DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1 and 3-21 are pending. Claim 2 has been canceled. Claim 21 is new. Claims 1, 3, 11-12, and 20 have been amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/23/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., only connections, specific element to element connections, or direct connections) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). The pending claims do not require a specific direct connection or only connections regarding the multiple interfaces to specific recited structural elements. The system of Suzuki has all the recited structures and those structures have connecting interfaces for the various piping.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., a first loop or a second loop) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). In claims 1 and 3-20 no loops of any sort are recited. Thus, all arguments regarding loops pertaining to claims 1 and 3-20 are moot.
In regards to claim 21, the branching within Figure 1 of Suzuki forms multiple loops that is within the closed system. Each branching is a different loop in the entirety of the closed looped system.
For the aforementioned reasons, the pending claims remain rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 11-12, and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) as being anticipated by Suzuki et al. (6,047,770), hereafter referred to as “Suzuki.”
Regarding Claim 1: Suzuki teaches a thermal management system (Figure 1, title), comprising: a compressor (21), comprising an input port and an output port (lines into and out of 21), wherein the compressor (21) is configured to: compress a refrigerant from the input port (line into 21), and output the compressed refrigerant through the output port (exit from 21); a condenser (22), comprising a first interface and a second interface (lines into and exiting from 22), wherein the second interface (line from 22) is connected to the output port (exit from 22); a first heat exchanger (29), comprising a third interface and a fourth interface (lines into and exiting 29), wherein the third interface is connected to the output port (exit from 29), and the fourth interface is connected to the input port (line into 29); a second heat exchanger (23), comprising a fifth interface and a sixth interface (lines into and exiting from 23), wherein the sixth interface (line into 23) is connected to the input port (line into 23); and a first electronic expansion valve (24), comprising a seventh interface and an eighth interface (lines into and out of 24), wherein the seventh interface is connected to the first interface, and the eighth interface is connected to the fifth interface (the refrigeration circuit of Figure 1 is a closed loop system, all interfaces and structurally elements are connected to one another); and a first gas-liquid separator (27), comprising a ninth interface, a tenth interface, and an eleventh interface (see the 3 lines into 27), wherein the ninth interface is connected to the fourth interface, the tenth interface is connected to the fifth interface, the eleventh interface is connected to the input port (the refrigeration circuit of Figure 1 is a closed loop system, all interfaces and structurally elements are connected to one another), and the tenth interface is a liquid output port (line from 27 to 23) of the first gas-liquid separator (27).
Regarding Claim 3: Suzuki teaches wherein the thermal management system (Figure 1, title) further comprises: a second electronic expansion valve (26), comprising a twelfth interface and a thirteenth interface (lines into and out of 26), wherein the twelfth interface is connected to the fifth interface, and the thirteenth interface is connected to the tenth interface (the refrigeration circuit of Figure 1 is a closed loop system, all interfaces and structurally elements are connected to one another).
Regarding Claim 11: Suzuki teaches a method for controlling a thermal management system (Figure 1, title), wherein the thermal management system (Figure 1, title) comprises: a compressor (21), comprising an input port (line into 21) and an output port (lines out of 21), wherein the compressor (21) is configured to: compress a refrigerant from the input port, and output a compressed refrigerant through the output port (the functional limitations of the compressor); a condenser (22), comprising a first interface (line into 22) and a second interface (exit line from 22), wherein the second interface (exit line from 22) is connected to the output port (exit from 22); a first heat exchanger (29), comprising a third interface and a fourth interface (lines into and out of 29), wherein the third interface is connected to the output port (line out of 29), and the fourth interface is connected to the input port (line into 29); a second heat exchanger (23), comprising a fifth interface and a sixth interface (lines into and out of 23), wherein the sixth interface is connected to the input port (line into 23); and a first electronic expansion valve (24), comprising a seventh interface and an eighth interface (lines into and out of 24), wherein the seventh interface is connected to the first interface (the refrigeration circuit of Figure 1 is a closed loop system, all interfaces and structurally elements are connected to one another), and the eighth interface is connected to the fifth interface (the refrigeration circuit of Figure 1 is a closed loop system, all interfaces and structurally elements are connected to one another); and a first gas-liquid separator (272), comprising a ninth interface, a tenth interface, and an eleventh interface (line into 27 and the two lines exiting 27), wherein the ninth interface is connected to the fourth interface, the tenth interface is connected to the fifth interface (the refrigeration circuit of Figure 1 is a closed loop system, all interfaces and structurally elements are connected to one another), the eleventh interface is connected to the input port (line in 27 from 26), the tenth interface is a liquid output port (line from 27 to 23) of the first gas-liquid separator (27), and the eleventh interface is a gas output port (line from 27 to 21) of the first gas-liquid separator (27); and the method comprises: receiving a first instruction (Column 5, lines 25-32; Column 6, lines 39-53); and controlling, based on the first instruction (Column 5, lines 25-32; Column 6, lines 39-53), the first electronic expansion valve (24) to be enabled.
