DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see remark, filed 6/3/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-14 under 103 have been fully considered and are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that there are no motivation to combine Yamazaki with Tamaki 047.
In response, Tamaki047 does not teach wherein the aqueous ink comprises a white ink comprising titanium oxide particles having an average particle diameter of 20 nm to 200 nm.
Yamazaki teaches wherein the aqueous ink (aqueous paragraph 0086) comprises a white ink comprising titanium oxide (titanium oxide, paragraph 87) particles having an average particle diameter of 20 nm to 200 nm (paragraph 0085, 50nm-1000nm; note: 50-1000nm overlap 20-200nm).
Therefore, it would have been obvious toa person with ordinary skill in the art to have modified Tamaki047 to include: wherein the aqueous ink comprises a white ink comprising titanium oxide particles having an average particle diameter of 20 nm to 200 nm.
The reason of doing so can improve stability to precipitation, storage stability is favorable and dischargeability is favorable, (paragraph 078).
Furthermore, it doesn’t make sense that the aqueous solution work on Yamazaki’s inkjet printer will not work on Tamaki’s ink jet printer. Examiner believes one with ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to at least to try to combine Tamaki047 with Yamazaki, after reading Tamaki047 and Yamazaki’s invention to include: wherein the aqueous ink comprises a white ink comprising titanium oxide particles having an average particle diameter of 20 nm to 200 nm.
Applicant further argues that there ae no motivation to combine Tamaki 047 with Tamaki and Shiraishi.
In response: Tamazaki 047 teaches after applying the pretreatment liquid (pretreatment agent paragraph 4), applying an aqueous ink (printing process, paragraph 31, color inks, paragraph 33) onto the cloth material to form an image on the cloth material by an ink jet method (before print processing by an inkjet printer, paragraph 31), wherein applying the pretreatment liquid comprises applying the pretreatment liquid such that the cloth material comprises, the pretreatment liquid in an amount of 20 mg/cm square to 150 mg/cm square per unit area of the cloth material (paragraph 58, 20mg/cm square, also see table 13, the range start at least at 20-100 mg/cm square which overlap portions of 20- 150 mg/cm square).
Applicant on 12/05/25 argues Tamazaki 047 while teaches applying pretreatment liquid, does not disclose the remaining amount of pretreatment when applying the aqueous ink.
Through common sense and daily experience, we all learn that a liquid will eventually dry up and the pretreatment liquid is only effective is to be used with applying the aqueous ink.
Therefore, the examiner believes, when Tamazaki 047 teaches “applying the pretreatment liquid (pretreatment agent paragraph 4), applying an aqueous ink (printing process, paragraph 31, color inks, paragraph 33) onto the cloth material to form an image on the cloth material by an ink jet method (before print processing by an inkjet printer, paragraph 31), wherein applying the pretreatment liquid comprises applying the pretreatment liquid such that the cloth material comprises, the pretreatment liquid in an amount of 20 mg/cm square to 150 mg/cm square per unit area of the cloth material (paragraph 58, 20mg/cm square, also see table 13, the range start at least at 20-100 mg/cm square which overlap portions of 20- 150 mg/cm square);” it is implying the remaining amount of pretreatment liquid, when applying the aqueous ink is at 20-100 mg/cm square. It does not make sense to a person with ordinary skill in the art to have Tamazaki 047 pretreatment liquid go down to 20% or 40% or a uncontrollable amount when applying the aqueous ink.
The Tamaki 424 is only relied on that the pretreatment liquid amount can be controlled, and Shiraishi is rely on to teach to retain at least 90% of the pretreatment liquid while applying aqueous ink.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-8, 10, 12, 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tamaki (US 20190100047) in view of Yamazaki (US 2019/0194482), Tamaki (US 20190193424) and Shiraishi US (2022/0411999).
