DETAILED ACTION
The Amendment filed 04/14/2026 has been entered.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claims 1-20 are rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 and 10-13, 15-17, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Cheng et al. (US Publication 2019/0052446).
With respect to claim 1, Cheng teaches A multi-carrier communication method for a sidelink, comprising:
determining, by a first user equipment (UE), a first carrier set based on first information, wherein the first carrier set is a subset of a second carrier set for sidelink communication; (A UE may select a subset of CCs for a transmission based on the mapping between an application providing a packet for the transmission and the priority associated with each CC. A UE, when receiving transmissions, identify one or more applications running at the UE and use the mapping to determine a subset of CCs to monitor for transmissions, paragraph 33) and
performing, by the first UE, an operation on a carrier in the first carrier set. (Communications manager 515 may identify a mapping between one or more applications at a first UE (e.g., 115-d or 115f) in the distributed wireless network and one or more component carriers of a set of available component carriers for transmissions between one or more other UEs 115 in the distributed wireless network, determine a priority associated with each component carrier of the set of available component carriers, select a first subset of component carriers for transmitting a first transmission of a first application of the one or more applications based on the mapping, and the priority associated with each component carrier, and transmit the first transmission using the selected first subset of component carriers to the one or more other UEs 115, paragraph 84)
With respect to claims 2 and 19, Cheng teaches wherein the first information comprises part or all of at least one of: a first application identifier (ID), a first service ID, a first provider service ID or an intelligent transportation system application ID (PSID/ITS-AID), a first quality of service (QoS) attribute, a first layer 2 ID (L2 ID), a first bearer, or a first logical channel. (the V2X layer may identify the application (e.g., by a provider service identification (PSID) or Intelligent Transportation Systems Application Identifier (ITS-AID) of the application) and identify CCs that are mapped to the application and a priority of the application, paragraph 59)
With respect to claim 3, Cheng teaches wherein performing, by the first UE, the operation on the carrier in the first carrier set comprises at least one of: detecting, by the first UE, a first message carried by the carrier in the first carrier set; or sending, by the first UE, a first message through the carrier in the first carrier set. (The V2X layer may identify carrier priorities and, based on the mapping and priorities, may select a subset of CCs that are to be monitored for transmissions, paragraph 60)
With respect to claim 4, Cheng teaches wherein the first message comprises at least one of: a first physical layer channel, a first media access control control element (MAC CE), a protocol data unit controlled by a first radio link control or a packet data convergence protocol (RLC/PDCP Control PDU), a first proximity communication 5 - radio resource control (PC5-RRC) message, a first PC5-S message, or a first discovery message. (The second UE 115-e, at block 360, may receive the transmission in cases where it is monitoring the selected CCs. In some cases, the packet transmission may be via a V2X message payload, via a Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) header extension, via a media access control (MAC) payload, as advertised by a metadata bit included in a sidelink control information (SCI) message, or via combinations thereof, paragraph 70)
With respect to claim 5, Cheng teaches wherein performing, by the first UE, the operation on the carrier in the first carrier set comprises: detecting, by the first UE, the first carrier set to perform a first function. (The V2X layer may identify carrier priorities and, based on the mapping and priorities, may select a subset of CCs that are to be monitored for transmissions, paragraph 60)
With respect to claim 6, Cheng teaches wherein the first function comprises a measurement or detection function. (may monitor an amount of traffic on each CC. In some cases, the selecting the first subset of component carriers is further based on an amount of traffic detected on one or more of component carriers of the set of available component carriers. In some cases, the amount of traffic detected on one or more of component carriers is determined based on a number of transmissions detected on each component carrier of the set of available component carriers during a time period prior to transmitting the first transmission, paragraph 102)
With respect to claim 10, Cheng teaches A multi-carrier communication apparatus for a sidelink, comprising a processor and a memory for storing a computer program that, when executed by the processor, (Processor 820 may include an intelligent hardware device, (e.g., a general-purpose processor, a DSP, a central processing unit (CPU), a microcontroller, an ASIC, an FPGA, a programmable logic device, a discrete gate or transistor logic component, a discrete hardware component, or any combination thereof). In some cases, processor 820 may be configured to operate a memory array using a memory controller, paragraph 104) causes the processor to:
