DETAILED ACTION
The amendment filed 6/22/2026 has been placed of record in the file.
Claims 1, 4, 6, 7, 9, 10, 12, and 13 have been amended.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
The applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot in view of the following new grounds of rejection.
The IDS filed 6/22/2026 has been considered.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, and 4-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pelissier et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2022/0261570), hereinafter referred to as Pelissier, in view of Buckley et al. (U.S. Patent Number 10,101,897), hereinafter referred to as Buckley.
Pelissier disclosed techniques for persistent user authentication using a stylus. In an analogous art, Buckley disclosed techniques for storing user credentials on a stylus. Both systems are directed toward performing user authentication using a stylus.
Regarding claim 1, Pelissier discloses a stylus configured to authenticate a user account across multiple computing devices, the stylus comprising: a sensor that detects contact between the stylus and computing devices of the multiple computing devices (paragraph 38, pressure sensor in stylus); and a session handler that: tracks a first session of the user account with respect to a first computing device of the multiple computing devices based on user interaction with the stylus (paragraph 42, IHS_A configured based on user information of authenticated user), maintain an authentication token representative of the first session (paragraph 54, token), subsequent to detection of a first contact between the stylus and a second computing device of the multiple computing devices by the sensor, causes a second session of the user account with respect to the second computing device to be established based on the authentication token (paragraph 47, stylus lands on IHS_B and IHS_B logs in user), erase the authentication token in response to a first time exceeding a timeout threshold, the first time indicative of: a time since the sensor previously detected contact between the stylus and the first computing device, a time since the sensor previously detected contact between the stylus and the second computing device, or a time since the sensor previously detected contact between the stylus and any of the multiple computing devices (paragraph 44, logs user out and deletes user content if timer exceeded).
Pelissier does not explicitly state that the session handler is a circuit-implemented session handler of the stylus. However, implementing session management on circuitry of the stylus itself was well known in the art as evidenced by Buckley. Since the inventions encompass the same field of endeavor, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Pelissier by adding the ability that the session handler is a circuit-implemented session handler of the stylus as provided by Buckley (see column 7, lines 52-58, stylus recognizes session, and column 8, lines 39-51, stylus stores and utilizes state information, and column 8, lines 9-15, previous credentials erased). One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the benefit that implementing session management in this way would assist in providing the user with a more seamless transition between computing systems (see Buckley, column 8, lines 45-41).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Pelissier and Buckley discloses wherein the second session of the user account is established based on an identifier of the stylus (Pelissier, paragraph 39, authentication credential).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Pelissier and Buckley discloses wherein the session handler component further: responsive to the detection of the first contact, provide the authentication token to the second computing device or an authentication server to cause the second session of the user account to establish (Pelissier, paragraph 54, transmits token to IHS).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Pelissier and Buckley discloses wherein to provide the authentication token to the second computing device, the session handler component further: receive a poll from the second computing device, the poll comprising a request for the authentication token; and transmit a response to the poll comprising the authentication token (Pelissier, paragraph 39, stylus and IHS paired via Bluetooth in order to exchange information wirelessly).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Pelissier and Buckley discloses wherein the first time is indicative of the time since the sensor previously detected contact between the stylus and the first computing device (Pelissier, paragraph 44, logs user out and deletes user content if timer exceeded).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Pelissier and Buckley discloses wherein the session handler further raises a timeout flag in response to the first time exceeding the timeout threshold, the timeout flag preventing sessions of the user account from being established with a new computing device (Pelissier, paragraph 44, timer, and paragraph 39, requires authentication credential for new login).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Pelissier and Buckley discloses wherein the session handler further, responsive to the detection of the first contact, determine the second computing device is an authorized device (Pelissier, paragraph 38, stylus pairs with IHS via Bluetooth).
Claims 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pelissier in view of Carroll et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2024/0127825), hereinafter referred to as Carroll.
Pelissier disclosed techniques for persistent user authentication using a stylus. In an analogous art, Carroll disclosed techniques for user authentication using an audio signal. Both systems are directed toward performing user authentication on a system via use of a separate user device.
