DETAILED ACTION
Claim 1 has been canceled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-10 and 12-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 2, line 8, the limitation “a plurality of teeth” is missing essential claimed structural cooperation with the reel system for the reel system to function. It is suggested that the plurality of teeth be structurally linked to the interior of the housing, i.e., incorporate claim 11 into claim 2 to correct this problem.
In claim 2, line 12, it is misdescriptive to claim “the pawl arm extending from the central base in a first direction and the pawl beam extending from the pawl arm in a second direction opposite the first direction”. As can be seen in figure 1L, the pawl arm (125) extends from the central base where it is connected to the central base in a radially outward direction and then in a circumferential clockwise direction until it connects with the pawl beam (142). The pawl beam (142) extends in an outwardly, tangential direction, which is not opposite to the circumferential clockwise direction. Please see the annotated figure 1L on the subsequent page.
In claim 12, line 6, the limitation “a plurality of teeth” is missing essential claimed structural cooperation with the reel system for the reel system to function. It is suggested that the plurality of teeth be structurally linked to the interior of the housing, i.e., incorporate the subject matter in claim 11 into claim 12 to correct this problem.
In claim 12, last two paragraphs make the claim indefinite. It is not clear if the knob core is coupled to the pawl disc in the reel system or it just can be coupled thereto. It is suggested to positively claim that the knob core is coupled to the pawl disc in order for the claim to be accurate and definite in defining the reel system.
In claim 21, it is misdescriptive to claim “the pawl arm extending from the central base in a first direction and the pawl beam extending from the pawl arm in a second direction opposite the first direction”. As can be seen in figure 1L, the pawl arm (125) extends from the central base where it is connected to the central base in a radially outward direction and then in a circumferential clockwise direction until it connects with the pawl beam (142). The pawl beam (142) extends in an outwardly, tangential direction, which is not opposite to the circumferential clockwise direction. Please see the annotated figure 1L on the subsequent page.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 12-15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a(1) as being anticipated by Converse, US 2017/0303643 A1. Converse discloses a reel system (402) comprising a housing (404, 406-408) having an interior (408); a spool (414) positioned within the interior (408) of the housing; a knob (470, 440) supported by the housing and operationally coupled (via teeth (412) and knob core (teeth on bottom of 420, i.e., 426 in figure 4B) with the spool (414) such that rotation of the knob causes the spool to rotate within the interior of the housing ([0050-0051]); a plurality of teeth (406); a pawl disc (436) separate from the knob and the spool (figure 4A); the pawl disc (430) including one or more pawls (432, 434) that are engagable with the plurality of teeth (406) in the housing to lock or secure the spool (416) in a rotational position relative to the housing ([0050-0051]); and, a knob core (426) that is separate from the pawl disc (436) and that is coupled therewith; the knob core (426) being configured to support or reinforce the pawl disc (436); wherein, when the pawl disc is coupled with the knob core, a distal end (432) of each pawl extends radially outward of an outer circumference or perimeter of the knob core (426).
Regarding claims 13-15, Converse discloses a knob core support wall/pivot boss (422) that is shaped and sized to engage and support the pivot end of the pawl ([0050]).
“To drive pawl disc 430, the drive components 422 may be positioned within a space 436 between pawl teeth 432 and a drive member 434, which extends radially outward from a central core or portion of pawl disc 430.”
Regarding claim 17, the knob core (426) has lipped components (424) that snap into apertures (442) in the bottom portion of the knob (440, 470). The pawl disc (430) is sandwiched between the knob and the knob core.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Converse, US 2017/0303643 A1.
Regarding claim 18, Converse discloses the tabs axially extending from the knob core into apertures in the knob. The claim requires that the tabs axially extend from the knob to snap together couple with the main body of the knob core. Converse’s coupling structure is the reverse of the structure that is claimed. It also performs the function of snapping together coupling the main body of the knob core with the knob equally as well as that claimed. Therefore, it would have been obvious, prior to the earliest effective filing date, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to reverse the coupling structure in Converse to have the tabs axially extending from the knob and the apertures located in the knob core. The reversal of the structures will function equally as well in snapping together to couple the knob to the knob core in order to achieve the identical coupling function.
Regarding claim 19, Converse discloses lipped components with a lip.
Regarding claim 20, Convers discloses the apertures (442) having a length greater than the circumferential width of the tabs to allow rotation between the knob (440, 470) relative to the knob core (426) and pawl disc (430, [0048]).
“Tension control disc 420 is coupled with disc 440 via a pair of lipped components 424 that axially extend from a top surface of disc 420 and engage with corresponding apertures 442 of disc 440. The components 424 may snap into the apertures 442 of disc 440 to couple the two discs, 440 and 420, together with pawl disc 430 sandwich or positioned there between. Engagement of the discs, 440 and 420, via the components 424 and apertures 442 allows rotational forces input into knob 470 to be transferred from disc 440 to tension control disc 420. The disc 440 and tension control disc 420 are rotatable relative to the pawl disc 430 that is sandwiched between the two discs. This configuration allows drive components 422 of the tension control disc 420 to rotate relative to pawl disc 430 and thereby engage with components of pawl disc 430 to transfer tightening and loosening rotational forces to pawl disc 430.”
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-10, 16 and 21 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
Claim 11 is allowed.
JACK W. LAVINDER
Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 3677
/JACK W LAVINDER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3677