Regarding Claim 12: Suzuki teaches wherein the thermal management system (Figure 1, title) further comprises: a second electronic expansion valve (26), comprising a twelfth interface and a thirteenth interface (lines into and out of 26), wherein the twelfth interface is connected to the fifth interface, and the thirteenth interface is connected to the tenth interface (the refrigeration circuit of Figure 1 is a closed loop system, all interfaces and structurally elements are connected to one another); and the method further comprises: controlling (via 51), based on the first instruction (Column 5, lines 25-32; Column 6, lines 39-53; Column 7, lines 1-11), the second electronic expansion valve (26) to be enabled.
Regarding Claim 20: Suzuki teaches a vehicle (HV), comprising a thermal management system (Figure 1, title), wherein the thermal management system (Figure 1, title) comprises: a compressor (21), comprising an input port (line into 21) and an output port (line out of 21), wherein the compressor (21) is configured to: compress a refrigerant from the input port, and output the compressed refrigerant through the output port (the functional limitations of the compressor); a condenser (22), comprising a first interface and a second interface (lines into and out of 22), wherein the second interface is connected to the output port (exit line from 22); a first heat exchanger (29), comprising a third interface and a fourth interface (lines into and out of 29), wherein the third interface is connected to the output port (exit line from 29), and the fourth interface is connected to the input port (line into 29); a second heat exchanger (23), comprising a fifth interface (line out of 23) and a sixth interface (line into 23), wherein the sixth interface is connected to the input port (line into 23); a first electronic expansion valve (24), comprising a seventh interface and an eighth interface (lines into and out of 24), wherein the seventh interface is connected to the first interface, and the eighth interface is connected to the fifth interface (the refrigeration circuit of Figure 1 is a closed loop system, all interfaces and structurally elements are connected to one another); and a first gas-liquid separator (272), comprising a ninth interface, a tenth interface, and an eleventh interface (line into 27 and the two lines exiting 27), wherein the ninth interface is connected to the fourth interface, the tenth interface is connected to the fifth interface (the refrigeration circuit of Figure 1 is a closed loop system, all interfaces and structurally elements are connected to one another), the eleventh interface is connected to the input port (line in 27 from 26), and the tenth interface is a liquid output port (line from 27 to 23) of the first gas-liquid separator (27).
Regarding Claim 21: Suzuki teaches a wherein the fifth interface of the second heat exchanger is connected to the first interface of the condenser (22) in a first loop (the first loop is the branch line that leads into 22; and the refrigeration circuit of Figure 1 is a closed loop system, all interfaces and structurally elements are connected to one another), the fifth interface of the second heat exchanger (23) is connected to the tenth interface of the first gas-liquid separator (27) in a second loop (branch line that leads into 27 connecting 21 and 23 to 27 has a separate loop), and the second loop is different from the first loop (the branching within Figure 1 of Suzuki forms multiple loops that is within the closed system; each branching is a different loop in the entirety of the closed looped system).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki et al. (6,047,770), hereafter referred to as “Suzuki,” in view of Oshitani et al. (US 2005/0178150 A1), hereafter referred to as “Oshitani.”
Regarding Claim 4: Suzuki modified supra fails to teach wherein the thermal management system further comprises: a first solenoid valve, comprising a fourteenth interface and a fifteenth interface, wherein the fourteenth interface is connected to the thirteenth interface, and the fifteenth interface is connected to the tenth interface.
