Claims 1, 3-8, 10-15,17-23 are presented for examination.
DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6,13, 20, 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
1. Claims 6, 13, 20, 22 recites the limitation " the multiple sets of non-reference power control parameters ”, " the reference power control parameter” . There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 22, 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (1) as being anticipated by Begin et.al. (U.S Patent Application Publication 2015/0031326; hereinafter “Begin” ; Reference cited as prior art in previous office action)].
Regarding claim 22, Begin discloses, A control method, comprising:
acquiring first-type operation data of at least one target component in an electronic device[ “A processor executing the user experience software may also utilize dynamic resource usage data collected during normal operations of the mobile device. The user experience may continually and/or periodically record usage data occurring during the existence of particular circumstances (e.g., certain applications are executing on the mobile device). The usage data may include information about the resources/hardware components that are presently being used by the mobile device. “, 0035; “The aggregator component 114 may also receive signals 156 from hardware, software and/or firmware components 118 in the mobile device. These signals 156 may include various resource usage information, such as identifiers of hardware blocks that request power during a particular operation (or executing app), digital power meter readings that may indicate heavy usage of hardware (e.g., status of power consumptions budgets for particular hardware), and/or device temperature readings (e.g., a processor temperature increases quickly during the execution of a particular app, etc.)..”, 0041; ( i.e acquiring various types of resource usage data( power meter readings, temperature etc) of the components being used by the device. The resource usage data corresponds to the first-type operation data)], and response information of the electronic device to an interactive operation [ “.., the processor may monitor for user input that selects a new active foreground application (or app). For example, the processor may continually or periodically listen for messages from the HLOS (e.g., interrupts, etc.) that correspond to a user touching an app icon on a touchscreen. In an aspect, a plurality of applications (or apps) may be executing on the foreground of the mobile device at a given time, and one of the plurality of apps executing in the foreground may be active (e.g., the active app may be the app a user has begun interfacing with via a touchscreen). In determination block 804, the processor executing the user experience software may determine whether a new active application (or app) is selected..”, 0089; “If a new active app is selected (i.e., determination block 804="Yes"), the processor may identify an app ID for the selected app. For example, the processor may convert or translate a process identifier provided by the HLOS into an app ID. In block 808, the processor may match the identified app ID to an activity profile stored in a database. 0090; “(i.e. receiving an App id based on a user selecting a new app )];
determining a first operation mode of the electronic device based on the first-type operation data[0090], each operation mode corresponding to multiple sets of power control parameters[0026;0028], and different operation mode corresponding to at least one set of different power control parameters[0052; Fig.5] ;
determining adjustment information at least based on the response information, the adjustment information indicating whether the power control parameter of the electronic device needs to be increased[ 0045; 0080; 0089; Fig.7A, Fig.8]; and
based on the adjustment information, determining a set of power control parameters among the multiple sets of power control parameters as the current power control parameter of the electronic device[ 0029; 0064;0080;0087-0088] including:
if the adjustment information indicates that the power control parameters of the processor need to be increased, determining a second power control parameter among the multiple sets of non-reference power control parameters corresponding to the first operation mode as the current power control parameter of the electronic device[0026; 0080; Fig.7A;0084; 0086 -0087(i.e selecting a frequency/ non-reference parameter to increase when the battery power or temperature exceeds a threshold / reference parameter)];
wherein a maximum operating power consumption of the electronic device under the first power control parameter is smaller than a maximum operating power consumption of the electronic device under the reference power control parameter[0036;0080;0087], and a maximum operating power consumption of the electronic device under the second power control parameter is greater than the maximum operating power consumption of the electronic device under the reference power control parameter[0029;0084; 0087; 0090].
Claim recites the following contingent limitations:
i) “if the adjustment information indicates that there is no need to increase the power control parameters of a processor, determining a first power control parameter among the multiple sets of non-reference power control parameters corresponding to the first operation mode as the current power control parameter of the electronic device”;
ii) “if the adjustment information indicates that the power control parameters of the processor need to be increased, determining a second power control parameter among the multiple sets of non-reference power control parameters corresponding to the first operation mode as the current power control parameter of the electronic device”;
These limitations are contingent because they recite steps that are only required to be performed if their conditions precedent are met; Limitation i) need to be performed only if the adjustment information indicates that there is no need to increase the power control parameters of a processor, and limitation ii) only needs to be performed if the adjustment information indicates that the power control parameters of the processor need to be increased . These conditions are mutually exclusive, and therefore only one of limitations i) and ii) can be performed. Therefore, the Broadest Reasonable Interpretation (BRI) of claim 22 requires only one of either limitation i) or limitation ii) need to be performed .
