Notice of AIA Status
DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 7-10, 14 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sung et al. , hereinafter, Sung104 (US 2021/0100104 A1).
Regarding independent claim 1: Sung104 teaches (e.g., Fig. 3) a semiconductor package comprising:
a wiring structure ([0035]-[0038] and [0042]: 122) having an alternating structure of at least one first wiring layer ([0035]-[0038]: 122a) and at least one first insulating layer ([0035]-[0038]: 121a);
a semiconductor chip ([0042]: 310) overlapping the wiring structure in a stacking direction of the wiring structure;
a second insulating layer ([0034]: 111) overlapping the wiring structure in the stacking direction of the wiring structure and including a cavity ([0034] and [0040]: inner portion 111H);
an inductor ([0040]: 200A) in the cavity and electrically connected to the semiconductor chip (310);
a lead-out pillar ([0040]: 113a1) extending from one surface of the inductor facing the wiring structure, and electrically connecting the inductor (200A) and the semiconductor chip (310); and
an encapsulant ([0034], [0057]: 210/241/242) encapsulating the inductor,
wherein the inductor includes an insulating body ([0055] and [0062]: 220/210) and a coil portion ([0040]: 231/232) disposed in the insulating body (220/210),
the coil portion configured to output a magnetic field in a direction ([0040]: the coil portion 231/232 is capable of output a magnetic field in a direction; the wiring is wrapping around a core portion that produces a magnetic field in the horizontal direction) different from the stacking direction of the wiring structure ([0035]-[0038]: the stacking direction of 122a and 122c are stacked in the vertical direction different from the horizontal direction), and
wherein a first region on one surface of the insulating body (Fig. 3 and Fig. 5: [0055] and [0062]: 220/210) using the left side coils 232, the right side portion) facing the wiring structure and not overlapping the lead-out pillar ([0040]: 113a1) is in direct contact with the encapsulant or the at least one first insulating layer ([0055] and [0062]: 220/210).
Regarding claim 2: Sung104 teaches the claim limitation of the semiconductor package of claim 1, on which this claim depends,
wherein an area of the first region (Fig. 3 and Fig. 5: [0055] and [0062]: 220/210) using the left side coils 232, the right portion) is greater than an area of a second region (Fig. 3 and Fig. 5: [0055] and [0062]: 220/210) using the left side coils 232, the left side portion) on the one surface of the insulating body (220/210) and overlapping the lead-out pillar (113a1).
Regarding claim 3: Sung104 teaches the claim limitation of the semiconductor package of claim 1, on which this claim depends,
wherein the lead-out pillar ([0040]: 113a1) extends from a position laterally offset from a center of the one surface of the insulating body ([0055] and [0062]: 220/210).
Regarding claim 4: Sung104 teaches the claim limitation of the semiconductor package of claim 1, on which this claim depends,
wherein a portion of the lead-out pillar ([0040]: 113a1) passes through a portion of the encapsulant ([0034], [0057]: 210/241/242), and a different portion of the lead-out pillar passes through the at least one first insulating layer (121a).
Regarding claim 7: Sung104 teaches the claim limitation of the semiconductor package of claim 1, on which this claim depends,
wherein the at least one first wiring layer includes a plurality of first wiring layers ([0035]: 122a and 122b), and the at least one first insulating layer includes a plurality of first insulating layers ([0034] and [0036]: 121a and 121b), and
the second insulating layer (111) is between upper and lower portions of the plurality of first wiring layers (122a and 122b) and is between upper and lower portions of the plurality of first insulating layers (121a and 121b).
Regarding claim 8: Sung104 teaches the claim limitation of the semiconductor package of claim 7, on which this claim depends,
wherein a thickness of the second insulating layer (111) is greater than a thickness of each of the plurality of first insulating layers (121a and 121b).
Regarding claim 9: Sung104 teaches the claim limitation of the semiconductor package of claim 7, on which this claim depends, further comprising:
an additional lead-out pillar ([0040]: 113b1) extending from the other surface of the insulating body of the inductor opposing the one surface of the insulating body of the inductor from which the lead-out pillar extends (113a1),
wherein the lead-out pillar (113a1) and the additional lead-out pillar (113b1) extend in opposite directions at positions laterally offset from centers of the one surface and another surface of the insulating body ([0055] and [0062]: 220/210), respectively.
Regarding claim 10: Sung104 teaches the claim limitation of the semiconductor package of claim 1, on which this claim depends,
wherein the second insulating layer (111) provides an additional cavity, and another semiconductor chip ([0042]: 310) is disposed in the additional cavity.
