Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/15/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Applicant’s arguments for the USC § 102 rejection of claim 1, Applicant argues on pgs. 10-11 of the Remarks,
“Applicant asserts Sue does not disclose the features: if the unilateral and bilateral head-shoulder difference of the human body is greater than the first angle and between the second angle and the third angle, determining whether a reflection amount of a relative area of a head and shoulders is within a preset value; if the reflection amount of the relative area of the head and shoulders is within the preset value, sampling movement trajectories of a head and shoulder difference of the human body within the preset value; and determining the number of people based on the sampled movement trajectories…
…Relatively, the [Applicant’s] invention determines whether a reflection amount of a relative area of a head and shoulders is within a preset value, samples movement trajectories of a head and shoulder difference of the human body within the preset value and determines the number of people based on the sampled movement trajectories. Thus, it can be seen the determination of the reflection amount of the relative area of the head and shoulders, the sampling of the movement trajectories of the head and shoulder difference and the determination of the number of people based on the sampled movement trajectories are not disclosed by Sue.”
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Su discloses measurement values not meeting a set threshold as being considered not credible. See Su pg. 11, paragraph 1,
“If the detection is unsuccessful, that is, the values returned by all the detectors are null, or the reliability is lower than the set threshold, it is not credible.”
The detection values here are reflection values for the mm-Wave radar detection. Su discloses determining if a reflection value is within a preset value. Regarding the claim language of claim 1, “if the unilateral and bilateral head-shoulder difference of the human body is greater than the first angle and between the second angle and the third angle” (emphasis added), the language of “if” makes this a contingent clause, meaning this step is not required for the claimed invention to perform. See MPEP 2111.04, “The broadest reasonable interpretation of a method (or process) claim having contingent limitations requires only those steps that must be performed and does not include steps that are not required to be performed because the condition(s) precedent are not met.”. The invention of Su discloses a method and system capable of carrying out this method step of Applicant’s claim 1, regardless of whether or not the condition is met. See 102 rejection of claim 1 included later in this office action for detailed citations from Su.
Regarding sampling movement trajectories, Su further discloses continuing to measure the position of a person in the room within the set threshold value. See Su pg. 11, paragraph 1. It is reasonable to believe that the invention of Su could monitor the movement trajectory of a person within the preset value mentioned in the previous paragraph. Su teaches that determining the number of people based on the sampled movement trajectories is a known process in the art. See Su pg. 4, paragraph 6,
“At present, most of the millimeter-wave spatial positioning technologies focus on the indoor trajectory of people, such as the use of millimeter-wave TDOA algorithm and Kalman filter for indoor human body static and dynamic positioning [1], and the research on indoor pedestrian positioning trajectory [1]. 2], the human body motion trajectory detection system based on FMCW radar [3], but at present, the millimeter-wave radar is mainly used to locate the human trajectory, and the posture of the human body cannot be located. On the other hand, there is also a human body 3D imaging technology based on millimeter-wave radar, such as using millimeter-wave technology to perform 3D imaging modeling of the human body during security inspections [4], but the 3D reconstruction of this method needs to be completed in a fixed point and cannot be The action of the human body is done in real time. This application proposes a modeling method for real-time positioning and real-time calculation of the real-time posture profile of the target person indoors”
For at least these reasons, Examiner is unpersuaded and maintains previous rejections corresponding to the USC § 102 rejection. The same cited sections and rationale are applied to independent claims 6 and 11. Therefore, the Examiner asserts that Su (CN 115407320 A) discloses each and every limitation of independent claims 1, 6, and 11 based on the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5, 6, 10, 11, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Su (CN 115407320 A).
