DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) filed on January 29, 2024 have/has been acknowledged and considered by the examiner. Initialed copies of supplied IDS(s) forms are included in this correspondence.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: Figure 4 - 42A; Figures 6, 7 - 48B. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to claim 1, the claim (line 10) recites “one of the biasing members” which lacks antecedent basis (MPEP 2173.05(e)). Claim 1 only introduces one biasing member prior to this.
As to claim 1, the claim (line 11-12) recites “the other of the biasing members” which lacks antecedent basis (MPEP 2173.05(e)). Claim 1 only introduces one biasing member prior to this.
As to claim 12, the claim (line 12) recites “one of the biasing members” which lacks antecedent basis (MPEP 2173.05(e)). Claim 12 only introduces one biasing member prior to this.
As to claim 12, the claim (line 13-14) recites “the other of the biasing members” which lacks antecedent basis (MPEP 2173.05(e)). Claim 12 only introduces one biasing member prior to this.
As to claim 12, the claim (line 17) the claim recites “the object side” which lacks antecedent basis (MPEP 2173.05(e)). Examiner will understand as “an object side”.
As to claim 12, the claim (line 19) the claim recites “the subject side” which lacks antecedent basis (MPEP 2173.05(e)). Examiner will understand as “the object side” as is consistent with the specification.
Claims 2-11, 13 are rejected as dependent upon claims 1 or 12.
As to claim 2, the claim recites “the cam grooves for displacing” which lacks antecedent basis (MPEP 2173.05(e)). Claim 1 introduces only one cam groove and doesn’t specify it displaces anything.
As to claim 10, the claim recites “the linear guide portion” which lacks antecedent basis (MPEP 2173.05(e)).
As to claim 11, the claim recites “the first engaging member performs backlash removal with respect to the straight guide portion and the cam groove” which is a function that does not appear to follow from the claimed structure (MPEP 2173.05(g)). Specifically, such language appears directed to a problem to be solved/result achieved by the first engaging member, however the metes and bounds are unclear how the first engaging member performs such function. According to Applicant’s specification (Spec. para. [0046]), backlash removal appears to be based on the spring biasing force, thus how the first engaging member performs the backlash removal is unclear. For purposes of compact prosecution, so long as the prior art teaches the structure of claim 1, such backlash prevention will be presumed present.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 7-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Onda (US 6,072,639).
As to claim 1, Onda teaches an optical apparatus (Onda Figs. 1, 2) comprising
a first holding member (Onda Fig. 2 - 13) configured to hold a first engaging member (Onda Fig. 2 - 14);
a second holding member (Onda Fig. 2 - 15) configured to hold a second engaging member (Onda Fig. 2 - 16);
a guide barrel having a straight guide portion (Onda Fig. 2 - 11, 11a, 11b) with which the first engaging member and the second are engaged (Onda Fig. 2 - 11a, 14, 11b, 16; Fig. 1 - 14, 16, 11a, 11b; col. 5:35-40; col. 5:52-55);
a cam barrel (Onda Fig. 2 - 6+17) having a cam groove (Onda Fig. 2 - 6a, 17a; col. 5:25-32; col. 5:50-55) with which the first engaging member and the second engaging member are engaged (Onda Fig. 1 - 6a, 17a, 14, 16);
a biasing member (Onda Fig. 2 - 18; col. 6:7-13) configured to bias the first engaging member and the second engaging member in a direction in which the first engaging member and the second engaging member are separated from each other (Onda Fig. 2 - 18; col. 6:7-13 - The zoom lens barrel assembly 1 has a coil spring 18 disposed between the second and third lens holder rings 13 and 15 to force the cam follower pins 14 and 16 against the inside walls of the zooming cam grooves 6a and cam grooves 17a, respectively, in the axial direction) by one of the biasing members abutting on a first abutting portion provided on the first holding member and the other of the biasing member abutting on a second abutting portion provided on the second holding member (Onda Fig. 1 - 18, 13, 15; see below);
an optical element (Onda Fig. 1 - 20, 30);
wherein the first engaging member is disposed closer to an object side than the second engaging member in an optical axis direction of the optical element (Onda Fig. 1 - first engaging member (14) closer to object (left side) than second engaging member (16));
the second abutting portion is disposed closer to the object side than the first abutting portion in the optical axis direction (Onda Fig 1; see above, second abutting portion closer to the object (left) than first abutting portion).