determine a first carrier set based on first information, wherein the first carrier set is a subset of a second carrier set for sidelink communication; (A UE may select a subset of CCs for a transmission based on the mapping between an application providing a packet for the transmission and the priority associated with each CC. A UE, when receiving transmissions, identify one or more applications running at the UE and use the mapping to determine a subset of CCs to monitor for transmissions, paragraph 33) and
perform an operation on a carrier in the first carrier set. (Communications manager 515 may identify a mapping between one or more applications at a first UE (e.g., 115-d or 115f) in the distributed wireless network and one or more component carriers of a set of available component carriers for transmissions between one or more other UEs 115 in the distributed wireless network, determine a priority associated with each component carrier of the set of available component carriers, select a first subset of component carriers for transmitting a first transmission of a first application of the one or more applications based on the mapping, and the priority associated with each component carrier, and transmit the first transmission using the selected first subset of component carriers to the one or more other UEs 115, paragraph 84)
With respect to claims 11 and 16, Cheng teaches wherein the multi-carrier communication apparatus is a first user equipment (UE), (user equipment (UE), paragraph 3) and a correspondence between the first information and the first carrier set is configured to the first UE in a pre-configuration manner, a network configuration manner, or a configuration manner through signaling of a second UE. (receiving the mapping in one or more of an RRC configuration message or a SIB transmitted by a base station, paragraph 24)
With respect to claim 12, Cheng teaches wherein the network configuration manner includes: configuring the correspondence between the first information and the first carrier set to the multi-carrier communication apparatus through a system message or dedicated radio resource control (RRC) signaling. (The central node 305 may provide configuration information 320 to each UE 115, which may include the mapping and priority information. In some cases, the configuration information 320 may be configured based on a region in which the UEs 115 are located and may be, for example, transmitted in a system information block (SIB) or in an RRC signaling from a base station, paragraph 63)
With respect to claim 13, Cheng teaches wherein the dedicated RRC signaling comprises RRCReconfiguration signaling. (a UE 115 may receive the mapping in one or more of a radio resource control (RRC) configuration message or a system information block (SIB) transmitted by a base station 105, or any combinations thereof, paragraph 90)
With respect to claim 15, Cheng teaches A multi-carrier communication apparatus for a sidelink, comprising a processor and a memory for storing a computer program that, (Processor 820 may include an intelligent hardware device, (e.g., a general-purpose processor, a DSP, a central processing unit (CPU), a microcontroller, an ASIC, an FPGA, a programmable logic device, a discrete gate or transistor logic component, a discrete hardware component, or any combination thereof). In some cases, processor 820 may be configured to operate a memory array using a memory controller, paragraph 104) when executed by the processor, causes the processor to:
configure a correspondence between first information and a first carrier set for a first user equipment (UE), causing the first UE to determine the first carrier set based on the first information (A UE may select a subset of CCs for a transmission based on the mapping between an application providing a packet for the transmission and the priority associated with each CC. A UE, when receiving transmissions, identify one or more applications running at the UE and use the mapping to determine a subset of CCs to monitor for transmissions, paragraph 33) and to perform an operation on a carrier in the first carrier set, wherein the first carrier set is a subset of a second carrier set for sidelink communication. (Communications manager 515 may identify a mapping between one or more applications at a first UE (e.g., 115-d or 115f) in the distributed wireless network and one or more component carriers of a set of available component carriers for transmissions between one or more other UEs 115 in the distributed wireless network, determine a priority associated with each component carrier of the set of available component carriers, select a first subset of component carriers for transmitting a first transmission of a first application of the one or more applications based on the mapping, and the priority associated with each component carrier, and transmit the first transmission using the selected first subset of component carriers to the one or more other UEs 115, paragraph 84)
With respect to claim 17, Cheng teaches wherein the network configuration manner includes: configuring the correspondence between the first information and the first carrier set to the first UE through a system message or dedicated radio resource control (RRC) signaling, wherein the dedicated RRC signaling comprises RRCReconfiguration signaling. (a UE 115 may receive the mapping in one or more of a radio resource control (RRC) configuration message or a system information block (SIB) transmitted by a base station 105, or any combinations thereof, paragraph 90)
