DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In communications filed on 04/30/2026. Claims 1, 3-6, 8, 10-13, 16-20 are amended. Claim 14 is cancelled. Claim 21 newly added. Claims 1-13, and 15-21 are pending in this examination.
Response to Argument
Applicant’s arguments with respect to independent claims for newly added limitation have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection.
Examiner notes
Applicant is encouraged to review the relevant references mentioned at the conclusion section of this office action for the new amendment in the independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 10-12, and 15-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent No US2018/0248849) issued to Zhou and in view of US Patent No. ( US2014/0323095) issued to Liebergeld .
Regarding claim 1, Zhou discloses A non-transitory machine-readable storage medium comprising instructions that upon execution cause an intermediary device to[ see FIG.1, Abstract, The application relates to a method for secure connection from a client computer device to a target computer resource comprising a server, comprising the following steps: the emission of a session-opening request by an application installed on the client station, leading to the creation of a primary session between the client station and the proxy gateway, the request containing either the identifier of the target server or the identifier of the target application; and the opening of a session between the proxy gateway and the server. The request-emission step is implemented by the prior opening of a primary session [RDP] between the client station and the proxy gateway by the transmission of a message containing the identifier of the target server or the identifier of the target application]; and
receive, at the intermediary device from a client device, a first command associated with a secure protocol that secures a connection between the client device and a server system, the first command to request a task at the server system wherein the intermediary device comprises an inline authentication and authorization service between the client device and the server system [0036-0044] The user is a network or system administrator having limited administration rights for a set of resources for which the network/system administrator is responsible. The network/system administrator has a terminal (100) communicating with the proxy gateway (300) (or “administration gateway”) by means of a connection (200) according to a protocol, for example, SSH (“secure shell”) or RDP (“remote desktop protocol”). The connection gives rise to the creation of a primary session (301) on the gateway (300). The user is identified by numerical identifiers that are specific to the user, and defining the user's rights, as well as the charging of the actions that the user performs. The gateway (300) comprises a database (302) in which the identifiers of the authorized users are recorded, as well as the associated rights, defining the targets (accounts and equipment) on which the user is entitled to act. At the time of connection, two methods for selecting the resource are possible: according to the first method, the user, at the time of the connection, specifies the target that the user wishes to access. In this case, the gateway checks whether the user identified by the user's identifier has necessary authorizations for accessing this target, according to the information recorded in the database (302)( equated to the condition for command allowance). According to the second method, the gateway transmits to the user the list of targets corresponding to the data recorded in the database (302) in relation to the transmitted identifier, to enable the user to select one of the targets proposed. The following step consists of opening a connection, generally with the same SSH or RDP protocol or with a second protocol, with the account associated with the selected target. This step comprises successively: [0045] the step of opening a secondary session between the proxy gateway and the server], and [0064-0071] FIG. 3 is a schematic view of the data exchanged between the various computer resources. At the time of connection by a user, the terminal (100) transmits the primary numerical identifiers to the proxy gateway (300). These authentication data are checked by the gateway (300) according to the information recorded in its database (302). In the case of validation, the gateway (302) transmits the list of authorized targets (C1 to C3). Each target corresponds to a pair: [0069] application; and [0070] account associated with the application. The account comprises: identification information; and authentication information, such as a password]; and
and determine, by the inline authentication and authorization service at the intermediary device based on command enforcement policy information specifying one or more conditions under which respective commands are allowed, whether to authorize the first command received from the client device.[0040-0043] The gateway (300) comprises a database (302) in which the identifiers of the authorized users are recorded, as well as the associated rights, defining the targets (accounts and equipment) on which the user is entitled to act. At the time of connection, two methods for selecting the resource are possible: according to the first method, the user, at the time of the connection, specifies the target that the user wishes to access. In this case, the gateway checks whether the user identified by the user's identifier has necessary authorizations for accessing this target( equated to the condition for command allowance), according to the information recorded in the database (302). according to the second method, the gateway transmits to the user the list of targets corresponding to the data recorded in the database (302) in relation to the transmitted identifier, to enable the user to select one of the targets proposed], and [0064-0074] FIG. 3 is a schematic view of the data exchanged between the various computer resources. At the time of connection by a user, the terminal (100) transmits the primary numerical identifiers to the proxy gateway (300). These authentication data are checked by the gateway (300) according to the information recorded in its database (302). In the case of validation, the gateway (302) transmits the list of authorized targets (C1 to C3). Each target corresponds to a pair: application; and [0070] account associated with the application. The account comprises: identification information; and authentication information, such as a password. The gateway transmits to the user (100), for each of the authorized targets, only the designation of the application and the designation of the identifier of the account, but not the authentication information, in the form of character strings designating the application/account pairs].
