DETAILED ACTIONThis action is in response to the application filed on 01/29/2024.Claims 1-20 have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, 6, 8, 9-13, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (2) as being anticipated by JIA et al. (US 20240089854).
As of claim 1. JIA discloses a first device (see [FIG.8] [0002] shows AP MLD 110 (=Multi-link device), comprising: a circuit (para [0065] discloses AP MLD 110 comprises at least one processor 810 and a memory 820 coupled to the at least one processor 810) configured to provide frames across a connection comprised of one or more links to a second device (para [0027] discloses a first link and a second link are set up between an access point (AP) and a wireless device based on multi-link operation (MLO). [FIG. 4A] shows and discloses the first link 410 or link 1 and the second link 420 or link 2 of the MLO are established between AP MLD 110 and the STA MLD 120 and beacon frames are transmitted on the link 410, which corresponds to first device provides frames across a connection comprised of one or more links to a second device),
wherein the circuit is configured to use a beacon reception pattern where first intervals on a first link are alternately disposed with second intervals on a second link (see [FIG. 4] shows beacon frames are transmitted on the link 1 with a beacon intervals 400 time unit (TU) (=first interval) and beacon frames are transmitted on the link 2 with a beacon intervals 300 TU (=second interval) that implies first device use a beacon reception pattern where first intervals on a first link are alternately disposed with second intervals on a second link).
As of claim 9, JIA discloses a first device, (see [FIG. 8] shows AP MLD 110), comprising: a circuit (para [0065] discloses AP MLD 110 comprises at least one processor 810 and a memory 820 coupled to the at least one processor 810), configured to provide multilink operations across a connection to a second device (see [Fig. 5] [0036] three links of multilink operations are established between AP MLD 110 and the STA MLD 120 (=second device),
wherein the circuit is configured to select a beacon reception pattern for a first link, a second link, and a third link (para [0036] [FIGS. 5A] disclose there are three links between an AP MLD 110 and a STA MLD 120 which includes a first link 1, a second link 2 and a third link 3 and beacon interval on the link 1 is 400 TU, Link 2 is 300 TU, and link 3 is 200 TU (=beacon reception pattern)),
the beacon reception pattern being chosen in response a low battery condition, a delivery traffic indication map setting, or a roam decision (para [0030][0033] discloses the power save (PS) mode allows devices to save power by analyzing the data usage pattern with time and make sure that the Wi-Fi does not drain too much battery of the devices, the radio power state be transitioned between the awake state and the doze state and by coordinating all the links during the multi-link connection to reduce the wake-up time on all active links, thereby saving more power for the wireless device which corresponds to the beacon reception pattern being chosen in response to the low battery condition).
As of claim 15, JIA discloses a first device (see [FIG. 8] shows AP MLD 110), comprising: a circuit (para [0065] discloses AP MLD 110 comprises at least one processor 810 and a memory 820 coupled to the at least one processor 810), configured to provide multilink operations across a connection to a second device ([FIG. 1] para[0017] [0019] shows and disclose multiple links (link 131 or link 1 and link 132 or link 2) are established between the AP MLD 110 (=first device) and the STA MLD 120 (=second device) by use of the MLO (=multilink operations),
wherein the circuit is configured to use a beacon reception pattern in response to a low battery condition or delivery traffic indication map setting (para [0030][0033] discloses the power save (PS) mode allows devices to save power by analyzing the data usage pattern with time and make sure that the Wi-Fi does not drain too much battery of the devices, the radio power state be transitioned between the awake state and the doze state and by coordinating all the links during the multi-link connection to reduce the wake-up time on all active links, thereby saving more power for the wireless device),
wherein the beacon reception pattern has less first listen intervals per period on a first link than a number of second listen intervals on a second link, wherein the number is at least one (see [Fig. 4A] [Fig. 4B] shows listening intervals (=beacon interval) on a first link is 3, and the listening intervals on a second link is 4 where the number is at least one).
