DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-16 are pending in Instant Application.
Priority
Examiner acknowledges Applicant’s claim to priority benefits of GERMANY 10 2023 104 931.3 filed 02/28/2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 1/29/2024 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered if signed and initialed by the Examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 11 recites, “… and/or the temporal length of a first communication connection is longer than the temporal length of a second communication connection when the multiplicity of significance values indicate a lower significance of the first communication connection than the second communication connection; and/or the temporal length of connection intervals of the individual communication connections decreases with increasing significance and/or increases with decreasing significance”, in lines 8-14.
For clarity it is suggested to replace the operator "/" with words (e.g. at least A or B).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10, 12-14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kai et al. (US Pub. No.: 2021/0197762), and further in view of Thomas (US Pub. No.: 2021/0243274).
As per claim 1, Kai disclose A portable electronic device (see Fig.1, Fig.3, Fig.5, a portable electronic device 5, para. 0043) for determining at least one connection parameter of a multiplicity of different communication connections between an electronic device (see Fig.1, an emergency stop system 2 of vehicle 1, see para. 0031-0032) and a corresponding multiplicity of different vehicles (see Fig.8, Fig.9, see pars. 0046, 0051, a symbol for a car, a symbol for bus, etc (FIG. 8) showing multiplicity of different vehicles), comprising:
a processor (see Fig.5, Processor 25); and
a memory (see Fig.5, Memory 26) in communication with the processor and configured to store instructions executable by the processor (see para. 0050, 0051, software is downloaded in advance to the portable electronic device 5 which store instructions executable by the processor) to configure the portable electronic device to:
determine a multiplicity of significance values for a significance (see para. 0043, 0044, the emergency stop system 2 of the vehicle 1 has stored in its memory 6 an identity (ID) of the vehicle, and the visible features of each vehicle 1 is linked, as shown in Fig.8 / a multiplicity of significance values, in vehicle control system 100, to the unique ID of the vehicle 1, such that the data describing the visible features are retrieved using the ID/ a significance) of the corresponding multiplicity of different communication connections (see Fig.12, a plurality of vehicles, for example as a list 12 (FIG. 8) of various vehicles having different communication connections, see also para. 0052, 0066) and
define the connection parameters of the multiplicity of different communication connections (see para. 0085, a stopping signal having a priority over other network traffic, see also para. 0066).
Although Kia disclose define the connection parameters of the multiplicity of different communication connections;
Kia however does not explicitly define the connection parameters of the multiplicity of different communication connections “based on the corresponding multiplicity of significance values”.
Thomas however disclose wherein connection parameters of a multiplicity of different communication connections “based on a corresponding multiplicity of significance values” (see Fig.1a, 1b, para. 0035-0042, the transfer of data packets 12, 12a, 12b is controlled by the applications 16, 18 such that a high-priority data packet 12, 12a is transferred with a shorter latency period than a low-priority data packet 12, 12b. For this purpose, high-priority data packets 12, 12a are transferred before low-priority data packets 12, 12b, i.e., the former are transferred earlier than the latter, within each transfer window 14a, 14b, a corresponding multiplicity of significance values, see also para. 0012, 0015-0019, 0024-0028, 0045, 0046).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of wherein connection parameters of a multiplicity of different communication connections “based on a corresponding multiplicity of significance values”, as taught by Thomas, in the system of Kia, so as to enable connection parameters (e.g., a connection interval) that are first negotiated during the connecting (pairing) of the devices, on the basis of which a transfer window (connection event) is also determined, during a transfer window, the peripheral device and the central device alternately transfer data packets, see Thomas, paragraphs 15-18.
As per claim 2, the combination of Kia and Thomas disclose the portable electronic device according to claim 1.
Kia further disclose wherein the memory further comprises instructions to configure the portable electronic device to: receive a significance message sent by a vehicle via a communication connection between the portable electronic device and the vehicle (see Fig.9, para. 0063, step 300, in step 300 the vehicle 1 provides the identity of the vehicle to the portable electronic device 5 with the use of the wireless communication unit 9); and determine the significance value for the significance of the communication connection between the portable electronic device and the vehicle based on the significance message (see para. 0064, 0065, in step 301 the electronic device 5 receives the ID of the vehicle with the use of the wireless communication unit 24. In step 302 the portable electronic device 5 displays, on the display 10, the visible features of the vehicle 1, the vehicle based on the significance message).
As per claim 3, the combination of Kia and Thomas disclose the portable electronic device according to claim 2.
Kia further disclose wherein the significance message indicates a priority level from a predefined set of different priority levels (see para. 0085, 0086, when the stopping signal is provided through a network 19, the stopping signal is given priority of other types of network traffic / a predefined set of different priority levels).