Hence the Examiner rejects only the limitation ii) as set forth above and does not reject limitation i)[“ “if the adjustment information indicates that there is no need to increase the power control parameters of a processor, determining a first power control parameter among the multiple sets of non-reference power control parameters corresponding to the first operation mode as the current power control parameter of the electronic device”].
Regarding Claim 23, Begin discloses, A control method, comprising:
acquiring first-type operation data of at least one target component in an electronic device, [ “A processor executing the user experience software may also utilize dynamic resource usage data collected during normal operations of the mobile device. The user experience may continually and/or periodically record usage data occurring during the existence of particular circumstances (e.g., certain applications are executing on the mobile device). The usage data may include information about the resources/hardware components that are presently being used by the mobile device. “, 0035; “The aggregator component 114 may also receive signals 156 from hardware, software and/or firmware components 118 in the mobile device. These signals 156 may include various resource usage information, such as identifiers of hardware blocks that request power during a particular operation (or executing app), digital power meter readings that may indicate heavy usage of hardware (e.g., status of power consumptions budgets for particular hardware), and/or device temperature readings (e.g., a processor temperature increases quickly during the execution of a particular app, etc.)..”, 0041; ( i.e acquiring various types of resource usage data( power meter readings, temperature etc) of the components being used by the device. The resource usage data corresponds to the first-type operation)], and response information of the electronic device to an interactive operation [0089; 0090; “(i.e. receiving an App id based on a user selecting a new app )];
determining a matching first operation mode of the electronic device based on the first-type operation data[ 0090; Fig.8];
determining adjustment information at least based on the response information, the adjustment information indicating whether the power control parameter of the electronic device need to be increased [ 0080; Fig.7A];
determining a matching second operation mode of the electronic device based on the first operation mode and the adjustment information[ 0082;0086-0087], different operation modes corresponding to different power control parameters[ 0026-0028;0050];
acquiring a power control parameter corresponding to the second operation mode; controlling operating power consumption of the electronic device based on the power control parameter corresponding to the second operation mode[0086-0087]; and
if it is determined within a target duration that the operation mode of the electronic device is the first operation mode based on the first-type operation data of the at least one target component, adjusting the power control parameter of the electronic device to a power control parameter corresponding to the first operation mode[[ “ profiles associated with circumstances. For example, every period (e.g., millisecond(s), second(s), etc.), the processor may update a database of activity profiles to reflect current hardware and other resource usage in relation to circumstances, such as executing applications, time “, 0048; “the operating policy may be transmitted to a limits management software module that may re-balance operations (e.g., mitigation operations) based on the current user activities. The operating policy may configure the mobile device to prioritize one subscription/technology over another (e.g., voice over data), deactivate components (e.g., turn a camera unit "off"), and/or change the frequency (or processing frequency) of operations associated with various mobile device subsystems or components (e.g., configure a transceiver controller to search for access points at a slower/faster rate, configure a CPU/processing chip to slow down to decrease thermal output or power consumption, etc.). For example, using the operating policy, the limits management software may configure cellular networking subsystems to perform their operations at a lower frequency. In various aspects, the operating policy may be executed in part or not at all based on current operating conditions”, 0029; (i.e it is apparent to adjust the power control parameter to a different operation mode / operating policy , based on the activity profile / current circumstance determined within a period)];
wherein processing performance of the electronic device in the second operation mode is better than processing performance of the electronic device in the first operation mode[ 0029; 0084; 0087].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-8, 10-15, 17-19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Begin et.al. (U.S Patent Application Publication 2015/0031326; hereinafter “Begin” ; Reference cited as prior art in previous office action) in view of Des Jardins et.al. (U.S Patent Application Publication 2023/0224541; hereinafter “Des Jardins”; Reference cited in previous office action)
Regarding Claim 1, Begin discloses , A control method, comprising: acquiring first-type operation data of at least one target component in an electronic device, and response information of the electronic device to an interactive operation A control method, comprising:
