DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 21 and 22 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 21 and 22 are unclear in the way they are written whether they are independent claims or dependent claims. If they are intended to be independent claims, they should include all the limitations of the claims they are referring to, without reference of another claim. If they are dependent, they should include the same preamble as the independent claim from which they depend.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 and 13-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hori (United States Patent Application US 2022019161A1) in view of Hozumi (United States Patent Application US2018120739A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Hori discloses A belt conveyance device comprising: an endless belt onto which a toner image is transferred;(Figure 1: Belt driving device 1) a first stretching roller configured to stretch the belt; a second stretching roller configured to stretch the belt; (Figure 1: First belt roller 2 and steering member 5) and an adjusting mechanism capable of adjusting an inclination angle in a rotational axis direction of the second stretching roller relative to the rotational axis direction of the first stretching roller, (Figure 6: Tilting mechanism 20)wherein at least during transferring operation when the toner is transferred onto the belt, the second stretching roller is capable of being adjusted by the adjusting mechanism so that the inclination angle becomes a predetermined angle and then is held so that the inclination angle is not changed.(Paragraph 0041: "In some examples, the slide member 10 A includes a rack portion 17 which extends in the direction D 1 . The rack portion 17 is formed on the surface of the second bar-shaped portion 15 d of the second member 15 . The rack portion 17 includes a plurality of tooth portions which engage with the gear portion 21 of the tilting mechanism 20 . The gear portion 21 rotates as the rack portion 17 moves linearly in the direction D 1 and the steering member 5 is tilted as the gear portion 21 rotates.").
However, Hori does not disclose a steering roller tiltably supported with respect to a rotational axis direction of the first stretching roller and configured to stretch the belt: a steering mechanism, by action generated between the belt and the steering roller due to a change of a position of the belt in a widthwise direction, configured to tilt the steering roller in a direction where the change of the position of the belt in the widthwise direction is cancelled;.
Hozumi teaches a similar image forming apparatus comprising a steering roller tiltably supported with respect to a rotational axis direction of the first stretching roller and configured to stretch the belt:(Figure 4: Separation roller 61 a steering mechanism, by action generated between the belt and the steering roller due to a change of a position of the belt in a widthwise direction, configured to tilt the steering roller in a direction where the change of the position of the belt in the widthwise direction is cancelled;(Paragraph 0075: "As illustrated in FIG. 5, the belt deviation follower 30 and the shaft inclining member 31 are disposed on the separation roller shaft 61 a between the separation roller 61 and the separation roller bearing 33 . The belt deviation follower 30 and the shaft inclining member 31 constitute a rotator inclination unit. The belt deviation follower 30 is disposed outboard of the separation roller 61 in the axial direction of the separation roller 61 , and the shaft inclining member 31 is disposed outboard of the belt deviation follower 30 in the axial direction of the separation roller 61 . The belt deviation follower 30 includes a flange 30 a and a cylindrical portion 30 b. The cylindrical portion 30 b has a smaller diameter than the separation roller 61 . The flange 30 a has a larger diameter than the separation roller 61 . As the secondary transfer belt 60 is drawn to one side in the width direction (belt deviation), the end portion of the secondary transfer belt 60 contacts the inside surface of the flange 30 a in the axial direction.").
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hori to include the steering roller and mechanism as taught by Hozumi. The motivation for the modification would have been to allow for belt deviation correction by utilization of a rotator inclination unit to correct belt deviation (Paragraphs 0054-0055).