Regarding claim 1, Su discloses [Note: the corresponding cited sections from Su can be found in English translation of Su patent, included in this office action as NPL]
A personnel detection method via millimeter-wave (mmWave) radars executable by an electronic device (see pg. 5, paragraph 4, “The technical solution of the present invention is: an indoor human body space positioning…recognition method, a recognition system is installed indoors, and the recognition system is composed of a detector, including a hotspot millimeter wave radar and a detection millimeter wave radar…”), comprising:
activating a mmWave radar to emit radar waves to scan an indoor area (see pg. 5, paragraph 5, “First, the hotspot millimeter-wave radar set on the top of the room detects in real time whether there are people in the room and the space range where the person is located”);
determining whether a bilateral head-shoulder difference of a human body is within a first angle (see Fig. 4; pg. 6, paragraph 2, angle information of the human body can be determined from spatial data of the target’s head and two shoulders);
if the bilateral head-shoulder difference of the human body is within the first angle, determining whether a unilateral and bilateral head-shoulder difference of the human body is greater than the first angle and between a second angle and a third angle (see pg. 11, paragraph 2, “the present invention further corrects the angle values calculated by the key points in real time. Specifically, it is the correction of the original angle estimates of the three key points of the head and shoulders. The source of the correction is the calculated angle value of the human body posture. The angle information calculated from the three key points is fed back to the three key points, and the original angle estimation values of the three key points are corrected, so that the angle estimation values of the key points are synchronized with the angle values of the human body posture”);
if the unilateral and bilateral head-shoulder difference of the human body is greater than the first angle and between the second angle and the third angle, determining whether a reflection amount of a relative area of a head and shoulders is within a preset value (see pg. 11, paragraph 1, method includes determining if measured values meet a set threshold, “If the detection is unsuccessful, that is, the values returned by all the detectors are null, or the reliability is lower than the set threshold, it is not credible.”);
if the reflection amount of the relative area of the head and shoulders is within the preset value, sampling movement trajectories of a head and shoulder difference of the human body within the preset value (see pg. 11, paragraph 1, detector continues to scan for body position depending on threshold value); and
determining the number of people based on the sampled movement trajectories (see pg. 5, paragraph 8, the invention can use “detectors to realize real-time and precise positioning of indoor target people”; pg. 4, paragraph 6, determining indoor trajectory of people).
Regarding claim 5, Su further discloses
The method of claim 1, wherein the step of determining whether the unilateral and bilateral head-shoulder difference of the human body further comprises:
calculating a distance set
d
h
=min(d₁, d₂, ...) to get h points (see pg. 7, paragraph 2, distance between radar and target can be determined);
determining whether there are emission points, (
d
h
+(the first distance))<
d
s
,<(
d
h
+(a third distance)), distributed on one side or both sides of the h points within a fifth angle around the h points (see pg. 6, paragraph 2, detector can detect multiple angles of target);
if the emission points are distributed on both sides of the h points, defining the emission points as dₛₗ and dₛᵣ;
if the emission points are distributed on one sides of the h points, defining the emission points as
d
s
; and
determining combinations of
d
h
and both dₛₗ and dₛᵣ or
d
h
and dₛ as the human body (see pg. 5, paragraph 6, recognition model can determine if there’s a human body based on measured values).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4, 7-9, and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Su (CN 115407320 A) in view of Chung et al. (US 20250229739 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Su further discloses [Note: what Su fails to disclose is strike-through]
The method of claim 1, wherein the step of determining whether the bilateral head-shoulder difference of the human body further comprises:
calculating a distance set
d
h
1
=min(d₁, d₂, …,
d
i
) to get h1 points and defining a distance
d
h
between the head and the mmWave radar (see pg. 6, paragraph 2, radar device can determine head position of target; pg. 7, paragraph 2, distance between radar and target can be determined), wherein h indicates the head, i indicates a testing frequency, and indicate a plurality of mmWave radar signals (see pg. 5, last paragraph, system can use multiple frequencies and signals);
determining whether there are emission points, (
d
h
1
+(a first distance))<
d
s
<(
d
h
1
+(a second distance)), distributed on both sides of the h1 points within a fourth angle around the h1 points (see pg. 6, paragraph 2, detector can detect multiple angles of target); and
if there are emission points distributed on both sides of the h1 points within the fourth angle around the h1 points, defining distances from the mmWave radar to the h1 points as
d
s
l
1
and dₛᵣ₁ respectively, thereby determining that the h1 points and an area surrounding the fourth angle of the h1 points are the human body (see pg. 5, paragraph 6, recognition model can determine if there’s a human body based on measured values).
