DETAILED ACTION
This office action response the amendment application on 5/11/2026.
Claims 1-30 are presented for examination.
Notice of AIA Status
Response to Amendment
This is in response to the amendments filed on May 11, 2026. Claims 1, 12, 23, and 29 have been amended. Claims 1-30 are pending and have been considered below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 12, 23, and 29 have been carefully considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection necessitated by Applicant’s amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6-9, 12, 17-20, 23, and 28-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HUI et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20190104552), (“D1”, hereinafter), in view of Jung et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20190313437 A1), (“D2”, hereinafter).
As per Claim 1, D1 discloses user equipment (UE) for wireless communication ([see, [[0097, 0132], and Fig. 23, the UE]), comprising:
one or more antennas ([see, [0132], a transmitting unit 2310]); and
a processing system that includes one or more processors and one or more memories that store code for the one or more processors ([see, [0132], and Fig. 23, a processor 2330 controlling the transmitting unit 2310]),
the
receive information identifying a set of random-access channel (RACH) configurations ([see, [0026], receiving random access channel (RACH) configuration information from a base station]),
wherein a RACH configuration, is specific to the UE (corresponding to setting RACH for devices) ([see, [0097, 0115], wherein setting RACH for devices, a first message of each device is assigned to RACH resources, a RACH resource indicates a set of time/frequency resources, include RACH configuration information]), and applicable to a subset of beam directions of a set of beam directions ([see, [0097-0098, 0101], and Fig. 3, 6-7, wherein the RACH resource configuration, the gNB can determine Rx beam direction to a specific UE of a set of beam sweeping directions]); and
transmit a RACH message in accordance with the RACH configuration ([see, [0026-0029], transmitting a first message to the base station based on the received RACH configuration information]).
D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: a RACH configuration of the set of RACH configurations.
However, D2 discloses a RACH configuration of the set of RACH configurations ([see, [0063], [0075], RACH configuration includes a set of RACH resources and the Type1-PDCCH CSS includes an associated CORESET]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a beam information message results improves the performance that enabling fast switching of radio resource configuration based on bandwidth portion operation while performing reliable uplink transmissions during a random access procedure (D2, [0008]]).
As per Claim 12, D1 discloses a network node for wireless communication, comprising:
one or more antennas ([see, [0132], a transmitting unit 2310]); and
a processing system that includes one or more processors and one or more memories that store code for the one or more processors ([see, [0132], and Fig. 23, a processor 2330 controlling the transmitting unit 2310]),
the processing system configured to cause the network node to:
transmit, to a user equipment (UE), information identifying a set of random-access channel (RACH) configurations ([see, [0026], the UE receiving random access channel (RACH) configuration information from a base station]),
wherein a RACH configuration, is specific to the UE (corresponding to setting RACH for devices) ([see, [0097, 0115], wherein setting RACH for devices, a first message of each device is assigned to RACH resources, a RACH resource indicates a set of time/frequency resources, include RACH configuration information]), and applicable to a subset of beam directions of a set of beam directions ([see, [0097-0098, 0101], and Fig. 3, 6-7, wherein the RACH resource configuration, the gNB can determine Rx beam direction to a specific UE of a set of beam sweeping directions]); and
receive a RACH message in accordance with the RACH configuration ([see, [0026-0029], transmitting a first message to the base station based on the received RACH configuration information]).
D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: a RACH configuration of the set of RACH configurations.
However, D2 discloses a RACH configuration of the set of RACH configurations ([see, [0063], [0075], RACH configuration includes a set of RACH resources and the Type1-PDCCH CSS includes an associated CORESET]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a beam information message results improves the performance that enabling fast switching of radio resource configuration based on bandwidth portion operation while performing reliable uplink transmissions during a random-access procedure (D2, [0008]]).
As per Claim 23, is the method claim corresponding to the apparatus claim 1 that has been rejected above. Applicant attention is directed to the rejection of claim 1. Claim 23 is anticipated by method being performed by the apparatus above and therefore is rejected under the same rational as claim 1.
As per Claim 29, is the method claim corresponding to the apparatus claim 12 that has been rejected above. Applicant attention is directed to the rejection of claim 12. Claim 29 is anticipated by method being performed by the apparatus above and therefore is rejected under the same rational as claim 12.