Regarding Claim 2, Hori in view of Hozumi discloses a belt conveyance device according to Claim 1, as seen above. Hori further discloses wherein the adjusting mechanism is constituted to adjust an inclination amount in the rotational axis direction of the second stretching roller relative to the rotational axis direction of the first stretching roller in multiple stages, (Paragraph 0041: "In some examples, the slide member 10 A includes a rack portion 17 which extends in the direction D 1 . The rack portion 17 is formed on the surface of the second bar-shaped portion 15 d of the second member 15 . The rack portion 17 includes a plurality of tooth portions which engage with the gear portion 21 of the tilting mechanism 20 . The gear portion 21 rotates as the rack portion 17 moves linearly in the direction D 1 and the steering member 5 is tilted as the gear portion 21 rotates.")and wherein in a case in which a tilt amount of the steering roller is a first tilt amount when the belt is rotated before shipping the belt conveyance device, the inclination amount in the rotational axis direction of the second stretching roller which is set on during the transferring operation is a first inclination amount, and in a case in which the tilt amount of the steering roller is a second tilt amount larger than the first tilt amount when the belt is rotated before shipping the belt conveyance device, the inclination amount in the rotational axis direction of the second stretching roller is a second inclination amount larger than the first inclination amount.(Paragraph 0072: "When the endless belt 4 is displaced toward the first end 5 c of the steering member 5 , the second end 5 d of the steering member 5 is actuated to move upward by the linear motion of the link mechanism 50 and the rotational motion of the tilting mechanism 20 . Consequently, the endless belt 4 moves toward the second end 5 d . When the endless belt 4 is displaced toward the second end 5 d of the steering member 5 , the first end 5 c of the steering member 5 is actuated to move upward by the linear motion of the link mechanism 50 and the rotational motion of the tilting mechanism 20 . Consequently, the endless belt 4 moves toward the first end 5 c . Accordingly, both of displacements of the endless belt 4 , toward the first end 5 c and toward the second end 5 d , may be corrected by the link mechanism 50 and the tilting mechanism 20 .", wherein the inclination amount varies based upon displacement needing to be corrected)
Regarding Claim 3, Hori in view of Hozumi discloses a belt conveyance device according to Claim 1, as seen above. Hori further discloses wherein the adjusting mechanism includes an adjusting member attached to a movable bearing member rotatably supporting the second stretching roller and an abutting portion contacted by the adjusting member, and wherein the adjusting member is constituted to adjust a distance in a radial direction of the second stretching roller from a rotational axis of the second stretching roller to a contacting portion where the adjusting member contacts the abutting portion.(Figure 10: Gear portion 21 and link mechanism 10)
Regarding Claim 4, Hori in view of Hozumi discloses a belt conveyance device according to Claim 1, as seen above. Hori further discloses wherein the adjusting mechanism includes an adjusting member attached to a movable bearing member rotatably supporting the second stretching roller and an abutting portion contacted by the adjusting member, wherein the adjusting member includes a plurality of contacting portions contactable to the abutting portion, (Figure 10: Gear portion 21 and link mechanism 10)distances in a radial direction of the second stretching roller from the plurality of contacting portions to a rotational axis of the second stretching roller being different,(Figure 10: Direction D1 shows change in distances between) and wherein any one of the plurality of contacting portions is adjusted so as to contact the abutting portion by a position of the adjusting member with respect to a rotational direction about the rotational axis of the second stretching roller being changed and then by the adjusting member being attached to the bearing member.(Paragraph 0051: "The tilting mechanism 20 may include a gear portion 21 which is fixed to the steering member 5 and connected to the link mechanism 10 and may convert a linear motion of the slide member 10 A in the direction D 1 into a rotational motion of the gear portion 21 . Accordingly, the configurations of the link mechanism 10 and the tilting mechanism 20 tilting the steering member 5 can be simplified.")
Regarding Claim 5, Hori in view of Hozumi discloses a belt conveyance device according to Claim 4, as seen above. Hori further discloses wherein the plurality of contacting portions include a first contacting portion of which an inclination direction of a rotational axis direction of the second stretching roller relative to the rotational axis direction of the first stretching roller is a first inclination direction in a state of contacting the abutting portion, a second contacting portion of which the rotational axis direction of the second stretching roller to the rotational axis direction of the first stretching roller is substantially in parallel in the state of contacting the abutting portion, and a third contacting portion of which the inclination direction of the rotational axis direction of the second stretching roller relative to the rotational axis direction of the first stretching roller is a second inclination direction opposite to the first inclination direction in the state of contacting the abutting portion.(Paragraph 0041: "In some examples, the slide member 10 A includes a rack portion 17 which extends in the direction D 1 . The rack portion 17 is formed on the surface of the second bar-shaped portion 15 d of the second member 15 . The rack portion 17 includes a plurality of tooth portions which engage with the gear portion 21 of the tilting mechanism 20 . The gear portion 21 rotates as the rack portion 17 moves linearly in the direction D 1 and the steering member 5 is tilted as the gear portion 21 rotates.", wherein the inclination can be substantially parallel when gear 21 is in the center of portion 17, and can be tilted to opposite directions when on the right or left side)
Regarding Claim 6, Hori in view of Hozumi discloses a belt conveyance device according to Claim 4, as seen above. Hori further discloses wherein the plurality of contacting portions are radially arranged about the rotational axis of the second stretching roller as a center.(Figure 9: Shows a second gear 24 arranged in the center of steering member 5 about the center of tilting)
Regarding Claim 7, Hori in view of Hozumi discloses a belt conveyance device according to Claim 4, as seen above. Hori further discloses further comprising a movable moving member configured to move the bearing member so as to move the second stretching roller to a first position during conveyance by the belt and a second position retracted inside of the first position, (Figure 9: Link mechanism 10)wherein the abutting portion is provided on the moving member (Figure 9: Gear portion 21)and the abutting portion is contacted by the adjusting member when the second stretching roller is positioned in the first position by the moving member.(Paragraph 0051: "The tilting mechanism 20 may include a gear portion 21 which is fixed to the steering member 5 and connected to the link mechanism 10 and may convert a linear motion of the slide member 10 A in the direction D 1 into a rotational motion of the gear portion 21 . Accordingly, the configurations of the link mechanism 10 and the tilting mechanism 20 tilting the steering member 5 can be simplified.")
