DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This Office Action is responsive to the Applicant's communication filed 04 December 2025. In view of this communication, claims 1-20 are now pending in the application.
Election/Restrictions
Claim(s) 18-20 is/are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 04 December 2025.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) submitted on 23 July 2025 was/were filed before mailing of the first action on the merits. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner.
Disclosure
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 2, 5-9, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation “the insulating layer enables eliminating eddy current losses…”. The application contains no disclosure of what allows the insulating layer - i.e. any corresponding structure, material, or acts – to perform the claimed function. The specification contains only the exact language of the claims and, as such, the scope of this limitation is impossible to determine with any certainty. Thus, it is unclear whether the inventor(s) had possession of the claimed invention and the limitation renders the claim indefinite.
Claim 5 recites the limitation “the plurality of conduits are configured to be hydraulically expanded”. The application contains no disclosure of what allows the conduits - i.e. any corresponding structure, material, or acts – to perform the claimed function. The specification contains only the exact language of the claims and, as such, the scope of this limitation is impossible to determine with any certainty. Thus, it is unclear whether the inventor(s) had possession of the claimed invention and the limitation renders the claim indefinite.
Claims 6-9 are rejected due to their dependence on claim 5.
Claim 13 recites the limitation “the insulating layer enables eliminating eddy current losses…”. The application contains no disclosure of what allows the insulating layer - i.e. any corresponding structure, material, or acts – to perform the claimed function. The specification contains only the exact language of the claims and, as such, the scope of this limitation is impossible to determine with any certainty. Thus, it is unclear whether the inventor(s) had possession of the claimed invention and the limitation renders the claim indefinite.
Claim(s) 2, 5-9, and 12-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claims 2, 5-9, and 13 are indefinite for the same reasons given above in the grounds of rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(a).
Claim 12 recites two instances of the limitation “a stator core”. It is unclear whether the claim is intended to recite two stator cores or if the second instance is simply intended to recite “the stator core”. Thus, the claim is indefinite.
Claims 13-17 are rejected due to their dependence on claim 12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, and 5-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Dobmeier et al. (WO 2021/066917 A1), hereinafter referred to as “Dobmeier”.
Regarding claim 1, Dobmeier discloses a stator assembly [102] for an electrical rotating machine [100] (fig. 1-2; ¶ 0026), the stator assembly [102] comprising:
a body [300] comprising at least one lamination layer (fig. 3; ¶ 0035);
a plurality of cooling channels [314] (fig. 3, 8-10; ¶ 0041),
wherein the plurality of cooling channels [314] extend through the body [300] (fig. 3; ¶ 0041);
a plurality of conduits [802] (fig. 8-10; ¶ 0054),
wherein the plurality of conduits [802] are located in the plurality of cooling channels [314] (fig. 3, 8-10; ¶ 0054; “a semi-circular channel disposed therein to receive a cooling tube”); and
an insulating layer [1002] (fig. 10; ¶ 0066),
wherein the insulating layer [1002] is located between each conduit [802] of the plurality of conduits [802] and a corresponding cooling channel [314] of the plurality of cooling channels [314] (fig. 8-10), the insulating layer [1002] being configured to simultaneously place each conduit [802] in thermal contact with the body [300] while electrically insulating each conduit [802] from the body [300] (¶ 0070; the insulating layer, “gap filler”, is provided “in the form of cured sheets, tapes, pads, or films” made from “silicones, urethanes, thermoplastic rubbers, and other elastomers” which are electrically insulating and thermally conductive).
Regarding claim 2, Dobmeier discloses the stator assembly [102] of claim 1, as stated above, wherein the insulating layer [1002] enables eliminating eddy current losses and reducing electromagnetic losses while providing thermal heat transfer capabilities to remove heat generated during operation of the electrical rotating machine [100] (¶ 0070; the insulating layer, “gap filler”, is provided “in the form of cured sheets, tapes, pads, or films” made from “silicones, urethanes, thermoplastic rubbers, and other elastomers” which are electrically insulating and thermally conductive).
Regarding claim 5, Dobmeier discloses the stator assembly [102] of claim 1, as stated above, wherein the plurality of conduits [802] are configured to be hydraulically expanded in the plurality of cooling channels [314] (fig. 3, 8-10; ¶ 0054; “a semi-circular channel disposed therein to receive a cooling tube”; the only structure implied by this method step limitation is the final structure of the conduits being received in the cooling channels).
Regarding claim 6, Dobmeier discloses the stator assembly [102] of claim 5, as stated above, wherein the insulating layer [1002] is configured to be applied onto an exterior surface of each conduit [802] and forms an insulative coating prior to inserting each conduit [802] through the corresponding cooling channel [314] (¶ 0070-0073; the insulating layer can be either formed on the conduits prior to their insertion in the channels, or injected into the gap between the conduits and channels);
wherein the insulating layer [1002] further comprises a filler comprising one or more of glass beads, alumina, carbon nanotubes, graphene, boron nitride, or any combinations thereof (¶ 0071).