Regarding claim 14: Sung104 teaches the claim limitation of the semiconductor package of claim 1, on which this claim depends,
wherein the insulating body comprises magnetic powder particles ([0060]) and an insulating resin ([0061]-[0062]).
Regarding independent claim 20: Sung104 teaches (e.g., Fig. 3) a semiconductor package comprising:
a wiring structure ([0035]-[0038] and [0042]: 122a) having an alternating structure of at least one first wiring layer ([0035]-[0038]: 122a) and at least one first insulating layer ([0035]-[0038]: 121A);
a semiconductor chip ([0042]: 310) overlapping the wiring structure in a stacking direction of the wiring structure;
a second insulating layer ([0034]: 111) overlapping the wiring structure in the stacking direction of the wiring structure and including a cavity ([0034] and [0040]: inner portion 111H);
an inductor ([0040]: 200A) in the cavity and electrically connected to the semiconductor chip (310);
a lead-out pillar ([0040]: 113a1) extending from one surface of the inductor facing the wiring structure and electrically connecting the inductor (200A) and the semiconductor chip;
an additional lead-out pillar ([0040]: 113b1) extending from one surface of an insulating body of the inductor opposing another surface of the insulating body of the inductor; and
an encapsulant ([0034], [0057]: 210/241/242) encapsulating the inductor,
wherein the inductor includes the insulating body ([0055] and [0062]: 220/210), and a coil portion ([0040]: 231/232) in the insulating body,
the coil portion configured to output a magnetic field ([0040]: the coil portion 231/232 is capable of output a magnetic field in a direction; the wiring is wrapping around a core portion that produces a magnetic field in the horizontal direction) in a direction different from the stacking direction of the wiring structure (vertical direction), the at least one first wiring layer includes a plurality of first wiring layers ([0035]-[0038]: 122a and 122b),
the at least one first insulating layer includes a plurality of first insulating layers ([0035]-[0038]: 121a and 121b);
a first portion of the lead-out pillar ([0040]: 113a1) and a first portion of the additional lead-out pillar ([0040]: 113b1) pass through a portion of the encapsulant ([0034], [0057]: 210/241/242),
a second portion of the lead-out pillar (upper portion of 113a1) and a second portion of the additional lead-out pillar (lower portion of 113b1) pass through upper and lower portions of the plurality of first insulating layers (121a and 121b), respectively,
the first portion (closer portion) of the lead-out pillar (113a) and the first portion of the additional lead-out pillar (113b1) being different from the second portion (further portion) of the lead-out pillar (113a1) and the second portion of the additional lead-out pillar (113b1), respectively, and
the lead-out pillar (113a1) and the additional lead-out pillar (13b1) extend in opposite directions (upward and downward, respectively) at positions laterally offset from centers of the another surface and the one surface of the insulating body (220/210), respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sung et al. , hereinafter, Sung104 (US 2021/0100104 A1) in view of Zhao et al. (US 2015/0302974 A1).
Regarding claim 5: Sung104 teaches the claim limitation of the semiconductor package of claim 4, on which this claim depends,
wherein the wiring structure comprises wiring vias ([0036] and [0050]: 123a/123c) connected to the at least one first wiring layer and passing through the at least one first insulating layer ([0035]-[0038]: 121a).
Sung104 does not expressly teach that a width of the portion of the lead-out pillar passing through the portion of the encapsulant is greater than a width of each of the wiring vias.
Zhao teaches (e.g., Fig. 8A) a semiconductor package comprising a lead-out pillar ([0034]-[0035]: lead pillar directly contacting inductor 830) and wiring vias ([0034]-[0035]: 832 of wiring located in layers 824);
Zhao further teaches that a width of the portion of the lead-out pillar ([0034]-[0035]: lead pillar directly contacting inductor 830) passing through the portion of an encapsulant ([0034]-[0035]: 820) is greater than a width of each of the wiring vias ([0034]-[0035]: 832 of wiring located in layers 824).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the semiconductor package comprising a lead-out pillar, wherein the width of the portion of the lead-out pillar passing through the portion of the encapsulant is greater than a width of each of the wiring vias, as taught by Zhao, for the benefits of increasing the contact areas of the lead-out pillar to the inductor, thus reducing contact resistance and improving the signal speed to the inductor.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sung et al., hereinafter, Sung104 (US 2021/0100104 A1) in view of Bhagavat et al. (US 2020/0312766 A1).
