DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show “a virtual imaging method including displaying different object data in different regions of a display for left and right eyes of an individual based on the eye tracking”, [0069], as described in the specification. Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities: “wherein the Fourier transform element is located a focal length” should read “wherein the Fourier transform element is located at a focal length”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being incomplete for omitting essential elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the elements. See MPEP § 2172.01. The omitted elements are: a control module. The control module is an essential element as it is not clear how to the display unit is controlled to project the virtual image seen by the viewer via the Fourier transform element.
Claims 18-20 depend on claim 17 and therefore inherit the same deficiency.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being incomplete for omitting essential elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the elements. See MPEP § 2172.01. The omitted elements are: a control module. The control module is an essential element as it is not clear what element is used to control the position shifting system as it adjusts the distance between the Fourier transform element and the reflector.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being incomplete for omitting essential elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the elements. See MPEP § 2172.01. The omitted elements are: a control module. The control module is an essential element as it is not clear what element is used to control a voltage applied to a focus tunable lens of the Fourier transform element to adjust a focal length of the focus tunable lens
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 5, and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Powell (US20170261729A1, of record in the IDS dated 9/3/2024).
With respect to Claim 1, Powell discloses a virtual imaging system comprising:
a projection display (Fig. 21-- element 1104, display module; [0118]) configured to display at least one object (Fig. 1-- element 112, object; [0037]);
a Fourier transform element (Fig. 1-- elements 102 and 106, array pair; [0040]) comprising at least one telecentric lens ([0050]-[0051] and Fig. 1-- element 100 may provide telecentric output) and configured to Fourier transform the at least one object (Fig. 1-- element 112, object; [0037]) to generate at least one converted object (Fig. 1-- element 118, image; [0043]), the at least one converted object (Fig. 1-- element 118, image; [0043]) being reverse Fourier transform converted by lenses of eyes of a viewer to a virtual image seen by retinas of the viewer (Fig. 1 and [0019]: element 118 is a floating image to be seen by a user and is thus spatially transformed by the lens and received by the retina); and
a control module (Fig. 21-- element 1102; [0118]) configured to control operation of the projection display (Fig. 21-- element 1104, display module; [0118]) to display the at least one object (Fig. 1-- element 112, object; [0037]) and, via the Fourier transform element (Fig. 1-- elements 102 and 106, array pair; [0040]), project the virtual image seen by the viewer (Fig. 1 and [0019]: element 118 is a floating image to be seen by a user).
With respect to Claim 2, Powell discloses a virtual imaging system of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the Fourier transform element (Fig. 1-- elements 102 and 106, array pair; [0040]) is located a focal length of the at least one telecentric lens ([0050]-[0051] and Fig. 1-- element 100 may provide telecentric output) from the projection display (Fig. 21-- element 1104, display module; [0118]) (Fig. 1 and [0039]: elements 102 and 106 is located at a distance f1 from element 104).
With respect to Claim 5, Powell discloses a virtual imaging system of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the Fourier transform element (Fig. 1-- elements 102 and 106, array pair; [0040]) is i) at a first location, which is a focal length fL of the Fourier transform element (Fig. 1-- elements 102 and 106, array pair; [0040]) from the eyes of the viewer, ii) at a second location, which is a sum of the focal length fL of the Fourier transform element (Fig. 1-- elements 102 and 106, array pair; [0040]) and a focal length fe of the eyes of the viewer away from the eyes of the viewer, or iii) at a third location, which is between the first location and the second location ([0028] and [0042]: an image appears to float in front of the viewer; The array pair 106 transforms the representation at the intermediate transform plane 116 from position space back into angle space, as well as focus convergence toward the image conjugate distance z2 .).
With respect to claim 15, Powell discloses a virtual imaging system of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the projection display (Fig. 21-- element 1104, display module; [0118]) comprises an array of light emitting devices (Fig. 1-- element 112, may include LCD to emit light; [0122] [0045]) and is configured to produce a collimated light beam directed at the Fourier transform element (Fig. 1-- elements 102 and 106, array pair; [0040]).
With respect to claim 16, Powell discloses a virtual imaging system of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the projection display (Fig. 21-- element 1104, display module; [0118]), the Fourier transform element (Fig. 1-- elements 102 and 106, array pair; [0040]) and the control module (Fig. 21-- element 1102; [0118]) provide uniform magnification across the virtual image ([0027]: the microlens arrays may provide unity magnification).
