DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 2-4, 6-8 and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a(1) as being anticipated by Converse, US 2017/0303643 A1.
Regarding claim 2, Converse discloses a reel system (600, figures 6A-6G) comprising a housing (602) having an interior (628); a spool (610) positioned within the interior (628) of the housing; a knob (604) supported by the housing (602) and operationally coupled to the spool (610); a plurality of teeth (612) formed on the interior of the housing (628); a knob core (608) removably coupled to a pawl disc (606) with the spool (610). The rotation of the knob causes the spool to rotate within the interior of the housing. The pawl disc (606) is separate from the knob (604) and the spool (610). The pawl disc (606) includes one or more curved pawls (curved arms circumferentially extending from the pawl disc 606 toward a pivot end of a corresponding pawl (adjacent pawl) that are engagable with the plurality of teeth (612) in the housing (602) to lock or secure the spool (610) in a rotational position relative to the housing; a knob core (608) that is separate from the pawl disc (606) and coupled therewith; the knob core (608) being configured to support or reinforce the pawl disc (606); wherein, when the pawl disc and the knob core are configured so that a distal end (pawl teeth, 607) of each pawl extends radially outward of an outer circumference or perimeter of the knob core (608, figure 6G), i.e., the pawl teeth must extend past the outer circumference of the knob core (608) in order to engage the teeth (612) on the inner circumference of the housing (602). Converse also discloses that each pawl arm is configured to bias the corresponding pawl into engagement with the plurality of teeth on the inner circumference of the housing, i.e., the pawl arms are biasing the teeth into engagement with the housing teeth and allow the pawl teeth to displace radially inward as they traverse the housing teeth. Then, the curved pawl arm biases the teeth radially outward to reengage the next housing tooth as the knob is rotated.
Converse also discloses the pawl component includes a central base and a plurality of pawls that are each connected to the central base. Each pawl having a pawl arm and a pawl beam integrally formed with the pawl arm. The pawl arm extending from the central base in a first radially outward extending direction. The pawl beam extending from the pawl arm in a second circumferential direction that is different than the first direction. Please see the annotated drawing on the subsequent page.
Regarding claim 3, Converse discloses that the central base of the pawl component is an annular ring.
Regarding claim 4, Converse discloses a knob core (608) coupleable with the pawl component (606) to support the pawl component. The annular ring is shaped and sized to fit around a central aperture of the knob core.
Regarding claim 6, Converse discloses a pawl component (606) with three pawls.
Regarding claim 7, Converse discloses a knob core support wall (see annotated drawing) that is shaped and sized to support the pivot end of the pawl.
Regarding claim 8, Converse discloses the pawl disc and the knob core configured so that a distal end (pawl teeth, 607) of each pawl extends radially outward of an outer circumference or perimeter of the knob core (608, figure 6G), i.e., the pawl teeth must extend past the outer circumference of the knob core (608) in order to engage the teeth (612) on the inner circumference of the housing (602).
Regarding claim 11, Converse discloses a plurality of teeth (612) formed on an inner surface of the housing (602).
Regarding claim 12, Converse discloses a reel system (600, figures 6A-6G) comprising a housing (602) having an interior (628); a spool (610) positioned within the interior (628) of the housing; a knob (604) supported by the housing (602) and operationally coupled to the spool (610); a plurality of teeth (612) formed on the interior of the housing (628); a knob core (608) removably coupled to a pawl disc (606) with the spool (610). The rotation of the knob causes the spool to rotate within the interior of the housing. The pawl disc (606) is separate from the knob (604) and the spool (610). The pawl disc (606) includes one or more curved pawls (curved arms circumferentially extending from the pawl disc 606 toward a pivot end of a corresponding pawl (adjacent pawl) that are engagable with the plurality of teeth (612) in the housing (602) to lock or secure the spool (610) in a rotational position relative to the housing; a knob core (608) that is separate from the pawl disc (606) and coupled therewith; the knob core (608) being configured to support or reinforce the pawl disc (606); wherein, when the pawl disc and the knob core are configured so that a distal end (pawl teeth, 607) of each pawl extends radially outward of an outer circumference or perimeter of the knob core (608, figure 6G), i.e., the pawl teeth must extend past the outer circumference of the knob core (608) in order to engage the teeth (612) on the inner circumference of the housing (602). Converse also discloses that each pawl arm is configured to bias the corresponding pawl into engagement with the plurality of teeth on the inner circumference of the housing, i.e., the pawl arms are biasing the teeth into engagement with the housing teeth and allow the pawl teeth to displace radially inward as they traverse the housing teeth. Then, the curved pawl arm biases the teeth radially outward to reengage the next housing tooth as the knob is rotated.
Regarding claim 13, Converse discloses a knob core support wall (see annotated drawing) that is shaped and sized to support the pivot end of the pawl.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 9-10, 14-20 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 4/1/2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 2-4, 6-8, and 11-13 under Converse’s first embodiment of their invention have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of Converse’s second embodiment disclosed in figures 6A-6G.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
JACK W. LAVINDER
Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 3677
/JACK W LAVINDER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3677