DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
Claims 1, 3—6, 8, 10—13, 15—19 & 21—26 have been examined in this application. Claims 2, 7, 9, 14 & 20 have been canceled. Claims 21—26 are newly added. This communication is a Final Rejection in response to Applicant’s “Amendments/Remarks” filed 10/28/2025. The Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) filed on 07/30/2025 has been acknowledged by the Office.
Specification
The use of the term Velcro (Applicant Specification para [0024]), which is a trade name or a mark used in commerce, has been noted in this application. The term should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the term should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, 8, 10, 12, 15, 21—26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S Patent Application 2007/0101496 A1 to Ho (Ho hereafter).
As per claim 1, Ho teaches:
A bed sheet system (10—Fig.1; para [0023]) comprising:
a fitted sheet (16—Fig.1; para [0023]) operable for attachment onto a mattress (para [0023]); and
a top sheet (18—Fig.1; para [0023]) operable for placement (i) over the fitted sheet and (ii) over the mattress (para [0023]), wherein (a) a distal end of the top sheet is secured to a distal end of the fitted sheet (36—Fig.4; para [0026]) along first and second stitched regions (20—Fig.4; para [0026]),
(b) the first and second stitched regions are interleaved with an in stitched region (para [0026]; annotated Fig.4 below), and
(c) the distal end of the top sheet is unsecured from the distal end of the fitted sheet along the stitched region (10 –Fig.4: generally shown distal end of fitted sheet unsecured to the top sheet).
As per claim 3, Ho teaches
The bed sheet system of claim 1, wherein (i) the top sheet defines a vent opening along the stitched region (38—Fig.4; para [0028]: vent formed near 38 via unstitched region formed by element 36 & 20) and (ii) the vent opening is operable to vent air from spaces defined between the fitted sheet and top sheet (para [0028]).
As per claim 4, Ho teaches
The bed sheet system of claim 3, wherein the vent opening defined along the unstitched region is aligned with the first and second stitched regions along an axis (38—Fig.4; para [0028]: vent formed near 38 via unstitched region formed by element 36 & 20).
As per claim 8, Ho teaches
A bed sheeting (10—Fig.1; para [0023]) comprising:
a first sheet (16—Fig.1; para [0023]) (i) having elastic regions (claim 1) and (ii) configured to conform to a shape of a mattress (para [0023]); and
a second sheet (18—Fig.1; para [0023]) (i) disposed over the first sheet (ii) stitched to the first sheet (para [0028]) along spaced-apart regions (20—Fig.4; para [0028]), and (iii) interleaved with secondary regions wherein t first sheet and second sheet are unstitched along the secondary regions the spaced-apart regions and secondary regions are interleaved and aligned along an axis (10—Fig.4; para [0028]: generally shown spaced apart region along an axis).
As per claim 10, Ho teaches
The bed sheeting of claim 8, wherein (i) the second sheet defines openings along the secondary regions (38—Fig.4; para [0028]: openings formed near 38 via unsecured region formed by element 36 & 20), and (ii) the openings are operable to vent air from spaces defined between the first sheet and second sheet (para [0028]).
As per claim 11, Ho teaches
The bed sheeting of claim 10, wherein the openings defined along the secondary regions are aligned along the axis (10—Fig.4; para [0028]: generally shown spaced apart region along an axis).
As per claim 15, Ho teaches
A bedding set (10—Fig.1; para [0023]) comprising:
a primary sheet (16—Fig.1; para [0023]) (i) having a first plurality of outer regions (34—Fig.1; para [0025]) and (ii) configured to engage a mattress (16—Fig.1); and
a secondary sheet (18—Fig.1; para [0023]) (i) having a second plurality of outer regions (34—Fig.1; para [0025]) and (ii) configured for placement over the primary sheet (para [0025]),
wherein (a) a first region of the first plurality of outer regions is stitched to a first region of the second plurality of outer regions (36 & 20—Fig.4) along spaced-apart stitched regions (36 & 20—Fig.4; para [0028]), (b) the first region of the first plurality of outer regions is unsecured to the first region of the second plurality of outer regions along unstitched regions (annotated Fig.4), and (c) the attached regions are interleaved with the unstitched regions (10—Fig.4).
As per claim 16, Ho teaches
The bedding set of claim 15, wherein (i) the secondary sheet defines openings along the unstitched regions (annotated 10—Fig.4; para [0028]) and (ii) the openings are operable to vent air from spaces defined between the primary sheet and secondary sheet (annotated 10—Fig.4: para [0028]).
