Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-3 AND 5-6 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 AND 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ianev US Patent Pub No.: 2022/0369207 A1, hereinafter, ‘Ianev’ and further in view of Velev et al US patent Pub. No.: 2026/0143342, hereinafter, ‘Velev’.
Consider Claim 1, and as applied to Claims 4-6 (Structural limitations are illustrated in figures 13-16) Ianev teaches communication control method comprising: determining, at a core network apparatus (e.g., see SMN in at least figure 1), a restrictive condition that is a condition configured to restrict use of a network slice (e.g., “enforces access and service restriction in a Network Slice when the Network Slice parameters boundaries have been reached” – see at least abstract, 0016-0021, and 216-0223 ); and transmitting, at the core network apparatus, network slice restriction information related to the network slice to a user equipment, wherein the network slice restriction information includes a network slice identifier identifying the network slice and condition information indicating the restrictive condition (e.g., see at least figure 1 and 0060 - 8) The SMN 720 answers ).
However, Ianev does not specifically teach setting a time condition for specifying a time during which the use of the network slice is restricted; and upon determining that the time expires, transmitting, by the core network apparatus to the user equipment, a CONFIGURATION UPDATE COMMAND message to update the restrictive condition.
In analogous art, Velev teaches in paragraph 0036 that the “AMF may determine and signal the unavailability timer, during which the UE is not to re-try to register to the rejected S-NSSA (i.e., restrict).” In 0099 “the AMF 210 may send NAS MM UE configuration update command message including a new list of rejected S-NSSAI(s) excluding the associated S-NSSAI #X. If the UE 205 is in connection management (CM)-IDLE state (or mobile initiated connection only (MICO) mode, i.e., unreachable currently for mobile terminated services), then the AMF 210 waits until the UE 205 moves to the CM-Connected state to trigger the UE update. Upon reception of the NAS message from the AMF 210, the UE 205 removes the S-NSSAI from the list of rejected S-NSSAI and, if corresponding unavailability timer is running, the UE 205 deletes the timer. (i.e., at this time the configuration update is sent. The time in which the AMF validated the previous configuration expired, thus the update).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to try setting a time condition for specifying a time during which the use of the network slice is restricted; and upon determining that the time expires, transmitting, by the core network apparatus to the user equipment, a CONFIGURATION UPDATE COMMAND message to update the restrictive condition.
The Examiner respectfully suggest a manner to overcome the rejection potentially is to 1) specify the restrictive condition and 2) specify the “timer” (i.e., is this an abstract time or specific physical timer ?).
Consider Claim 2, Ianev teaches the communication control method according to claim 1, the communication control method further comprising determining, at the user equipment, whether to avoid using the network slice, based on the network slice restriction information (i.e., as best understood by the Examiner this would be based on the rejection to use the network slice as outlined in at least figure 1).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ianev US Patent Pub No.: 2022/0369207 A1, hereinafter, ‘Ianev’ in view of Stojanovski et al. US Patent Pub. No.: 2022/0007182 A1, hereinafter, ‘Stojanovski’
Consider Claims 3, Ianev teaches NAS messaging but does not specifically teach wherein the transmitting the network slice restriction information to the user equipment comprises transmitting, to the user equipment, a NAS message including the network slice restriction information, and wherein the NAS message is a Registration Accept message or a DEREGISTRATION REQUEST message.
In analogous art, Stojanovski teaches “dedicated NAS signaling after transmission of the registration request (such as in a Registration Accept Message). The UE may use the public key to encrypt parts of the Initial NAS message (Registration Request, Service Request or Deregistration Request).” e.g., see at least 0041.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to try wherein the transmitting the network slice restriction information to the user equipment comprises transmitting, to the user equipment, a NAS message including the network slice restriction information, and wherein the NAS message is a Registration Accept message or a DEREGISTRATION REQUEST message for the purpose of facilitating signaling around UE registration.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO 892
Yang et al. (US 20220217593) Yang teaches a communication control method (para 5: a
communication method and apparatus, to provide a rate limiting manner that can be
applied to a 5G scenario; fig 3-11) comprising: determining, at a base station (para 156: the source base station determine, based on the measurement result, that the UE needs to be handed over to the target base station), a restrictive condition that is a condition configured to restrict
use of a network slice (para 158: the handover request message may include the network slice configuration information, where the information is used to indicate a maximum data rate provided by each of n network slices for the UE; here, the maximum data rate provided by the network slice is considered restriction condition of the network slice); and transmitting, at the base station, restriction information related to the network slice to a core network apparatus, a certain base station other than the base station, or a user equipment (para 155: step 101: a source base station sends a first message to a target base station, where the first message includes
network slice configuration information; fig 3 shows the message sent to target base station, fig 10 shows the message sent to AMF (core network apparatus)).
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHARLES T SHEDRICK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2646