Oshitani teaches a first solenoid valve (19), comprising an interface and a another interface (lines into and out of 19), wherein the interface is connected to other interfaces (see Figure 2), and the another interface is connected to the other interface (see Figure 2, the refrigeration circuit of Figure 2 is a closed loop system, all interfaces and structurally elements are connected to one another).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided wherein the thermal management system further comprises: a first solenoid valve, comprising a fourteenth interface and a fifteenth interface, wherein the fourteenth interface is connected to the thirteenth interface, and the fifteenth interface is connected to the tenth interface to the structure of Suzuki as taught by Oshitani in order to advantageously provide to control refrigerant flow in the various passages (see Oshitani, paragraph [0075]).
Regarding Claim 13: Suzuki modified supra fails to teach wherein the thermal management system further comprises: a first solenoid valve, comprising a fourteenth interface and a fifteenth interface, wherein the fourteenth interface is connected to the thirteenth interface, and the fifteenth interface is connected to the tenth interface; and the method further comprises: controlling, based on the first instruction, the first solenoid valve to be enabled.
Oshitani teaches a first solenoid valve (19), comprising an interface and a another interface (lines into and out of 19), wherein the interface is connected to other interfaces (see Figure 2), and the another interface is connected to the other interface (see Figure 2); and a method further comprises: controlling, based on a first instruction (via controller 25, paragraph [0075]), the first solenoid valve to be enabled (the refrigeration circuit of Figure 2 is a closed loop system, all interfaces and structurally elements are connected to one another).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided a first solenoid valve, comprising a fourteenth interface and a fifteenth interface, wherein the fourteenth interface is connected to the thirteenth interface, and the fifteenth interface is connected to the tenth interface; and the method further comprises: controlling, based on the first instruction, the first solenoid valve to be enabled to the structure of Suzuki modified supra as taught by Oshitani in order to advantageously provide to control refrigerant flow in the various passages (see Oshitani, paragraph [0075]).
Claims 5 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki et al. (6,047,770), hereafter referred to as “Suzuki,” in view of Oshitani et al. (US 2005/0178150 A1), hereafter referred to as “Oshitani,” as applied to claims 4 and 13 above, and further in view of Namesh et al. (US 2009/0249807 A1), hereafter referred to as “Namesh.”
Regarding Claim 5: Suzuki teaches wherein the thermal management system (Figure 1, title) further comprises: a third expansion valve (28), comprising a sixteenth interface and a seventeenth interface (lines into and out of 28), wherein the sixteenth interface is connected to the third interface, and the seventeenth interface is connected to the output port (the refrigeration circuit of Figure 1 is a closed loop system, all interfaces and structurally elements are connected to one another).
Suzuki modified supra fails to teach that the third expansion valve is an electronic expansion valve.
Namesh teaches an expansion valve is an electronic expansion valve (paragraph [0026]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the third expansion valve is an electronic expansion valve to the structure of Suzuki modified supra as taught by Namesh in order to advantageously provide alternative types of expansion valves that are known in the art (see Namesh, paragraph [0026]).
Regarding Claim 14: Suzuki wherein the thermal management system (Figure 1, title) further comprises: a third expansion valve (28), comprising a sixteenth interface (line into 28) and a seventeenth interface (line exiting 28), wherein the sixteenth interface (the refrigeration circuit of Figure 1 is a closed loop system, all interfaces and structurally elements are connected to one another) is connected to the third interface (the refrigeration circuit of Figure 1 is a closed loop system, all interfaces and structurally elements are connected to one another), and the seventeenth interface is connected to the output port (the refrigeration circuit of Figure 1 is a closed loop system, all interfaces and structurally elements are connected to one another).
Suzuki modified supra fails to teach that the third expansion valve is an electronic expansion valve and the method further comprises: controlling, based on the first instruction, the third electronic expansion valve to be enabled.
Namesh teaches an expansion valve is an electronic expansion valve (paragraph [0026]) and controlling, based on a first instruction, the third electronic expansion valve to be enabled .
