DETAILED ACTION
This is in response to applicant's communication filed on 01/29/2024, wherein:
Claim 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1-3, 7-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Maheshwari et al. (US 20210112423 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Maheshwari discloses a system (Fig. 1 – IOT device 108) comprising:
a first network interface subscribed to a first network provider (Fig. 1 – cellular service provider 1) and configured to communicate with a first base station (Fig. 1 – base station 104-1) via network paths provided by the first network provider (Fig. 1 and ¶0014-0015: “In FIG. 1, an IoT device such as a vehicle or a car 108 is moving along a road from Point A to Point B. Along the way, network connectivity may be provided to the car 108 by connecting to the first BS 104-1 of the MNO 102-1 in a first area 105”, which indicates the device 108 having first network interface for communicating with the first network using base station 104-1);
a second network interface subscribed to a second network provider (Fig. 1 – cellular service provider 2) and configured to communicate with a second base station via network paths provided by the second network provider (Fig. 1 and ¶0014-0015 – “In FIG. 1, an IoT device such as a vehicle or a car 108 is moving along a road from Point A to Point B. Along the way, network connectivity may be provided to the car 108 …connecting to the second BS 106-1 of the second MNO 102-2 in a second area 107”); and
a processor operably coupled to the first network interface and the second network interface, the processor being associated with a vehicle (Fig. 1 and ¶0015 – “In FIG. 1, an IoT device such as a vehicle or a car 108 is moving along a road from Point A to Point B. Along the way, network connectivity may be provided to the car 108 by connecting to the first BS 104-1 of the MNO 102-1 in a first area 105 and by connecting to the second BS 106-1 of the second MNO 102-2 in a second area 107”), and configured to:
establish a first network communication path with the first base station using the first network interface (Fig. 1 and ¶0014-0015: “In FIG. 1, an IoT device such as a vehicle or a car 108 is moving along a road from Point A to Point B. Along the way, network connectivity may be provided to the car 108 by connecting to the first BS 104-1 of the MNO 102-1 in a first area 105”);
detect a first cellular information associated with the first network provider based at least in part upon the first established network communication path with the first base station, wherein the first cellular information provides information about cellular communication conditions provided by the first network provider along at least a portion of a road (Fig. 1 and ¶0015 – “The car 108 receives a strong signal (positive or negative high number of a received signal strength indicator (RSSI)) from the first BS 104-1 in the area 105”);
establish a second network communication path with the second base station using the second network interface (Fig. 1 and ¶0014-0015 – “In FIG. 1, an IoT device such as a vehicle or a car 108 is moving along a road from Point A to Point B. Along the way, network connectivity may be provided to the car 108 …connecting to the second BS 106-1 of the second MNO 102-2 in a second area 107”);
detect a second cellular information associated with the second network provider based at least in part upon the second established network communication path with the second base station, wherein the second cellular information provides information about cellular communication conditions provided by the second network provider along at least the portion of the road (Fig. 1 and ¶0015: “The car 108 receives a strong signal (positive or negative high number of …a strong signal (RSSI) from the second BS 106-1 in the second area 107”);
establish a third network communication path with a remote server using either of the first network interface or the second network interface (Fig. 1 step 114, Fig. 2, and ¶0017-0019 disclose connectivity management platform provide remote provisioning with the first MNO 102-1 to provide eSIM to device 108 – i.e. connection between connectivity management platform and device 108 are established through first network); and
detect network information based at least in part upon the third established network communication path with the remote server, wherein a network coverage along at least the portion of the road is determined based at least in part upon the first cellular information, the second cellular information, and the network information (Fig. 1, Fig. 4 and ¶0015-0020, 0057-0058 disclose the connectivity management platform provisioning eSIM for switching between network by using location and network coverage information wherein the network coverage information is obtained by signal information from mobile device – i.e. first cellular information and second cellular information – as indicated in ¶0061 and ¶0096).
Regarding claim 2, Maheshwari discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to communicate the first cellular information, the second cellular information, and the network information to an oversight server (¶0101 – “integrating into at least one of the first network coverage map or the second network coverage map, real-time connectivity knowledge obtained from a plurality of other mobile devices operating at different locations in the first network or the second network”).
Regarding claim 3, Maheshwari discloses the system of claim 2, wherein a network coverage map is created by the oversight server based at least in part upon the network coverage along at least the portion of the road in response to communicating the first cellular information, the second cellular information, and the network information to the oversight server (¶0101 – “integrating into at least one of the first network coverage map or the second network coverage map, real-time connectivity knowledge obtained from a plurality of other mobile devices operating at different locations in the first network or the second network”).