Regarding claim 7, Dobmeier discloses the stator assembly [102] of claim 6, as stated above, wherein the insulating layer [1002] is configured to be at least partially cured prior to inserting each conduit [802] through the corresponding cooling channel [314] (¶ 0070-0073; the insulating layer can be either formed on the conduits prior to their insertion in the channels, or injected into the gap between the conduits and channels).
Regarding claim 8, Dobmeier discloses the stator assembly [102] of claim 6, as stated above, wherein the insulating layer [1002] is configured to be at least partially cured (¶ 0070-0073; the insulating layer can be either formed on the conduits prior to their insertion in the channels, or injected into the gap between the conduits and channels) prior to hydraulically expanding the plurality of conduits [802] in the plurality of cooling channels [314] (fig. 3, 8-10; ¶ 0054; “a semi-circular channel disposed therein to receive a cooling tube”; the only structure implied by this method step limitation is the final structure of the conduits being received in the cooling channels with the insulator in between);
wherein the insulating layer [1002] is fully cured (¶ 0070-0073; the insulating layer can be either formed on the conduits prior to their insertion in the channels, or injected into the gap between the conduits and channels) after the plurality of conduits [802] are hydraulically expanded in the plurality of cooling channels [314] (fig. 3, 8-10; ¶ 0054; “a semi-circular channel disposed therein to receive a cooling tube”; the only structure implied by this method step limitation is the final structure of the conduits being received in the cooling channels with the insulator in between).
Regarding claim 9, Dobmeier discloses the stator assembly [102] of claim 6, as stated above, wherein the insulating layer [1002] is configured to be fully cured (¶ 0070-0073; the insulating layer can be either formed on the conduits prior to their insertion in the channels, or injected into the gap between the conduits and channels) prior to hydraulically expanding the plurality of conduits [802] in the plurality of cooling channels [314] (fig. 3, 8-10; ¶ 0054; “a semi-circular channel disposed therein to receive a cooling tube”; the only structure implied by this method step limitation is the final structure of the conduits being received in the cooling channels with the insulator in between).
Regarding claim 10, Dobmeier discloses the stator assembly [102] of claim 1, as stated above, wherein the insulating layer [1002] enables the plurality of cooling channels [314] to be positioned adjacent a stator core [600] extending through the body [300] (fig. 3, 8-20; ¶ 0070-0073) without substantially increasing eddy current losses and electromagnetic losses caused by a relative position of the plurality of cooling channels [314] (¶ 0070; the insulating layer, “gap filler”, is provided “in the form of cured sheets, tapes, pads, or films” made from “silicones, urethanes, thermoplastic rubbers, and other elastomers” which are electrically insulating and thermally conductive; the only structure implied by this method step limitation is the final structure of the insulating layer being both thermally conductive and electrically insulating, which are inherent properties of the disclosed materials).
Regarding claim 11, Dobmeier discloses the stator assembly [102] of claim 1, as stated above, wherein the plurality of cooling channels [314] extend through the body [300] in a direction substantially parallel to a stator core [600] (fig. 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-4 and 12-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dobmeier in view of Beatty et al. (US 8,405,262 B1), hereinafter referred to as “Beatty”.
Regarding claim 3, Dobmeier discloses the stator assembly [102] of claim 1, as stated above, wherein the at least one lamination layer comprises a first metallic material that is electrically conductive (¶ 0035; “lamination stack 300 comprises laminated electrical steel sheets”).
Dobmeier does not explicitly disclose that the plurality of conduits [802] comprises a second metallic material that is electrically conductive.
Beatty discloses a stator comprising a metal body [28] including a stator core [10] comprising lamination layers (fig. 1-3; col. 2, lines 35-60) and a plurality of conduits [26] disposed in cooling channels [20] circumferentially arranged around the stator (fig. 1-3; col. 3, lines 1-11);
wherein the plurality of conduits [26] comprises a second metallic material that is electrically conductive (col. 3, lines 7-8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the conduits of Dobmeier from a metal such as copper as taught by Beatty, in order to provide the conduits with excellent thermal conductivity.
Further, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding claim 4, Dobmeier, in view of Beatty, discloses the stator assembly [102] of claim 3, as stated above, wherein Beatty further discloses that the second metallic material comprises copper (col. 3, lines 7-8).