Regarding claim 1: Tamaki047 teaches an image forming method comprising:
applying a pretreatment liquid (pretreatment agent, paragraph 4), which is an aqueous solution (aqueous solution, paragraph 33), to a cloth material (cloth, paragraph 33), which is an absorbent base material (cotton, polyester, paragraph 33 note: cotton and polyester are inherently absorbent); and
after applying the pretreatment liquid (pretreatment agent paragraph 4), applying an aqueous ink (printing process, paragraph 31, color inks, paragraph 33) onto the cloth material to form an image on the cloth material by an ink jet method (before print processing by an inkjet printer, paragraph 31), wherein applying the pretreatment liquid comprises applying the pretreatment liquid such that the cloth material comprises, the pretreatment liquid in an amount of 20 mg/cm square to 150 mg/cm square per unit area of the cloth material (paragraph 58, 20mg/cm square, also see table 13, the range start at least at 20-100 mg/cm square which overlap portions of 20- 150 mg/cm square), and
Tamaki047 does not teach wherein the aqueous ink comprises a white ink comprising titanium oxide particles having an average particle diameter of 20 nm to 200 nm.
Yamazaki teaches wherein the aqueous ink (aqueous paragraph 0086) comprises a white ink comprising titanium oxide (titanium oxide, paragraph 87) particles having an average particle diameter of 20 nm to 200 nm (paragraph 0085, 50nm-1000nm; note: 50-1000nm overlap 20-200nm).
Therefore, it would have been obvious toa person with ordinary skill in the art to have modified Tamaki047 to include: wherein the aqueous ink comprises a white ink comprising titanium oxide particles having an average particle diameter of 20 nm to 200 nm.
The reason of doing so can improve stability to precipitation, storage stability is favorable and dischargeability is favorable, (paragraph 078).
Tamaki 047 does not teach when applying the aqueous ink, the pretreatment liquid in an amount of 20 mg/cm square to 150 mg/cm square per unit area of the cloth material.
Tamaki 424 teaches the pretreatment can be done by controlling the pretreatment liquid amount (fig. 5, application amount per unit area and to control the time to apply the heat treatment (can be set to zero, the heat treatment is not performed) (paragraph 0061).
Shiraishi further teaches at the time when applying the aqueous ink, the pretreatment liquid on fabric is 90% or greater (paragraph 0194). Note: 90% of 20mg is 18 mg and 90% of 100mg is 90mg).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art to have further modify Tamaki 047 to include: when applying the aqueous ink, the pretreatment liquid in at least in the amount of 18 mg/cm square to 90 mg/cm square per unit area of the cloth material (which overlap the range of 20 mg/cm square to 100 mg/cm square.
The reason of doing so would have prevented the waste of valuable resource material which will save money for the company as well as conserve limited resource for human/world.
Regarding claim 4: Tamaki 047 teaches the image forming method according to claim 1,
wherein when applying the aqueous ink and prior to any heat treatment (see fig. 17, start heat press application $25 is after $17, application is complete), the cloth material comprises the pretreatment liquid in an amount of 40 mg/cm (see fig. 13 includes 40g/cm square) square or more per unit area of the cloth material.
Regarding claim 5: Tamaki047 teaches the image forming method according to claim 1,
wherein when applying the aqueous ink and prior to any heat treatment (see fig. 17, start heat press application $25 is after $17, application is complete), the cloth material comprises the pretreatment liquid in an amount of 40 mg/cm square to 130 mg/cm square per unit area of the cloth material. (see table 13, the range start at least at 20-100 mg/cm square which overlap portions of 40- 130 mg/cm square),
Regarding claim 6: Yamazaki teaches the image forming method according to claim 1, wherein the titanium oxide particles have an average particle diameter of 150 nm or less (5Onm of paragraph 85 is less than 150nm).
Regarding claim 7: Yamazaki teaches the image forming method according to claim 1, wherein the titanium oxide particles have an average particle diameter of 120 nm or less. (5Onm of paragraph 85 is less than 120nm).