acquiring first-type operation data of at least one target component in an electronic device[ “A processor executing the user experience software may also utilize dynamic resource usage data collected during normal operations of the mobile device. The user experience may continually and/or periodically record usage data occurring during the existence of particular circumstances (e.g., certain applications are executing on the mobile device). The usage data may include information about the resources/hardware components that are presently being used by the mobile device. “, 0035; “The aggregator component 114 may also receive signals 156 from hardware, software and/or firmware components 118 in the mobile device. These signals 156 may include various resource usage information, such as identifiers of hardware blocks that request power during a particular operation (or executing app), digital power meter readings that may indicate heavy usage of hardware (e.g., status of power consumptions budgets for particular hardware), and/or device temperature readings (e.g., a processor temperature increases quickly during the execution of a particular app, etc.)..”, 0041; ( i.e acquiring various types of resource usage data( power meter readings, temperature etc) of the components being used by the device. The resource usage data corresponds to the first-type operation)], and response information of the electronic device to an interactive operation [ “.., the processor may monitor for user input that selects a new active foreground application (or app). For example, the processor may continually or periodically listen for messages from the HLOS (e.g., interrupts, etc.) that correspond to a user touching an app icon on a touchscreen. In an aspect, a plurality of applications (or apps) may be executing on the foreground of the mobile device at a given time, and one of the plurality of apps executing in the foreground may be active (e.g., the active app may be the app a user has begun interfacing with via a touchscreen). In determination block 804, the processor executing the user experience software may determine whether a new active application (or app) is selected..”, 0089; “If a new active app is selected (i.e., determination block 804="Yes"), the processor may identify an app ID for the selected app. For example, the processor may convert or translate a process identifier provided by the HLOS into an app ID. In block 808, the processor may match the identified app ID to an activity profile stored in a database. 0090; “(i.e. receiving an App id based on a user selecting a new app )]; and
determine a matching operation mode of the electronic device [0031; 0040;“the processor may match the current circumstances to an activity profile stored in a database.”, 0059; “..match the identified app ID to an activity profile stored in a database. 0090 ; ( i.e. Processing the appID through the activity profile to match with the current circumstances ) ], and obtaining the power control parameter corresponding to the operation mode as a current power control parameter of the electronic device [ “..the processor may maintain the currently in-use operating policy (or a previous operating policy) and ignore the determined operating policy entirely, or alternatively manage resources using the determined operating policy with adjusted parameters that will not cause unwanted operating conditions.”, 0087;0052; “For example, the processor may perform a look-up operation using the app ID to retrieve the corresponding activity profile for the selected app. In block 810, the processor may obtain usage information from the activity profile matched to the selected app. In other words, the matching activity profile may include the resource usage information, such as expected battery usage/power consumption while executing the app..”, 0090;Fig.8 ( i.e. an operating policy based on an activity profile corresponds to an application with respective/ current circumstances, resource usage and power control parameters. The power consumption of the components are controlled based on the parameters retrieved from the implemented or previous operating policy. Hence a device operating with respect an operating policy corresponds to an operation mode with respective parameters.)] for controlling operating power consumption of the electronic device.[ “ ..an operating policy may implement a subscription/technology priority, a power consumption threshold, a thermal threshold, an activation/energized state (e.g., whether a camera is on or off at a given time, etc.), and a frequency for performing operations associated with a subsystem (e.g., a radio subsystem, etc.).”, 0026 ; ( i.e parameters to control power consumption) ; “ A processor executing the user experience software may implement the determined operating policy related to the activity profile, such as by providing rules, thresholds, or parameters to a limits management software (or engine)..”, 0028; “..The aggregator component 114 may associate received circumstance information received from the HLOS listener component ...”, 0042; 0045; “.. In block 206, the processor may determine an operating policy based on the aggregated usage information of the activity profile associated with the current circumstance.”, 0085; “..The processor may change the parameters, characteristics, or values of the determined operating policy. …. the processor may maintain the currently in-use operating policy (or a previous operating policy) and ignore the determined operating policy entirely, or alternatively manage resources using the determined operating policy with adjusted parameters that will not cause unwanted operating conditions.”, 0087-0088; Fig.7A (i.e. adjusting/ controlling parameters of the currently implemented Policy / rules set based on a new user activity and acquired resource usage and transmitting the new policy with adjusted parameters to limits management to control power consumption of the device)];
However, Begin does not expressly disclose processing the first-type operation data and/or the response information through a pre- trained prediction model to determine a matching operation mode of the electronic device.
