DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Objections
Claims 2-4 and 6 are objected to because of the following informalities. Appropriate correction is required.
In claim 2, line 6, the phrase “a plurality of strain gauges” should be changed to -- the plurality of strain gauges --. In line 7, the phrase “a plurality of strain gauges” should be changed to -- the plurality of strain gauges --.
In claim 3, line 6, it appears the phrase “the seconds” should be changed to -- the second ends --. In line 10, it appears the phrase “the seconds” should be changed to -- the second ends --.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 3, 7 and 13 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 of copending Application No. 18/768,891 (Nakano et al.). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all of the claimed limitations and features (e.g. a flexible base, a first sensor, a second sensor, a controller, a first sensor sheet, a second sensor sheet, a plurality of strain gauges, a plurality of power supply lines, a plurality of first and second signal lines, a plurality of ground lines) in the Instant application are claimed in the copending Application of Nakano et al.. Hence, the claims in the Instant application are not patentably distinct from the claims in the Nakano et al. copending Application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1, 5, 7 and 14 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 4-6 of copending Application No. 19/271,370 (Uehara et al.). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all of the claimed limitations and features (e.g. a flexible base, a first sensor, a second sensor, a controller, a first sensor sheet, a second sensor sheet, a plurality of strain gauges, a plurality of power supply lines, a plurality of first and second signal lines, a plurality of ground lines) in the Instant application are claimed in the copending Application of Uehara et al.. Hence, the claims in the Instant application are not patentably distinct from the claims in the Uehara et al. copending Application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Publication titled “Skin Attachable Flexible Sensor Array For Respiratory Monitoring” by Koch et al..
With regards to claim 1, Koch et al. discloses a flexible sensor array comprising, as illustrated in Figures 1-8, a strain detection device (e.g. Figures 1-3) comprising a flexible base (e.g. grey substrate in Figure 2c; Figure 1 indicates a flexible sensor array) having a first main surface (e.g. top surface of grey substrate in Figure 2c) and a second main surface (e.g. bottom surface of grey substrate in Figure 2c) opposed to the first main surface; a first sensor sheet 5 (e.g. sensor layer in Figure 4) provided on a side of the first main surface; a second sensor sheet 3 (e.g. sensor layer in Figure 4) provided on a side of the second main surface and opposed to the first sensor sheet with the base sandwiched therebetween (e.g. observed in Figures 2c,4); a controller (e.g. computer for evaluation; Figure 1) configured to drive the first sensor sheet and the second sensor sheet such that each of the first sensor sheet 5 and the second sensor sheet 3 comprises a plurality of strain gauges R1,R2,R3,R4 (e.g. strain gauges of each of the 36 sensor elements) including first ends and second ends located on a side opposite to the first ends and arranged in a row at intervals (e.g. observed in Figures 2a-2d,3); a plurality of power supply lines (e.g. power supply lines for Vin in Figures 2d,3), a plurality of ground lines (e.g. ground lines for Gnd in Figures 2d,3), a plurality of first signal lines (e.g. first signal lines for left node Vout in Figures 2d,3), and a plurality of second signal lines (e.g. second signal lines for right node Vout in Figures 2d,3), which include portions extending along the row of the plurality of strain gauges; each of the plurality of power supply lines is connected to corresponding one of the first ends of the plurality of strain gauges (e.g. observed in Figures 2d,3); each of the plurality of first signal lines is connected to corresponding one of the first ends of the plurality of strain gauges (e.g. observed in Figures 2d,3); each of the plurality of ground lines is connected to corresponding one of the second ends of the plurality of strain gauges (e.g. observed in Figures 2d,3); each of the plurality of second signal lines is connected to corresponding one of the second ends of the plurality of strain gauges (e.g. observed in Figures 2d,3); each of the plurality of strain gauges R1,R4 of the first sensor sheet is arranged to be opposed to corresponding one of the plurality of strain gauges R2,R3 of the second sensor sheet with the base sandwiched therebetween (e.g. observed in Figures 2c,4). (See, pages 138 to 144).
The only difference between the prior art and the claimed invention is each of the plurality of ground lines of the first sensor sheet is connected to corresponding one of the plurality of power supply lines of the second sensor sheet.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have readily recognize the advantages and desirability of employing each of the plurality of ground lines of the first sensor sheet is connected to corresponding one of the plurality of power supply lines of the second sensor sheet is considered to have been a matter of design and choice possibilities of the operator and/or manufacturer how the connection lines are connected to the strain gauges to have the ability to give the possibility to switch the power supply thereby dramatically reducing the current assumption since Koch et al. suggests, on page 139, 2nd column, 1st paragraph and on page 144, 1st column, 2nd paragraph, the concept of design arrangements for the connection lines for the strain gauges.
With regards to claim 2, Koch et al. further discloses the controller comprises a selector sequentially applying power supply voltages to the plurality of power supply lines of the first sensor sheet, sequentially driving a plurality of strain gauges of the first sensor sheet and a plurality of strain gauges of the second sensor sheet so as to be synchronized with each other, and sequentially acquiring detection signals of the first ends and detection signals of the second ends, of the strain gauges, from the first signal lines and the second signal lines. (See, section “4. Sensor functionality and discussion” from page 141 to page 143).
With regards to claim 3, Koch et al. further discloses the controller includes a first difference detection circuit which detects a difference between detection signals of the first ends and detection signals of the second ends, of the strain gauges of the first sensor sheet, and a second difference detection circuit which detects a difference between detection signals of the first ends and detection signals of the second ends, of the strain gauges of the second sensor sheet. (See, page 139, 1st column, 1st to 7th paragraphs; page 141, 2nd column, 2nd paragraph; Figure 5)
With regards to claim 4, Koch et al. does not disclose the controller sequentially drives the plurality of strain gauges from a one-end side to the other end side of the row of the plurality of strain gauges. However, to have set such test characteristics as in the claim is considered to have been a matter of optimization and choice possibilities to the operator and/or manufacturer how to drive the strain gauges to have the ability to give the possibility to switch the power supply thereby dramatically reducing the current assumption.
With regards to claim 5, Koch et al., as obvious modified for its connection lines set forth above, further discloses the controller includes a circuit board (e.g. glass wafer; Figure 2a) connected to lines of the first sensor sheet and lines of the second sensor sheet such that the circuit board includes connection lines connecting the ground lines of the first sensor sheet with the power supply lines of the second sensor sheet. (See, Figures 2,3,4).
With regards to claim 6, Koch et al., as obvious modified for its connection lines set forth above, further discloses the controller includes a circuit board (e.g. glass wafer; Figure 2a) connected to lines of the first sensor sheet and lines of the second sensor sheet, and the selector is provided on the circuit board and includes wirings connecting the ground lines of the first sensor sheet with the power supply lines of the second sensor sheet. (See, Figures 2,3,4).
With regards to claims 7-14, the claims are commensurate in scope with the above claims 1-3,5-6 and are rejected for the same reasons as set forth above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The references cited, particularly Dietz, Liu and Miyajima, are related to flexible shaped sensor systems.
/HELEN C KWOK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855