Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 1/29/24 and 12/10/24 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: guide member in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mallmann et al., U.S. Patent 2020/0010069 (hereinafter “Mallmann”).
In Reference to Claim 1:
Mallmann discloses a vehicle brake arrangement comprising: a master cylinder (12) attached to a dash panel of a vehicle (Examiner notes that the attached to a dash panel of a vehicle is intended use of the master cylinder, notwithstanding the prior art is in the same field of endeavor and typically the master cylinder is installed to a dash panel); a reservoir tank (13) mounted on an upper side of the master cylinder (12); and a guide member (30) provided at a front end of the master cylinder, wherein, the reservoir tank has an overextending portion (See, Figure 1A or 3) extending forward beyond the master cylinder; and the guide member includes a fixed portion (26) to be fixed to the master cylinder (within the orifices as shown in Figure 9) and an extending portion extending forward from the fixed portion and overlapping in a vehicle up-down direction with the extending portion.
In Reference to Claim 2:
Mallmann further discloses wherein the fixed portion is mounted to an end surface of the master cylinder on the front side of the vehicle (See, Figure 1 and 9), the guide member has an abutment surface continuous with the fixed portion and directed toward an inner side in a vehicle width direction, and the rib portion is disposed outward of at least part of the abutment surface in the vehicle width direction.
In Reference to Claim 3;Mallmann further discloses wherein the extending portion is disposed outward of
at least part of the abutment surface in the vehicle width direction. See, Figure 5 or 6 which depicts the extending portion being larger than the abutment surfaces in the width direction.
In Reference to Claim 4:
Mallmann further discloses wherein the extending portion has a tapered portion having an inner region in the vehicle width direction thereof tapered as it extends frontward. See, Figure 3b which shows in the width direction the extending
portion 30 tappers as it extends out wide.
In Reference to Claim 5:
Mallman further disclose wherein the guide member has the abutting surface continuing from the fixed portion via bent portion, and a reinforcing part (Rib; See Annotated Figure above which illustrates that guide member contains a bent portion and rib) provided on an outer side in the vehicle width direction of the abutting surface; and the reinforcing part includes a reinforcing surface overlapping in the vehicle width with the abutting surface and extending out portion extending toward the front end surface of the master cylinder.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mallmann et al., U.S. Patent 2020/0010069 (hereinafter “Mallmann”) in view of Lange, WIPO Publication WO2014114487 (hereinafter “Lange”).
In Reference to Claim 6:
Mallmann discloses all the limiations set forth in claim 2, and further discloses the fixed portion having a fixing hole through which a fixing member is inserted. See, Figure 12.
Mallman fails to disclose a slit continuing from the fixing hole and opening outward in the vehicle width direction from the fixing hole. However, in the same field of endeavor, attachment means for a reservoir to a master cylinder, Lange discloses wherein the fixing hole has a slit continuing from the fixing hole and opening outward.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify Mallmann such that the fixing hole contains a slit continuing from the fixing hole and opening outward as taught by Lange because such a modification would allow for easier mating of the two components by giving additional tolerances. Examinre notes that the opening outward in the vehicle width direction from the fixing hole is merely a design choice in the direction in which the slit opens and as such without a distinct technological advantage (which Examiner could not locate within the specification) would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to alternatively design given the limited directions the slit could open.
Double Patenting
Claim 1-5 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-3,5, and 1 of co-pending Application No. 18/592,993 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the application claims are broader in at least one aspect.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
For claim 1:
Regarding the broadening aspect of the application claims, the following comparison between the co-pending application claims and the application claims highlights (see underlined features in the co-pending claims) what elements have been excluded in the presentation of the application claims.
Co-Pending Application 1
Application claim 1
A vehicle brake apparatus comprising:
a master cylinder mounted to a dash panel of a vehicle;
a reservoir tank mounted to a portion of the master cylinder on an upper side of the vehicle;
and a guide member provided at an end portion of the master cylinder on a front side of the master cylinder, wherein the reservoir tank having an overhanging portion hanging over the master cylinder toward the front side of the vehicle, wherein the guide member has a fixed portion to be fixed to the master cylinder, and an extending portion extending toward the front side of the vehicle from the fixed portion and overlapping the overhanging portion in a vehicle up-down direction, the overhanging portion has a rib portion protruding toward a lower side of the vehicle, and at least part of the rib portion overlaps the extending portion in a vehicle front-rear direction.
A vehicle brake arrangement comprising:
a master cylinder attached to a dash panel of a vehicle;
a reservoir tank mounted to an upper side of the master cylinder;
a guide member provided at a front end of the master cylinder wherein the reservoir tank has an overextending portion extending forward between the master cylinder; and
a guide member includes a fixed portion to be fixed to the master cylinder and an extending portion extending forward from the fixed portion and overlapping in a vehicle up-down direction with the overextending portion.
Thus, it is apparent, for the broadening aspect, that co-pending claim 1 includes features that are not in application claim 1. Following the rationale in In re Goodman, cited above, where applicant has once been granted a patent containing a claim for the specific or narrower invention, applicant may not then obtain a second patent with a claim for the generic or broader invention without first submitting an appropriate terminal disclaimer. Since application claim 1 is anticipated by co-pending claim 1, with respect to the broadening aspect, and since anticipation is the epitome of obviousness, then application claim 1 is obvious over co-pending claim 1 with respect to the broadening aspect.
For dependent claims 2-5, the recited limitations are contained in patent claims 2-3,5, and 1, respectively.
Conclusion
/DANIEL S COLLINS/Examiner, Art Unit 3745
/NATHANIEL E WIEHE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3745