In the same field of endeavor (e.g. reducing power consumption in a consumer device, based on predictive power management using machine learning), Des Jardins teaches,
processing the first-type operation data and/or the response information through a pre- trained prediction model to determine a matching operation mode of the electronic device [0010; “ input and output device components 7 of the media receiver 3 are provided as a plurality of discrete data processing units, referred to as minimum function units (MFUs) 9…For example, the MFUs 9 may be configured to respond to a received control instruction, for example to control power supply to the respective device component(s) 7, or configure one or more settings that cause an increase or decrease of power consumption by respective device components of the MFUs.”, 0029; “For example, the MCL 13 may be configured to process data measured by input device components 7, such as sensor and RCU interfaces. In the present embodiments, the MCL 13 uses a machine learning based device alertness state predictor 15 trained to process received input signals and predict a subsequent device alertness state. Each predicted device alertness state identifies one or more MFUs 9 (and/or individual device components 7) that together define an associated level of device alertness. For example, the predictor 15 may use a trained power optimization model 17 defining a hierarchical data structure of connected device alertness states, with conditional transitions therebetween based on one or more of the input signals. ..”, 0032; “the device alertness state predictor 15 is configured to predict the transition to a next device alertness state based on a comparison of input parameters to one or more transition conditions associated with a known or predicted current state. FIG. 5 is a block flow diagram showing exemplary data elements processed and generated by components of the MCL 13 to predict and control power supply to the MFUs 9. As shown, the device alertness state predictor 15 may receive a plurality of input data parameters 51, which are processed as input to the trained power optimization model 17, to output a predicted device alertness state 53. ..”0053];
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Begin with Des Jardins. Des Jardins teaching of reducing power consumption in a consumer device, based on predictive power management using machine learning will substantially improve Begin’s system to minimize the amount of power and network resources used while maximizing the responsiveness the users' predicted end goals and resource optimization by implementing dynamic self-learning to dynamically update and re-configure the power control model.
Regarding Claims 3, 10, 17, Begin discloses, determine the matching operation mode of the electronic device[0031;0041;0059;0090], and obtaining the power control parameter corresponding to the operation mode as the current power control parameter of the electronic device[0087-0088;0052;0090] for controlling operating power consumption of the electronic device [ 0026;0028;0044-0045;0052]comprises:
determining a matching operation mode of the electronic device, and obtaining the power control parameter corresponding to the operation mode as the current power control parameter of the electronic device at least based on the first-type operation data and the response information[ 0059; 0087; 0090] comprises:
determining a matching first operation mode of the electronic device based on the first-type operation data[ 0090; Fig.8];
determining adjustment information at least based on the response information, the adjustment information indicating whether the power control parameter of the electronic device need to be increased [ 0080; Fig.7A];
determining a matching second operation mode of the electronic device based on the first operation mode and the adjustment information[ 0082;0086-0087]; and
acquiring a power control parameter corresponding to the second operation mode, and determining the power control parameter corresponding to the second operation mode to be the current power control parameter of the electronic device[0086-0087], different operation modes corresponding to different power control parameters [ 0026-0028;0050] .
Des Jardins teaches, processing the first-type operation data and/or the response information through a pre- trained prediction model to determine a matching operation mode of the electronic device [0010, 0029,0032, 0053].
Regarding Claims 4, 11, 18, Begin discloses, determine the matching operation mode of the electronic device[0031;0041;0059;0090], and obtaining the power control parameter corresponding to the operation mode as the current power control parameter of the electronic device[0087-0088;0052;0090] for controlling operating power consumption of the electronic device [ 0026;0028;0044-0045;0052]comprises:
determining a first operation mode of the electronic device based on the first-type operation data[0090], each operation mode corresponding to multiple sets of power control parameters[0026;0028], and different operation mode corresponding to at least one set of different power control parameters[0052; Fig.5] ;
determining adjustment information at least based on the response information, the adjustment information indicating whether the power control parameter of the electronic device needs to be increased[ 0045; 0080; 0089; Fig.7A, Fig.8]; and
based on the adjustment information, determining a set of power control parameters among the multiple sets of power control parameters as the current power control parameter of the electronic device[ 0029; 0064;0080;0087-0088].
Des Jardins teaches, processing the first-type operation data and/or the response information through a pre- trained prediction model to determine a matching operation mode of the electronic device [0010, 0029,0032, 0053].