As per claim 17, Ho teaches
The bedding set of claim 16, wherein the openings defined along the unstitched regions are aligned with the spaced-apart stitched regions along an axis (annotated 10—Fig.4).
As per claim 21, Ho teaches
The bed sheet system of claim 1, wherein the distal end of the top sheet extends between a first side and a second side of the top sheet and wherein the first and second stitched regions terminate along the distal end of the top sheet in a spaced relation to the first and second sides of the top sheet (annotated Fig.4).
As per claim 22, Ho teaches
The bed sheet system of claim 1, further comprising a third stitched
region between the first and the second stitched regions at the distal end of the top sheet (annotated Fig.4), wherein the first, second, and third stitched regions are interleaved with unstitched regions (annotated Fig.4).
As per claim 23, Ho teaches
The bed sheeting of claim 8. wherein the axis extends along a distal
end of the top sheet, the distal end of the second sheet extending between a first side and a second side (annotated Fig.4), and the spaced apart regions are positioned along the distal end of the second sheet in a spaced relation to the first and second sides (annotated Fig.4).
As per claim 24, Ho teaches
The bed sheeting of claim 8, wherein the spaced-apart regions comprise three stitched regions interleaved with two secondary regions (annotated Fig.4).
As per claim 25, Ho teaches
The bedding set of claim 15, wherein the first region of the second plurality of outer regions extends between first and second side regions (34—Fig.1) of the second plurality of outer regions (annotated Fig.4), and wherein the spaced-apart stitched regions are positioned along the first region of the second plurality of outer regions at a spaced relation to the first and second side regions of the second plurality of outer regions (annotated Fig.4).
As per claim 26, Ho teaches
The bedding set of claim 15, wherein the first region of the first plurality of outer regions (34—Fig.1) is stitched to the first region of the second plurality of outer regions along three spaced-apart stitched regions (annotated Fig.4), the three spaced-apart stitched regions are interleaved with two unstitched regions (annotated Fig.4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5, 6, 12, 13, 18 & 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S Patent Application 2007/0101496 A1 to Ho in view of U.S Patent Application 2016/0058214 A1 to Preston (Preston hereafter).
As per claim 5, Ho (as modified) teaches The bed sheet system of claim 1.
Ho does not teach, wherein distal corners of the top sheet define cutouts operable to expose distal corners of the fitted sheet.
Preston teaches, wherein distal corners of the top sheet define cutouts operable to expose distal corners of the fitted sheet (135 a, 135b, 125a & 125b—Fig.1: top sheet define cutouts).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined Ho (directed to a bed sheet assembly provided with an attached top and bottom sheet) and Preston (directed to a bed sheet assembly provided with an attached top and bottom sheet provided with distal corners of the top sheet define cutouts operable to expose distal corners of the fitted sheet) and arrived at a bed sheet assembly provided with an attached top and bottom sheet provided with distal corners of the top sheet define cutouts operable to expose distal corners of the fitted sheet. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination to provide a visually appealing bedsheet with hospital corners by creating the look of angled creases near the cut outs as taught in Preston (para [0015]).
As per claim 6, Ho (as modified) teaches The bed sheet system of claim 5.
Ho does not teach , wherein the cutouts defined along the distal corners of the top sheet are triangular.
Preston teaches, wherein the cutouts defined along the distal corners of the top sheet are triangular (annotated 135 a, 135b, 125a & 125b—Fig.1).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined Ho (directed to a bed sheet assembly provided with an attached top and bottom sheet) and Preston (directed to a bed sheet assembly provided with an attached top and bottom sheet provided with distal corners of the top sheet define cutouts operable to expose distal corners of the fitted sheet) and arrived at a bed sheet assembly provided with an attached top and bottom sheet provided with distal corners of the top sheet define cutouts operable to expose distal corners of the fitted sheet. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination to provide a visually appealing bedsheet with hospital corners by creating the look of angled creases near the cut outs as taught in Preston (para [0015]).
As per claim 12, Ho teaches The bed sheeting of claim 8.
Ho does not teach wherein (i) corners of the second sheet define cutouts operable to expose corners of the first sheet, (ii) the cutouts of the second sheet extend radially away from the axis , and (iii) the cutouts are adjacent to the axis.