With respect to Claim 17, Powell discloses a virtual image projection method comprising:
displaying at least one object (Fig. 1-- element 112, object; [0037]) via a projection display (Fig. 21-- element 1104, display module; [0118]);
Fourier transforming the at least one object (Fig. 1-- element 112, object; [0037]) via at least one telecentric lens ([0050]-[0051] and Fig. 1-- element 100 may provide telecentric output) disposed downstream from the projection display (Fig. 21-- element 1104, display module; [0118]) to generate at least one converted object (Fig. 1-- element 118, image; [0043]), the at least one converted object (Fig. 1-- element 118, image; [0043]) being reverse Fourier transform converted by lenses of eyes of a viewer to a virtual image seen by retinas of the viewer (Fig. 1 and [0019]: element 118 is a floating image to be seen by a user and is thus spatially transformed by the lens and received by the retina); and
controlling operation (Fig. 21-- element 1102; [0118] of the projection display (Fig. 21-- element 1104, display module; [0118]) to display the at least one object (Fig. 1-- element 112, object; [0037]) and, via the Fourier transform element (Fig. 1-- elements 102 and 106, array pair; [0040]), project the virtual image seen by the viewer (Fig. 1 and [0019]: element 118 is a floating image to be seen by a user).
Under the principles of inherency, if a prior art device, in its normal and usual operation, would necessarily perform the method claimed, then the method claimed will be considered to be anticipated by the prior art device. When the prior art device is the same as a device described in the specification for carrying out the claimed method, it can be assumed the device will inherently perform the claimed process. See In re King, 801 F.2d 1324, 231 USPQ 136 (Fed. Cir. 1986). See also MPEP § 2112.02.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Powell (US20170261729A1, of record in the IDS dated 9/3/2024) in view of Powell2 (US2017261729A1, Fig. 10, of record in the IDS dated 9/3/2024).
With respect to Claim 6, Powell discloses the virtual imaging system of claim 1, and further discloses the Fourier transform element (Fig. 1-- elements 102 and 106, array pair; [0040]).
However, Powell does not disclose further comprising a reflector disposed between the Fourier transform element and the viewer, wherein the reflector is semi-transmissive and semi-reflective.
Powell2 does disclose a virtual imaging system wherein a reflector (Fig. 10-- element 926, reflective layer; [0101]) disposed between the Fourier transform element (Fig. 1-- elements 922 and 923, arrays; [0101]) and the viewer (Fig. 10—element 923 is between elements 922 and 923 and the user), wherein the reflector (Fig. 10-- element 926, reflective layer; [0101]) is semi-transmissive and semi-reflective ([0034]: reflective sheets allow light to pass through and reflect).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the virtual imaging system of Powell with the reflective layer of Powell2 in order to create a device which can maintain a tighter retroreflected angular subtend that may be large enough for a driver in an automobile to see the retroreflection of the light emanating from the headlights of the automobile illuminating a road sign (Powell2, [0034]).
With respect to Claim 8, Powell and Powell2 discloses the virtual imaging system of claim 6, and Powell further discloses wherein:
the Fourier transform element (Fig. 1-- elements 102 and 106, array pair; [0040]) consists of the at least one telecentric lens ([0050]-[0051] and Fig. 1-- element 100 may provide telecentric output);
no intermediary devices are disposed between (Fig. 10—element 100 and the display image 118 do not have any devices between them) the projection display (Fig. 21-- element 1104, display module; [0118]) and the at least one telecentric lens ([0050]-[0051] and Fig. 1-- element 100 may provide telecentric output).
However, Powell does not disclose wherein no intermediary devices are disposed between the Fourier transform element and the reflector.
Powell2 does disclose a virtual imaging system wherein no intermediary devices are disposed between the Fourier transform element (Fig. 1-- elements 102 and 106, array pair; [0040]) and the reflector (Fig. 10-- element 926, reflective layer; [0101]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the virtual imaging system of Powell with the reflective layer of Powell2 in order to create a device which can maintain a tighter retroreflected angular subtend that may be large enough for a driver in an automobile to see the retroreflection of the light emanating from the headlights of the automobile illuminating a road sign (Powell2, [0034]).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Powell (US20170261729A1) in view of Bhagavatula (US 20210364817 A1).
With respect to Claim 9, Powell discloses the virtual imaging system of claim 1, and further discloses the Fourier transform element (Fig. 1-- elements 102 and 106, array pair; [0040]) and the control module (Fig. 21-- element 1102; [0118]).