Chung discloses
calculating a distance dₛ between the shoulder and the mmWave radar, where s indicates the shoulder (see Fig. 6; pg. 3, paragraph 0055, the radar sensor can detect the distance to the shoulder and upper body of the torso);
It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features as disclosed by Chung into the invention of Su. Both Su and Chung are considered analogous arts to the claimed invention as they both disclose radar sensors for human body measurement and detection, including head and shoulders. Su discloses finding a distance between a target head and the radar, determining emission points within an angle, and determining the presence of a human body; however, Su fails to disclose calculating a distance between the shoulder and the radar. This feature is disclosed by Chung where the distance from the top of the torso to the radar can be calculated. The combination of Su and Chung would be obvious with a reasonable expectation of success in order to improve accuracy of target detection, allowing for confirmation that the distance from head to radar and shoulder to radar is a reasonable for a human body.
Regarding claim 3, Su further discloses
The method of claim 2, wherein the step of determining whether the bilateral head-shoulder difference of the human body further comprises:
discovering emission points based on
d
h
2
=min(d₁, d₂, …,
d
i
) outside a range of the fourth angle of the hl points (see pg. 5, paragraph 4, device can scan a room in addition to scanning a detected space range);
determining whether there are emission points, (
d
h
2
+(the first distance))<
d
s
<(
d
h
2
+(the second distance)), distributed on both sides of h2 points within the fourth angle around h2 points (see pg. 6, paragraph 2, detector can detect multiple angles of target); and
if there are emission points distributed on both sides of the h2 points within the fourth angle around the h2 points, defining distances from the mmWave radar to the h2 points as
d
s
l
2
and
d
s
r
2
respectively, thereby determining that the h2 points and an area surrounding the fourth angle of the h2 points are the human body (see pg. 5, paragraph 6, recognition model can determine if there’s a human body based on measured values; pg. 5, paragraph 9, human body detection can be used for multiple subjects when multiple people are in a room).
Regarding claim 4, Su further discloses
The method of claim 3, wherein the first angle is 15°, the second angle is 31°, the third angle is 120°, the fourth angle is 15°, the first distance is 15 millimeters, and the second distance is 30 millimeters (see pg. 5, paragraph 4, the angles can vary as the sensors detect 6 degrees of freedom; pg. 7, paragraph 2, the distance can vary depending on the position of the detector).
Regarding claims 6-10, the same cited sections and rationale for claims 1-5 are applied. The only difference between claims 1-5 and claims 6-10 is that claims 1-5 refer to a method while claims 6-10 refer to an apparatus. The examiner considers Su pg. 5, paragraph 3, to show that the radar apparatus performs the radar method of claims 1-5.
Regarding claims 11-15, the same cited sections and rationale from claims 1-5 are applied. The only difference between claims 1-5 and claims 11-15 is that claims 1-5 refer to a method while claims 11-15 refer to an apparatus. The examiner considers Su pg. 5, paragraph 3, to show that the radar apparatus performs the radar method of claims 1-5.
Additional Relevant Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure and may be found on the accompanying PTO-892 Notice of References Cited:
Katabi et al. (US 20190188533 A1); A method for pose recognition includes storing parameters for configuration of an automated pose recognition system for detection of a pose of a subject represented in a radio frequency input signal. The parameters having been determined by a first process including accepting training data including a number of images including poses of subjects and a corresponding number of radio frequency signals and executing a parameter training procedure to determine the parameters. The parameter training procedure including, receiving features characterizing the poses in each of the images, and determining the parameters that configure the automated pose recognition system to match the features characterizing the poses from the corresponding radio frequency signals.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ISABELLA A EDRADA/Examiner, Art Unit 3648
/BERNARR E GREGORY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3648