While Zhou discloses the one or more conditions comprising a condition based on a rate threshold relating to incoming commands from the client device and block the first command based on a determination that a rate of the incoming commands from the client device exceeds the rate threshold specified by the command enforcement policy information as: [0026] Preferably, the gateway comprises means for calculating a balance of the charges according to the number of connections already opened to each of the servers, and selection of the least busy server for the new request.
Zhou does not explicitly disclose, however Liebergeld Discloses the one or more conditions comprising a condition based on a rate threshold relating to incoming commands from the client device and block the first command based on a determination that a rate of the incoming commands from the client device exceeds the rate threshold specified by the command enforcement policy information [0058, Call-forwarding attack: Many compromised mobile telephones continually change the call forwarding settings and hence give rise to a significant load in the infrastructure of the mobile radio network supplier. The application software generates a command to change the call forwarding settings. This command is transmitted via the virtual signal channel to the virtual modem. The control command filter checks with reference to an adjustable threshold whether the authorized number of commands/time unit for this function has been exceeded and, if applicable, blocks the command until the start of the next time interval. If the authorized number has not yet been exceeded, the command is forwarded to the baseband driver and finally sent from the baseband to the mobile radio network. FIG. 2 shows that, if the time of the last command plus an interval is greater than the current time point, a counter is checked; if the counter is above a threshold value, the message is blocked].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Zhou by incorporating “control command filter checks”, as taught by Liebergeld. One could have been motivated to do so in order to checks with reference to an adjustable threshold whether the authorized number of commands/time unit for this function has been exceeded and, if applicable, blocks the command until the start of the next time interval. If the authorized number has not yet been exceeded, the command is forwarded to the baseband driver and finally sent from the baseband to the mobile radio network [ Liebergeld, 0058].
Regarding claim 2, Zhou discloses wherein the server system comprises a network access device that provides access to a network by the client device [0002] This application relates to the field of application servers and, in particular, to methods and systems for access to application resources hosted on one or more servers by a user.], and [0041] At the time of connection, two methods for selecting the resource are possible: [0042] according to the first method, the user, at the time of the connection, specifies the target that the user wishes to access. In this case, the gateway checks whether the user identified by the user's identifier has necessary authorizations for accessing this target, according to the information recorded in the database (302). [0043] according to the second method, the gateway transmits to the user the list of targets corresponding to the data recorded in the database (302) in relation to the transmitted identifier, to enable the user to select one of the targets proposed], and [ see Figs 2-3 and corresponding text for more details].
Regarding claim 3, Zhou discloses wherein the secure protocol comprises a Secure Shell (SSH) protocol, and the first command is associated with the SSH protocol.
[0037] The network/system administrator has a terminal (100) communicating with the proxy gateway (300) (or “administration gateway”) by means of a connection (200) according to a protocol, for example, SSH (“secure shell”) or RDP (“remote desktop protocol”).[ ¶¶770064-0078].
Regarding claim 4, Zhou discloses wherein the first command is to control a feature of the server system, and the first command is protected by the secure protocol [0037] The network/system administrator has a terminal (100) communicating with the proxy gateway (300) (or “administration gateway”) by means of a connection (200) according to a protocol, for example, SSH (“secure shell”) or RDP (“remote desktop protocol”)], and [ 0077-0078 …in the case where the user has selected a specific application, it proceeds with the execution thereof, either directly or by means of a specialist computer code. This code requests of the gateway the identifier of the account of the application as well as the authentication data associated with this account. The computer code then transmits this information to the application in order to control the execution of the application].
Regarding claim 10, Zhou discloses, wherein the instructions upon execution cause the intermediary device to: update an audit log by adding information relating to the first command to the audit log, wherein the audit log comprises information of commands processed at the inline authentication and authorization service in the intermediary device [0039-0040 , 0051, 0064-0077].