However, Powell does not disclose wherein the Fourier transform element comprises a focus tunable lens, wherein the control module is configured to control a voltage applied to the focus tunable lens to adjust a focal length of the focus tunable lens. Powell and Bhagavatula are related as both pertaining to the same field of display systems. Bhagavatula discloses a virtual imaging system (Fig. 1—element 100, display system; [0090]) wherein the Fourier transform element (Fig. 1—element 102, optical element; [0049]) comprises a focus tunable lens ([0049]: element 102 can include a focus-tunable lens), wherein the control module (Fig. 1—element 114, control system; [0091]) ([0091]: the optical power of the optical element 102 is controlled by an input voltage or current) is configured to control a voltage applied to the focus tunable lens ([0049]: element 102 can include a focus-tunable lens) to adjust a focal length of the focus tunable lens ([0049]: element 102 can include a focus-tunable lens). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device of Powell with the tunable lens of Bhagavatula in order to create a display device which is capable of varying the focal length of the optical element (Bhagavatula, [0020]).
Claims 11-14 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Powell (US20170261729A1 of record in the IDS dated 9/3/2024) in view of Schuck (US20230266596A1).
With respect to Claim 11, Powell discloses the virtual imaging system of claim 1, and further discloses the control module (Fig. 21-- element 1102; [0118]) and the projection display (Fig. 21-- element 1104, display module; [0118]).
However, Powell does not disclose further comprising at least one eye tracking device configured to track the eyes of the viewer, wherein the control module is configured to determine a head pose and gaze angles of the eyes of the viewer based on an output of the at least one eye tracking device, and, based on the head pose and the gaze angles, to display a first selected one or more objects in a first region of the projection display to be viewed by a left eye of the viewer, and to display a second selected one or more objects in a second region of the projection display to be viewed by a right eye of the viewer.
Powell and Schuck are related as both pertaining to the same field of display systems. Schuck discloses a virtual imaging system (Fig. 2B—element 200, eyewear device; [0038]) comprising at least one eye tracking device (Fig. 2B—element 213, eye movement tracker; [0038]) configured to track the eyes of the viewer ([0039]: element 213 tracks the eye movement of the user),
wherein the control module (Fig. 2B—element 932, processor; [0039]) is configured to determine a head pose and gaze angles of the eyes of the viewer ([0068]: element 932 utilizes element 213 to determine an eye gaze direction of a wearer's eye) based on an output of the at least one eye tracking device (Fig. 2B—element 213, eye movement tracker; [0038]), and, based on the head pose and the gaze angles, to display a first selected one or more objects in a first region of the projection display to be viewed by a left eye of the viewer, and to display a second selected one or more objects in a second region of the projection display to be viewed by a right eye of the viewer ([0039]: element 932 further configures element 100 to determine a field of view adjustment to the initial field of view of the initial displayed image based on the detected movement of the user). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Powell with the eye tracking capabilities of Schuck in order to create a device which is capable of determining a field of view adjustment to the initial field of view of the initial displayed image based on the detected movement of the user (Schuck, [0039]).
With respect to Claim 12, Powell and Schuck disclose the virtual imaging system of claim 11, and further discloses the control module (Fig. 21-- element 1102; [0118]) and the projection display (Fig. 21-- element 1104, display module; [0118]).
However, Powell does not disclose wherein the control module configured to convert the head pose and the gaze angles of the eyes to position coordinate locations on the projection display.
Powell and Schuck are related as both pertaining to the same field of display systems. Schuck discloses a virtual imaging system (Fig. 2B—element 200, eyewear device; [0038]) comprising a control module (Fig. 2B—element 932, processor; [0039]) configured to convert the head pose and the gaze angles of the eyes to position coordinate locations on the projection display (Fig. 2B— element 180A-180B, see-through image displays; [0039]) ([0039]: element 932 further configures element 100 to determine a field of view adjustment to the initial field of view of the initial displayed image based on the detected movement of the user. The field of view adjustment includes a successive field of view corresponding to a successive eye direction.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Powell with the eye tracking capabilities of Schuck in order to create a device which is capable of determining a field of view adjustment to the initial field of view of the initial displayed image based on the detected movement of the user (Schuck, [0039]).
With respect to Claim 13, Powell and Schuck disclose the virtual imaging system of claim 11, and further discloses the control module (Fig. 21-- element 1102; [0118]) and the projection display (Fig. 21-- element 1104, display module; [0118]). However, Powell does not disclose wherein the control module is configured to display different object data in a first region of the projection display than in a second region of the projection display.