Regarding claim 6: Sung104 teaches the claim limitation of the semiconductor package of claim 1, on which this claim depends,
Sung104 does not expressly teach that the semiconductor chip comprises a voltage regulator.
Bhagavat teaches (e.g., Fig. 2) a semiconductor chip comprising a voltage regulator ([0054]: 192).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the semiconductor package comprising a voltage regulator, as taught by Bhagavat, for the benefit of regulating the voltage of the integrated circuit and reduce volage spikes that could damage the device circuits, and thus improve device reliability.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sung et al., hereinafter, Sung104 (US 2021/0100104 A1) in view of Kang et al. (US 2019/0333837 A1).
Regarding claim 11: Sung104 teaches the claim limitation of the semiconductor package of claim 1, on which this claim depends, further comprising:
an additional semiconductor chip ([0041]: 320) electrically connected to the at least one first wiring layer (122a).
Sung104 does not expressly teach an interposer between the semiconductor chip and the wiring structure and between the additional semiconductor chip and the wiring structure.
Kang teaches (e.g., Fig. 9) a semiconductor package comprising
an interposer ([0089]: 210) between an additional semiconductor chip ([0098]: 224) and a wiring structure ([0079]: 142a).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include in the semiconductor package of Sung104, the interposer between the additional semiconductor chip and the wiring structure, as taught by Kang for the benefits of increasing the stacking density of the integrated circuit, thus increasing the functions of the device due to integration of a plurality of diverse chips on the same substrate.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sung et al., hereinafter, Sung104 (US 2021/0100104 A1) in view of Dosluoglu (US 2016/0233192 A1).
Regarding claim 12: Sung104 teaches the claim limitation of the semiconductor package of claim 1, on which this claim depends, further comprising:
Sung104 does not expressly teach an additional inductor in the cavity, wherein the inductor and the additional inductor are configured to output magnetic fields in a same direction.
Dosluoglu teaches (e.g., Figs. 1-5) a semiconductor package comprising an inductor ([0029]: 119a) in a cavity (cavity inside 113);
Dosluoglu further teaches an additional inductor ([0029]: 119b) in a cavity ([0020] and [0022]: cavity inside 113 for inductors),
wherein the inductor ([0029]: 119a) and the additional inductor ([0029]: 119b) is configured to output magnetic fields in a same direction ([0029]: inductor and additional inductor have the same structure and orientation; thus, they are configured to output magnetic fields in a same direction).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include in the device of Sung104, the additional inductor in the cavity, wherein the inductor and the additional inductor are configured to output magnetic fields in a same direction, as taught by Dosluoglu, for the benefits of increasing the magnetic strength of the inductive structure and thus increasing the voltage regulator efficiency.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sung et al., hereinafter, Sung104 (US 2021/0100104 A1) in view of Kim et al. (US 2020/0286819 A1).
Regarding claim 13: Sung104 teaches the claim limitation of the semiconductor package of claim 1, on which this claim depends, further comprising:
Sung104 does not expressly teach a conductive support layer directly contacting another surface of the insulating body opposing the one surface of the insulating body from which the lead-out pillar extends,
the conductive support layer directly contacting the second insulating layer.
However, Sung104 teaches that the insulating body and the second insulating layer are coplanar (Fig. 3).
Kim teaches (e.g., Fig. 2) a semiconductor package comprising
a conductive support layer ([0041]: portion of structure 241 not connected to interconnect, that is the floating portion);
Kim further teaches that the conductive support layer ([0041]: portion of structure 241 not connected to interconnect, that is the floating portion) is directly contacting a second insulating layer ([0050]: 21).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include in the device of Sung104, the conductive support layer directly contacting the second insulating layer, as taught by Kim, for the benefits of reinforcing the rigidity of the core substrate and thus avoid mechanical damage to the device, this in turn, improving the device reliability.
Since, Sung104 teaches that the insulating body and the second insulating layer are coplanar, Sung104 as modified by Kim, teaches that the conductive support layer directly contacting another surface of the insulating body opposing the one surface of the insulating body from which the lead-out pillar extends, the conductive support layer directly contacting the second insulating layer, because the conductive support layer of Kim being in direct contact with the second insulating layer, would necessarily be in direct contact with the insulating body, which is coplanar with the second insulating layer, of Sung104. The requirement of the claimed limitation, is thus met, for the benefits, mentioned above.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sung et al. , hereinafter, Sung104 (US 2021/0100104 A1) in view of Sung et al., hereinafter Sung021 (US 10,842,021 B1).