Regarding claim 11, Zhou does not explicitly disclose, however, Liebergeld discloses wherein the rate threshold specifies a threshold number of incoming commands per unit time [0058, Call-forwarding attack: Many compromised mobile telephones continually change the call forwarding settings and hence give rise to a significant load in the infrastructure of the mobile radio network supplier. The application software generates a command to change the call forwarding settings. This command is transmitted via the virtual signal channel to the virtual modem. The control command filter checks with reference to an adjustable threshold whether the authorized number of commands/time unit for this function has been exceeded and, if applicable, blocks the command until the start of the next time interval. If the authorized number has not yet been exceeded, the command is forwarded to the baseband driver and finally sent from the baseband to the mobile radio network. FIG. 2 shows that, if the time of the last command plus an interval is greater than the current time point, a counter is checked; if the counter is above a threshold value, the message is blocked].
Regarding claim 12, Zhou discloses, wherein the one or more conditions further comprise a condition based on ownership information indicating an owner or manager of the client device, and the instructions upon execution cause the intermediary device to: block the first command based on a determination that the client device is not owned by the owner or manager indicated by the ownership information. [0040-0043] The gateway (300) comprises a database (302) in which the identifiers of the authorized users are recorded, as well as the associated rights, defining the targets (accounts and equipment) on which the user is entitled to act. At the time of connection, two methods for selecting the resource are possible: according to the first method, the user, at the time of the connection, specifies the target that the user wishes to access. In this case, the gateway checks whether the user identified by the user's identifier has necessary authorizations for accessing this target, according to the information recorded in the database (302). According to the second method, the gateway transmits to the user the list of targets corresponding to the data recorded in the database (302) in relation to the transmitted identifier, to enable the user to select one of the targets proposed].
Regarding claim 15, Zhou discloses, wherein the one or more conditions further comprise a second condition based on a threshold quantity of server systems to which the client device is connected, and the instructions upon execution cause the intermediary device to: block the first command based on a determination that the client device is connected to more than the threshold quantity of server systems [0002, This application relates to the field of application servers and, in particular, to methods and systems for access to application resources hosted on one or more servers by a user.], and [0025-0026, Advantageously, the database (302) comprises a list of the applications and of the servers hosting each of the applications, as well as the accounts for connecting to these servers. Preferably, the gateway comprises means for calculating a balance of the charges according to the number of connections already opened to each of the servers, and selection of the least busy server for the new request], and [0051-0053, When the target is an application, the gateway (300) chooses the appropriate server (500) for executing the application. To this end, the database (302) comprises a list of applications and of the servers hosting each of the applications, as well as the accounts for connecting to these servers. When a plurality of servers host the same application, the gateway effects a balance of the charge according to the number of connections already opened to each of the servers and, for the new request, selects the busy server. Likewise, in the absence of a response by a server hosting an application, the gateway successively seeks the other servers hosting the same application in order to select an available target].
Regarding claims 16, and 19, the subject matter of independent claims 16, and 19 contains the corresponding features as the method of claim 1 expressed respectively in analogous terms and additionally the features disclosed in 16, and 19: Zhou discloses based on determining that the command is authorized according to the command enforcement policy information, cause sending, from the intermediary device, of the command to the server system for execution at the server system [ see Figs 1-2 and corresponding text for more details, [0036-0044, 0064-0071].
Regarding claim 17 Zhou discloses wherein the intermediary device behaves as a server to the client device, and the intermediary device behaves as a client to the server system. [ see Figs 1-2 and corresponding text for more details, [0036-0044, 0064-0071].
Regarding claim 18, Zhou discloses, wherein the instructions are executable on the hardware processor to: receive, at the inline authentication and authorization service from a client device, an authentication request; and based on receiving the authentication request, perform an authentication procedure between the client device and the intermediary device to authenticate the client device, wherein the command from the client device is transmitted by the client device after the authenticating of the client device. [ see Figs 1-2 and corresponding text for more details, [0036-0044, 0064-0071].
Regarding claim 20 Zhou discloses wherein the command is an administrative command to control a feature of the server system. [0037] The network/system administrator has a terminal (100) communicating with the proxy gateway (300) (or “administration gateway”) by means of a connection (200) according to a protocol, for example, SSH (“secure shell”) or RDP (“remote desktop protocol”)], and [ 0077-0078 …in the case where the user has selected a specific application, it proceeds with the execution thereof, either directly or by means of a specialist computer code. This code requests of the gateway the identifier of the account of the application as well as the authentication data associated with this account. The computer code then transmits this information to the application in order to control the execution of the application].