Regarding claim 8: Yamazaki teaches the image forming method according to claim 1, wherein the titanium oxide particles have an average particle diameter of 50 nm to 120 nm. (50-5000nm of paragraph 85 covers 50-120nm).
Regarding claim 10: Tamaki 047 teaches: the image forming method according to claim 1, wherein the cloth material comprises a polyester. (polyester, paragraph 0033)
Regarding claim 12: Tamaki 047 teaches: an image forming system (paragraph 31, pretreatment device 10 and an inkjet printer of paragraph 31) comprising:
a pretreatment liquid application unit (pretreatment device 10, paragraph 31) configured to apply a pretreatment liquid (pretreatment agent, paragraph 33), which is an aqueous solution (aqueous solution, paragraph 33), toa cloth material (cloth paragraph 33); and
an image forming unit (inkjet printer paragraph 31) configured to apply an aqueous ink (color ink, paragraph 33) onto the cloth material (cloth, paragraph 33) to form an image on the cloth material by an ink jet method,
wherein the pretreatment liquid application unit is configured to apply the pretreatment liquid to the cloth material such that the cloth material comprises the pretreatment liquid in an amount of 20 mg/cm square to 150 mg/cm square per unit area of the cloth material when the image forming unit applies the aqueous ink. (paragraph 58, 20mg/cm square, also see table 13, the range start at least at 20-100 mg/cm square which overlap portions of 20-150 mg/cm square).
Tamaki 047 does not teach wherein the aqueous ink comprises a white ink comprising titanium oxide particles having an average particle diameter of 20 nm to 200 nm.
Yamazaki teaches wherein the aqueous ink (aqueous paragraph 0086) comprises a white ink comprising titanium oxide (titanium oxide, paragraph 87) particles having an average particle diameter of 20 nm to 200 nm (paragraph 0085, 50nm-1000nm; note: 50-1000nm overlap 20-200nm).
Therefore, it would have been obvious toa person with ordinary skill in the art to have modified Tamaki 047 to include: wherein the aqueous ink comprises a white ink comprising titanium oxide particles having an average particle diameter of 20 nm to 200 nm.
The reason of doing so can improve stability to precipitation, storage stability is favorable and dischargeability is favorable, paragraph 078).
Tamaki 047 does not teach when applying the aqueous ink, the pretreatment liquid in an amount of 20 mg/cm square to 150 mg/cm square per unit area of the cloth material.
Tamaki 424 teaches the pretreatment can be done by controlling the pretreatment liquid amount (fig. 5, application amount per unit area and to control the time to apply the heat treatment (can be set to zero, the heat treatment is not performed) (paragraph 0061).
Shiraishi further teaches at the time when applying the aqueous ink, the pretreatment liquid on fabric is 90% or greater (paragraph 0194). Note: 90% of 20mg is 18 mg and 90% of 100mg is 90mg).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art to have further modify Tamaki 047 to include: when applying the aqueous ink, the pretreatment liquid in at least in the amount of 18 mg/cm square to 90 mg/cm square per unit area of the cloth material (which overlap the range of 20 mg/cm square to 100 mg/cm square.
The reason of doing so would have prevented the waste of valuable resource material which will save money for the company as well as conserve limited resource for human/world.
Regarding claim 14: Tamaki 047 teaches cloth material (cloth, paragraph 33) having an image thereon formed by the image forming method according to claim 1.
Claim(s) 2, 3, 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tamaki (US 20190100047) in view of Yamazaki (US 2019/0194482), Tamaki (US 20190193424) and Shiraishi US (2022/0411999) and further in view of Sugiyama (US 2019/0284420 and Nakazawa (US 2008/0238998).
Regarding claim 2: Tamaki 047 as modified still does not teach: before applying the aqueous ink, applying an aqueous clear ink which does not contain a color material but comprises a resin component, to the cloth material, such that an application amount of the clear ink per unit area of the cloth material is 3 mg/cm square to 20 mg/cm square.