As of claim 2, rejection of claim 1 cited above incorporated herein, in addition JIA discloses the frames are provided according to an 802.11 protocol ([FIG. 1] and para [0017] shows and disclose the AP MLD 110 allows other Wi-Fi devices to connect to the WAN, and provides wireless connections using WLAN for other Wi-Fi devices to use the WAN and the STA MLD 120 has the capability to use the IEEE 802.11 protocol), and
the first intervals are for listening for a beacon frame (para [0043] discloses during the time T1 and T4, the link 1 wakes up (=listen) at time (0, 400, 800) TU which corresponds to a listening interval for beacon frame).
As of claim 3, rejection of claim 1 cited above incorporated herein, in addition JIA discloses the circuit is configured to select the beacon reception pattern for the first link, the second link, and a third link (para [0036] [FIGS. 5A] disclose there are three links between an AP MLD 110 and a STA MLD 120 which includes a first link 1, a second link 2 and a third link 3 and beacon interval on the link 1 is 400 TU, Link 2 is 300 TU, and link 3 is 200 TU (=beacon reception pattern)),
the beacon reception pattern being chosen in response a low battery condition or a roam decision (para [0030][0033] discloses the power save (PS) mode allows devices to save power by analyzing the data usage pattern with time and make sure that the Wi-Fi does not drain too much battery of the devices, the radio power state be transitioned between the awake state and the doze state and by coordinating all the links during the multi-link connection to reduce the wake-up time on all active links, thereby saving more power for the wireless device).
As of claim 5, rejection of claim 1 cited above incorporated herein, in addition JIA discloses the circuit is configured to use during a low battery condition a lower power consuming link of the first link and the second link for receiving a beacon frame (para [0030][0033] discloses the power save (PS) mode allows devices to save power by analyzing the data usage pattern with time and make sure that the Wi-Fi does not drain too much battery of the devices, the radio power state be transitioned between the awake state and the doze state and by coordinating all the links (=first and second link) during the multi-link connection to reduce the wake-up time on all active links, thereby consume less power for the wireless device).
As of claim 6, rejection of claim 1 cited above incorporated herein, in addition JIA discloses the first device the second device are each one of mobile station devices or mobile access points ([FIG. 4A], para [0027] shows and discloses the link1 and link 2 of the MLO are established between two MLDs, (=multilink device) such as the AP MLD 110 (=mobile access points) and the STA MLD 120 (=mobile station device).
As of claim 8, rejection of claim 1 cited above incorporated herein, in addition JIA discloses at least one of the first link and the second link uses the 2.4 GHz frequency band, and another of the links uses the 5 GHZ frequency band or 6.0 GHZ frequency band (para [0019] [0021] discloses the first link work at 2.4 GHz, while the second link work at 5 GHz. the first link and/or second link work at other frequencies, such as 6 GHz).
As of claim 10, rejection of claim 9 cited above incorporated herein, in addition JIA discloses the circuit is configured to use the beacon reception pattern where first intervals on the first link are alternately disposed with second intervals on the second link (see [FIG. 4] shows beacon frames are transmitted on the link 1 with a beacon intervals 400 time unit (TU) (=first interval) and beacon frames are transmitted on the link 2 with a beacon intervals 300 TU (=second interval) that implies first intervals on a first link are alternately disposed with second intervals on a second link).
As of claim 11, rejection of claim 10 cited above incorporated herein, in addition JIA discloses the circuit is configured to select the beacon reception pattern for the first link, the second link, and the third link (para [0036] [FIGS. 5A] disclose there are three links between an AP MLD 110 and a STA MLD 120 which includes a first link 1, a second link 2 and a third link 3 and beacon interval on the link 1 is 400 TU, Link 2 is 300 TU, and link 3 is 200 TU (=reception pattern for links)),
the beacon reception pattern being chosen in response the low battery condition or the roam decision (para [0030][0033] discloses the power save (PS) mode allows devices to save power by analyzing the data usage pattern with time and make sure that the Wi-Fi does not drain too much battery of the devices, the radio power state be transitioned between the awake state and the doze state and by coordinating all the links during the multi-link connection to reduce the wake-up time on all active links, thereby saving more power for the wireless device).