Regarding claim 21, Zhou discloses wherein and the authentication procedure uses a certificate of the client device, and the authentication procedure is performed by the inline authentication and authorization service without the intermediary device exchanging messaging with a remote system [0040-0043] The gateway (300) comprises a database (302) in which the identifiers of the authorized users are recorded, as well as the associated rights, defining the targets (accounts and equipment) on which the user is entitled to act. At the time of connection, two methods for selecting the resource are possible: according to the first method, the user, at the time of the connection, specifies the target that the user wishes to access. In this case, the gateway checks whether the user identified by the user's identifier has necessary authorizations for accessing this target( equated to the condition for command allowance), according to the information recorded in the database (302). according to the second method, the gateway transmits to the user the list of targets corresponding to the data recorded in the database (302) in relation to the transmitted identifier, to enable the user to select one of the targets proposed], and [0055] to interrogate the gateway with a view to obtaining the authentication information corresponding to the account of the application, for example, a password or a cryptographic certificate, or a Kerberos ticket; [0056] to inject these data into the application in order to open an application session and to enable the user to use the application.
Claims 5-6, and 9, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent No US2018/0248849) issued to Zhou and in view of US Patent No. ( US2014/0323095) issued to Liebergeld, and further in view of US Patent No. (US2017/0187733) issued to Ahn.
Regarding claim 5, Zhou, and Liebergeld do not explicitly disclose, however, Ahn discloses , wherein the first command received at the intermediary device from the client device is in an encrypted form, and wherein the instructions upon execution cause the intermediary device to [0025] At step #9, rule gate 120 may route the packets comprising the data configured to establish the connection between hosts 106 and 142 to proxy device 112 and, at step #10, may communicate the packets to proxy device 112. For example, rules 212 may be configured to cause rule gate 120 to route the packets to proxy device 112 based on data in the packets, for example, one or more ports (e.g., port 443) indicated by transport-layer headers in the packets, indicating the connection between hosts 106 and 142 will be utilized to establish an encrypted communication session or tunnel (e.g., a session established in accordance with the transport layer security (TLS) protocol, secure sockets layer (SSL) protocol, secure shell (SSH) protocol, or the like). In some embodiments, rules 212 may be configured to cause rule gate 120 to route the packets to proxy device 112 based on a determination that one or more of hosts 106 or 142 is associated with a network address for which rules 212 indicate encrypted communications should be established via one or more of proxy devices 112, 114, or 116. For example, proxy devices 112, 114, and 116 may be part of a proxy system (e.g., a SSL/TLS proxy system) that enables packet-filtering system 200 to filter packets comprising encrypted data based on information within the encrypted data, and rules 212 may be configured to cause rule gate 120 to route the packets to proxy device 112 based on a determination that host 142 is associated with a network address of a domain corresponding to the network-threat indicators]; and
decrypt the first command to produce a decrypted command, wherein the authorizing is performed with respect to the decrypted command[0037] Proxy device 112 may receive the packets and decrypt the data in accordance with the parameters of session 306. The packets may comprise a request (e.g., a hypertext transfer protocol (HTTP) request), and proxy device 112 may comprise an ICAP client, which, at step #20, may communicate the packets to ICAP server 132…]; and
and based on the authorizing of the decrypted command, re-encrypt the decrypted command to produce an encrypted command; and cause sending of the encrypted command from the intermediary device to the server system[0035] Similarly, at step #18, proxy device 114 and host 142 may communicate packets comprising data configured to establish encrypted communication session 308 (e.g., a SSL/TLS session) between proxy device 114 and host 142 via connection 304,
[0041] Proxy device 114 may receive the packets and generate one or more corresponding packets comprising data encrypted in accordance with one or more parameters of session 308 and, at step #23, may communicate the packets to host 142.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Zhou, and Liebergeld by incorporating “A packet-filtering system rules ”, as taught by Ahn. One could have been motivated to do so in order to apply packet-filtering rule gate 120 which route the packets comprising the data configured to establish the connection between hosts 106 and 142 to proxy device 112 and, at step #10, may communicate the packets to proxy device 112. For example, rules 212 may be configured to cause rule gate 120 to route the packets to proxy device 112 based on data in the packets, for example, one or more ports (e.g., port 443) indicated by transport-layer headers in the packets, indicating the connection between hosts 106 and 142 will be utilized to establish an encrypted communication session or tunnel (e.g., a session established in accordance with the transport layer security (TLS) protocol, secure sockets layer (SSL) protocol, secure shell (SSH) protocol, or the like) [ Ahn, Abstract, 0025].
