DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 5 and 9-10 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 9-10 and claims 1 and 8-9 of copending Application No. 18/425, 903 and 18/425, 884 respectively (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims are directed to the same subject matter with the exception of obvious synonymous structures as illustrated in the table below .
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Current Application
App. No. 18/425,903
App. No. 18/425, 884
Claim 1: A communication control method comprising: determining, at a core network apparatus, a restrictive condition that is a condition configured to restrict use of a network slice; and transmitting, at the core network apparatus, network slice restriction information related to the network slice to a user equipment, wherein the network slice restriction information includes a network slice identifier identifying the network slice and condition information indicating the restrictive condition.
Claim 1: A communication control method comprising: receiving, at a user equipment, network slice restriction information from a base station or a core network apparatus, the network slice restriction information being related to a network slice to be provided with a restrictive condition, wherein the restrictive condition is a condition restricting use of the network slice, and wherein the network slice restriction information comprises an identifier identifying the network slice and information indicating the restrictive condition.
Claim 1: A communication control method comprising: determining, at a base station, a restrictive condition that is a condition configured to restrict use of a network slice; and transmitting, at the base station, restriction information related to the network slice to a core network apparatus, a certain base station other than the base station, or a user equipment.
Claim 4. A user equipment comprising: a receiver configured to receive, from a core network apparatus that determine a restrictive condition that is a condition configured to restrict use of a network slice, network slice restriction information related to the network slice, wherein the network slice restriction information includes a network slice identifier identifying the network slice and condition information indicating the restrictive condition.
Claim 9. A user equipment comprising: a receiver configured to receive network slice restriction information from a base station or a core network apparatus, the network slice restriction information being related to a network slice to be provided with a restrictive condition, wherein the restrictive condition is a condition restricting use of the network slice, and wherein the network slice restriction information comprises an identifier identifying the network slice and information indicating the restrictive condition.
Claim 8. A base station comprising: a circuitry configured to determine a restrictive condition that is a condition configured to restrict use of a network slice; and a transmitter configured to transmit, restriction information related to the network slice to a core network apparatus, a certain base station other than the base station, or a user equipment.
Claim 5. A core network apparatus comprising: a circuitry configured to determine a restrictive condition that is a condition configured to restrict use of a network slice, and a transmitter configured to transmit to a user equipment, network slice restriction information related to the network slice, wherein the network slice restriction information includes a network slice identifier identifying the network slice and condition information indicating the restrictive condition.
Claim 10. A network apparatus comprising: a transmitter configured to transmit network slice restriction information to a user equipment, the network slice restriction information being related to a network slice to be provided with a restrictive condition, wherein the restrictive condition is a condition restricting use of the network slice, and wherein the network slice restriction information comprises an identifier identifying the network slice and information indicating the restrictive condition.
Claim 9. A mobile communication system comprising a base station, wherein the base station is configured to determine a restrictive condition that is a condition configured to restrict use of a network slice, and the base station is configured to transmit, restriction information related to the network slice to a core network apparatus, a certain base station other than the base station, or a user equipment.
Claim 6. A mobile communication system comprising a core network apparatus and a user equipment, wherein the core network apparatus is configured to determine a restrictive condition that is a condition configured to restrict use of a network slice, and the core network apparatus is configured to transmit to the user equipment, network slice restriction information related to the network slice, wherein the network slice restriction information includes a network slice identifier identifying the network slice and condition information indicating the restrictive condition.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 AND 4-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ianev US Patent Pub No.: 2022/0369207 A1, hereinafter, ‘Ianev’.
Consider Claim 1, and as applied to Claims 4-6 (Structural limitations are illustrated in figures 13-16) Ianev teaches communication control method comprising: determining, at a core network apparatus (e.g., see SMN in at least figure 1), a restrictive condition that is a condition configured to restrict use of a network slice (e.g., “enforces access and service restriction in a Network Slice when the Network Slice parameters boundaries have been reached” – see at least abstract, 0016-0021, and 216-0223 ); and transmitting, at the core network apparatus, network slice restriction information related to the network slice to a user equipment, wherein the network slice restriction information includes a network slice identifier identifying the network slice and condition information indicating the restrictive condition (e.g., see at least figure 1 and 0060 - 8) The SMN 720 answers ).
Consider Claim 2, Ianev teaches the communication control method according to claim 1, the communication control method further comprising determining, at the user equipment, whether to avoid using the network slice, based on the network slice restriction information (i.e., as best understood by the Examiner this would be based on the rejection to use the network slice as outlined in at least figure 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ianev US Patent Pub No.: 2022/0369207 A1, hereinafter, ‘Ianev’ in view of Stojanovski et al. US Patent Pub. No.: 2022/0007182 A1, hereinafter, ‘Stojanovski’
Consider Claims 3, Ianev teaches NAS messaging but does not specifically teach wherein the transmitting the network slice restriction information to the user equipment comprises transmitting, to the user equipment, a NAS message including the network slice restriction information, and wherein the NAS message is a Registration Accept message or a DEREGISTRATION REQUEST message.
In analogous art, Stojanovski teaches “dedicated NAS signaling after transmission of the registration request (such as in a Registration Accept Message). The UE may use the public key to encrypt parts of the Initial NAS message (Registration Request, Service Request or Deregistration Request).” e.g., see at least 0041.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to try wherein the transmitting the network slice restriction information to the user equipment comprises transmitting, to the user equipment, a NAS message including the network slice restriction information, and wherein the NAS message is a Registration Accept message or a DEREGISTRATION REQUEST message for the purpose of facilitating signaling around UE registration.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO 892
Yang et al. (US 20220217593) Yang teaches a communication control method (para 5: a
communication method and apparatus, to provide a rate limiting manner that can be
applied to a 5G scenario; fig 3-11) comprising: determining, at a base station (para 156: the source base station determine, based on the measurement result, that the UE needs to be handed over to the target base station), a restrictive condition that is a condition configured to restrict
use of a network slice (para 158: the handover request message may include the network slice configuration information, where the information is used to indicate a maximum data rate provided by each of n network slices for the UE; here, the maximum data rate provided by the network slice is considered restriction condition of the network slice); and transmitting, at the base station, restriction information related to the network slice to a core network apparatus, a certain base station other than the base station, or a user equipment (para 155: step 101: a source base station sends a first message to a target base station, where the first message includes
network slice configuration information; fig 3 shows the message sent to target base station, fig 10 shows the message sent to AMF (core network apparatus)).
/CHARLES T SHEDRICK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2646