As of claim 12, rejection of claim 10 cited above incorporated herein, in addition JIA discloses the circuit is configured to use during the low battery condition a lower power consuming link of the first link and the second link for receiving a beacon frame (para [0030][0033] discloses the power save (PS) mode allows devices to save power by analyzing the data usage pattern with time and make sure that the Wi-Fi does not drain too much battery of the devices, the radio power state be transitioned between the awake state and the doze state and by coordinating all the links (=first and second link) during the multi-link connection to reduce the wake-up time on all active links, thereby consume less power for the wireless device).
As of claim 13, rejection of claim 10 cited above incorporated herein, in addition JIA discloses the first device the second device are each one of mobile station devices or mobile access points ([FIG. 4A], para [0027] shows and discloses the link1 and link 2 of the MLO are established between two MLDs, (=multilink device) such as the AP MLD 110 (=mobile access points) and the STA MLD 120 (=mobile station device).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 20 are rejected under AIA 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over JIA et al. (US 2024/0089854) in view of HUANG et al. (US 2023/0403753).
As of claim 4 , rejection of claim 1 cited above incorporated herein, in addition JIA discloses the circuit is configured to select the beacon reception pattern for the first link, the second link, and a third link (JIA, para [0036] [FIG. 5A] disclose there are three links between an AP MLD 110 and a STA MLD 120 which includes a first link 1, a second link 2 and a third link 3 and beacon interval on the link 1 is 400 TU, Link 2 is 300 TU, and link 3 is 200 TU (=reception pattern for links)),
the beacon reception pattern being chosen in response a low battery (JIA, para [0030][0033] discloses the power save (PS) mode allows devices to save power by analyzing the data usage pattern with time and make sure that the Wi-Fi does not drain too much battery of the devices, the radio power state be transitioned between the awake state and the doze state and by coordinating all the links during the multi-link connection to reduce the wake-up time on all active links, thereby saving more power for the wireless device which corresponds to the beacon reception pattern being chosen in response to the low battery condition).
JIA does not explicitly disclose the beacon reception pattern being chosen in response a roam decision however HUANG discloses the beacon reception pattern being chosen in response a roam decision (HUANG, para [0045] discloses MLDs (=multi-link device) associated with the exchange of multi-link protocol frames established between the MLDs. para [0054] [0055] discloses a communication link 116 with the AP 112, each of the STAs configured to perform scanning operations on frequency channels in one or more frequency bands (the 2.4 GHz, 5.0 GHz, or 6.0 GHz),a STA 114 listens for beacon frames transmitted by the AP 112 at a periodic time interval referred to as the target beacon transmission time measured in time units (TUs), a STA is moving relative to the STA's associated AP perform a “roaming” scan to find another AP having more desirable network).
Therefore it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of JIA with the teaching of HUANG in order to improve network performance having a greater received signal strength indicator (RSSI) or a reduced traffic load in HUANG para [0055].
As of claim 20 , rejection of claim 15 cited above incorporated herein, in addition JIA discloses the beacon reception pattern is selected in response to a reception level on the first link (HUANG [0054] disclose to establish a communication link with the AP 112, each of the STAs be configured to perform scanning operations on frequency channels in one or more frequency bands (for example, the 2.4 GHz, 5.0 GHz, 6.0 GHz, or 60 GHz frequency bands), a STA listens for beacon frames transmitted by the AP at a periodic time interval referred measured in time units (TUs), para [0119] disclose MLDs (=multi-link devices) use the link metrics to select the most-suitable path between the source device and the destination device which refer to one or more of the shortest path, the lowest cost path, or the path associated with the highest link quality (=a reception level on the first link).
Therefore it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of JIA with the teaching of HUANG in order to improve network performance having a greater received signal strength indicator (RSSI) or a reduced traffic load in HUANG para [0055].
Claims 7 and 14 are rejected under AIA 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over JIA et al. (US 2024/0089854) in view of Nagaraj et al. (US 2014/0064164).