Powell and Schuck are related as both pertaining to the same field of display systems. Schuck discloses a virtual imaging system (Fig. 2B—element 200, eyewear device; [0038]) wherein the control module (Fig. 2B—element 932, processor; [0039]) is configured to display different object data in a first region of the projection display (Fig. 2B— element 180C, see-through image displays; [0039]) than in a second region of the projection display (Fig. 2B— element 180D, see-through image displays; [0039]) (Fig. 2B and [0047]: Left (first) visible light camera 114 A is connected to the left see-through image display 180C of left optical assembly 180A to generate a first background scene of a first successive displayed image. The right (second) visible light camera 114 B is connected to the right see-through image display 180 D of right optical assembly 180 B to generate a second background scene of a second successive displayed image. The first background scene and the second background scene partially overlap to present a three-dimensional observable area of the successive displayed image.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Powell with the eye tracking capabilities of Schuck in order to create a device which is capable of determining a field of view adjustment to the initial field of view of the initial displayed image based on the detected movement of the user (Schuck, [0039]).
With respect to Claim 14, Powell discloses the virtual imaging system of claim 1, and further discloses the control module (Fig. 21-- element 1102; [0118]) and the projection display (Fig. 21-- element 1104, display module; [0118]).
However, Powell does not disclose further comprising at least one eye tracking device configured to track the eyes of the viewer, wherein the control module is configured to determine a head pose and gaze angles of the eyes of the viewer based on an output of the at least one eye tracking device, and, based on the head pose and the gaze angles, to display a first portion of a selected object via a first region of the projection display and a second portion of the selected object via a second region of the projection display to display a virtual three-dimensional image.
Powell and Schuck are related as both pertaining to the same field of display systems. Schuck discloses a virtual imaging system (Fig. 2B—element 200, eyewear device; [0038]) comprising at least one eye tracking device (Fig. 2B—element 213, eye movement tracker; [0038]) configured to track the eyes of the viewer ([0039]: element 213 tracks the eye movement of the user),
wherein the control module (Fig. 2B—element 932, processor; [0039]) is configured to determine a head pose and gaze angles of the eyes of the viewer ([0068]: element 932 utilizes element 213 to determine an eye gaze direction of a wearer's eye) based on an output of the at least one eye tracking device (Fig. 2B—element 213, eye movement tracker; [0038]), and, based on the head pose and the gaze angles, to display a first portion of a selected object via a first region of the projection display (Fig. 2B— element 180C, see-through image displays; [0039]) and a second portion of the selected object via a second region of the projection display (Fig. 2B— element 180D, see-through image displays; [0039]) to display a virtual three-dimensional image ([0039]: element 932 further configures element 100 to determine a field of view adjustment to the initial field of view of the initial displayed image based on the detected movement of the user) (Fig. 2B and [0047]: Left (first) visible light camera 114 A is connected to the left see-through image display 180C of left optical assembly 180A to generate a first background scene of a first successive displayed image. The right (second) visible light camera 114 B is connected to the right see-through image display 180 D of right optical assembly 180 B to generate a second background scene of a second successive displayed image. The first background scene and the second background scene partially overlap to present a three-dimensional observable area of the successive displayed image.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Powell with the eye tracking capabilities of Schuck in order to create a device which is capable of a field of view adjustment to the initial field of view of the initial displayed image based on the detected movement of the user (Schuck, [0039]) and presenting a 3 dimensional image to the user (Schuck, [0047]).
With respect to Claim 20, Powell discloses the virtual image projection method of claim 17, and discloses further comprising: the projection display (Fig. 21-- element 1104, display module; [0118])
However, Powell does not disclose further comprising: tracking eyes of the viewer to determine a head pose and gaze angles of the eyes of the viewer;
converting the head pose and the gaze angles of the eyes to position coordinate locations on the projection display; and
based on the position coordinate locations, displaying a first selected one or more objects in a first region of the projection display to be viewed by a left eye of the viewer, and displaying a second selected one or more objects in a second region of the projection display to be viewed by a right eye of the viewer.
