DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This Office Action is responsive to the Applicant's communication filed 04 May 2026. In view of this communication, claims 1-20 are now pending in the application, with claims 18-20 being withdrawn from further consideration.
Response to Arguments
The Applicant’s arguments, filed 04 May 2026, have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
The Applicant’s first argument (pages 7-8 of the Remarks) alleges, regarding the previous grounds of rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112, that “claim 2 has been amended accounting for the rejection” and that the specification discloses the claimed invention in sufficient detail. However, the argument does not explain how the amendment to claim 2 impacts the grounds of rejection, and the reference portions of the specification contain no disclosure of what allows the various components – i.e. any corresponding structure, material, or acts – to perform the claimed functions. As such, the argument fails to address the rationales provided in the rejections. Thus, the argument is unpersuasive and said previous grounds of rejection are maintained.
The Applicant’s second argument (page 8 of the Remarks) alleges, regarding the previous grounds of rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102, that Dobmeier does not disclose that each conduit “substantially conforms to an inner dimension of a cooling channel” as recited in claim 1 as amended. However, while the argument alleges that this distinction occurs because the conduit [802] is surrounded by gap [804], this gap is filled by insulating layer [1002] (fig. 10; ¶ 0066) exactly as recited in the claims. Thus, there is no difference between the structure of Dobmeier and that of the amended claim. As such, this argument is unpersuasive and said previous grounds of rejection are maintained.
The Applicant’s third argument (pages 7-8 of the Remarks) alleges, regarding the previous grounds of rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103, that the remaining claims are allowable by virtue of their dependencies. This is unpersuasive for the same reasons given above.
Disclosure
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 2, 5-9, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation “the insulating layer is configured to eliminate eddy current losses…”. The application contains no disclosure of what allows the insulating layer - i.e. any corresponding structure, material, or acts – to perform the claimed function. The specification contains only the exact language of the claims and, as such, the scope of this limitation is impossible to determine with any certainty. Thus, it is unclear whether the inventor(s) had possession of the claimed invention and the limitation renders the claim indefinite.
Claim 5 recites the limitation “the plurality of conduits are configured to be hydraulically expanded”. The application contains no disclosure of what allows the conduits - i.e. any corresponding structure, material, or acts – to perform the claimed function. The specification contains only the exact language of the claims and, as such, the scope of this limitation is impossible to determine with any certainty. Thus, it is unclear whether the inventor(s) had possession of the claimed invention and the limitation renders the claim indefinite.
Claims 6-9 are rejected due to their dependence on claim 5.
Claim 13 recites the limitation “the insulating layer enables eliminating eddy current losses…”. The application contains no disclosure of what allows the insulating layer - i.e. any corresponding structure, material, or acts – to perform the claimed function. The specification contains only the exact language of the claims and, as such, the scope of this limitation is impossible to determine with any certainty. Thus, it is unclear whether the inventor(s) had possession of the claimed invention and the limitation renders the claim indefinite.
Claim(s) 2, 5-9, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claims 2, 5-9, and 13 are indefinite for the same reasons given above in the grounds of rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, and 5-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Dobmeier et al. (WO 2021/066917 A1), hereinafter referred to as “Dobmeier”.
Regarding claim 1, Dobmeier discloses a stator assembly [102] for an electrical rotating machine [100] (fig. 1-2; ¶ 0026), the stator assembly [102] comprising:
a body [300] comprising at least one lamination layer (fig. 3; ¶ 0035);
a plurality of cooling channels [314] (fig. 3, 8-10; ¶ 0041),
wherein the plurality of cooling channels [314] extend through the body [300] (fig. 3; ¶ 0041);
a plurality of conduits [802] (fig. 8-10; ¶ 0054),
wherein the plurality of conduits [802] are located in the plurality of cooling channels [314], wherein each conduit [802] of the plurality of conduits [802] substantially conforms to an inner dimension of a cooling channel [314] (fig. 3, 8-10; ¶ 0054; “a semi-circular channel disposed therein to receive a cooling tube”) through mechanical deformation (the only structure implied by this method step limitation is the final structure of the conduits being received in the cooling channels); and
an insulating layer [1002] (fig. 10; ¶ 0066),
wherein the insulating layer [1002] is located between each conduit [802] of the plurality of conduits [802] and a corresponding cooling channel [314] of the plurality of cooling channels [314] (fig. 8-10), the insulating layer [1002] being configured to simultaneously place each conduit [802] in thermal contact with the body [300] while electrically insulating each conduit [802] from the body [300] (¶ 0070; the insulating layer, “gap filler”, is provided “in the form of cured sheets, tapes, pads, or films” made from “silicones, urethanes, thermoplastic rubbers, and other elastomers” which are electrically insulating and thermally conductive).