As per Claims 6, 17, 28, D1 discloses wherein the set of RACH configurations is received via a broadcast signal or a dedicated signal ([see, [0104], the base station may broadcast to devices a SS burst set before the UE transmits a first message, wherein in the broadcasted SSB burst set, a Tx beam of each base station transmitting an SSB]).
As per Claims 7, 18, D1 discloses wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the UE to:
transmit an indication of one or more RACH configurations ([see, [0026], the UE receiving random access channel (RACH) configuration information from a base station]); and
wherein the ([see, [0097, 0115], wherein setting RACH for devices, a first message of each device is assigned to RACH resources, a RACH resource indicates a set of time/frequency resources, include RACH configuration information]), is configured to cause the UE to:
receive the information identifying the set of RACH configurations as a response to transmitting the indication of the one or more RACH configurations ([see, [0026-0029], transmitting a first message to the base station based on the received RACH configuration information]).
As per Claims 8, 19, D1 discloses wherein the information identifying the set of RACH configurations is received via a system information or radio resource control (RRC) message ([see, [0026-0029], a plurality of synchronization signal blocks (SSB) is respectively in association with a plurality of preambles, and the first message is transmitted in a time domain through a plurality of RACH resources]).
As per Claims 9, 20, D1 discloses wherein the information identifying the set of RACH configurations includes one or more bitmaps indicating one or more synchronization signal block (SSB) directions to which one or more user-specific RACH occasions are applicable ([see, [0115], and Fig. 6, 11, a first message is assigned to respective RACH resources, a number of bits for RACH setting that include RACH configuration information]).
Claims 2, 10, 13, 21, 24, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over in view of D1, in view of D2, and further in view of AMURU et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20200187246A1), (“D3”, hereinafter).
As per Claims 4,15, 26, D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: wherein the RACH message is transmitted with a timing advance offset, of the plurality of timing advance offsets, in connection with a parameter, wherein the parameter is at least one of: a type of the UE, a distance metric associated with the UE, a channel metric associated with the UE, a received indication, a coverage zone parameter, a result of executing a machine learning model, a synchronization signal block source, or a result of executing a sensing procedure.
However, D3 discloses wherein the RACH message is transmitted with a timing advance offset, of the plurality of timing advance offsets, in connection with a parameter ([see, [0167, 0201], the RACH resources may be indicated as an offset from the SS block of the beam, such as indicate a time offset/frequency offset between the SS based RACH resource]),
wherein the parameter ([see, [0171], and Fig. 6, the parameters of RACH configuration]) is at least one of:
a type of the UE, a distance metric associated with the UE, a channel metric associated with the UE, a received indication, a coverage zone parameter, a result of executing a machine learning model, a synchronization signal block source, or a result of executing a sensing procedure ([see, [0171, 0201], indicate a time offset/frequency offset between the parameter, such as synchronization signal (SS) block-based RACH resource and the CSI-RS based RACH resources]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D3, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D3. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide RACH resources may be indicated as an offset results improves the performance that control a random-access channel (RACH) configuration in the wireless communication system. (D3, [0008]]).
As per Claims 10, 21, D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the UE to: receive a system information message including a bitmap identifying a change to a set of beams with an active RACH configuration associated with the set of RACH configurations, and wherein
However, D3 discloses wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the UE to: receive a system information message including a bitmap identifying a change to a set of beams with an active RACH configuration associated with the set of RACH configurations ([see, [0099-0105, 0186-0187], and Fig. 10, the SS blocks are associated with each RACH resource mapping disclosed]), and
wherein processing system, to transmit the RACH message in accordance with the set of RACH configurations ([see, [0136], RACH message associated with RACH configurations]), is configured to cause the UE to:
transmit the RACH message in accordance with the bitmap. ([see, [0169-0174], and Fig. 6, 10, wherein RACH occasions, bit-map provides the association between the SS blocks and the RACH resources]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D3, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D3. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide RACH resources may be indicated as an offset results improves the performance that control a random-access channel (RACH) configuration in the wireless communication system. (D3, [0008]]).
As per Claims 2, 13, 24, and 30, D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: wherein the RACH configuration includes a beam-specific timing advance offset for the RACH message.
However, D3 discloses wherein the RACH configuration includes a beam-specific timing advance offset for the RACH message ([see, [0201], indicate a time offset/frequency offset between the SS based RACH resource and the CSI-RS based RACH resources]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D3, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D3. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide RACH resources may be indicated as an offset results improves the performance that control a random-access channel (RACH) configuration in the wireless communication system. (D3, [0008]]).