Powell and Schuck are related as both pertaining to the same field of display systems. Schuck discloses a virtual imaging system (Fig. 2B—element 200, eyewear device; [0038]) comprising: tracking eyes of the viewer to determine a head pose and gaze angles of the eyes of the viewer (Fig. 2B—element 213, eye movement tracker; [0038]) ([0039]: element 213 tracks the eye movement of the user);
converting the head pose and the gaze angles of the eyes ([0068]: element 932 utilizes element 213 to determine an eye gaze direction of a wearer's eye) to position coordinate locations on the projection display (Fig. 2B—element 180A-B, optical element; [0050]); and
based on the position coordinate locations, displaying a first selected one or more objects in a first region of the projection display to be viewed by a left eye of the viewer, and displaying a second selected one or more objects in a second region of the projection display to be viewed by a right eye of the viewer (Fig. 2B and [0047]: Left (first) visible light camera 114 A is connected to the left see-through image display 180C of left optical assembly 180A to generate a first background scene of a first successive displayed image. The right (second) visible light camera 114 B is connected to the right see-through image display 180 D of right optical assembly 180 B to generate a second background scene of a second successive displayed image. The first background scene and the second background scene partially overlap to present a three-dimensional observable area of the successive displayed image.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Powell with the eye tracking capabilities of Schuck in order to create a device which is capable of a field of view adjustment to the initial field of view of the initial displayed image based on the detected movement of the user (Schuck, [0039]) and presenting a 3 dimensional image to the user (Schuck, [0047]).
Under the principles of inherency, if a prior art device, in its normal and usual operation, would necessarily perform the method claimed, then the method claimed will be considered to be anticipated by the prior art device. When the prior art device is the same as a device described in the specification for carrying out the claimed method, it can be assumed the device will inherently perform the claimed process. See In re King, 801 F.2d 1324, 231 USPQ 136 (Fed. Cir. 1986). See also MPEP § 2112.02.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 4, 7, and 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a). This includes, but is not limited to, the 112 rejections as detailed above.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: with respect to the allowable subject matter, none of the prior art either alone or in combination disclose or teach of the claimed combination of limitations to warrant a rejection under 35 USC 102 or 103.
With respect to Claim 3, Powell discloses the virtual imaging system of claim 1, and further discloses comprising the projection display (Fig. 21-- element 1104, display module; [0118]), the Fourier transform element (Fig. 1-- elements 102 and 106, array pair; [0040]), and the control module (Fig. 21-- element 1102; [0118]). However, neither Powell nor any other combination of the prior art discloses further comprising a position shifting system configured to move the projection display relative to the Fourier transform element, wherein the control module is configured to control the position shifting system to adjust a distance between the projection display and the Fourier transform element, in combination with all other limitations of Claim 1.
With respect to Claim 4, Powell discloses the virtual imaging system of claim 1, and further discloses comprising the Fourier transform element (Fig. 1-- elements 102 and 106, array pair; [0040]) and the projection display (Fig. 21-- element 1104, display module; [0118]).
However, neither Powell nor any other combination of the prior art discloses
further comprising a position shifting system configured to move the Fourier transform element relative to the projection display, wherein the control module is configured to control the position shifting system to adjust a distance between the projection display and the Fourier transform, in combination with all other limitations of Claim 1.
With respect to Claim 7, Powell and Powell2 disclose the virtual imaging system of claim 6, and Powell further discloses the Fourier transform element (Fig. 1-- elements 102 and 106, array pair; [0040]) and the control module (Fig. 21-- element 1102; [0118]). Powell2 further discloses the reflector (Fig. 10-- element 926, reflective layer; [0101]). However, neither Powell, Powell2, nor any other combination of the prior art discloses further comprising a position shifting system configured to move the Fourier transform element relative to the reflector, wherein the control module is configured to control the position shifting system to adjust a distance between the Fourier transform element and the reflector, in combination with all other limitations of Claim 6.
With respect to Claim 10, Powell and Bhagavatula disclose the virtual imaging system of claim 9, and Powell discloses further comprising the projection display (Fig. 21-- element 1104, display module; [0118]), the Fourier transform element (Fig. 1-- elements 102 and 106, array pair; [0040]), the control module (Fig. 21-- element 1102; [0118]), the at least one object (Fig. 1-- element 112, object; [0037]), and the at least one telecentric lens ([0050]-[0051] and Fig. 1-- element 100 may provide telecentric output).
However, neither Powell, Bhagavatula, nor any other combination of the prior art discloses further comprising at least one position shifting system coupled to and configured to move at least one of the projection display and the Fourier transform element, wherein the control module is configured to adjust an apparent location of the virtual image and distance of the virtual image from the viewer by varying a distance of the at least one object from the at least one telecentric lens via the position shifting system, in combination with all other limitations of Claim 9.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Powell (US 20170261748 A1) discloses aspects of the instant invention, see Fig. 2 and [0040]-[0055].
Hua (US20150277129A1) discloses aspects of the instant invention, see Fig. X and [0049].
El-Haddad (US 20230393400 A1) discloses aspects of the instant invention, see Fig. 1 and [0022]-[0025].
/MACKENZI WADDELL/ Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/WILLIAM R ALEXANDER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872