Regarding claim 15: Sung104 teaches the claim limitation of the semiconductor package of claim 1, on which this claim depends,
wherein the coil portion comprises a first coil pattern (Fig. 3 and Fig. 5; left side coil pattern 231) and a second coil pattern (Fig. 3 and Fig. 5; right side coil pattern 232), and the inductor further comprises
a support member ([0055]: Figs. 4-7; #220) between the first coil pattern and the second coil pattern, and
a coil via ([0062]: 220H) passing through the support member
and in each of the first and second coil patterns, a thickness T1 is greater than a width W1 (Fig. 4; the thickness is in the third direction and the width in the second direction).
Sung104 does not expressly teach that a coil via passing through the support member and electrically connecting the first coil pattern and the second coil pattern.
Sung021 teaches (e.g., Figs. 5-6) a semiconductor package comprising a coil via (Col. 11. Lines 16-26: #112V) electrically connecting the first and second coil patterns (Col. 11. Lines 16-26: 112A and 112B respectively).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include in the first coil pattern and second coil pattern, the coil via electrically connecting the first and second coil patterns, as taught by Sung021, for the benefits of increasing the inductance of the device and energy efficiency, including reducing energy losses and improving energy delivery.
Claims 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sung et al., hereinafter, Sung104 (US 2021/0100104 A1) in view of Bharath et al. (US 2021/0098436 A1).
Regarding claim 16: Sung104 teaches the claim limitation of the semiconductor package of claim 1, on which this claim depends,
wherein the insulating body (Figs. 3-4; [0040]) has a first surface and a second surface (top and bottom surfaces respectively) facing the wiring structure and opposing each other,
a third surface and a fourth surface (left side and right side surfaces respectively) facing the second insulating layer and opposing each other, and
a fifth surface and a sixth surface (front side and back side surfaces; corresponding to first direction as shown in Fig. 3) facing the second insulating layer and opposing each other.
Sung does not expressly teach that a distance (Z1) between the first surface and the second surface is greater than a distance (Y1) between the third surface and the fourth surface, is greater than a distance (X1) between the fifth surface and the sixth surface, and is greater than a thickness (Z2) of the second insulating layer.
Bharath teaches (e.g., Figs. 1-3B) a semiconductor package comprising an inductor ([0030], [0033]-[0044]: PTH used for the inductor, see [0030])
a distance (Z1) between a first surface and the second surface (top and bottom surfaces respectively) is greater than a distance (Y1) between the third surface and the fourth surface (left side and right side surfaces respectively), is greater than a distance (X1) between the fifth surface and the sixth surface (front side and back side surfaces; corresponding to first direction as shown in Fig. 3B), and is greater than a thickness (Z2) of the second insulating layer ([0031]-[0032]: 108; inductor is taller than the second insulating layer).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to adjust the dimensions of the inductor of Sung, such that it includes the dimensions of the inductor of Bharath, for the benefits of conforming to the electromagnetic constraints of the device and avoid possible magnetic interferences of the device in operation.
Regarding independent claim 17: Sung104 teaches (e.g., Fig. 3) a semiconductor package comprising:
a wiring structure ([0035]-[0038]: 122a) having an alternating structure of at least one first wiring layer ([0035]-[0038]: 122a) and at least one first insulating layer ([0035]-[0038]: 121a);
a semiconductor chip ([0042]: 310) overlapping the wiring structure in a stacking direction of the wiring structure;
a second insulating layer ([0034]: 111) overlapping the wiring structure in the stacking direction of the wiring structure and including a cavity ([0034] and [0040]: inner portion 111H);
an inductor ([0040]: 200A) in the cavity and electrically connected to the semiconductor chip (310);
and a lead-out pillar ([0040]: 113a1) extending from one surface of the inductor facing the wiring structure and electrically connecting the inductor (200A) and the semiconductor chip (310),
wherein the inductor includes an insulating body ([0055] and [0062]: 220/210) and a coil portion ([0040]: 231/232) in the insulating body,
wherein the insulating body (Figs. 3-4; [0040]) has a first surface and a second surface (top and bottom surfaces respectively) facing the wiring structure and opposing each other,
a third surface and a fourth surface (left side and right-side surfaces respectively) facing the second insulating layer and opposing each other, and
a fifth surface and a sixth surface (front side and back side surfaces; corresponding to first direction as shown in Fig. 3) facing the second insulating layer and opposing each other.
Sung does not expressly teach that a distance (Z1) between the first surface and second surface is greater than a distance (Y1) between the third surface and fourth surface, is greater than a distance (X1) between the fifth surface and the sixth surface, and is greater than a thickness (Z2) of the second insulating layer.