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the third expansion valve is an electronic expansion valve and the method further comprises: controlling, based on the first instruction, the third electronic expansion valve to be enabled to the structure of Suzuki modified supra as taught by Namesh in order to advantageously provide alternative types of expansion valves that are known in the art (see Namesh, paragraph [0026]).
Claims 6-7 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki et al. (6,047,770), hereafter referred to as “Suzuki,” in view of Oshitani et al. (US 2005/0178150 A1), hereafter referred to as “Oshitani,” and Namesh et al. (US 2009/0249807 A1), hereafter referred to as “Namesh,” as applied to claims 5 and 14 above, and further in view of Sato et al. (US 6,945,074 B2), hereafter referred to as “Sato.”
Regarding Claim 6: Suzuki modified supra fails to teach wherein in a first direction, the first heat exchanger is in an upstream location of the second heat exchanger, and the first direction is an air flowing direction.
Sato teaches wherein in a first direction (see air arrow in Figure 1), a first heat exchanger (31) is in an upstream location of a second heat exchanger (32), and a first direction is an air flowing direction (see Figure 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided wherein in a first direction, the first heat exchanger is in an upstream location of the second heat exchanger, and the first direction is an air flowing direction to the structure of Suzuki modified supra as taught by Sato in order to advantageously provide the heat exchangers on a common case and to use the air flowing over the exchangers for heat exchange (see Sato, Column 3, lines 48-67).
Regarding Claim 7: Suzuki modified supra teaches wherein the thermal management system (Figure 1, title, of Suzuki) further comprises: a fan (29a or 3 of Suzuki), configured to enable air to flow in the first direction (when 29 and 23 are in case 2 of Suzuki as taught by 31, 32, 70 of Sato Column 3, lines 48-67).
Regarding Claim 15: Suzuki modified supra teaches wherein in a first direction, the first heat exchanger is in an upstream location of the second heat exchanger, and the first direction is an air flowing direction.
Sato teaches wherein in a first direction (see air arrow in Figure 1), a first heat exchanger (31) is in an upstream location of a second heat exchanger (32), and a first direction is an air flowing direction (see Figure 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided wherein in a first direction, the first heat exchanger is in an upstream location of the second heat exchanger, and the first direction is an air flowing direction to the structure of Suzuki modified supra as taught by Sato in order to advantageously provide the heat exchangers on a common case and to use the air flowing over the exchangers for heat exchange (see Sato, Column 3, lines 48-67).
Regarding Claim 16: Suzuki modified supra teaches wherein the thermal management system (Figure 1, title, of Suzuki) further comprises: a fan(29a or 3 of Suzuki); and the method further comprises: controlling, based on the first instruction (from ECU 51, Column 5, lines 24-32 of Suzuki), the fan to be enabled (29a or 3 of Suzuki), to enable air to flow in the first direction (when 29 and 23 are in case 2 of Suzuki as taught by 31, 32, 70 of Sato Column 3, lines 48-67).
Claims 8-10 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki et al. (6,047,770), hereafter referred to as “Suzuki,” in view of Oshitani et al. (US 2005/0178150 A1), hereafter referred to as “Oshitani,” Namesh et al. (US 2009/0249807 A1), hereafter referred to as “Namesh,” and Sato et al. (US 6,945,074 B2), hereafter referred to as “Sato,” as applied to claims 7 and 16 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (US 2015/0267957 A1), hereafter referred to as “Kim.”
Regarding Claim 8: Suzuki modified supra fails to teach wherein the thermal management system further comprises: a fourth electronic expansion valve, comprising an eighteenth interface and a nineteenth interface, wherein the eighteenth interface is connected to the first interface, and the nineteenth interface is connected to the third interface.
Kim teaches four expansion valves (140, 150, 171, 181) each with two interfaces (lines into and out of each valve 140, 150, 171, 181), which are all connected to each other (the refrigeration circuit of Figure 1 is a closed loop system, all interfaces and structurally elements are connected to one another).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided wherein the thermal management system further comprises: a fourth electronic expansion valve, comprising an eighteenth interface and a nineteenth interface, wherein the eighteenth interface is connected to the first interface, and the nineteenth interface is connected to the third interface to the structure of Suzuki modified supra as taught by Kim in order to advantageously provide additional valves for expanding the refrigerant entering an additional heat exchanger (see Kim, paragraphs [0005]-[0006]).