Regarding claim 18, Pelissier discloses a system configured to authenticate a user account across multiple computing devices, the system comprising: a processor circuit; and a memory device that stores program code executable by the processor circuit to: track a first session of the user account with respect to a first computing device of the multiple computing devices based on user interaction with a stylus (paragraph 42, IHS_A configured based on user information of authenticated user); receive an indication of first contact between the stylus and a second computing device of the multiple computing devices (paragraph 47, stylus lands on IHS_B); determine a user interaction with the stylus in between a second contact and the first contact, the second contact between the stylus and the first computing device occurring prior to the first contact (paragraph 54, generates token based on user); and establish, based at least on the determination of the user interaction with the stylus in between the second contact and the first contact, a second session of the user account with respect to the second computing device (paragraph 47, stylus lands on IHS_B and IHS_B logs in user, and paragraph 54, transmits token to IHS).
Pelissier does not explicitly state determining that the user interaction with the stylus was maintained. However, utilizing device buttons in authentication techniques was well known in the art as evidenced by Carroll. Since the inventions encompass the same field of endeavor, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Pelissier by adding the ability for determining a user interaction with the stylus was maintained in between a second contact and the first contact, and establishing the second session based at least on the determination that the user interaction with the stylus was maintained in between the second contact and the first contact as provided by Carroll (see paragraph 98, user presses button to begin authentication process, and paragraph 108, authentication process stops if user releases button). One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the benefit that requiring a button to be held would assist in providing additional security advantages by requiring user interaction during an authentication process (see Carroll, paragraph 108).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Pelissier and Carroll discloses wherein the indication of the first contact comprises at least one of: an identifier of the stylus (Pelissier, paragraph 39, authentication credential); an identifier of the second computing device; a timeout flag that indicates whether or not a time since previously indicated contact between the stylus and the first computing device exceeds a timeout threshold; a button press flag that indicates whether or not a button on the stylus is pressed; or an authentication token associated with the active session.
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Pelissier and Carroll discloses wherein to establish the second session of the user account, the program code is executable by the processor circuit to: provide an authentication token to the second computing device (Pelissier, paragraph 54, transmits token to IHS).
Claims 9-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pelissier in view of Buckley, further in view of Carroll.
The combination of Pelissier and Buckley disclosed techniques for persistent user authentication using a stylus. In an analogous art, Carroll disclosed techniques for user authentication using an audio signal. Both systems are directed toward performing user authentication on a system via use of a separate user device.
Regarding claim 9, Pelissier discloses a method for utilizing a stylus to authenticate a user account across multiple computing devices, the method comprising: tracking a first session of the user account with respect to a first computing device of the multiple computing devices based on user interaction with the stylus (paragraph 42, IHS_A configured based on user information of authenticated user); detecting, by the stylus, a first contact between the stylus and a second computing device of the multiple computing devices (paragraph 38, pressure sensor in stylus, and paragraph 47, stylus lands on IHS_B); and subsequent to said detecting the first contact between the stylus and the second computing device, determining a user interaction with the stylus in between the stylus having a second contact with the first computing device and the stylus having the first contact with the second computing device, the second contact prior to the first contact (paragraph 54, generates token based on user), and causing, by the stylus, a second session of the user account with respect to the second computing device to be established based on the user interaction in between the second contact and the first contact (paragraph 47, stylus lands on IHS_B and IHS_B logs in user, and paragraph 54, transmits token to IHS).
Pelissier does not explicitly state that the tracking the first session is completed wholly by the stylus. However, implementing session management on circuitry of the stylus itself was well known in the art as evidenced by Buckley. Since the inventions encompass the same field of endeavor, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Pelissier by adding the ability for tracking, by the stylus, the first session as provided by Buckley (see column 7, lines 52-58, stylus recognizes session, and column 8, lines 39-51, stylus stores and utilizes state information). One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the benefit that implementing session management in this way would assist in providing the user with a more seamless transition between computing systems (see Buckley, column 8, lines 45-41).