Regarding claim 2, Dobmeier discloses the stator assembly [102] of claim 1, as stated above, wherein the insulating layer [1002] is configured to eliminate eddy current losses and reduce electromagnetic losses from the plurality of conduits [802] while providing thermal heat transfer capabilities to remove heat generated during operation of the electrical rotating machine [100] (¶ 0070; the insulating layer, “gap filler”, is provided “in the form of cured sheets, tapes, pads, or films” made from “silicones, urethanes, thermoplastic rubbers, and other elastomers” which are electrically insulating and thermally conductive).
Regarding claim 5, Dobmeier discloses the stator assembly [102] of claim 1, as stated above, wherein the plurality of conduits [802] are configured to be hydraulically expanded in the plurality of cooling channels [314] (fig. 3, 8-10; ¶ 0054; “a semi-circular channel disposed therein to receive a cooling tube”; the only structure implied by this method step limitation is the final structure of the conduits being received in the cooling channels).
Regarding claim 6, Dobmeier discloses the stator assembly [102] of claim 5, as stated above, wherein the insulating layer [1002] is configured to be applied onto an exterior surface of each conduit [802] and forms an insulative coating prior to inserting each conduit [802] through the corresponding cooling channel [314] (¶ 0070-0073; the insulating layer can be either formed on the conduits prior to their insertion in the channels, or injected into the gap between the conduits and channels);
wherein the insulating layer [1002] further comprises a filler comprising one or more of glass beads, alumina, carbon nanotubes, graphene, boron nitride, or any combinations thereof (¶ 0071).
Regarding claim 7, Dobmeier discloses the stator assembly [102] of claim 6, as stated above, wherein the insulating layer [1002] is configured to be at least partially cured prior to inserting each conduit [802] through the corresponding cooling channel [314] (¶ 0070-0073; the insulating layer can be either formed on the conduits prior to their insertion in the channels, or injected into the gap between the conduits and channels).
Regarding claim 8, Dobmeier discloses the stator assembly [102] of claim 6, as stated above, wherein the insulating layer [1002] is configured to be at least partially cured (¶ 0070-0073; the insulating layer can be either formed on the conduits prior to their insertion in the channels, or injected into the gap between the conduits and channels) prior to hydraulically expanding the plurality of conduits [802] in the plurality of cooling channels [314] (fig. 3, 8-10; ¶ 0054; “a semi-circular channel disposed therein to receive a cooling tube”; the only structure implied by this method step limitation is the final structure of the conduits being received in the cooling channels with the insulator in between);
wherein the insulating layer [1002] is fully cured (¶ 0070-0073; the insulating layer can be either formed on the conduits prior to their insertion in the channels, or injected into the gap between the conduits and channels) after the plurality of conduits [802] are hydraulically expanded in the plurality of cooling channels [314] (fig. 3, 8-10; ¶ 0054; “a semi-circular channel disposed therein to receive a cooling tube”; the only structure implied by this method step limitation is the final structure of the conduits being received in the cooling channels with the insulator in between).
Regarding claim 9, Dobmeier discloses the stator assembly [102] of claim 6, as stated above, wherein the insulating layer [1002] is configured to be fully cured (¶ 0070-0073; the insulating layer can be either formed on the conduits prior to their insertion in the channels, or injected into the gap between the conduits and channels) prior to hydraulically expanding the plurality of conduits [802] in the plurality of cooling channels [314] (fig. 3, 8-10; ¶ 0054; “a semi-circular channel disposed therein to receive a cooling tube”; the only structure implied by this method step limitation is the final structure of the conduits being received in the cooling channels with the insulator in between).
Regarding claim 10, Dobmeier discloses the stator assembly [102] of claim 1, as stated above, wherein the insulating layer [1002] enables the plurality of cooling channels [314] to be positioned adjacent a stator core [600] extending through the body [300] (fig. 3, 8-20; ¶ 0070-0073) without substantially increasing eddy current losses and electromagnetic losses caused by a relative position of the plurality of cooling channels [314] (¶ 0070; the insulating layer, “gap filler”, is provided “in the form of cured sheets, tapes, pads, or films” made from “silicones, urethanes, thermoplastic rubbers, and other elastomers” which are electrically insulating and thermally conductive; the only structure implied by this method step limitation is the final structure of the insulating layer being both thermally conductive and electrically insulating, which are inherent properties of the disclosed materials).
Regarding claim 11, Dobmeier discloses the stator assembly [102] of claim 1, as stated above, wherein the plurality of cooling channels [314] extend through the body [300] in a direction substantially parallel to a stator core [600] (fig. 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-4 and 12-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dobmeier in view of Beatty et al. (US 8,405,262 B1), hereinafter referred to as “Beatty”.