Regarding Claim 9: Suzuki modified supra teaches wherein the thermal management system (Figure 1, title, of Suzuki) further comprises: a first controller (51 of Suzuki), wherein in a first mode, the first controller (51 of Suzuki) is configured to: control the first electronic expansion valve (24 of Suzuki), the second electronic expansion valve (26 of Suzuki), the third electronic expansion valve (28 of Suzuki, electrical as taught by Namesh, paragraph [0026]), and the first solenoid valve (19 of Oshitani) to be enabled (via ECU 5 of Oshitani applied to ECU 51 of Suzuki), and control the fourth electronic expansion valve (20 of Oshitani) to be disabled (via ECU 5 of Oshitani applied to ECU 51 of Suzuki), wherein the first mode is a mode in which defrosting is performed and a passenger cabin is heated (modes controlled by ECU 51 of Suzuki).
Regarding Claim 10: Suzuki modified supra teaches wherein in a second mode (ECU 51 has various modes of operation see Figure 3 of Suzuki), the first controller (ECU 51 of Suzuki modified by ECU 5 of Oshitani) is configured to control the first electronic expansion valve, the second electronic expansion valve, the third electronic expansion valve, and the first solenoid valve to be disabled, and control the fourth electronic expansion valve to be enabled (valves 24, 26, 28 of Suzuki, modified by Namesh paragraph [0026]; having four expansion valves as taught by 140, 150, 171, 181 of Kim; and solenoid valve 19 taught by Oshitani), wherein the second mode is a mode in which the passenger cabin is heated (see Figures 3 and 4 of Suzuki).
Regarding Claim 17: Suzuki modified supra fails to teach wherein the thermal management system further comprises: a fourth electronic expansion valve, comprising an eighteenth interface and a nineteenth interface, wherein the eighteenth interface is connected to the first interface, and the nineteenth interface is connected to the third interface; and the method further comprises: controlling, based on the first instruction, the fourth electronic expansion valve to be disabled.
Kim teaches four expansion valves (140, 150, 171, 181) each with two interfaces (lines into and out of each valve 140, 150, 171, 181), which are all connected to each other (the refrigeration circuit of Figure 1 is a closed loop system, all interfaces and structurally elements are connected to one another); and a method further comprises: controlling (via controller 10, see Figure 2), based on a first instruction, the fourth electronic expansion valve to be disabled (see Figure 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided wherein the thermal management system further comprises: a fourth electronic expansion valve, comprising an eighteenth interface and a nineteenth interface, wherein the eighteenth interface is connected to the first interface, and the nineteenth interface is connected to the third interface; and the method further comprises: controlling, based on the first instruction, the fourth electronic expansion valve to be disabled to the structure of Suzuki modified supra as taught by Kim in order to advantageously provide additional valves for expanding the refrigerant entering an additional heat exchanger (see Kim, paragraphs [0005]-[0006]).
Regarding Claim 18: Suzuki modified supra teaches wherein the method further comprises: obtaining a second instruction (ECU 51 has various modes of operation see Figure 3 of Suzuki); and controlling, based on the second instruction (ECU 51 has various modes of operation see Figure 3 of Suzuki), the first electronic expansion valve, the second electronic expansion valve, the third electronic expansion valve, and the first solenoid valve to be disabled (valves 24, 26, 28 of Suzuki, modified by Namesh paragraph [0026]; having four expansion valves as taught by 140, 150, 171, 181 of Kim; and solenoid valve 19 taught by Oshitani) and controlling the fourth electronic expansion valve to be enabled (as taught by 140, 150, 171, 181 of Kim).
Regarding Claim 19: Suzuki teaches wherein the method further comprises: obtaining a first signal from a first sensor (28a); and adjusting, based on the first signal (Column 4, lines 37-43), a flow volume of a refrigerant entering the second heat exchanger (23, the control of flow into 23).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Itoh et al. (US 6,237,351 B1).
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KIRSTIN U OSWALD/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/ERIC S RUPPERT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763