Regarding claim 6, Zhou, and Liebergeld do not explicitly disclose, however, Ahn discloses, wherein the instructions upon execution cause the intermediary device to: establish a first session between the intermediary device and the client device, wherein the first command in the encrypted form is received from the client device in the first session [0025] At step #9, rule gate 120 may route the packets comprising the data configured to establish the connection between hosts 106 and 142 to proxy device 112 and, at step #10, may communicate the packets to proxy device 112. For example, rules 212 may be configured to cause rule gate 120 to route the packets to proxy device 112 based on data in the packets, for example, one or more ports (e.g., port 443) indicated by transport-layer headers in the packets, indicating the connection between hosts 106 and 142 will be utilized to establish an encrypted communication session or tunnel (e.g., a session established in accordance with the transport layer security (TLS) protocol, secure sockets layer (SSL) protocol, secure shell (SSH) protocol, or the like). In some embodiments, rules 212 may be configured to cause rule gate 120 to route the packets to proxy device 112 based on a determination that one or more of hosts 106 or 142 is associated with a network address for which rules 212 indicate encrypted communications should be established via one or more of proxy devices 112, 114, or 116. For example, proxy devices 112, 114, and 116 may be part of a proxy system (e.g., a SSL/TLS proxy system) that enables packet-filtering system 200 to filter packets comprising encrypted data based on information within the encrypted data, and rules 212 may be configured to cause rule gate 120 to route the packets to proxy device 112 based on a determination that host 142 is associated with a network address of a domain corresponding to the network-threat indicators], and [0070]; and
and establish a second session between the intermediary device and the server system, wherein the sending of the encrypted command from the intermediary device to the server system occurs in the second session[0035] Similarly, at step #18, proxy device 114 and host 142 may communicate packets comprising data configured to establish encrypted communication session 308 (e.g., a SSL/TLS session) between proxy device 114 and host 142 via connection 304]. And [0041] Proxy device 114 may receive the packets and generate one or more corresponding packets comprising data encrypted in accordance with one or more parameters of session 308 and, at step #23, may communicate the packets to host 142.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Zhou, and Liebergeld by incorporating “A packet-filtering system rules ”, as taught by Ahn. One could have been motivated to do so in order to apply packet-filtering rule gate 120 which route the packets comprising the data configured to establish the connection between hosts 106 and 142 to proxy device 112 and, at step #10, may communicate the packets to proxy device 112. For example, rules 212 may be configured to cause rule gate 120 to route the packets to proxy device 112 based on data in the packets, for example, one or more ports (e.g., port 443) indicated by transport-layer headers in the packets, indicating the connection between hosts 106 and 142 will be utilized to establish an encrypted communication session or tunnel (e.g., a session established in accordance with the transport layer security (TLS) protocol, secure sockets layer (SSL) protocol, secure shell (SSH) protocol, or the like) [ Ahn, Abstract, 0025].
Regarding claim 9, Zhou, and Liebergeld do not explicitly disclose, however, Ahn discloses, wherein the intermediary device is in a cloud computing environment [ 0012-0013] Referring to FIG. 1, environment 100 may include networks 102 and 104. Network 102 may comprise one or more networks (e.g., Local Area Networks (LANs), Wide Area Networks (WANs), Virtual Private Networks (VPNs), or combinations thereof) associated with one or more individuals or entities (e.g., governments, corporations, service providers, or other organizations). Network 104 may comprise one or more networks (e.g., LANs, WANs, VPNs, or combinations thereof) that interface network 102 with one or more other networks (not illustrated). For example, network 104 may comprise the Internet, a similar network, or portions thereof. Environment 100 may also include one or more hosts, such as computing or network devices (e.g., servers, desktop computers, laptop computers, tablet computers, mobile devices, smartphones, routers, gateways, firewalls, switches, access points, or the like). For example, network 102 may include hosts 106, 108, and 110, proxy devices 112, 114, and 116, web proxy 118, rule gates 120, 122, 124, 126, and 128, domain name system (DNS) 130, Internet content adaptation protocol (ICAP) server 132, and gateway 134. As used herein, “host” (or “hosts”) refers to any type of network device (or node) or computing device].