With respect to claim 20, Cheng teaches A chip comprising: a processor for invoking and running a computer program from a memory, to cause a device installed with the chip to perform the multi-carrier communication: (Processor 820 may include an intelligent hardware device, (e.g., a general-purpose processor, a DSP, a central processing unit (CPU), a microcontroller, an ASIC, an FPGA, a programmable logic device, a discrete gate or transistor logic component, a discrete hardware component, or any combination thereof). In some cases, processor 820 may be configured to operate a memory array using a memory controller, paragraph 104)
determining, by a first user equipment (UE), a first carrier set based on first information, wherein the first carrier set is a subset of a second carrier set for sidelink communication; (A UE may select a subset of CCs for a transmission based on the mapping between an application providing a packet for the transmission and the priority associated with each CC. A UE, when receiving transmissions, identify one or more applications running at the UE and use the mapping to determine a subset of CCs to monitor for transmissions, paragraph 33 and
performing, by the first UE, an operation on a carrier in the first carrier set. (Communications manager 515 may identify a mapping between one or more applications at a first UE (e.g., 115-d or 115f) in the distributed wireless network and one or more component carriers of a set of available component carriers for transmissions between one or more other UEs 115 in the distributed wireless network, determine a priority associated with each component carrier of the set of available component carriers, select a first subset of component carriers for transmitting a first transmission of a first application of the one or more applications based on the mapping, and the priority associated with each component carrier, and transmit the first transmission using the selected first subset of component carriers to the one or more other UEs 115, paragraph 84)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-9 re rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Cheng et al. (US Publication 2019/0052446) in view of Liu et al. (US Publication 2024/0080691).
With respect to claim 7, Cheng doesn’t teach wherein the measurement or detection function comprises at least one of: determining whether a radio link failure (RLF) occurs; performing reference signal reception power (RSRP) measurement on a sidelink of a second UE; performing channel state information (CSI) measurement on a second UE; or performing beam measurement on a second UE.
Liu teaches wherein the measurement or detection function comprises at least one of: determining whether a radio link failure (RLF) occurs; performing reference signal reception power (RSRP) measurement on a sidelink of a second UE; performing channel state information (CSI) measurement on a second UE; or performing beam measurement on a second UE. (if the transmit end UE fails to receive the PSFCH, the transmit end increases a count value of the counter by 1. If the PSFCH is received by the transmit end UE, the transmit end UE initializes/sets a count value of the counter to 0. If the count value of the counter reaches a threshold, the transmit end UE triggers an RLF, paragraph 119)
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to implement system of Cheng with the measurement or detection function comprises at least one of: determining whether a radio link failure (RLF) occurs; performing reference signal reception power (RSRP) measurement on a sidelink of a second UE; performing channel state information (CSI) measurement on a second UE; or performing beam measurement on a second UE as taught by Liu. The motivation for combining Cheng and Liu is to be able to avoid false triggering of an RLF or reduce a probability of false triggering of the RLF.
With respect to claim 8, Cheng teaches wherein detecting, by the first UE, the carrier in the first carrier set to determine whether the RLF occurs comprises: detecting, by the first UE, the carrier in the first carrier set; (may monitor an amount of traffic on each CC. In some cases, the selecting the first subset of component carriers is further based on an amount of traffic detected on one or more of component carriers of the set of available component carriers. In some cases, the amount of traffic detected on one or more of component carriers is determined based on a number of transmissions detected on each component carrier of the set of available component carriers during a time period prior to transmitting the first transmission, paragraph 102)
Cheng doesn’t teach increasing, by the first UE, a value of a counter if a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) is not received; and determining, by the first UE, that the RLF has occurred when the counter reaches a maximum value.
Liu teaches increasing, by the first UE, a value of a counter if a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) is not received; and determining, by the first UE, that the RLF has occurred when the counter reaches a maximum value. (HARQ-based SL RLF detection is introduced for a unicast connection. Transmit end UE uses a counter to count a quantity of times that a PSFCH is not received consecutively. Further, if the transmit end UE fails to receive the PSFCH, the transmit end increases a count value of the counter by 1. If the PSFCH is received by the transmit end UE, the transmit end UE initializes/sets a count value of the counter to 0. If the count value of the counter reaches a threshold, the transmit end UE triggers an RLF, paragraph 119)
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to implement system of Cheng with determining, by the first UE, that the RLF has occurred when the counter reaches a maximum value as taught by Liu. The motivation for combining Cheng and Liu is to be able to avoid false triggering of an RLF or reduce a probability of false triggering of the RLF.
