DETAILED ACTION
This office action response to the communication filed on 1/29/2024.
Claims 1-30 are presented for examination.
Notice of AIA Status
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (lDSs) submitted on July 30, 2025 and June 30, 2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4, 7-10, 12-13, 15, 18-21, 23-24, 26, and 29-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by AMURU et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20200187246A1), (“D1”, hereinafter).
As per Claim 1, D1 discloses a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication ([see, [[0047-0048], and Fig. 1, the UE which is connected to a source gNB]);
one or more memories ([see, [0089], and Fig. 2, a memory 150]); and one or more processors coupled to the one or more memories ([see, [0089], and Fig. 2, a processor 140, and a memory 150]), the one or more processors individually or collectively configured to:
receive information identifying a set of random-access channel (RACH) configurations ([see, [0100-0104, 0129, 0171], receive the system information includes the RACH configuration]),
wherein a RACH configuration, of the set of RACH configurations ([see, 0082, 0204-0205], set (CORESET) configurations for the purpose of RACH discloses, such as set of RACH transmission occasions, set of random-access preambles]), is at least one of:
specific to the UE ([see, 0098, 0204-0205], RACH resource configuration based on CSI-RS based RACH resource can be UE-specific]); and
applicable to a subset of beam directions of a set of beam directions, or
specific to a beam ([see, [0099], beam-specific disclosed]); and
transmit a RACH message in accordance with the RACH configuration ([see, [0136], receive at least one of the RACH message in the RACH configuration]).
As per Claim 12, D1 discloses a network node for wireless communication, comprising:
one or more memories ([see, [0089], and Fig. 2, a memory 150]); and one or more processors coupled to the one or more memories ([see, [0089], and Fig. 2, a processor 140, and a memory 150]), the one or more processors individually or collectively configured to:
transmit, to a user equipment (UE), information identifying a set of random-access channel (RACH) configurations ([see, [0100-0104, 0129, 0171], receive the RMSI information includes the RACH configuration]),
wherein a RACH configuration, of the set of RACH configurations ([see, 0082, 0204-0205], set (CORESET) configurations for the purpose of RACH discloses, such as set of RACH transmission occasions, set of random-access preambles]), is at least one of:
specific to the UE ([see, 0098, 0204-0205], RACH resource configuration based on CSI-RS based RACH resource can be UE-specific]); and
applicable to a subset of beam directions of a set of beam directions, or
specific to a beam ([see, [0099], beam-specific disclosed]); and
receive a RACH message in accordance with the RACH configuration ([see, [0136], receive at least one of the RACH message in the RACH configuration]).
As per Claims 2, 13, 24, D1 further includes wherein the RACH configuration includes a beam-specific timing advance offset for the RACH message ([see, [0201], indicate a time offset/frequency offset between the SS based RACH resource and the CSI-RS based RACH resources]).
As per Claims 4,15, 26, D1 discloses wherein the RACH message is transmitted with a timing advance offset, of the plurality of timing advance offsets, in connection with a parameter ([see, [0167, 0201], the RACH resources may be indicated as an offset from the SS block of the beam]),
wherein the parameter ([see, [0171], and Fig. 6, the parameters of RACH configuration]) is at least one of:
a type of the UE, a distance metric associated with the UE, a channel metric associated with the UE, a received indication, a coverage zone parameter, a result of executing a machine learning model, a synchronization signal block source, or a result of executing a sensing procedure ([see, [0171, 0201], indicate a time offset/frequency offset between the parameter, such as synchronization signal (SS) block-based RACH resource and the CSI-RS based RACH resources]).
As per Claims 7, 18, D1 discloses wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
transmit an indication of one or more RACH configurations ([see, [0100-0104, 01029], receive the RMSI information includes the RACH configuration]); and
wherein the one or more processors, to receive the information identifying the set of RACH configurations ([see, [0100-0104, 0129, 0171], receive the information about the RACH configuration disclosed]), are configured to:
receive the information identifying the set of RACH configurations as a response to transmitting the indication of the one or more RACH configurations ([see, [0129, 0249-0250], wherein the numerology for RACH message 1 may be indicated via RACH configuration, the RACH message 2 is the response sent to the UE 200 for the RACH message 1 transmission]).
As per Claims 8, 19, D1 discloses wherein the information identifying the set of RACH configurations is received via a system information or radio resource control (RRC) message ([see, [0055, 0129, 0171], RACH configuration receive via the system information (RMSI) information]).
As per Claims 9, 20, D1 discloses wherein the information identifying the set of RACH configurations includes one or more bitmaps indicating one or more synchronization signal block (SSB) directions to which one or more user-specific RACH occasions are applicable ([see, [0171, 0187-0189], and Fig. 10, the SS blocks and the RACH resources bitmap disclosed]).