Regarding Claim 8, Hori in view of Hozumi discloses a belt conveyance device according to Claim 1, as seen above. Hori further discloses wherein the adjusting mechanism is provided on either one end side of the belt with respect to the widthwise direction.(Paragraph 0025: "With reference to FIGS. 1 and 2, the example belt driving device 1 may include a tilting mechanism 20 which is operably connected to a center portion of the steering member 5 , and a link mechanism 10 which is operably connected or coupled to the tilting mechanism 20 . In the present description, the “center portion of the steering member” indicates a portion including the center of the steering member in the longitudinal direction and includes the intermediate point of the steering member in the longitudinal direction and also the position of the steering member slightly displaced from the intermediate point. For example, a position or regions slightly spaced from the intermediate point of the steering member 5 in the direction D 1 is also included in the center portion of the steering member 5 . In some examples, the endless belt 4 includes a first edge portion 4 b (also referred to herein as first end portion 4 b ) which is located at one end in the direction D 1 , and a second edge portion 4 c (also referred to herein as second end portion 4 c ) which is located at the other end in the direction D 1 . The steering member 5 may be disposed at the upstream side of the first belt roller 2 and the downstream side of the second belt roller 3 in the circumferential movement direction of the endless belt 4 . The steering member 5 may be disposed above the circumferential path (e.g, circumferential orbit) of the endless belt 4 so as to contact the inner circumferential surface of the endless belt 4 directed from the second belt roller 3 toward the first belt roller 2 . In some examples, the steering member 5 is disposed at a position near the first belt roller 2 in relation to the intermediate point of the first belt roller 2 and the second belt roller 3 .")
Regarding Claim 9, Hori in view of Hozumi discloses a belt conveyance device according to Claim 1, as seen above. Hori further discloses wherein of the plurality of the stretching rollers, the rotational axis directions of the stretching rollers other than the steering roller and the second stretching roller are substantially parallel to each other.(Figure 1: Rollers 2 and 3)
Regarding Claim 10, Hori in view of Hozumi discloses a belt conveyance device according to Claim 1, as seen above. Hori further discloses wherein the steering roller applies tension to the belt by urging the belt from an inner circumferential surface side to an outer circumferential surface side.(Paragraph 0047: "With reference to FIG. 9, in the example imaging system including the belt driving device 1 , when the first edge portion 4 b of the endless belt 4 moves toward the first end 5 c , the link mechanism 10 moves toward the end portion of the direction D 1 and the steering member 5 is tilted so that the tilting mechanism 20 raises the second end 5 d . When the second end 5 d moves upward with respect to the first end 5 c , a tension of the endless belt 4 with respect to the second end 5 d becomes higher than a tension of the endless belt 4 with respect to the first end 5 c . Accordingly, the endless belt 4 moves toward the second end 5 d.")
Regarding Claim 11, Hori in view of Hozumi discloses a belt conveyance device according to Claim 1, as seen above. Hozumi further discloses wherein the second stretching roller has a crown shape of which outer diameters of both end portions are smaller than an outer diameter of a center portion with respect to the rotational axis direction.(Figure 6: Shaft inclining member 31)
Regarding Claim 13, Hori in view of Hozumi discloses a belt conveyance device according to Claim 1, as seen above. Hori further discloses wherein the first stretching roller forms a transfer portion where the toner image transferred on the belt is transferred onto a recording material.(Paragraph 0021: "An example belt driving device of an imaging system is used as a transfer device which may secondarily transfer a toner image developed by a developing device in an image forming apparatus such as a printer. In some examples, an imaging system may include an imaging apparatus such as a printer. In some examples, an imaging system may include a developing device to be mounted in or to be operable with an imaging apparatus. The example belt driving device may include an endless belt, where the endless belt is an intermediate transfer belt of the transfer device. The belt driving device may be used in a printing medium conveying device which conveys a printing medium such as a sheet (e.g., paper sheet). In this case, the endless belt of the belt driving device functions as a printing medium conveying belt which conveys a printing medium.")