Regarding claim 12, Dobmeier discloses a system comprising:
an electrical rotating machine [100] (fig. 1-2; ¶ 0026) comprising:
a stator [102] having a metal body [300] including a stator core [600] configured to receive a rotor [104] (fig. 1-2; ¶ 0026-0027), the stator [102] comprising:
at least one lamination layer (fig. 3; ¶ 0035),
{the} stator core [600] extending through the metal body [300] (fig. 3; ¶ 0035), and
cooling channels [314] extending through the metal body [300], the cooling channels [314] being circumferentially arranged around the stator core [600] (fig. 3, 8-10; ¶ 0041);
a plurality of conduits [802] extending through the metal body [300] at one or more of the cooling channels [314] (fig. 3, 8-10; ¶ 0054; “a semi-circular channel disposed therein to receive a cooling tube”), the plurality of conduits [802] being configured to be hydraulically expanded in a respective cooling channel [314] (fig. 3, 8-10; ¶ 0054; “a semi-circular channel disposed therein to receive a cooling tube”; the only structure implied by this method step limitation is the final structure of the conduits being received in the cooling channels); and
an insulating layer [1002] coating an exterior surface of the plurality of conduits [802] (fig. 10; ¶ 0066),
wherein the insulating layer [1002] is located between each conduit [802] of the plurality of conduits [802] and the respective cooling channel [314] (fig. 8-10), the insulating layer [1002] being configured to simultaneously place each conduit [802] in thermal contact with the metal body [300] while electrically insulating each conduit [802] from the metal body [300] (¶ 0070; the insulating layer, “gap filler”, is provided “in the form of cured sheets, tapes, pads, or films” made from “silicones, urethanes, thermoplastic rubbers, and other elastomers” which are electrically insulating and thermally conductive).
Dobmeier does not explicitly disclose that the plurality of conduits [802] are made of a metal material.
Beatty discloses a system with a stator comprising a metal body [28] including a stator core [10] comprising lamination layers (fig. 1-3; col. 2, lines 35-60) and a plurality of conduits [26] disposed in cooling channels [20] circumferentially arranged around the stator (fig. 1-3; col. 3, lines 1-11);
wherein the plurality of conduits [26] are made from a metal (col. 3, lines 7-8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the conduits of Dobmeier from a metal such as copper as taught by Beatty, in order to provide the conduits with excellent thermal conductivity.
Further, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding claim 13, Dobmeier, in view of Beatty, discloses the system of claim 12, as stated above, wherein the insulating layer [1002] enables eliminating eddy current losses and reducing electromagnetic losses while providing thermal heat transfer capabilities to remove heat generated during operation of the electrical rotating machine [100] (¶ 0070; the insulating layer, “gap filler”, is provided “in the form of cured sheets, tapes, pads, or films” made from “silicones, urethanes, thermoplastic rubbers, and other elastomers” which are electrically insulating and thermally conductive).
Regarding claim 14, Dobmeier, in view of Beatty, discloses the system of claim 12, as stated above, wherein Beatty further discloses that the plurality of metal conduits [26] comprises copper (col. 3, lines 7-8).
Regarding claim 15, Dobmeier, in view of Beatty, discloses the system of claim 12, as stated above, wherein the insulating layer [1002] is configured to be at least partially cured (¶ 0070-0073; the insulating layer can be either formed on the conduits prior to their insertion in the channels, or injected into the gap between the conduits and channels) prior to hydraulically expanding the plurality of metal conduits [802] in the respective cooling channel [314] (fig. 3, 8-10; ¶ 0054; “a semi-circular channel disposed therein to receive a cooling tube”; the only structure implied by this method step limitation is the final structure of the conduits being received in the cooling channels with the insulator in between);
wherein the insulating layer [1002] further comprises a filler comprising one or more of glass beads, alumina, carbon nanotubes, graphene, boron nitride, or any combinations thereof (¶ 0071).
Regarding claim 16, Dobmeier, in view of Beatty, discloses the system of claim 12, as stated above, wherein the insulating layer [1002] is configured to be fully cured (¶ 0070-0073; the insulating layer can be either formed on the conduits prior to their insertion in the channels, or injected into the gap between the conduits and channels) prior to hydraulically expanding the plurality of metal conduits [802] in the respective cooling channel [314] (fig. 3, 8-10; ¶ 0054; “a semi-circular channel disposed therein to receive a cooling tube”; the only structure implied by this method step limitation is the final structure of the conduits being received in the cooling channels with the insulator in between).
Regarding claim 17, Dobmeier, in view of Beatty, discloses the system of claim 12, as stated above, wherein the insulating layer [1002] enables the cooling channels [314] to be positioned in the metal body [300] adjacent the stator core [600] (fig. 3, 8-20; ¶ 0070-0073) without substantially increasing eddy current losses and electromagnetic losses caused by a relative position of the cooling channels [314] (¶ 0070; the insulating layer, “gap filler”, is provided “in the form of cured sheets, tapes, pads, or films” made from “silicones, urethanes, thermoplastic rubbers, and other elastomers” which are electrically insulating and thermally conductive; the only structure implied by this method step limitation is the final structure of the insulating layer being both thermally conductive and electrically insulating, which are inherent properties of the disclosed materials).
Citation of Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. Prior art:
Lewandowski et al. (US 2020/0185986 A1) discloses a stator comprising cooling channels having conduits extending therethrough, and an insulator located between each of the conduits and its respective cooling channel.
Tremelling et al. (US 2017/0063200 A1) discloses a stator comprising cooling channels, circumferentially arranged around its outer perimeter, having conduits extending therethrough.
Stiesdal (US 2011/0109095 A1) discloses a stator comprising cooling channels, circumferentially arranged around its outer perimeter, having conduits extending therethrough.
Conclusion
/Michael Andrews/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834