Preston teaches, wherein (i) corners of the second sheet define cutouts operable to expose corners of the first sheet ( 135 a, 135b, 125a & 125b—Fig.1: cutout of second sheet exposing corners of first sheet), (ii) the cutouts of the second sheet extend radially away from the axis (annotated 135 a, 135b, 125a & 125b—Fig.1), and (iii) the cutouts are adjacent to the axis (annotated 135 a, 135b, 125a & 125b—Fig.1).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined Ho (directed to a bed sheet assembly provided with an attached top and bottom sheet) and Preston (directed to a bed sheet assembly provided with an attached top and bottom sheet provided with distal corners of the top sheet define cutouts operable to expose distal corners of the fitted sheet) and arrived at a bed sheet assembly provided with an attached top and bottom sheet provided with distal corners of the top sheet define cutouts operable to expose distal corners of the fitted sheet. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination to provide a visually appealing bedsheet with hospital corners by creating the look of angled creases near the cut outs as taught in Preston (para [0015]).
As per claim 13, Ho teaches The bed sheeting of claim 12.
Ho does not teach, wherein the cutouts defined along the corners of the second sheet are triangular.
Preston teaches, wherein the cutouts defined along the corners of the second sheet are triangular (135 a, 135b, 125a & 125b—Fig.1).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined Ho (directed to a bed sheet assembly provided with an attached top and bottom sheet) and Preston (directed to a bed sheet assembly provided with an attached top and bottom sheet provided with distal corners of the top sheet define cutouts operable to expose distal corners of the fitted sheet) and arrived at a bed sheet assembly provided with an attached top and bottom sheet provided with distal corners of the top sheet define cutouts operable to expose distal corners of the fitted sheet. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination to provide a visually appealing bedsheet with hospital corners by creating the look of angled creases near the cut outs as taught in Preston (para [0015]).
As per claim 18, Ho teaches The bedding set of claim 15.
Ho does not teach wherein (i) corners of the secondary sheet define cutouts operable to expose corners of the primary sheet and (ii) the cutouts of the secondary sheet extend from and are adjacent to the first region of the first plurality of outer regions of the primary sheet.
Preston teaches, wherein (i) corners of the secondary sheet define cutouts operable to expose corners of the primary sheet (135 a, 135b, 125a & 125b—Fig.1: cutout of secondary sheet exposing corners of primary sheet) and (ii) the cutouts of the secondary sheet extend from and are adjacent to the first region of the first plurality of outer regions of the primary sheet (135 a, 135b, 125a & 125b—Fig.1: cutout of secondary sheet adjacent to outer regions of primary sheet).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined Ho (directed to a bed sheet assembly provided with an attached top and bottom sheet) and Preston (directed to a bed sheet assembly provided with an attached top and bottom sheet provided with distal corners of the top sheet define cutouts operable to expose distal corners of the fitted sheet) and arrived at a bed sheet assembly provided with an attached top and bottom sheet provided with distal corners of the top sheet define cutouts operable to expose distal corners of the fitted sheet. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination to provide a visually appealing bedsheet with hospital corners by creating the look of angled creases near the cut outs as taught in Preston (para [0015]).
As per claim 19, Ho (as modified) teaches The bedding set of claim 18.
Ho does not teach , wherein the cutouts defined along the corners of the secondary sheet are triangular.
Preston teaches, wherein the cutouts defined along the corners of the secondary sheet are triangular (135 a, 135b, 125a & 125b—Fig.1).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined Ho (directed to a bed sheet assembly provided with an attached top and bottom sheet) and Preston (directed to a bed sheet assembly provided with an attached top and bottom sheet provided with distal corners of the top sheet define cutouts operable to expose distal corners of the fitted sheet) and arrived at a bed sheet assembly provided with an attached top and bottom sheet provided with distal corners of the top sheet define cutouts operable to expose distal corners of the fitted sheet. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination to provide a visually appealing bedsheet with hospital corners by creating the look of angled creases near the cut outs as taught in Preston (para [0015]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 8 & 15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S Patent Application 2019/0365123 A1 discloses a mattress assembly and method for applying sheets to a bed mattress, involving partially attached top and bottom sheets for facilitating simulation installation of the two during sheet installation.
U.S Patent 7,487,561 B2 discloses a bedding assembly including at least a first sheet, preferably one fitted sheet having a head end and a foot, at least a second sheet, preferably one flat sheet having a head end and a foot end to be placed atop the said second sheet, an elastomeric component either removably attached to the first sheet or the second sheet.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/D.T.G./Examiner, Art Unit 3673 02/06/2026
/JUSTIN C MIKOWSKI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3673