Regarding claim 3, Dobmeier discloses the stator assembly [102] of claim 1, as stated above, wherein the at least one lamination layer comprises a first metallic material that is electrically conductive (¶ 0035; “lamination stack 300 comprises laminated electrical steel sheets”).
Dobmeier does not explicitly disclose that the plurality of conduits [802] comprises a second metallic material that is electrically conductive.
Beatty discloses a stator comprising a metal body [28] including a stator core [10] comprising lamination layers (fig. 1-3; col. 2, lines 35-60) and a plurality of conduits [26] disposed in cooling channels [20] circumferentially arranged around the stator (fig. 1-3; col. 3, lines 1-11);
wherein the plurality of conduits [26] comprises a second metallic material that is electrically conductive (col. 3, lines 7-8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the conduits of Dobmeier from a metal such as copper as taught by Beatty, in order to provide the conduits with excellent thermal conductivity.
Further, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding claim 4, Dobmeier, in view of Beatty, discloses the stator assembly [102] of claim 3, as stated above, wherein Beatty further discloses that the second metallic material comprises copper (col. 3, lines 7-8).
Regarding claim 12, Dobmeier discloses a system comprising:
an electrical rotating machine [100] (fig. 1-2; ¶ 0026) comprising:
a stator [102] having a metal body [300] including a stator core [600] configured to receive a rotor [104] (fig. 1-2; ¶ 0026-0027), the stator [102] comprising:
at least one lamination layer (fig. 3; ¶ 0035),
the stator core [600] extending through the metal body [300] (fig. 3; ¶ 0035), and
cooling channels [314] extending through the metal body [300], the cooling channels [314] being circumferentially arranged around the stator core [600] (fig. 3, 8-10; ¶ 0041);
a plurality of conduits [802] extending through the metal body [300] at one or more of the cooling channels [314] (fig. 3, 8-10; ¶ 0054; “a semi-circular channel disposed therein to receive a cooling tube”), the plurality of conduits [802] being configured to be hydraulically expanded in a respective cooling channel [314] (fig. 3, 8-10; ¶ 0054; “a semi-circular channel disposed therein to receive a cooling tube”; the only structure implied by this method step limitation is the final structure of the conduits being received in the cooling channels) to substantially conform to an inner dimension of the cooling channels [802] (fig. 3, 8-10; ¶ 0054; “a semi-circular channel disposed therein to receive a cooling tube”) through mechanical deformation (the only structure implied by this method step limitation is the final structure of the conduits being received in the cooling channels); and
an insulating layer [1002] coating an exterior surface of the plurality of conduits [802] (fig. 10; ¶ 0066),
wherein the insulating layer [1002] is located between each conduit [802] of the plurality of conduits [802] and the respective cooling channel [314] (fig. 8-10), the insulating layer [1002] being configured to simultaneously place each conduit [802] in thermal contact with the metal body [300] while electrically insulating each conduit [802] from the metal body [300] (¶ 0070; the insulating layer, “gap filler”, is provided “in the form of cured sheets, tapes, pads, or films” made from “silicones, urethanes, thermoplastic rubbers, and other elastomers” which are electrically insulating and thermally conductive).
Dobmeier does not explicitly disclose that the plurality of conduits [802] are made of a metal material.
Beatty discloses a system with a stator comprising a metal body [28] including a stator core [10] comprising lamination layers (fig. 1-3; col. 2, lines 35-60) and a plurality of conduits [26] disposed in cooling channels [20] circumferentially arranged around the stator (fig. 1-3; col. 3, lines 1-11);
wherein the plurality of conduits [26] are made from a metal (col. 3, lines 7-8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the conduits of Dobmeier from a metal such as copper as taught by Beatty, in order to provide the conduits with excellent thermal conductivity.
Further, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding claim 13, Dobmeier, in view of Beatty, discloses the system of claim 12, as stated above, wherein the insulating layer [1002] enables eliminating eddy current losses and reducing electromagnetic losses while providing thermal heat transfer capabilities to remove heat generated during operation of the electrical rotating machine [100] (¶ 0070; the insulating layer, “gap filler”, is provided “in the form of cured sheets, tapes, pads, or films” made from “silicones, urethanes, thermoplastic rubbers, and other elastomers” which are electrically insulating and thermally conductive).
Regarding claim 14, Dobmeier, in view of Beatty, discloses the system of claim 12, as stated above, wherein Beatty further discloses that the plurality of metal conduits [26] comprises copper (col. 3, lines 7-8).