Regarding Claim 14, Hori in view of Hozumi discloses a belt conveyance device according to Claim 1, as seen above. Hori further discloses wherein the second stretching roller is disposed adjacently upstream of the first stretching roller with respect to a conveyance direction of the belt.(Figure 18: Shows rollers spaces oppositely)
Regarding Claim 15, Hori discloses A belt conveyance device comprising: an endless belt onto which a toner image is transferred; (Figure 1: Belt driving device 1)a first stretching roller configured to stretch the belt; a second stretching roller configured to stretch the belt; (Figure 1: First belt roller 2 and steering member 5) and an adjusting mechanism capable of adjusting an inclination angle in a rotational axis direction of the second stretching roller relative to the rotational axis direction of the first stretching roller,(Figure 6: Tilting mechanism 20) wherein the adjusting mechanism includes an adjusting member attached to a movable bearing member rotatably supporting the second stretching roller and an abutting portion contacted by the adjusting member, (Figure 10: Gear portion 21 and link mechanism 10)and wherein the adjusting member includes a plurality of contacting portions contactable to the abutting portion, distances in a radial direction of the second stretching roller from the plurality of contacting portions to a rotational axis of the second stretching roller being different, and wherein any one of the plurality of contacting portion is adjusted so as to contact the abutting portion by a position of the adjusting member with respect to a rotational direction about the rotational axis of the second stretching roller being changed and then by the adjusting member being attached to the bearing member.(Paragraph 0051: "The tilting mechanism 20 may include a gear portion 21 which is fixed to the steering member 5 and connected to the link mechanism 10 and may convert a linear motion of the slide member 10 A in the direction D 1 into a rotational motion of the gear portion 21 . Accordingly, the configurations of the link mechanism 10 and the tilting mechanism 20 tilting the steering member 5 can be simplified.")
However, Hori does not disclose a steering roller tiltably supported with respect to a rotational axis direction of the first stretching roller and configured to steer the belt: a steering mechanism, by action generated between the belt and the steering roller due to a change of a position of the belt in a widthwise direction, configured to tilt the steering roller in a direction where the change of the position of the belt in the widthwise direction is cancelled.
Hozumi discloses a similar belt conveyance device comprising a steering roller tiltably supported with respect to a rotational axis direction of the first stretching roller and configured to steer the belt: (Figure 4: Separation roller 61a steering mechanism, by action generated between the belt and the steering roller due to a change of a position of the belt in a widthwise direction, configured to tilt the steering roller in a direction where the change of the position of the belt in the widthwise direction is cancelled;(Paragraph 0075: "As illustrated in FIG. 5, the belt deviation follower 30 and the shaft inclining member 31 are disposed on the separation roller shaft 61 a between the separation roller 61 and the separation roller bearing 33 . The belt deviation follower 30 and the shaft inclining member 31 constitute a rotator inclination unit. The belt deviation follower 30 is disposed outboard of the separation roller 61 in the axial direction of the separation roller 61 , and the shaft inclining member 31 is disposed outboard of the belt deviation follower 30 in the axial direction of the separation roller 61 . The belt deviation follower 30 includes a flange 30 a and a cylindrical portion 30 b. The cylindrical portion 30 b has a smaller diameter than the separation roller 61 . The flange 30 a has a larger diameter than the separation roller 61 . As the secondary transfer belt 60 is drawn to one side in the width direction (belt deviation), the end portion of the secondary transfer belt 60 contacts the inside surface of the flange 30 a in the axial direction.").
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hori to include the steering roller and mechanism as taught by Hozumi. The motivation for the modification would have been to allow for belt deviation correction by utilization of a rotator inclination unit to correct belt deviation (Paragraphs 0054-0055).