As per claim 4, the combination of Kia and Thomas disclose the portable electronic device according to claim 1.
Kia further disclose wherein the memory further comprises instructions to configure the portable electronic device to: determine the significance value for the significance of the communication connection between the portable electronic device and a vehicle based on a user input on the portable electronic device (see para. 0068, 0069, in step 403 the device 5 receives input from a user selecting the vehicle, for example through a touch screen. In step 404 the device 5, provides a wireless stop signal to the vehicle 1).
As per claim 5, the combination of Kia and Thomas disclose the portable electronic device according to claim 1.
Kia further disclose wherein the portable electronic device has a user interface which allows a user of the portable electronic device to define a significance value for each of the multiplicity of communication connections using a user input; and the memory further comprises instructions to configure the portable electronic device to: determine the significance values for the significance of the multiplicity of communication connections based on user input on the user interface of the portable electronic device (see Fig.9, para. 0066, selection by user 4 is done {a user input} with the aid of a touch display but also by using a navigation button or joystick for example by the side of the display 10. In step 304 a user of the portable electronic device 5, using the identity of the vehicle 1, provides a signal to the wireless communication unit 9 of the emergency stop system 2 / define a significance value of the selected vehicle 1,. When the user 4 selects the vehicle on the display 10, a signal is immediately broadcast to the vehicle 1 in question. The correct vehicle 1 is selected by means of the ID, determine the significance values for the significance of the multiplicity of communication connections based on user input and only the vehicle with the corresponding ID is stopped or slowed down).
As per claim 6, the combination of Kia and Thomas disclose the portable electronic device according to claim 1.
Kia further disclose wherein the memory further comprises instructions to configure the portable electronic device to: determine a vehicle function of a vehicle that is intended to be remotely controlled via the communication connection between the portable electronic device and the vehicle; and determine the significance value for the significance of the communication connection between the portable electronic device and the vehicle based on the vehicle function that is intended to be remotely controlled via the communication connection (see para. 0070, a danger determination unit 18 / determine a vehicle function of a vehicle in the emergency stop system 2, see also para. 0066, remotely controlling via the communication connection between the portable electronic device and the vehicle to stop/slow the vehicle).
As per claim 7, the combination of Kia and Thomas disclose the portable electronic device according to claim 6.
Kia further disclose wherein the memory further comprises instructions to configure the portable electronic device to: determine the significance value for the significance of the communication connection between the portable electronic device and the vehicle using a significance catalog, wherein the significance catalog indicates a respective corresponding significance value for different vehicle functions (see para. 0066, the wireless communication unit 24 of the portable electronic device transmits a signal that is received by a plurality of vehicles 1 but only the vehicle 1 with the corresponding ID reacts to the signal. In step 305 the wireless communication unit 9 of the emergency stop system 2 receiving the signal and emergency stop system 2 causing the vehicle to stop or slow down by using stop activator 3).
As per claim 8, the combination of Kia and Thomas disclose the portable electronic device according to claim 1.
Kia further disclose wherein the memory further comprises instructions to configure the portable electronic device to: remotely control one or more vehicle functions of a vehicle via a communication connection between the portable electronic device and the vehicle (see para. 0066, When the user 4 selects the vehicle on the display 10, a signal is immediately broadcast to the vehicle 1 in question. The correct vehicle 1 is selected by means of the ID. Only the vehicle with the corresponding ID is stopped or slowed down).
As per claim 9, the combination of Kia and Thomas disclose the portable electronic device according to claim 1.
Kia further disclose wherein the significance value for the significance of a communication connection indicates a priority of the communication connection in comparison with one or more other communication connections (see para. 0085, when the stopping signal is provided through a network 19, the stopping signal is given priority of other types of network traffic).
As per claim 10, the combination of Kia and Thomas disclose the portable electronic device according to claim 1.
Kia further disclose wherein individual communication connections of the multiplicity of communication connections each include a Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE), communication connection; and the connection parameter comprises a temporal length of connection intervals of the respective BLE communication connection (see para. 0102, the multiplicity of communication connections each include a Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE), and a temporal length of connection intervals); and
Thomas further disclose wherein individual communication connections of the multiplicity of communication connections each include a Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE), communication connection (see para. 0013-0015, 0032, a method for transferring data, in which a peripheral device and a central device are wirelessly connected in accordance with the Bluetooth Low Energy standard (Bluetooth 4.0/4.1/4.2) and a data packet is transferred within a transfer window of a Bluetooth Low Energy data channel between the peripheral device and the central device).
As per claim 12, the combination of Kia and Thomas disclose the portable electronic device according to claim 1.