As to claim 7, Onda teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Onda further teaches the first holding member has an annular shape (Onda Fig. 2 - 13), and a plurality of the first engaging members is fixed along the annular shape (Onda Fig. 2 - 14).
As to claim 8, Onda teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Onda further teaches the biasing member biases the first holding member and the second holding member obliquely with respect to the straight guide portion and the cam groove (Onda Fig. 2 - 18, 13, 15; col. 6:7-13 - The zoom lens barrel assembly 1 has a coil spring 18 disposed between the second and third lens holder rings 13 and 15 to force the cam follower pins 14 and 16 against the inside walls of the zooming cam grooves 6a and cam grooves 17a, respectively, in the axial direction).
As to claim 9, Onda teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Onda further teaches the biasing member is a tension coil spring (Onda Fig. 2 - 18; col. 6:7-13).
As to claim 10, Onda teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Onda further teaches the linear guide portion is a linear groove (Onda Fig. 1 - 11a, 11b) that guides the first holding member and the second holding member in the optical axis (Onda Fig. 2 - 11a, 13, 11b, 15; Fig. 1 - 11a, 14, 13, 11b, 16, 15); and the cam groove is formed to be inclined with respect to the optical axis direction (Onda Fig. 2 - 6a, 17a), and the first holding member and the second holding member are displaced in the optical axis direction along the cam groove (Onda Fig. 1 - 13, 15, S).
As to claim 11, Onda teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Onda further teaches the first engaging member performs backlash removal with respect to the straight guide portion and the cam portion (Onda Fig. 2 - 18, 13, 15; col. 6:7-13 - The zoom lens barrel assembly 1 has a coil spring 18 disposed between the second and third lens holder rings 13 and 15 to force the cam follower pins 14 and 16 against the inside walls of the zooming cam grooves 6a and cam grooves 17a, respectively, in the axial direction).
As to claim 12, Onda teaches an imaging apparatus (Onda Figs. 1, 2) comprising an optical apparatus and an image pickup element configured to capture an image formed by the optical apparatus (Onda Fig. 1; Fig. 2; col. 1:10-15), the optical apparatus comprising
a first holding member (Onda Fig. 2 - 13) configured to hold a first engaging member (Onda Fig. 2 - 14);
a second holding member (Onda Fig. 2 - 15) configured to hold a second engaging member (Onda Fig. 2 - 16);
a guide barrel having a straight guide portion (Onda Fig. 2 - 11, 11a, 11b) with which the first engaging member and the second are engaged (Onda Fig. 2 - 11a, 14, 11b, 16; Fig. 1 - 14, 16, 11a, 11b; col. 5:35-40; col. 5:52-55);
a cam barrel (Onda Fig. 2 - 6+17) having a cam groove (Onda Fig. 2 - 6a, 17a; col. 5:25-32; col. 5:50-55) with which the first engaging member and the second engaging member are engaged (Onda Fig. 1 - 6a, 17a, 14, 16);
a biasing member (Onda Fig. 2 - 18; col. 6:7-13) configured to bias the first engaging member and the second engaging member in a direction in which the first engaging member and the second engaging member are separated from each other (Onda Fig. 2 - 18; col. 6:7-13 - The zoom lens barrel assembly 1 has a coil spring 18 disposed between the second and third lens holder rings 13 and 15 to force the cam follower pins 14 and 16 against the inside walls of the zooming cam grooves 6a and cam grooves 17a, respectively, in the axial direction) by one of the biasing members abutting on a first abutting portion provided on the first holding member and the other of the biasing member abutting on a second abutting portion provided on the second holding member (Onda Fig. 1 - 18, 13, 15; see below);
an optical element (Onda Fig. 1 - 20, 30);
wherein the first engaging member is disposed closer to an object side than the second engaging member in an optical axis direction of the optical element (Onda Fig. 1 - first engaging member (14) closer to object (left side) than second engaging member (16));
the second abutting portion is disposed closer to the object side than the first abutting portion in the optical axis direction (Onda Fig 1; see above, second abutting portion closer to the object (left) than first abutting portion).