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent No US2018/0248849) issued to Zhou and in view of US Patent No. ( US2014/0323095) issued to Liebergeld, and further in view of US Patent No. ( US2018/0191725) issued to Luukkala.
Regarding claim 7, Zhou, and Liebergeld do not explicitly disclose, however, Luukkala discloses, wherein the instructions upon execution cause the intermediary device to: authenticate, by the inline authentication and authorization service, the client device using a certificate of the client device [0202-0204] The intermediate monitoring device 120 comprises appropriate interface apparatus for communication with the various other entities. In the example interface 122 is for communications with the user device 111. When the user initiates access, using his user terminal device 111, to a target host, instead of accessing directly the target host, the user access first the intermediate device 120. The access to the device 120 can be handled by a client 112 provided at the user device 111 and configured to communicate with a client or server 121 provided at the intermediate device 120. Communications 116 between the intermediate device 120 and the hosts can be handled via interface 123. The communications can be based on an authenticator obtained from the security device 125… , the security device may be provided within the intermediate node or as a therein integrated component, and thus the interface between the intermediate device 120 and the security device may be an internal interface within device 120. An agent 127 for communication towards the security device 125 may also be provided in some examples. The agent can be configured to implement a SSH agent protocol, communicate e.g. with the CA, obtain user authentication information, and take care of the user authentication authenticators, for example keypairs. The intermediate device 120 terminates the session of the user and may authenticate the user based on an auditor policy. The intermediate device can embed a CA client functionality and use the CA client to sign the public key of the user with the CA. The CA can verify the user authentication information with the system of record. CA can also resolve the user principals with the system of record. CA creates the certificate containing the user public key and other attributes, for example the principals, and signs the resulting certificate with its private key. Crypto auditor device uses the certificate in the authentication together with the corresponding private key. The target server then verifies the certificate of the user. The target server verifies that the user principals can be used to log in to the requested system account], and [Abstract, 0031, 0039, 0210].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Zhou, and Liebergeld by incorporating “ access control relationships between entities”, as taught by Luukkala. One could have been motivated to do so in order to implement a chain of access relationships from a first entity via at least one intermediate entity to a second entity , where the source entity is permitted to access the destination entity. The permission may be based on appropriate security credentials such as keys, certificates and so on. [ Luukkala, Abstract, 0031, 0039, 0210].
Regarding claim 8, Zhou discloses, wherein the authenticating of the client device and the authorizing of the first command are performed without any involvement of the server system.[0040-0043] The gateway (300) comprises a database (302) in which the identifiers of the authorized users are recorded, as well as the associated rights, defining the targets (accounts and equipment) on which the user is entitled to act. At the time of connection, two methods for selecting the resource are possible: according to the first method, the user, at the time of the connection, specifies the target that the user wishes to access. In this case, the gateway checks whether the user identified by the user's identifier has necessary authorizations for accessing this target, according to the information recorded in the database (302). according to the second method, the gateway transmits to the user the list of targets corresponding to the data recorded in the database (302) in relation to the transmitted identifier, to enable the user to select one of the targets proposed], and [0064-0076].
Claims 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent No US2018/0248849) issued to Zhou and in view of US Patent No. ( US2014/0323095) issued to Liebergeld, and further in view of US Patent No. US2005/0283837) issued to Oliver.