Regarding claims 5, 12, 19, Begin discloses, wherein determining the adjustment information at least based on the response information comprises: acquiring second-type operation data of the at least one target component [0041]; and based on the second-type operation data and the response information, determining the adjustment information[ 0087; 0089-0090].
Regarding claims 6, 13, 20, Begin discloses, the control method according to claim 4, wherein determining the set of power control parameters among the multiple sets of power control parameters as the current power control parameter of the electronic device based on the adjustment information comprises[ 0029; 0064;0080;0087-0088]:
if the adjustment information indicates that the power control parameters of the processor need to be increased, determining [[the]] a second power control parameter among the multiple sets of non-reference power control parameters corresponding to the first operation mode as the current power control parameter of the electronic device[0026; 0080; Fig.7A;0084; 0086 -0087(i.e selecting a frequency/ non-reference parameter to increase when the battery power or temperature exceeds a threshold / reference parameter)];
wherein a maximum operating power consumption of the electronic device under the first power control parameter is smaller than a maximum operating power consumption of the electronic device under the reference power control parameter[ “.. For example, usage data may be aggregated based on signals with client identifiers (e.g., client IDs) associated with requests for hardware power and/or DPM readings that indicate when power budgets are close to a maximum threshold…”, 0036; 0080;0087]and a maximum operating power consumption of the electronic device under the second power control parameter is greater than the maximum operating power consumption of the electronic device under the reference power control parameter;[ “, when the activity profile indicates current activities may cause significant thermal output, a processor executing the user experience software may make exceptions to or override the determined operating policy to prohibit subsystem operations that may exceed satisfactory heat thresholds (i.e., policy exceptions may occur to mitigate critical conditions). ..”, 0029;0084; 0087; 0090] .
Claim recites the following contingent limitations:
i) “if the adjustment information indicates that there is no need to increase the power control parameters of a processor, determining a first power control parameter among the multiple sets of non-reference power control parameters corresponding to the first operation mode as the current power control parameter of the electronic device”;
ii) “if the adjustment information indicates that the power control parameters of the processor need to be increased, determining a second power control parameter among the multiple sets of non-reference power control parameters corresponding to the first operation mode as the current power control parameter of the electronic device”;
These limitations are contingent because they recite steps that are only required to be performed if their conditions precedent are met; Limitation i) need to be performed only if the adjustment information indicates that there is no need to increase the power control parameters of a processor, and limitation ii) only needs to be performed if the adjustment information indicates that the power control parameters of the processor need to be increased . These conditions are mutually exclusive, and therefore only one of limitations i) and ii) can be performed. Therefore, the Broadest Reasonable Interpretation (BRI) of claim 22 requires only one of either limitation i) or limitation ii) need to be performed .
Hence the Examiner rejects only the limitation ii) as setforth above and does not reject limitation i)[“ “if the adjustment information indicates that there is no need to increase the power control parameters of a processor, determining a first power control parameter among the multiple sets of non-reference power control parameters corresponding to the first operation mode as the current power control parameter of the electronic device”].
Regarding claims 7, 14, Begin discloses,
controlling the operating power consumption of the electronic device based on the power control parameter corresponding to the second operation mode[ “. For example, when the activity profile indicates current activities may cause significant thermal output, a processor executing the user experience software may make exceptions to or override the determined operating policy to prohibit subsystem operations that may exceed satisfactory heat thresholds (i.e., policy exceptions may occur to mitigate critical conditions). ..”, 0029]; and
if it is determined within a target duration that the operation mode of the electronic device is the first operation mode based on the first-type operation data of the at least one target component, adjusting the power control parameter of the electronic device to [[the]] a power control parameter corresponding to the first operation mode[ “ profiles associated with circumstances. For example, every period (e.g., millisecond(s), second(s), etc.), the processor may update a database of activity profiles to reflect current hardware and other resource usage in relation to circumstances, such as executing applications, time “, 0048; “the operating policy may be transmitted to a limits management software module that may re-balance operations (e.g., mitigation operations) based on the current user activities. The operating policy may configure the mobile device to prioritize one subscription/technology over another (e.g., voice over data), deactivate components (e.g., turn a camera unit "off"), and/or change the frequency (or processing frequency) of operations associated with various mobile device subsystems or components (e.g., configure a transceiver controller to search for access points at a slower/faster rate, configure a CPU/processing chip to slow down to decrease thermal output or power consumption, etc.). For example, using the operating policy, the limits management software may configure cellular networking subsystems to perform their operations at a lower frequency. In various aspects, the operating policy may be executed in part or not at all based on current operating conditions”, 0029; (i.e it is apparent to adjust the power control parameter to a different operation mode / operating policy , based on the activity profile / current circumstance determined within a period)].
wherein processing performance of the electronic device in the second operation mode is better than processing performance of the electronic device in the first operation mode[ 0029; 0084; 0087].