Sugiyama teaches before applying the aqueous ink (paragraph 83, simultaneously is not required to be exactly the same time as long as being within a time span in which a layer can be formed on the cloth by mixing the clear ink composition and the color ink composition note: these implies that some of the clear ink are applied before the color ink), applying an aqueous clear ink (clear ink, paragraph 83) which does not contain a color material (clear, paragraph 83) but comprises a resin (resin, paragraph 72) component, to the cloth material, such that an application amount of the clear ink per unit area of the cloth material is 3 mg/cm square to 20 mg/cm square (40g/m square, paragraph 85, note: 40g/m square is equal to 4 mg/cm square which is within the range of 3-20mg/cm square).
Therefore, it would have been obvious toa person with ordinary skill in the art to have further modified Tamaki 047 to include: before applying the aqueous ink, applying an aqueous clear ink which does not contain a color material but comprises a resin component, to the cloth material, such that an application amount of the clear ink per unit area of the cloth material is 3 mg/cm square to 20 mg/cm square.
The reason of doing so would have improve abrasion resistance (paragraph 12 Sugiyama).
Although, as discussed above, the apply of the clear ink is before the aqueous ink. Such argument is based on the examiner’s reasoning.
Nakazawa teaches to apply clear ink (122, fig. 2, clear ink layer 122, paragraph 46) before other color ink. (white ink layer 124, fig. 2, paragraph 46).
Therefore, it would have been obvious toa person with ordinary skill in the art to have apply the clear ink before the aqueous white ink.
The reason of doing so would have created an environmental friendly and high resolution image, paragraph 0002, Nakazawa).
Regarding claim 3: Tamaki 047 teaches the image forming method according to claim 2, wherein the clear ink is applied after the pretreatment liquid is applied. (paragraph31, to apply a pretreatment agent before printing processing).
Regarding claim 9: Sugiyama teaches the image forming method according to claim 2, wherein the resin component comprises a resin particle. (resin particles, paragraph 72).
Claim(s) 11, 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tamaki (US 20190100047) in view of Yamazaki (US 2019/0194482), Tamaki (US 20190193424) and Shiraishi US (2022/0411999) and further in view of Sugiyama (US 2019/0284420.
Regarding claim 11: Tamaki 047 does not teach wherein the pretreatment liquid comprises an organic acid.
Sugiyama teaches wherein the pretreatment liquid comprises an organic acid. (an organic acid paragraph 82).
Therefore, it would have been obvious toa person with ordinary skill in the art to have modified Tamaki 047 to include: wherein the pretreatment liquid comprises an organic acid.
The reason of doing so is to improve image quality (Sugiyama paragraph 82).
Regarding claim 13: Tamaki 047 as modified still does not teach: the image forming system according to claim 12, further comprising
a clear ink applying unit configured to apply an aqueous clear ink which does not contain a color material but comprises a resin component, to the cloth material, such that an application amount of the aqueous clear ink per unit area of the cloth material is 3 mg/cm square to 20 mg/cm square.
Sugiyama teaches a clear ink applying unit configured to apply an aqueous clear ink (clear ink, paragraph 83) which does not contain a color material (clear, paragraph 83) but comprises a resin (resin, paragraph 72) component, to the cloth material, such that an application amount of the clear ink per unit area of the cloth material is 3 mg/cm square to 20 mg/cm square (40g/m square, paragraph 85, note: 40g/m square is equal to 4 mg/cm square which is within the range of 3-20mg/cm square).
Therefore, it would have been obvious toa person with ordinary skill in the art to have further modified Tamaki 047 to include: a clear ink applying unit configured to apply an aqueous clear ink which does not contain a color material but comprises a resin component, to the cloth material, such that an application amount of the aqueous clear ink per unit area of the cloth material is 3 mg/cm square to 20 mg/cm square.
The reason of doing so would have improve abrasion resistance (paragraph 12 Sugiyama).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KING Y POON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2617