Regarding claim 7, Maheshwari discloses the system of claim 1, wherein: the first cellular information is associated with a one-hop network communication between the processor and the first base station; and the second cellular information is associated with a one-hop network communication between the processor and the second base station (Fig. 1 and ¶0015 disclose one hop network between the car 108 and first/second network because the car connect to the first/second network directly through their base station).
Regarding claim 8, the scope and content of the claim recites a method performed by the system of claim 1, therefore, being addressed as in claim 1.
Regarding claim 9, Maheshwari discloses the method of claim 8, wherein the network information is associated with a multiple-hop network communication between the remote server and a control device that is onboard the vehicle (¶0019 – “the connectivity management platform 200 communicates, at 114, with the first MNO 102-1 via SM-SR to remotely provision the eSIM 110 of the car 108 to switch to the profile of the cellular service 2 (CS2), as opposed to the currently enabled profile of the cellular service 1 (CS1)” – i.e. multi-hop communication between connectivity management platform and device 108 through the first network).
Regarding claim 10, Maheshwari discloses the method of claim 8, wherein the first cellular information comprises at least one of: a first cellular signal bandwidth; a first cellular signal strength (Fig. 1 and ¶0015 – “The car 108 receives a strong signal (positive or negative high number of a received signal strength indicator (RSSI)) from the first BS 104-1 in the area 105”), a first cellular signal-to-noise ratio ; a first cellular data package loss rate; a first cellular signal latency; a first cellular signal round-trip time; or a first cellular signal bit rate.
Regarding claim 11, Maheshwari discloses the method of claim 8, wherein the second cellular information comprises at least one of: a second cellular signal bandwidth; a second cellular signal strength (Fig. 1 and ¶0015: “The car 108 receives a strong signal (positive or negative high number of …a strong signal (RSSI) from the second BS 106-1 in the second area 107”), a second cellular signal-to-noise ratio; a second cellular data package loss rate; a second cellular signal latency; a second cellular signal round-trip time; or a second cellular signal bit rate.
Regarding claim 12, Maheshwari discloses the method of claim 8, wherein the network information comprises at least one of: a network communication bandwidth; a network communication signal strength (Fig. 1 and ¶0015 – “The car 108 receives a strong signal (positive or negative high number of a received signal strength indicator (RSSI)) from the first BS 104-1 in the area 105”), a network communication signal-to-noise ratio; a network communication data package loss rate; a network communication latency; a network communication round-trip time; or a network communication signal bit rate.
Regarding claim 13, Maheshwari discloses the method of claim 8, further comprising: comparing the first cellular information with network communication requirements; comparing the second cellular information with the network communication requirements; and dynamically selecting between the first network provider and the second network provider for data communications based at least in part upon the comparison between the first cellular information and the network communication requirements and the comparison between the second cellular information and the network communication requirements, such that the selected network provider is determined to satisfy the network communication requirements (Fig. 3C, Fig. 3I, Fig. 4 and ¶0040, 0049-0052 disclose switching between first and second network based on comparing signal strength RSSI with a threshold).
Regarding claim 14, Maheshwari discloses the method of claim 13, wherein the network communication requirements comprise at least one of: a threshold network communication bandwidth; a threshold signal strength; a threshold signal-to-noise ratio; a threshold data package loss rate; a threshold latency; a threshold round-trip time; or a threshold signal bit rate (Fig. 3C, Fig. 3I, Fig. 4 and ¶0040, 0049-0052 disclose switching between first and second network based on comparing signal strength RSSI with a threshold).
Regarding claim 15, the scope and content of the claim recites a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions for the system of claim 1, therefore, being address as in claim 1.
Regarding claim 16, Maheshwari discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 15, wherein the instructions when executed by the processor, further cause the processor to: access a network coverage map that indicates the network coverage along at least the portion of the road; determine that the network coverage map indicates that the first network provider does not provide cellular coverage that satisfies network communication requirements within a particular geographical area; determine that the network coverage map indicates that the second network provider provides cellular coverage that satisfies the network communication requirements within the particular geographical area; and select the second network provider for data communications (Fig. 3C, Fig. 3I, Fig. 4, and ¶0055-0059 disclose switching between first and second network based on coverage map and location).
Regarding claim 17, Maheshwari discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 15, wherein: the first network interface is subscribed to the first network provider via a first Subscriber Identity Module (SIM) card associated with the first network provider; and the first SIM card is deployed in the first network interface (Fig. 1 and ¶0019 disclose eSIM corresponding to cellular service CS1 for connecting to first network and eSIM corresponding to cellular service CS2 for connecting to second network).