Regarding claim 8 , Begin discloses, an electronic device, comprising: a memory for storing a program [0091]; and a processor for calling and executing the program stored in the memory, when being executed by the processor[0093], the program causing the processor to perform the method according to claim 1.
Regarding Claim 10, Begin discloses, processing the first-type operation data and/or the response information through the pre-trained prediction model to determine the matching operation mode of the electronic device[0031;0041;0059;0090], and obtaining the power control parameter corresponding to the operation mode as the current power control parameter of the electronic device[0087-0088;0052;0090] for controlling operating power consumption of the electronic device [ 0026;0028;0044-0045;0052]comprises:
determining a matching operation mode of the electronic device, and obtaining the power control parameter corresponding to the operation mode as the current power control parameter of the electronic device at least based on the first-type operation data and the response information[ 0059; 0087; 0090] comprises:
determining a matching first operation mode of the electronic device based on the first-type operation data[ 0090; Fig.8];
determining adjustment information at least based on the response information, the adjustment information indicating whether the power control parameter of the electronic device need to be increased [ 0080; Fig.7A];
determining a matching second operation mode of the electronic device based on the first operation mode and the adjustment information[ 0082;0086-0087]; and
acquiring a power control parameter corresponding to the second operation mode, and determining the power control parameter corresponding to the second operation mode to be the current power control parameter of the electronic device[0086-0087], different operation modes corresponding to different power control parameters [ 0026-0028;0050] .
Des Jardins teaches, processing the first-type operation data and/or the response information through a pre- trained prediction model to determine a matching operation mode of the electronic device [0010, 0029,0032, 0053].
Regarding Claims 11 Begin discloses, processing the first-type operation data and/or the response information through the pre-trained prediction model to determine the matching operation mode of the electronic device[0031;0041;0059;0090], and obtaining the power control parameter corresponding to the operation mode as the current power control parameter of the electronic device[0087-0088;0052;0090] for controlling operating power consumption of the electronic device [ 0026;0028;0044-0045;0052]comprises:
determining a first operation mode of the electronic device based on the first-type operation data[0090], each operation mode corresponding to multiple sets of power control parameters[0026;0028], and different operation mode corresponding to at least one set of different power control parameters[0052; Fig.5] ;
determining adjustment information at least based on the response information, the adjustment information indicating whether the power control parameter of the electronic device needs to be increased[ 0045; 0080; 0089; Fig.7A, Fig.8]; and
based on the adjustment information, determining a set of power control parameters among the multiple sets of power control parameters as the current power control parameter of the electronic device[ 0029; 0064;0080;0087-0088].
Des Jardins teaches, processing the first-type operation data and/or the response information through a pre- trained prediction model to determine a matching operation mode of the electronic device [0010, 0029,0032, 0053].
Regarding claims 12, Begin discloses, wherein determining the adjustment information at least based on the response information comprises: acquiring second-type operation data of the at least one target component [0041]; and based on the second-type operation data and the response information, determining the adjustment information[ 0087; 0089-0090].
Regarding Claim 15, Begin discloses, a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a computer program, when being executed by one or more processors, the computer program causing the processors to perform the method according to claim 1[0006; 0097].
Regarding Claims 17, Begin discloses, processing the first-type operation data and/or the response information through the pre-trained prediction model to determine the matching operation mode of the electronic device[0031;0041;0059;0090], and obtaining the power control parameter corresponding to the operation mode as the current power control parameter of the electronic device[0087-0088;0052;0090] for controlling operating power consumption of the electronic device [ 0026;0028;0044-0045;0052]comprises:
determining a matching operation mode of the electronic device, and obtaining the power control parameter corresponding to the operation mode as the current power control parameter of the electronic device at least based on the first-type operation data and the response information[ 0059; 0087; 0090] comprises:
determining a matching first operation mode of the electronic device based on the first-type operation data[ 0090; Fig.8];
determining adjustment information at least based on the response information, the adjustment information indicating whether the power control parameter of the electronic device need to be increased [ 0080; Fig.7A];
determining a matching second operation mode of the electronic device based on the first operation mode and the adjustment information[ 0082;0086-0087]; and
acquiring a power control parameter corresponding to the second operation mode, and determining the power control parameter corresponding to the second operation mode to be the current power control parameter of the electronic device[0086-0087], different operation modes corresponding to different power control parameters [ 0026-0028;0050] .
