DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the battery" in line 10. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It should read “a battery”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 6 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Rhoades (PGPub 20060058714).
Rhoades teaches an apparatus, comprising: a handle (130) having a first end, a second end, at least one curved middle portion (cylindrical shape), and a power and speed control button (275); a vibrating member (264) connected to the first end of the handle, the vibrating member including a motor (260) disposed inside the vibrating member, and a brush head connecting protrusion (120, 140) being disposed on the vibrating member; a brush head (300) having a cut-out portion (280, 290) on a first side and being detachably connected to the vibrating member, the brush head including bristles (320) that are configured to receive a hair dye; and a charging cord being magnetically and electrically connected to a battery (phantom lines in figure 3) (paragraph 0059), the charging cord being configured to supply a charge to the battery, to supply power to the motor, and to cause the vibrating member to oscillate the bristles when the power and speed control button is activated, wherein the brush head is detachably connected to the vibrating member by the cut-out portion fastening to the brush head connecting protrusion.
With regards to claim 3, the power and speed control button is configured to turn the apparatus on and off and to activate a plurality of speeds for vibrating the motor (paragraph 0041).
With regards to claim 6, the method of dying hair comprises connecting a brush head (300) having bristles (320) to a tip of a vibrating member (264) of the apparatus, the vibrating member including a motor (260); electrically connecting a charging cord to a rechargeable battery to supply power to the motor (paragraph 0059); placing a hair dye on a portion of the bristles of the brush head (paragraph 0055 states that it can be used on hair); and activating a power and speed control button disposed on the handle to turn on the apparatus (275, paragraph 0041), to cause a vibrating member connected to the motor to oscillate the bristles and to apply the hair dye to hair follicles of a scalp of a user.
With regards to claim 8, the power and speed control button is configured to turn the apparatus on and off and to activate a plurality of speeds for vibrating the motor (paragraph 0041).
Claim(s) 6 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Kosecoff (WO 2022061175).
With regards to claim 6, Kosecoff teaches the method of dying hair comprises connecting a brush head (100a) having bristles (108) to a tip of a vibrating member (158) of the apparatus, the vibrating member including a motor (variable speed); electrically connecting a charging cord to a rechargeable battery to supply power to the motor (not shown, page 10, lines 5-7); placing a hair dye on a portion of the bristles of the brush head (page 5, lines 24-29); and activating a power and speed control button disposed on the handle to turn on the apparatus (106), to cause a vibrating member connected to the motor to oscillate the bristles and to apply the hair dye to hair follicles of a scalp of a user.
With regards to claim 8, the power and speed control button is configured to turn the apparatus on and off and to activate a plurality of speeds for vibrating the motor (106).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 4, 7 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rhoades (‘714) in view of Goldberg (PGPub 20080255483).
Rhoades teaches all the essential elements of the claimed invention including a tri-grip shaped cushion handle disposed on the at least one curved portion of the handle (figure 4a-4b) (claims 4 and 9), however fail to teach that the second end of the handle has threads (claims 2 and 7). Goldberg teaches a vibrating device with a handle that has a threaded end (14). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Rhoades so that the second end of the handle has threads as taught by Goldberg to allow for easy access to the batteries.
Claim(s) 5 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rhoades (‘714) and Goldberg (‘483) further in view of Johnson (USPN 6789549).
Rhoades and Goldberg teach all the essential elements of the claimed invention however fail to teach a pick is detachably connected to the second end of the handle via the threading. Johnson teaches a brush with a handle (120) having a threaded end (54/26) for connecting a pick (130). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the second end of Rhoades and Goldberg so that a pick can be attached to the threaded portion of the handle as taught by Johnson to allow for an additional brushing utensil without needing to have two separate devices.
Conclusion
/SHAY KARLS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723