DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s amendment and response filed on 6/22/2026 have been received and entered into the case. Claims 6-8, 11, 17, 23, 26-29, and 32-42 have been canceled. Claims 1-5, 9-10, 12-16, 18-22, 24-25, and 30 are pending, Claims 1-5, 9-10, 12-16, 18-20 have been withdrawn, and Claims 21-22, 24-25 and 30 have been considered on the merits, insofar as they read on the elected species of ascorbate oxidase. All arguments have been fully considered.
Withdrawn Objections
Objections are withdrawn in view of applicant’s amendments.
Withdrawn Rejections
Rejections under 35 U.S.C. 101 are withdrawn in view of applicant’s amendments.
Rejections of Claims 22-23, 25-26 and 31 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inal et al (WO 2019/224628 A1; 11/28/2019. Cited on IDS) in view of Sempionatto et al (ACS Sens. 2020;5:1804-1813.) are withdrawn in view of applicant’s amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 21-22, 24 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Monteiro TC (Development of point-of-care tests using enzyme (NiR & PON) based electrochemical biosensors. 2020;1-190. Cited on IDS).
The instant claims recite an electrochemical biosensor comprising: a multicopper oxidase (MCO) enzyme oxygen scavenger, an electrochemical assay containing a reductase enzyme, and a substrate comprising ascorbate, wherein the ascorbate is immobilized in a dried state and is not exposed to oxygen or light, and wherein the ascorbate is immobilized around but not directly on a working electrode containing the reductase enzyme.
Monteiro teaches an electrochemical biosensor comprising: a multicopper oxidase (MCO) enzyme oxygen scavenger, an electrochemical assay containing a reductase enzyme, and a substrate comprising ascorbate, wherein the ascorbate is immobilized around but not directly on a working electrode containing the reductase enzyme, the multicopper oxidase (MCO) enzyme oxygen scavenger is ascorbate oxidase or bilirubin oxidase, the reductase enzyme is nitrite reductase, and the electrochemical biosensor further comprises a screen-printed electrode (Figure 3.7, p.67 para 2).
The limitation of “wherein the ascorbate is immobilized in a dried state and is not exposed to oxygen or light” is regarded as a product by process type limitation. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the claimed product is the same or obvious from a product in the prior art (i.e. the product disclosed in the cited reference), the claim is unpatentable even though the reference product was made by a different process. When the prior art discloses a product which reasonably appears to be identical with or slightly different than the claimed product-by-process, rejections under 35 U.S.C 102 and/or 35 U.S.C 103 are proper. (MPEP 2113) In addition, Monteiro teaches a dried state where no sample pre-supplementation step would be required (p.80 para 2).
Therefore the reference anticipates the claimed subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Monteiro TC (Development of point-of-care tests using enzyme (NiR & PON) based electrochemical biosensors. 2020;1-190. Cited on IDS) as applied to claims 21-22, 24 and 30 above.
Monteiro does not teach the reductase enzyme is nitrate reductase (claim 25).
However, Monteiro does teach nitrate reductase is being used in the field of biosensing for determination of nitrate (p.57 para 3).
Thus, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate nitrate reductase depends on the desired application, since Monteiro discloses that nitrate reductase is being used in the field of biosensing for determination of nitrate. Moreover, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated by the cited reference to incorporate nitrate reductase with a reasonable expectation for successfully obtaining an electrochemical biosensor.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues that cited references do not teach selecting a multicopper oxidase (MCO) enzyme oxygen scavenger for the purpose of depleting dissolved oxygen in a reductase based electrochemical assay as amended in claim 21. However, these arguments are moot since those rejections are withdrawn in view of applicant’s amendments.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/Lynn Y Fan/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759