Claims 3, 14, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1, in view of D2, and further in view of Zou et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20200029292), (“D4”, hereinafter).
As per Claims 3, 14, 25, D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: wherein the set of RACH configurations includes information identifying a plurality of timing advance offsets configured for a set of beams.
However, D4 discloses wherein the set of RACH configurations includes information identifying a plurality of timing advance offsets configured for a set of beams ([see, [0020, 0040, 0069], and Fig. 2, wherein the timing offset between the neighboring beams, determine the timing offset between the two TAs of two neighboring beams in a network]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D4, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D4. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a beam information message results improves the performance of UE mobility and utilization of wireless network resources (D4, [0063]]).
Claims 4, 15, and 26, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over in view of D1, in view of D2, in view of D4 and further in view of AMURU et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20200187246A1), (“D3”, hereinafter).
As per Claims 4,15, 26, D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: wherein the RACH message is transmitted with a timing advance offset, of the plurality of timing advance offsets, in connection with a parameter, wherein the parameter is at least one of: a type of the UE, a distance metric associated with the UE, a channel metric associated with the UE, a received indication, a coverage zone parameter, a result of executing a machine learning model, a synchronization signal block source, or a result of executing a sensing procedure.
However, D3 discloses wherein the RACH message is transmitted with a timing advance offset, of the plurality of timing advance offsets, in connection with a parameter ([see, [0167, 0201], the RACH resources may be indicated as an offset from the SS block of the beam, such as indicate a time offset/frequency offset between the SS based RACH resource]),
wherein the parameter ([see, [0171], and Fig. 6, the parameters of RACH configuration]) is at least one of:
a type of the UE, a distance metric associated with the UE, a channel metric associated with the UE, a received indication, a coverage zone parameter, a result of executing a machine learning model, a synchronization signal block source, or a result of executing a sensing procedure ([see, [0171, 0201], indicate a time offset/frequency offset between the parameter, such as synchronization signal (SS) block-based RACH resource and the CSI-RS based RACH resources]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D3, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D3. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide RACH resources may be indicated as an offset results improves the performance that control a random-access channel (RACH) configuration in the wireless communication system. (D3, [0008]]).
Claims 5, 16, 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1, in view of D2, and further in view of YOO et al. (US 20180279361 A1), hereinafter “D5”
As per Claims 5, 16, 27, D1 discloses wherein the one or more processors, to receive the information identifying the set of RACH configurations ([see, [0026], the UE receiving random access channel (RACH) configuration information from a base station])
D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: configured to: receive the information identifying the set of RACH configurations based at least in part on backhaul signaling associated with establishing the set of RACH configurations.
However, D5 discloses receive the information identifying the set of RACH configurations based at least in part on backhaul signaling associated with establishing the set of RACH configurations ([see, [0072-0074, 0095], terminal 120 may obtain RACH configuration based on receives signals through the wireless communication unit 210 or the backhaul communication unit 220]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D5, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D5. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide backhaul signaling results improves the performance of UE and enhanced the channel gain (D5, [0065]]).
Claims 11 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1, in view of D2, in view of D3 and further in view of Taherzadeh Boroujeni et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20210329692 A1), (“D6”, hereinafter).
As per Claims 11, 22, D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the network node to: receive a request for a change to a set of UE-specific RACH occasions; and wherein the processing system, to transmit the system information message, is configured to cause the network node to: transmit the system information message as a response to receiving the request for the change..
However, D6 discloses wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the network node to: receive a request for a change to a set of UE-specific RACH occasions; and wherein the processing system, to transmit the system information message, is configured to cause the network node to: transmit the system information message as a response to receiving the request for the change ([see, [0118], UE 115-a transmits request message during or using the two or more occasions (e.g., PRACH repetitions, random access request message 220 repetitions, etc.), and identify the two different RAR window lengths from a single bitfield in a system information message]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D6, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D6. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide RACH message using sequences over corresponding RACH occasions results improve a reliability of the first RACH message being successfully received at the base station (D6, [0057]]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, JEONG, MOO R. can be reached on (571) 272-9617. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/BERHANU D BELETE/Examiner, Art Unit 2468
/WUTCHUNG CHU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2418