Regarding claim 18, Maheshwari discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 15, wherein: the second network interface is subscribed to the second network provider via a second Subscriber Identity Module (SIM) card associated with the second network provider; and the second SIM card is deployed in the second network interface (Fig. 1 and ¶0019 disclose eSIM corresponding to cellular service CS1 for connecting to first network and eSIM corresponding to cellular service CS2 for connecting to second network).
Regarding claim 20, Maheshwari discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 15, wherein the vehicle is a non-autonomous vehicle (¶0002 – “Mobile devices (or mobile stations (MSs)) include mobile terminals and mobile internet of things (IoT) devices such as cars, sensors, emergency vehicles, and first response devices” – i.e. non-autonomous vehicle).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4-5 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maheshwari et al. (US 20210112423 A1) in view of Shrivastava et al. (US 20240098537 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Maheshwari discloses the system of claim 3, however, silent on further details of claim 4 about wherein: the processor is further configured to: determine a timestamp window that indicates a period during which the first cellular information, the second cellular information, and the network information are detected; determine location data that indicates location coordinates of the vehicle; communicate data indicating the timestamp window to the oversight server; and communicate the location data to the oversight server; and the network coverage map indicates the network coverage with respect to the location data and during the timestamp window.
Shrivastava discloses method and apparatus for generating network coverage map including: determine a timestamp window that indicates a period during which the first cellular information, the second cellular information, and the network information are detected; determine location data that indicates location coordinates of the vehicle; communicate data indicating the timestamp window to the oversight server; and communicate the location data to the oversight server; and the network coverage map indicates the network coverage with respect to the location data and during the timestamp window (Fig. 6, Fig. 8, and ¶0066-0070).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before effective filing date of the claimed the invention, to modify the invention of Maheshwari to incorporate crowdsourcing for collecting coverage data from Shrivastava because doing so would applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results (MPEP §2141 -III) to utilize various sources for coverage map data collection.
Regarding claim 5, Maheshwari discloses the system of claim 3, however, silent on further details of claim 5.
Shrivastava discloses wherein the network coverage map is represented by an image showing the determined network coverage along at least the portion of the road (Fig. 3 and ¶0039).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before effective filing date of the claimed the invention, to modify the invention of Maheshwari to incorporate crowdsourcing for collecting coverage data from Shrivastava because doing so would applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results (MPEP §2141 -III) to utilize various sources for coverage map data collection.
Regarding claim 19, Maheshwari discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 15, however, silent on further details of claim 19.
Shrivastava discloses wherein: the network information provides information about network communication conditions along at least the portion of the road; and the network information is separate from each of the first cellular information and the second cellular information (Fig. 6, Fig. 8, and ¶0066-0070 disclose connecting network coverage along a road which can be implement for various networks – i.e. separate from a specific network).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before effective filing date of the claimed the invention, to modify the invention of Maheshwari to incorporate crowdsourcing for collecting coverage data from Shrivastava because doing so would applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results (MPEP §2141 -III) to utilize various sources for coverage map data collection.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maheshwari et al. (US 20210112423 A1) in view of Zhu et al. (US 20110274038 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Maheshwari discloses the system of claim 1, however, wherein: establishing the first network communication path with the first base station comprises: establishing the third network communication path with the remote server comprises: transmitting a third data package to the remote server (¶0017- “That is, the car 108 may periodically report its position to the connectivity management platform 200. Based on the detected location of the car 108”); and receiving a third acknowledgment message that indicates the third data package is received by the remote server (¶0019 – “When the car 108 is detected in the overlap area 109, the connectivity management platform 200 communicates, at 114, with the first MNO 102-1 via SM-SR to remotely provision the eSIM 110 of the car 108 to switch to the profile of the cellular service 2 (CS2), as opposed to the currently enabled profile of the cellular service 1 (CS1)”). However, the reference is silent on details about transmitting a first data package to the first base station; and receiving a first acknowledgment message that indicates the first data package is received by the first base station; establishing the second network communication path with the second base station comprises: transmitting a second data package to the second base station; and receiving a second acknowledgment message that indicates the second data package is received by the second base station.
Zhu discloses transmitting a first data package to a base station; and receiving a first acknowledgment message that indicates the first data package is received by the base station (Fig. 5 step 504-506 and ¶0053).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before effective filing date of the claimed the invention, to modify the invention of Maheshwari to incorporate RRC signaling for establishing connection with wireless network from Zhu because doing so would apply a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results (MPEP §2141 -III) to utilized known protocol for connection establishment.
Contact Information
/DUNG HONG/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2643