Regarding claim 13, Zhou, and Liebergeld do not explicitly disclose, however, Oliver discloses wherein the one or more conditions further comprise a second condition based on information of relating to a malware protection program of the client device, and the instructions upon execution cause the intermediary device to: block the first command based on a determination that the malware protection program of the client device is out of date based on the second condition.[0030, a messaging gateway can suspend delivery of messages early in a virus outbreak, providing sufficient time for updating an anti-virus checker that can strip virus code from the messages], and [0077, If the threshold virus score value is determined to be exceeded in block 312 and the message has not yet been scanned before as determined in block 310, then the message is placed in an outbreak quarantine queue 316. Each message is tagged with a specified holding time value, or expiration date-time value, representing a period of time during which the message is held in the outbreak quarantine queue( equated to blocking the first command) 316. The purpose of the outbreak quarantine queue 316 is to delay delivery of messages for an amount of time that is sufficient to enable updating of anti-virus process ( equated to updating a out-of-date anti-virus scanner) 306 to account for a new virus that is associated with the detected virus outbreak].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Zhou, and Liebergeld by incorporating “ updated anti-virus checker”, as taught by Oliver. One could have been motivated to do so in order for a messaging gateway can suspend delivery of messages early in a virus outbreak [ Oliver, 0030].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
See 892 for more relevant references.
Ibrahim ( US2024/0411462) [ [0059] Column 212 includes a “depth” value for each entry of the tracking table 118, which represents a counter indicating a threshold number of times an additional command is permitted to be triggered at the processing-in-memory component 112. As a specific example, if a value of column 212 is an integer greater than one, the integer represents the number of times the command trigger unit 116 is permitted to trigger execution of the additional command described in the entry. A depth value of an integer greater than one thus indicates that the threshold number of times the additional command is permitted to be triggered has not been exceeded. Continuing this specific example, if the value of column 212 is zero, a depth value of zero indicates that the additional command associated with the entry is not permitted to be triggered, even if all other conditions for triggering the additional command are satisfied. Further to this specific example, if the value of column 212 is negative one, such a negative value indicates that the additional command associated with the entry is permitted to be triggered an unlimited number of times. Thus, in the illustrated example of FIG. 2, column 212 indicates that the additional commands for each entry of row 202 and row 204 are permitted to be triggered without restriction as to a number of triggering instances.
Radi ( US20230221867) [0030] One or more command queues 21A can indicate pending commands, such as commands to write or read data from memory 110A and/or shared cache 20A. In some implementations, an application 22A in user space 8A may determine not to offload a computational operation to a program 12A in kernel space 6A if the number of pending commands in a command queue 21A is greater than or equal to a threshold number of commands to allow OS kernel 10A to have more resources to perform the pending commands. In addition, a QoS or priority of an application 22A may affect whether a command is offloaded from the application 22A. For example, an application for a video service may have a lower threshold number of commands in a command queue 21A for offloading a computational operation to a program 12A in the kernel space.], and [0036, programs 12A.sub.1 and/or 12A.sub.2 can be used by the kernel to perform command scheduling operations in some implementations, such as to order the commands in an NVMe command queue 21B or to determine which NVMe command queue 21B a particular command should be enqueued based on a priority indication for the command or for an application that issued the command], and [0025] In addition, programs 12A.sub.1 and/or 12A.sub.2 can be used by the kernel to perform command scheduling operations in some implementations. For example, such a command scheduling operation may order commands in a command queue 21 for performance based at least in part on a priority or Quality of Service (QoS) indicator for the command. For example, a program 12A may identify a priority field of a command, such as an 802.1Q tag in an Ethernet header as part of the IEEE 802.1Qbb Priority-based Flow Control (PFC) standard, and use this priority field to arrange the order of commands in a command queue 21A for performance or may add commands with a higher priority to a separate higher priority command queue 21A that is dequeued for performance of its commands more frequently than another command queue 21A].
Weikal ( US8922930) [ (31) Host workloads can have localized write activity, the result of which may be write commands for multiple disc nodes within the same band, which can thus be written in one RMWW operation. In order to prevent the host command from timing out, the number of outstanding unique RMWW(read-modify-write-write) operations may need to be restricted to fall within a certain threshold, at which time the DSD(data storage device) may throttle incoming write commands. That is, a controller of the DSD may prevent execution of write requests for writes to the shingled data storage medium when a number of bands having data in a cache exceeds a threshold. This may be done by not accepting write requests from a host, not providing a confirmation of the write to a host, or by notifying the host not to initiate more write requests.
Hayton ( US2015/0319174) [ [0001] Aspects described herein generally relate to authentication of client devices within enterprise systems. More specifically, certain aspects herein provide techniques to authenticate and authorize client devices in enterprise systems via a gateway device].
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHAHRIAR ZARRINEH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2496