DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Claims 1-3 in the reply filed on 8/12/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (US 2021/0234160).
Regarding Claim 1, Kim meets the claimed,
A method for manufacturing a lithium-ion battery ([0069] teaches a method for producing a lithium-ion battery), the method comprising: providing a positive electrode precursor layer containing at least a lithium alloy with a lithium alloying potential of 0.5 V (vs Li/Li+) or higher ([0026] teaches the use of trilithium bismuthide as an additional alloy) and a positive electrode active material ([0020] teaches a positive electrode active material); providing a lithium-ion battery precursor including the positive electrode precursor layer ([0069] teaches a method for producing a lithium-ion battery. [0011] teaches that prior to initial charging, this battery has not formed an SEI and as such, can be considered a lithium-ion battery precursor. [0069] further teaches using the positive electrode as described previously), a separator layer ([0069] teaches a separator between the positive and negative electrode), and a negative electrode active material layer in this order ([0069] teaches a negative electrode) and impregnated with an electrolyte ([0069] teaches an injection of electrolyte solution); and performing initial charging of the lithium-ion battery precursor to change the positive electrode precursor layer to a positive electrode active material layer ([0070] teaches an initial charging. [0011] teaches that following the initial charge, an SEI forms which constitutes changing the positive electrode precursor layer into a positive electrode active material layer).
Regarding Claim 2, Kim meets the claimed,
The method according to claim 1, wherein the lithium alloy is selected from the group consisting of
L
i
3
B
i
,
L
i
3
S
b
, and
N
i
S
n
([0026] teaches the use of trilithium bismuthide,
L
i
3
B
i
, as an additional alloy).
Regarding Claim 3, Kim meets the claimed,
The method according to claim 1, wherein the positive electrode active material is lithium nickel cobalt manganese oxide (Formula 1 teaches a lithium NCM oxide when "d" is equal to 0).
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/884,142 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the only difference between Claim 1 of the instant application and claim 1 of the copending application is the additional requirement of the lithium alloy being a particle with a particle diameter D90 being smaller than 70 µm.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 2 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 2 of copending Application No. 18/884,142 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the only difference between Claim 2 of the instant application and claim 2 of the copending application is the additional requirement of a particle diameter D90 being smaller than 70 µm.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 3 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 3 of copending Application No. 18/884,142 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the only difference between Claim 3 of the instant application and claim 3 of the copending application is the additional requirement of a particle diameter D90 being smaller than 70 µm.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 6 of copending Application No. 18/768,437 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the only difference between Claim 1 of the instant application and claim 6 of the copending application is the additional requirement of the positive electrode layer comprising particles.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/A.Y.H./ Examiner, Art Unit 1744
/MICHAEL M. ROBINSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1744