As per Claims 10, 21, D1 discloses wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
receive a system information message including a bitmap identifying a change to a set of beams with an active RACH configuration associated with the set of RACH configurations ([see, [0099-0105, 0186-0187], and Fig. 10, the SS blocks are associated with each RACH resource mapping disclosed]), and
wherein the one or more processors, to transmit the RACH message in accordance with the set of RACH configurations ([see, [0136], RACH message associated with RACH configurations]), are configured to:
transmit the RACH message in accordance with the bitmap ([see, [0169-0174], and Fig. 6, 10, wherein RACH occasions, bit-map provides the association between the SS blocks and the RACH resources]).
As per Claim 23, is the method claim corresponding to the apparatus claim 1 that has been rejected above. Applicant attention is directed to the rejection of claim 1. Claim 23 is anticipated by method being performed by the apparatus above and therefore is rejected under the same rational as claim 1.
As per Claim 29, is the method claim corresponding to the apparatus claim 12 that has been rejected above. Applicant attention is directed to the rejection of claim 12. Claim 29 is anticipated by method being performed by the apparatus above and therefore is rejected under the same rational as claim 12.
As per Claim 30, D1 discloses the method of claim 29, and D1 further includes wherein the RACH configuration includes a beam-specific timing advance offset for the RACH message ([see, [0201], indicate a time offset/frequency offset between the SS based RACH resource and the CSI-RS based RACH resources]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 14, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1, in view of Zou et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20200029292), (“D2”, hereinafter).
As per Claims 3, 14, 25, D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: wherein the set of RACH configurations includes information identifying a plurality of timing advance offsets configured for a set of beams.
However, D2 discloses wherein the set of RACH configurations includes information identifying a plurality of timing advance offsets configured for a set of beams ([see, [0020, 0040, 0069], and Fig. 2, wherein the timing offset between the neighboring beams, determine the timing offset between the two TAs of two neighboring beams in a network]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a beam information message results improves the performance of UE mobility and utilization of wireless network resources (D2, [0063]]).
Claims 5-6, 16-17, and 27-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1, in view of Zou et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20200029292), (“D2”, hereinafter), and further in view of YOO et al. (US 20180279361 A1), hereinafter “D3”
As per Claims 5, 16, 27, D1 discloses wherein the one or more processors, to receive the information identifying the set of RACH configurations ([see, [0100-0104, 01029], receive the RMSI information includes the RACH configuration]),
D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: configured to: receive the information identifying the set of RACH configurations based at least in part on backhaul signaling associated with establishing the set of RACH configurations.
However, D3 discloses receive the information identifying the set of RACH configurations based at least in part on backhaul signaling associated with establishing the set of RACH configurations ([see, [0072-0074, 0095], terminal 120 may obtain RACH configuration based on receives signals through the wireless communication unit 210 or the backhaul communication unit 220]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D3, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D3. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide backhaul signaling results improves the performance of UE and enhanced the channel gain (D3, [0065]]).
As per Claims 6, 17, 28, D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: wherein the set of RACH configurations is received via a broadcast signal or a dedicated signal.
However, D3 discloses wherein the set of RACH configurations is received via a broadcast signal or a dedicated signal ([see, [0095], terminal may obtain RACH configuration information regarding a downlink broadcast signal (e.g., MIB, SIB) transmitted over a broadcast channel (BCH)]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D3, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D3. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide backhaul signaling results improves the performance of UE and enhanced the channel gain (D3, [0065]]).
Claims 11 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1, in view of Taherzadeh Boroujeni et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20210329692 A1), (“D4”, hereinafter).
As per Claims 11, 21, D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: transmit a request for a change to a set of UE-specific RACH occasions; and wherein the one or more processors, to receive the system information message, are configured to: receive the system information message as a response to transmitting the request for the change.
However, D4 discloses wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: transmit a request for a change to a set of UE-specific RACH occasions; and wherein the one or more processors, to receive the system information message, are configured to: receive the system information message as a response to transmitting the request for the change ([see, [0118], UE 115-a transmits request message during or using the two or more occasions (e.g., PRACH repetitions, random access request message 220 repetitions, etc.), and identify the two different RAR window lengths from a single bitfield in a system information message]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D4, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D4. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide RACH message using sequences over corresponding RACH occasions results improve a reliability of the first RACH message being successfully received at the base station (D4, [0057]]).
Conclusion
/BERHANU D BELETE/
Examiner, Art Unit 2468
/WUTCHUNG CHU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2418