Des Jardins teaches, processing the first-type operation data and/or the response information through a pre- trained prediction model to determine a matching operation mode of the electronic device [0010, 0029,0032, 0053].
Regarding Claims 18, Begin discloses, processing the first-type operation data and/or the response information through the pre-trained prediction model to determine the matching operation mode of the electronic device[0031;0041;0059;0090], and obtaining the power control parameter corresponding to the operation mode as the current power control parameter of the electronic device[0087-0088;0052;0090] for controlling operating power consumption of the electronic device [ 0026;0028;0044-0045;0052]comprises:
determining a first operation mode of the electronic device based on the first-type operation data[0090], each operation mode corresponding to multiple sets of power control parameters[0026;0028], and different operation mode corresponding to at least one set of different power control parameters[0052; Fig.5] ;
determining adjustment information at least based on the response information, the adjustment information indicating whether the power control parameter of the electronic device needs to be increased[ 0045; 0080; 0089; Fig.7A, Fig.8]; and
based on the adjustment information, determining a set of power control parameters among the multiple sets of power control parameters as the current power control parameter of the electronic device[ 0029; 0064;0080;0087-0088].
Des Jardins teaches, processing the first-type operation data and/or the response information through a pre- trained prediction model to determine a matching operation mode of the electronic device [0010, 0029,0032, 0053].
Regarding claims 19, Begin discloses, wherein determining the adjustment information at least based on the response information comprises: acquiring second-type operation data of the at least one target component [0041]; and based on the second-type operation data and the response information, determining the adjustment information[ 0087; 0089-0090].
Regarding Claim 21, Begin discloses: the power control parameter of the electronic device includes a plurality of power control parameters[0026; 0029; 0041]; each operation mode corresponds to multiple sets of power control parameters[0085; 0087-0088];
multiple sets of power control parameters include reference power control parameters and multiple sets of non-reference power control parameters[ “ A processor executing the user experience software may implement the determined operating policy related to the activity profile, such as by providing rules, thresholds, or parameters to a limits management software (or engine)..”, 0028; “ ..an operating policy may implement a subscription/technology priority, a power consumption threshold, a thermal threshold, an activation/energized state (e.g., whether a camera is on or off at a given time, etc.), and a frequency for performing operations associated with a subsystem (e.g., a radio subsystem, etc.).”, 0026 ; ( i.e. reference parameters to control power consumption); “.. In block 206, the processor may determine an operating policy based on the aggregated usage information of the activity profile associated with the current circumstance.”, 0085; “..The processor may change the parameters, characteristics, or values of the determined operating policy. …. the processor may maintain the currently in-use operating policy (or a previous operating policy) and ignore the determined operating policy entirely, or alternatively manage resources using the determined operating policy with adjusted parameters that will not cause unwanted operating conditions.”, 0087-0088; Fig.7A (i.e. adjusting the parameters based on the reference parameters / threshold with respect to the currently implemented Policy / rules set based on a new user activity to control power consumption of the device corresponds to the non- reference power control parameters)].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 01/15/2026 with respect to the finality of the office action specific to the new ground of rejection for the independent claims 22 and 23 have been fully considered and persuasive. The finality of the office action is withdrawn and claims 22, 23 are rejected as set forth in this rejection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Vaysman et al., U.S Patent Application Publication 2023/0367378, teaches Aspects of a storage device are provided that apply history-based prediction modeling in advanced thermal throttling. The controller applies a thermal mitigation configuration associated with the thermal power state and determines that the temperature of the memory has reached a thermal equilibrium based on the thermal mitigation configuration. Storage device performance is thus improved through history-based prediction modeling without compromising data integrity.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to GAYATHRI SAMPATH whose telephone number is 1-(571)272-5489. The examiner can normally be reached on Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
/GAYATHRI SAMPATH/ Examiner, Art Unit 2176
/JAWEED A ABBASZADEH/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2176