the training rollback action based on the analytics tracing information, wherein the analytics tracing information comprises one or more of the following: the analytics ID, an association of the analytics ID to the one or more analytics outputs for the analytics ID, one or more quality indications about one or more of: at least one of the one or more analytics outputs for the analytics ID and the analytics ID, an inference configuration about the analytics ID and/or about the one or more analytics outputs for the analytics ID, a training configuration about the analytics ID and/or about the one or more analytics outputs for the analytics ID (generating tracking information including positive or negative result of tracked event with unique identifier, Huang: [0032], [0054], [0058]).
Regarding claim 18, Huang teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 17 above.
Huang further discloses:
wherein the analytics tracing information further comprises at least one of a status of the inference action, a status of the training action, one or more inference actions, and one or more training actions associated with the analytics ID and/or associated with one or more analytics outputs for the analytics ID (tracking information including positive or negative result of tracked event with unique identifier, Huang: [0032], [0054], [0058]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang (US 2021/0224365 A1) in view of Suthar et al. (US 2020/0296603 A1, hereinafter “Suthar”).
Regarding claim 13, Huang teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Huang does not explicitly disclose:
where the method is applied to a network data analytics function (NWDAF) containing analytics logical function (AnLF).
However, in the same field of endeavor, Suthar teaches:
where the method is applied to a network data analytics function (NWDAF) containing analytics logical function (AnLF) (NWDAF containing AnLF monitoring events and providing network analytics information, Suthar: [0035]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huang in view of Suthar in order to further modify the method of tracking and providing event analytics information from the teachings of Huang with the method of NWDAF monitoring and providing network event analytics information from the teachings of Suthar.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would have reduced operational costs (Suthar: [0040]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure: Taft et al. (US 2021/0083965 A1: System and Method for Managing Lookups for Network Repository Functions), Patwardhan et al. (US 2019/0332824 A1: Handling Wireless Client Devices Associated with a Role Indicating a Stolen Device), and Al-Dulaimi et al. (US 2022/0345913 A1: Injecting Analytics into Network Repository Function (NRF) for Automated Management of 5G Core).
In the case of amendments, applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and support, for ascertaining the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
/GIL H. LEE/
Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2446