Regarding Claim 16, Hori in view of Hozumi discloses a belt conveyance device according to Claim 15, as seen above. Hori further discloses wherein the plurality of contacting portion includes a first contacting portion of which an inclination direction in a rotational axis direction of the second stretching roller relative to the rotational axis direction of the first stretching roller is a first inclination direction in a state of contacting the abutting portion, a second contacting portion of which the rotational axis direction of the second stretching roller to the rotational axis direction of the first stretching roller is substantially in parallel in the state of contacting the abutting portion, and a third contacting portion of which the inclination direction of the rotational axis direction of the second stretching roller relative to the rotational axis direction of the first stretching roller is a second inclination direction opposite to the first inclination direction in the state of contacting the abutting portion.(Paragraph 0041: "In some examples, the slide member 10 A includes a rack portion 17 which extends in the direction D 1 . The rack portion 17 is formed on the surface of the second bar-shaped portion 15 d of the second member 15 . The rack portion 17 includes a plurality of tooth portions which engage with the gear portion 21 of the tilting mechanism 20 . The gear portion 21 rotates as the rack portion 17 moves linearly in the direction D 1 and the steering member 5 is tilted as the gear portion 21 rotates.", wherein the inclination can be substantially parallel when gear 21 is in the center of portion 17, and can be tilted to opposite directions when on the right or left side)
Regarding Claim 17, Hori in view of Hozumi discloses a belt conveyance device according to Claim 15, as seen above. Hori further discloses wherein the plurality of contacting portions are radially arranged about the rotational axis of the second stretching roller as a center.(Figure 9: Shows a second gear 24 arranged in the center of steering member 5 about the center of tilting)
Regarding Claim 18, Hori in view of Hozumi discloses a belt conveyance device according to Claim 15, as seen above. Hori further discloses further comprising a movable moving member configured to move the bearing member so as to move the second stretching roller to a first position during conveyance by the belt and a second position retracted inside of the first position,(Figure 9: Link mechanism 10)wherein the abutting portion is provided on the moving member (Figure 9: Gear portion 21)and the abutting portion is contacted by the adjusting member when the second stretching roller is positioned in the first position by the moving member.(Paragraph 0051: "The tilting mechanism 20 may include a gear portion 21 which is fixed to the steering member 5 and connected to the link mechanism 10 and may convert a linear motion of the slide member 10 A in the direction D 1 into a rotational motion of the gear portion 21 . Accordingly, the configurations of the link mechanism 10 and the tilting mechanism 20 tilting the steering member 5 can be simplified.")
Regarding Claim 19, Hori in view of Hozumi discloses a belt conveyance device according to Claim 15, as seen above. Hori further discloses wherein the adjusting mechanism is provided on either one end side of the belt with respect to the widthwise direction.(Paragraph 0025: "With reference to FIGS. 1 and 2, the example belt driving device 1 may include a tilting mechanism 20 which is operably connected to a center portion of the steering member 5 , and a link mechanism 10 which is operably connected or coupled to the tilting mechanism 20 . In the present description, the “center portion of the steering member” indicates a portion including the center of the steering member in the longitudinal direction and includes the intermediate point of the steering member in the longitudinal direction and also the position of the steering member slightly displaced from the intermediate point. For example, a position or regions slightly spaced from the intermediate point of the steering member 5 in the direction D 1 is also included in the center portion of the steering member 5 . In some examples, the endless belt 4 includes a first edge portion 4 b (also referred to herein as first end portion 4 b ) which is located at one end in the direction D 1 , and a second edge portion 4 c (also referred to herein as second end portion 4 c ) which is located at the other end in the direction D 1 . The steering member 5 may be disposed at the upstream side of the first belt roller 2 and the downstream side of the second belt roller 3 in the circumferential movement direction of the endless belt 4 . The steering member 5 may be disposed above the circumferential path (e.g, circumferential orbit) of the endless belt 4 so as to contact the inner circumferential surface of the endless belt 4 directed from the second belt roller 3 toward the first belt roller 2 . In some examples, the steering member 5 is disposed at a position near the first belt roller 2 in relation to the intermediate point of the first belt roller 2 and the second belt roller 3 .")