As of claims 7 and 14, rejection of claims 3 and 10 cited above incorporated herein, in addition JIA does not explicitly disclose but Nagaraj teaches the beacon reception pattern is selected using an energy or charge drain parameter for reception of a beacon (Nagaraj, para [0027] ,[0057] discloses the AP begin transmitting beacon frames with a beacon frame intervals of 100 ms, the AP be able to reduce the energy drained from the battery by reducing the number of the beacon frames transmitted by the AP, the predetermined period be selected based on the remaining energy in a battery powering AP).
Therefore it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of JIA with the teaching of Nagaraj in order to reduce energy drained and improve latency of the AP by transmitting beacon frames at beacon interval in Nagaraj para [0052].
Claim 16 is rejected under AIA 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over JIA et al. (US 2024/0089854) in view of Homchaudhuri et al. (US 2022/0337338).
As of claim 16, rejection of claim 15 cited above incorporated herein, in addition cited above incorporated herein, in addition JIA does not explicitly disclose but Homchaudhuri teaches the low battery condition is associated with a battery of the first device being below a first threshold and the first device being solely on battery power (Homchaudhuri, para [0039] [0052] [0063] [0155] and claim 7 disclose the STA decides to operate in single-link mode and determine which link of the available links the STA should use, and when to switch links)
Therefore it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of JIA with the teaching of Homchaudhuri, in order to reduce power consumption while maintaining the multi-link benefits of throughput and low latency in Homchaudhuri para [0039]
Claims 17-19 are rejected under AIA 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over JIA et al. (US 2024/0089854) in view of Bhattacharya et al. (US 2024/0406999).
As of claim 17, rejection of claim 15 cited above incorporated herein, in addition JIA does not explicitly disclose device comprises oscillator but Bhattacharya teaches
the first device comprises a first oscillator for the first link and a second oscillator for the second link (Bhattacharya, para [0066] [0074] [FIG.8] shows and discloses MLD (=multi-link device) includes multiple radios that enable multiple links associated with different respective channels in different frequency bands, an AP MLD (=first device) includes at least one respective radio for each of the multiple links that includes a respective local oscillator which corresponds to the first device comprises a first and second oscillators for the first and second links respectively).
Therefore it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of JIA with the teaching of Bhattacharya in order to improve throughput by improving utilization of available channels using multi-link operation and increase the spectral utilization as taught by Bhattacharya in para [0062].
As of claim 18, rejection of claim 17 cited above incorporated herein, in addition modified JIA-Bhattacharya teaches the first listen intervals on the first link are alternately disposed with the second listen intervals on the second link (JIA, [FIG. 4] shows beacon frames are transmitted on the link 1 with a beacon intervals 400 time unit (TU) (=first interval) and beacon frames are transmitted on the link 2 with a beacon intervals 300 TU (=second interval) that implies a beacon reception pattern where first intervals on a first link are alternately disposed with second intervals on a second link).
As of claim 19, rejection of claim 18 cited above incorporated herein, in addition modified JIA-Bhattacharya teaches the circuit is configured to select the beacon reception pattern for the first link, the second link, and a third link (JIA, para [0036] [FIG. 5A] disclose there are three links between an AP MLD 110 and a STA MLD 120 which includes a first link 1, a second link 2 and a third link 3 and beacon interval on the link 1 is 400 TU, Link 2 is 300 TU, and link 3 is 200 TU (=reception pattern for links)), the beacon reception pattern being chosen in response to the low battery condition or a roam decision (JIA, para [0030][0033] discloses the power save (PS) mode allows devices to save power by analyzing the data usage pattern with time and make sure that the Wi-Fi does not drain too much battery of the devices, the radio power state be transitioned between the awake state and the doze state and by coordinating all the links during the multi-link connection to reduce the wake-up time on all active links, thereby saving more power for the wireless device which corresponds to the beacon reception pattern being chosen in response to the low battery condition).
Conclusion
/FAHMIDA S CHOWDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2471