Bharath teaches (e.g., Figs. 1-3B) a semiconductor package comprising an inductor ([0030], [0033]-[0044]: PTH used for the inductor, see [0030])
a distance (Z1) between a first surface and the second surface (top and bottom surfaces respectively) is greater than a distance (Y1) between the third surface and the fourth surface (left side and right side surfaces respectively), is greater than a distance (X1) between the fifth surface and the sixth surface (front side and back side surfaces; corresponding to first direction as shown in Fig. 3B), and is greater than a thickness (Z2) of the second insulating layer ([0031]-[0032]: 108; inductor is taller than the second insulating layer).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to adjust the dimensions of the inductor of Sung, such that it includes the dimensions of the inductor of Bharath, for the benefits of conforming to the electromagnetic constraints of the device and avoid possible magnetic interferences of the device in operation.
Claims 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sung et al., hereinafter, Sung104 (US 2021/0100104 A1) in view of Bharath et al. (US 2021/0098436 A1) as applied above and further in view of in view of Sung et al., hereinafter Sung021 (US 10,842,021 B1).
Regarding claim 18: Sung104 and Bharath teach the claim limitation of the semiconductor package of claim 17, on which this claim depends,
wherein the insulating body comprises magnetic powder particles ([0061]-[0062]) and an insulating resin ([0061]-[0062]),
the coil portion comprises a first coil pattern (Fig. 3 and Fig. 5; left side coil pattern 231) and a second coil pattern (Fig. 3 and Fig. 5; right side coil pattern 232),
a thickness T1 of each of the first coil pattern and the second coil pattern (Fig. 3 and Fig. 5; left side coil 231 and right-side coil pattern 232) being greater than a width W1 thereof (Fig. 4; the thickness is in the third direction and the width in the second direction), and
the inductor further comprises, a support member ([0055]: Figs. 4-7; #220) between the first and second coil patterns.
Sung104 does not expressly teach
a coil via passing through the support member and electrically connecting the first coil pattern and the second coil pattern.
Sung021 teaches (e.g., Figs. 5-6) a semiconductor package comprising a coil via (Col. 11. Lines 16-26: #112V) electrically connecting the first coil pattern and the second coil pattern (Col. 11. Lines 16-26: 112A and 112B respectively).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include in the first coil pattern and second coil pattern, the coil via electrically connecting the first coil pattern and second coil pattern, as taught by Sung021, for the benefits of increasing the inductance of the device and energy efficiency, including reducing energy losses and improving energy delivery.
Regarding claim 19: Sung104, Bharath and Sung021 teach the claim limitation of the semiconductor package of claim 18, on which this claim depends, further comprising:
an additional lead-out pillar ([0040]: 113b1) extending from one surface of the insulating body ([0055] and [0062]: 220/210) of the inductor opposing another surface of the insulating body of the inductor from which the lead-out pillar extends (113a1),
wherein the lead-out pillar (112a1) and the additional lead-out pillar (113b1) extend in opposite directions at positions laterally offset from centers of another surface and the one surface of the insulating body (220/210), respectively,
the at least one first wiring layer includes
a plurality of first wiring layers ([0035]: 122a and 122b), the at least one first insulating layer includes a plurality of first insulating layers ([0034] and [0036]: 121a and 121b),
the second insulating layer is between upper and lower portions of the plurality of first wiring layers (122a and 122b), and is between upper and lower portions of the plurality of first insulating layers (121a and 121b), and
a thickness of the second insulating layer (111) is greater than a thickness of each of the plurality of first insulating layers (121a and 121b).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 07/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argued that Sung104 does not teach that the coil portion is configured to output a magnetic field in a direction different from the stacking direction of the wiring structure.
Examiner respectfully disagree with Applicant’s statement. The coil portion is capable of outputting magnetic field in a direction different from the stacking direction of the wiring structure.
The term configured to is interpreted as meaning being capable of; in addition, the magnetic field is only output during the operation of the coil portion; since the claim is drawn to a device structure; therefore, the method of the coil portion is not the focus and, thus, not subject to patentability in a device structure claim.
Therefore, Examiner is not precluded to use the Sung104 reference to reject the device structure as claimed, unless the physical layer of the coil portion is positively claimed.
Even though, Applicant’s argument shows the layout of the coil in the Sung104 reference, the desired layout of the was not claimed.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HERVE-LOUIS Y ASSOUMAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2812