Regarding Claim 20, Hori in view of Hozumi discloses a belt conveyance device according to Claim 15, as seen above. Hori further discloses wherein the second stretching roller includes a third stretching roller disposed adjacently upstream of the first stretching roller with respect to a conveyance direction of the belt and positioned downstream of the steering roller and upstream of the second stretching roller with respect to the conveyance direction, (Figure 18: Second belt roller 3)and wherein the toner image is formed on a surface of the belt from the third stretching roller to the second stretching roller in the conveyance direction by a toner image forming means and the toner image is transferred onto a recording material from the belt of which a part is wound on the first stretching roller.(Paragraph 0021: "An example belt driving device of an imaging system is used as a transfer device which may secondarily transfer a toner image developed by a developing device in an image forming apparatus such as a printer. In some examples, an imaging system may include an imaging apparatus such as a printer. In some examples, an imaging system may include a developing device to be mounted in or to be operable with an imaging apparatus. The example belt driving device may include an endless belt, where the endless belt is an intermediate transfer belt of the transfer device. The belt driving device may be used in a printing medium conveying device which conveys a printing medium such as a sheet (e.g., paper sheet). In this case, the endless belt of the belt driving device functions as a printing medium conveying belt which conveys a printing medium.")
Regarding Claim 21, Hori in view of Huzami discloses An image forming apparatus comprising: a belt conveyance device according to Claim 1; and a toner image forming portion configured to form a toner image on the belt.(Hori: Paragraph 0021: "An example belt driving device of an imaging system is used as a transfer device which may secondarily transfer a toner image developed by a developing device in an image forming apparatus such as a printer. In some examples, an imaging system may include an imaging apparatus such as a printer. In some examples, an imaging system may include a developing device to be mounted in or to be operable with an imaging apparatus. The example belt driving device may include an endless belt, where the endless belt is an intermediate transfer belt of the transfer device. The belt driving device may be used in a printing medium conveying device which conveys a printing medium such as a sheet (e.g., paper sheet). In this case, the endless belt of the belt driving device functions as a printing medium conveying belt which conveys a printing medium.")
Regarding Claim 22, Hori in view of Huzami discloses An image forming apparatus comprising: a belt conveyance device according to Claim 15; and a toner image forming portion configured to form a toner image on the belt.(Hori: Paragraph 0021: "An example belt driving device of an imaging system is used as a transfer device which may secondarily transfer a toner image developed by a developing device in an image forming apparatus such as a printer. In some examples, an imaging system may include an imaging apparatus such as a printer. In some examples, an imaging system may include a developing device to be mounted in or to be operable with an imaging apparatus. The example belt driving device may include an endless belt, where the endless belt is an intermediate transfer belt of the transfer device. The belt driving device may be used in a printing medium conveying device which conveys a printing medium such as a sheet (e.g., paper sheet). In this case, the endless belt of the belt driving device functions as a printing medium conveying belt which conveys a printing medium.")
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 12 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Claim 12, there is no prior art alone or in combination that included the combination of recited limitations in Claim 12. The art alone or in combination did not teach wherein the steering mechanism is provided with rubbing portions provided on both end portions of the steering roller with respect to the rotational axis direction, respectively, and capable of rubbing an inner circumferential surface of the belt, and tilts the steering roller depending on a difference in frictional force between the rubbing portions and the inner circumferential surface of the belt with respect to both end portions in the rotational axis direction of the steering roller. The closes prior arts of record Hori (United States Patent Application US 2022019161A1) and Hozumi (United States Patent Application US2018120739A1) teach a similar image forming apparatus comprising first and second stretching rollers, a steering roller and mechanism, an adjusting mechanism and rubbing portions provided on end portions of the steering roller, but both fail to teach wherein the rubbing portions are capable of rubbing an inner circumferential surface of the belt, and tilts the steering roller depending on a difference in frictional force between the rubbing portions and the inner circumferential surface of the belt with respect to both end portions in the rotational axis direction of the steering roller. Additionally, no other references, or reasonable combination thereof, could be found which disclose or suggest these features in combination with other limitations in the claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
United States Patent Application US 2020/0333731 A1 (Murakami, Daisuke): This patent application has been deemed pertinent due to its similarities between claims 1-22. Murakami teaches a similar image forming apparatus comprising a driver that presses and separates two rollers via a belt and a steering roller to change tension applied to the belt by adjusting the steering angle, as seen in Figure 5.
United States Patent Application US 2011/0206392 A1 (Hiratsuka, Takashi): This patent application has been deemed pertinent due to its similarities between claims 1-22. Hiratsuka teaches a similar image forming apparatus comprising an image forming station, a steering roller for correcting the position of the belt, and a controller for controlling an inclination for the steering roller, as seen in Figure 4.
/ABBY A JORGENSEN/ Examiner, Art Unit 3651
/GENE O CRAWFORD/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3651