Kia further disclose wherein the memory further comprises instructions to configure the portable electronic device to: detect an additional communication connection between the portable electronic device and an additional vehicle; determine a significance value for the significance of the additional communication connection; and based on the multiplicity of significance values for the corresponding multiplicity of communication connections and based on the significance value for the additional communication connection: adjust the connection parameters of one or more of the multiplicity of different communication connections; and define the connection parameter of the additional communication connection (see para. 0070, the ability to generate a stop/slow / adjusting signal is prompted within the device as a function of the parameter (seep/steering) of a significance value (vehicle ID)).
As per claim 13, the combination of Kia and Thomas disclose the portable electronic device according to claim 1.
Kia further disclose wherein the memory further comprises instructions to configure the portable electronic device to: identify that at least one of the multiplicity of communication connections no longer exists, resulting in a reduced amount of communication connections and a corresponding reduced amount of significance values; and adjust the connection parameters of one or more of the reduced amount of communication connections based on the corresponding reduced amount of significance values (see para. 0069-0070, the visible features may be displayed only if the vehicle 1 has a speed that is over a predetermined threshold or accelerates with an acceleration above a certain acceleration threshold. Erratic steering in combination with high speeds may also trigger display. Again, the emergency stop system 2 may obtain data for determining this from the various subsystems of the vehicle 1).
As per claim 14, the combination of Kia and Thomas disclose the portable electronic device according to claim 1.
Kia further disclose wherein the memory further comprises instructions to configure the portable electronic device to: repeatedly, at successive times, in each case: determine an updated multiplicity of significance values; and adjust the connection parameters of one or more of the multiplicity of communication connections based on the updated multiplicity of significance values (see para. 0098-0102, at least a second stop signal is received within the time window, as in step 602, the emergency stop system causes the vehicle 1 to stop or slow down in step 603. If no second stop signal is received within time window the counter 22 may be set to zero).
As per claim 16, claim 16 is rejected the same way as claim 1.
Claim 15 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kai et al. (US Pub. No.: 20212/0197762), in view of Thomas (US Pub. No.: 2021/0243274) and further in view of Bruckner (US Pub. No.:2022/0153231).
As per claim 15, the combination of Kia and Thomas disclose the portable electronic device according to claim 1.
The combination of Kia and Thomas disclose wherein the memory further comprises instructions to configure the portable electronic device to: cause the communication connection between the portable electronic device and a vehicle to be established considering a digital key, wherein the digital key is designed according to a Car Connectivity Consortium, CCC, key standard Release 3.
Bruckner however disclose wherein a memory further comprises instructions to configure the portable electronic device to: cause the communication connection between the portable electronic device and a vehicle to be established considering a digital key, wherein the digital key is designed according to a Car Connectivity Consortium, CCC, key standard Release 3 (see para. 0012, teaches that the Car Connectivity Consortium, CCC, is known in the art as “an industry-wide organization that promotes technical solutions for transportation vehicle connectivity globally” and further teaches the ‘Digital key Release 3’ as a system for passive and active transportation vehicle access, whereby the smartphones can be used as vehicle keys).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of wherein a memory further comprises instructions to configure the portable electronic device to: cause the communication connection between the portable electronic device and a vehicle to be established considering a digital key, wherein the digital key is designed according to a Car Connectivity Consortium, CCC, key standard Release 3, as taught by Bruckner, in the system of Kia and Thompson, so as to provide a secure, interoperable, and globally adopted framework for sharing digital keys while allowing the owner to manage access rights and limitations (e.g., speed limits or geographic restrictions) from their own devices, see Bruckner paragraphs 10-13.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 11 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Nolscher (US Pub. No.:2020/0029209) - see para. 0046, “Processing logic generates a broadcast message for establishing a network connection with a local network node (processing block 304). As discussed herein, the node may be any of a vehicle, network device (e.g. traffic light, access point, etc.), as well as other devices capable of performing the operations discussed herein. In one embodiment, processing logic of the vehicle maintains an ID for the vehicle, which is tied to a public and private key, and verifiable via a security certificate, as discussed herein. Processing logic utilizes this data to generate a broadcast message that can be encrypted, decrypted by other nodes, and an identity of the vehicle authenticated from the broadcast message contents”.
Gorski (EP3580942A1) -The invention relates to a method for determining the position of a mobile BLE device (1) relative to a vehicle (2). The BLE device (1) has a BLE interface (3), and the vehicle (2) has a system (4) of BLE interfaces (6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12) and a central controller (5). The method comprises: providing identification data by the vehicle, encrypted transmission of the identification data to the mobile BLE device, derivation of advertising data from the identification data in the mobile BLE device, each given BLE interface of the BLE interfaces on the vehicle accepts the advertising data for the evaluation only when the advertising data is received for the first time by the given BLE interface.
/LAKERAM JANGBAHADUR/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469