Regarding claim 15, Dobmeier, in view of Beatty, discloses the system of claim 12, as stated above, wherein the insulating layer [1002] is configured to be at least partially cured (¶ 0070-0073; the insulating layer can be either formed on the conduits prior to their insertion in the channels, or injected into the gap between the conduits and channels) prior to hydraulically expanding the plurality of metal conduits [802] in the respective cooling channel [314] (fig. 3, 8-10; ¶ 0054; “a semi-circular channel disposed therein to receive a cooling tube”; the only structure implied by this method step limitation is the final structure of the conduits being received in the cooling channels with the insulator in between);
wherein the insulating layer [1002] further comprises a filler comprising one or more of glass beads, alumina, carbon nanotubes, graphene, boron nitride, or any combinations thereof (¶ 0071).
Regarding claim 16, Dobmeier, in view of Beatty, discloses the system of claim 12, as stated above, wherein the insulating layer [1002] is configured to be fully cured (¶ 0070-0073; the insulating layer can be either formed on the conduits prior to their insertion in the channels, or injected into the gap between the conduits and channels) prior to hydraulically expanding the plurality of metal conduits [802] in the respective cooling channel [314] (fig. 3, 8-10; ¶ 0054; “a semi-circular channel disposed therein to receive a cooling tube”; the only structure implied by this method step limitation is the final structure of the conduits being received in the cooling channels with the insulator in between).
Regarding claim 17, Dobmeier, in view of Beatty, discloses the system of claim 12, as stated above, wherein the insulating layer [1002] enables the cooling channels [314] to be positioned in the metal body [300] adjacent the stator core [600] (fig. 3, 8-20; ¶ 0070-0073) without substantially increasing eddy current losses and electromagnetic losses caused by a relative position of the cooling channels [314] (¶ 0070; the insulating layer, “gap filler”, is provided “in the form of cured sheets, tapes, pads, or films” made from “silicones, urethanes, thermoplastic rubbers, and other elastomers” which are electrically insulating and thermally conductive; the only structure implied by this method step limitation is the final structure of the insulating layer being both thermally conductive and electrically insulating, which are inherent properties of the disclosed materials).
Citation of Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. Prior art:
Lewandowski et al. (US 2020/0185986 A1) discloses a stator comprising cooling channels having conduits extending therethrough, and an insulator located between each of the conduits and its respective cooling channel.
Tremelling et al. (US 2017/0063200 A1) discloses a stator comprising cooling channels, circumferentially arranged around its outer perimeter, having conduits extending therethrough.
Stiesdal (US 2011/0109095 A1) discloses a stator comprising cooling channels, circumferentially arranged around its outer perimeter, having conduits extending therethrough.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated any new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
This action is a final rejection and closes the prosecution of this application. Applicant’s reply under 37 CFR 1.113 to this action is limited to an appeal to the Patent Trial and Appeal Board, an amendment complying with the requirements set forth below, or a request for continued examination (RCE) to reopen prosecution where permitted.
General information on the Patent Trial and Appeal Board is available at: www.uspto.gov/patents/patent-trial-and-appeal-board/about-ptab/new-ptab. The information at this page includes guidance on time limited options that may assist the applicant contemplating appealing an examiner’s rejection. It also includes information on pro bono (free) legal services and advice available for those who are under-resourced and considering an appeal at: https://www.uspto.gov/patents/patent-trial-and-appeal-board/patent-trial-and-appeal-board-pro-bono-program-independent. The page is best reviewed promptly after applicant has received a final rejection or the claims have been twice rejected because some of the noted assistance must be requested within one month from the date of the latest rejection. See MPEP § 1204 for more information on filing a notice of appeal.
If applicant should desire to appeal any rejection made by the examiner, a Notice of Appeal must be filed within the period for reply. The Notice of Appeal must be accompanied by the fee required by 37 CFR 41.20(b)(1). The current fee amount is available at: www.uspto.gov/Fees.
If applicant should desire to file an after-final amendment, entry of the proposed amendment cannot be made as a matter of right unless it merely cancels claims or complies with a formal requirement made in a previous Office action. Amendments touching the merits of the application which otherwise might not be proper may be admitted upon a showing of good and sufficient reasons why they are necessary and why they were not presented earlier.
A reply under 37 CFR 1.113 to a final rejection must include cancellation of or appeal from the rejection of, each rejected claim. The filing of an amendment after final rejection, whether or not it is entered, does not stop the running of the statutory period for reply to the final rejection unless the examiner holds all of the claims to be in condition for allowance.
If applicant should desire to continue prosecution in a utility or plant application filed on or after May 29, 2000 and have the finality of this Office action withdrawn, an RCE under 37 CFR 1.114 may be filed within the period for reply. See MPEP § 706.07(h) for more information on the requirements for filing an RCE.
The application will become abandoned unless a Notice of Appeal, an after final replay that places the application in condition for allowance, or an RCE has been filed properly within the period for reply, or any extension of this period obtained under either 37 CFR 1.136(a) or (b).
/Michael Andrews/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834