With respect to claim 9, Cheng doesn’t teach wherein detecting, by the first UE, the first carrier set to determine whether the RLF occurs further comprises: resetting, by the first UE, the counter if the PSFCH is received.
Liu teaches wherein detecting, by the first UE, the first carrier set to determine whether the RLF occurs further comprises: resetting, by the first UE, the counter if the PSFCH is received. (HARQ-based SL RLF detection is introduced for a unicast connection. Transmit end UE uses a counter to count a quantity of times that a PSFCH is not received consecutively. Further, if the transmit end UE fails to receive the PSFCH, the transmit end increases a count value of the counter by 1. If the PSFCH is received by the transmit end UE, the transmit end UE initializes/sets a count value of the counter to 0. If the count value of the counter reaches a threshold, the transmit end UE triggers an RLF, paragraph 119)
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to implement system of Cheng with determining, by the first UE, that the RLF has occurred when the counter reaches a maximum value as taught by Liu. The motivation for combining Cheng and Liu is to be able to avoid false triggering of an RLF or reduce a probability of false triggering of the RLF.
Claims 14 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Cheng et al. (US Publication 2019/0052446) in view of Li et al. (US Publication 2024/0032076).
With respect to claims 14 and 18, Cheng teaches wherein the configuration manner through the signaling of the second UE includes: configuring the correspondence between the first information and the first carrier set to the multi-carrier communication apparatus. (Communications manager 515 may identify a mapping between one or more applications at a first UE (e.g., 115-d or 115f) in the distributed wireless network and one or more component carriers of a set of available component carriers for transmissions between one or more other UEs 115 in the distributed wireless network, determine a priority associated with each component carrier of the set of available component carriers, select a first subset of component carriers for transmitting a first transmission of a first application of the one or more applications based on the mapping, and the priority associated with each component carrier, and transmit the first transmission using the selected first subset of component carriers to the one or more other UEs 115, paragraph 84)
However, doesn’t teach information is received through proximity communication 5 - radio resource control (PC5-RRC) signaling of the second UE.
Li teaches receiving information through proximity communication 5 - radio resource control (PC5-RRC) signaling of the second UE. (The UE 115 may transmit, to the UE 116, a first sidelink message which may be a PC5 RRC message indicating the selected sidelink carrier or a PC5 MAC-CE activating the selected sidelink carrier, Paragraph 183)
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to implement system of Cheng with through proximity communication 5 - radio resource control (PC5-RRC) signaling of the second UE as taught by Li. The motivation for combining Cheng and Li is to be able to avoid sidelink radio link failure (RLF).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Wu et al. (US Publication 2023/0403733) discloses a UE may select a CC from the set of candidate CCs, for example, using a carrier selection configuration, and may select a resource in the CC for a sidelink communication. In a second example, a UE may select multiple candidate resources for a sidelink communication, for example, using a resource selection configuration and based on sensing performed by the UE. To indicate the reservation of a candidate resource, the UE may indicate both a CC in which the reserved resource is located and a location of the reserved resource within the carrier. The UE may transmit a sidelink message using a selected candidate resource in the unlicensed spectrum.
Sha et al. (US Publication 2022/0095394) discloses determining, by UE, whether information of a service carrier frequency sent by a base station is received, wherein the service carrier frequency is the carrier frequency to carry traffic selected by the base station when a target cell carrying the UE is a multi-carrier cell; residing, by the UE, at a carrier frequency corresponding to the information for a service carrier frequency, if so; and, otherwise, residing, by the UE, at an original camped carrier frequency. With the embodiments of the disclosed technologies, the problem that a service carrier frequency selecting strategy in related techniques is to perform selection passively and lacks initiative is solved, and a technical basis for balancing loads on carrier frequencies carrying traffic is provided and further system efficiency is enhanced for an NB-IoT system, which is mainly to transmit small data.
/ABDULLAHI AHMED/Examiner, Art Unit 2475