As to claim 13, Onda teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 12, and Onda further teaches the optical apparatus is detachable from the imaging apparatus (Onda Figs. 1, 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Onda as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Iwasaki et al. (US 2022/0121000 - Iwasaki).
As to claim 2, Onda teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Onda further teaches the cam grooves for displacing the first engaging member and the second engaging member in the optical axis direction are the same groove (Onda Fig. 2 - 6a, 17a both being the same as they are both helical). Onda does not specify as viewed along the optical axis direction, the first engaging member and the second engaging member at least partially overlap each other.
In the same field of endeavor Iwasaki teaches first and second engaging members overlapping in the optical axis direction (Iwasaki Fig. 1 - 30A, 30B; Fig. 2 - 30A, 30B; para. [0063]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary sill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to provide the first and second engagement members partially overlapping in the optical axis direction since, as taught by Iwasaki, such front-rear alignment is well known in the art for the cam followers to engage with the cam grooves (Iwasaki Fig. 1 - 30A, 30B; Fig. 2 - 30A, 30B; para. [0063]).
As to claim 5, Onda teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Onda further teaches the second holding member holds a lens barrel that holds the optical element (Onda Fig. 2 - 15, 30), the second abutting portion is provided on the lens barrel (Onda Fig. 1 - 13, 15, 18). Onda doesn’t specify a roller member to be capable of eccentricity adjustment.
In the same field of endeavor Iwasaki teaches roller members capable of eccentricity adjustment (Iwasaki Fig. 2 - 102; para. [0098]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to provide such rollers since, a taught by Iwasaki, such rollers are well known in the art for the purpose of providing eccentricity (torque) adjustment (Iwasaki Fig. 2 - 102; para. [0098]).
As to claim 6, Onda in view of Iwasaki teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 5, and Onda further teaches the first holding member is supported by the lens barrel via the biasing member (Onda Fig. 1 - 13, 18), and moves in the direction along the optical axis integrally with the lens barrel (Onda Fig. 1 - 13, 15, 18).
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Onda as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Weber (US 5,586,467).
As to claim 3, Onda teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, but doesn’t specify a part of the biasing member overlaps with a part of the first engaging member or the second engaging member in the optical axis direction.
In the same field of endeavor Weber teaches providing lens barrels with engaging members (Weber Fig. 1 - 21, 22, 23; Fig. 2a - 21, 22, 23, 31, 32) and a biasing member (Weber Fig. 2a - 331, 332) where the biasing member overlaps with a part of the first engaging member or the second engaging member in the optical axis direction (Weber Fig. 2a - spring (332) overlapping in the optical axis direction (O) with engaging member (23, 22, 32)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to provide such overlapping arrangement with engaging member and spring since, as taught by Weber, such arranged allows for biasing the engaging members with the various cams/grooves to prevent backlash (Weber col. 3:10-20).
As to claim 4, Onda teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, but doesn’t specify at least a part of the biasing member overlaps with the first engaging member or the second engaging member in a radial direction.
In the same field of endeavor Weber teaches providing lens barrels with engaging members (Weber Fig. 1 - 21, 22, 23; Fig. 2a - 21, 22, 23, 31, 32) and a biasing member (Weber Fig. 2a - 331, 332) where the biasing member overlaps with a part of the first engaging member or the second engaging member in a radial direction direction (Weber Fig. 2a - springs (331, 332) overlapping in a radial direction (up/down) with engaging member (21, 23)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to provide such overlapping arrangement with engaging member and spring since, as taught by Weber, such arranged allows for biasing the engaging members with the various cams/grooves to prevent backlash (Weber col. 3:10-20).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Iwasaki et al. (US 12,313,901); Konishi (US 11,586,003; 2021/0223502); Nagaoka (US 12,066,687; 2022/0075140); Omiya (US 6,094,534); Coath (US 5,818,648); Weis (US 4,322,151); Sawahata (JP 2013-257369); Toma (JP 2010-066633); Oya (JP 2008-020488) are cited as additional examples of optical devices with elastic members/springs to prevent backlash between lens holders/barrels.
/ZACHARY W WILKES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872 February 4, 2026