The combination of Pelissier and Buckley does not explicitly state determining that the user interaction with the stylus was maintained. However, utilizing device buttons in authentication techniques was well known in the art as evidenced by Carroll. Since the inventions encompass the same field of endeavor, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Pelissier and Buckley by adding the ability for determining a user interaction with the stylus was maintained in between the stylus having a second contact with the first computing device and the stylus having the first contact with the second computing device, and causing the second session to be established based on the user interaction being maintained in between the second contact and the first contact as provided by Carroll (see paragraph 98, user presses button to begin authentication process, and paragraph 108, authentication process stops if user releases button). One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the benefit that requiring a button to be held would assist in providing additional security advantages by requiring user interaction during an authentication process (see Carroll, paragraph 108).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Pelissier, Buckley, and Carroll discloses wherein said detecting the first contact comprises at least one of: detecting the first contact by a sensor of the stylus (Pelissier, paragraph 38, pressure sensor in stylus).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Pelissier, Buckley, and Carroll discloses wherein said causing the second session of the user account to be established comprises: causing the second session of the user account to be established based on an identifier of the stylus (Pelissier, paragraph 39, authentication credential).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Pelissier, Buckley, and Carroll discloses tracking, by the stylus, the second session of the user account by detecting if a button of the stylus is pressed; detecting, by the stylus, a third contact between the stylus and a third computing device of the multiple computing devices, the third contact subsequent to the first contact; determining the button was released prior to said detecting the third contact; and causing a third session of the user account to fail to establish with respect to the third computing device based on the button being released prior to said detecting the third contact (Carroll, paragraph 98, user presses button to begin authentication process, and paragraph 108, authentication process stops if user releases button).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Pelissier, Buckley, and Carroll discloses maintaining an authentication token representative of the first session; and responsive to said detecting the first contact, providing the authentication token to the second computing device or an authentication server to cause the second session of the user account to establish (Pelissier, paragraph 54, transmits token to IHS).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Pelissier, Buckley, and Carroll discloses wherein said providing the authentication token to the second computing device comprises: receiving a poll from the second computing device, the poll comprising a request for the authentication token; and transmitting a response to the poll comprising the authentication token (Pelissier, paragraph 39, stylus and IHS paired via Bluetooth in order to exchange information wirelessly).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Pelissier, Buckley, and Carroll discloses in response to a time since a previously detected contact between the stylus and the first computing device exceeding a timeout threshold, erasing the authentication token (Pelissier, paragraph 44, logs user out and deletes user content if timer exceeded).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Pelissier, Buckley, and Carroll discloses raising a timeout flag in response to a time since a sensor of the stylus previously detected contact between the stylus and the first computing device exceeding a timeout threshold, the timeout flag preventing sessions of a user account from being established with a new computing device (Pelissier, paragraph 44, timer, and paragraph 39, requires authentication credential for new login).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Pelissier, Buckley, and Carroll discloses responsive to said detecting contact, determining the second computing device is an authorized device (Pelissier, paragraph 38, stylus pairs with IHS via Bluetooth).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Claims 9 and 18 recite similar limitations to claim 3, but it is not yet clear in these claims that the particular steps as described in claim 3 are being performed by circuitry of the stylus itself. If such clarity is provided in these claims, claims 9-20 would then also be deemed allowable.
Response to Arguments
In the remarks, the applicant has argued that the combination of Pelissier and Buckley does not disclose the limitations newly added to independent claim 1. However, the combination of Pelissier and Buckley is seen to meet these limitations. The applicant is directed to the new citations in the above rejection. The applicant has also argued that claim 9 is allowable for the same reasons as claim 3, but claim 9 does not include that the same particular steps are being performed by circuitry of the stylus itself. The applicant has also argued that Carroll does not teach “establishing a session” as presented in claim 18. However, Carroll was only cited as maintaining user interaction with the stylus for authentication purposes. The applicant is directed to the details of the rejection of claim 18 above.
Conclusion
/Victor Lesniewski/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2493